DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application 18/763,968 filed on 09/09/2026. Claims 3, 12 and 13 have been amended. Claims 1-16 are pending and examined in the instant office action. The rejections are as stated below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. JP2023-113710, filed on 07/11/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 03/16/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1 and 14-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ryota Kikuchi, US 20190204086A1 and in view of Grunewald Mayer et al., US 20210221485A1.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of “the input unit” lacks proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryota Kikuchi, US 20190204086A1 and in view of Grunewald Mayer et al., US 20210221485A1, hereinafter referred to as Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Salminen discloses an automatic route generation apparatus comprising (a traveling route generating device 10 configure to generate a traveling route for a watercraft, including receiving part 21, information processor 24, and route generating module 31 – See at least ¶¶28-30; FIG. 1):
one or more processors (Processor – See at least ¶28); and
a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing processor- executable code, which when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform operations including (The traveling route generating device of the traveling route generating system may have, for example, a computer. An arithmetic processor, such as a CPU in the computer, may read a traveling route generating program including a part or all of steps of the following flowchart from the memory, and execute the program. The traveling route generating program is installable from an external device or through a network. Moreover, the traveling route generating program may be commercially distributed in a state where the program is stored in a recording medium – See at least ¶96):
receiving route generation information including at least four spatially separated location data points (receiving part 21 receives positional information identifying a home harbor HB and a plurality of heading change points P defining a home route HR, wherein the positional information is stored in memory 34 for route generation. Further, receiving positional information identifying a destination D and information associated with a selected local route including additional heading change points P – See at least ¶¶41-43, 60-62, 83 and FIG. 2-3); and
generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information (route generating module 31 generates a home route HR connecting home harbor HB and heading change points P based on the received positional information, generates an automatically generated route AR1, and generates a combined route including home route HR, automatically generated route AR1, and a selected local route – See at least 43, 64-65, 83 and FIGS. 2-4);
controlling steering of the watercraft along the route (traveling route generating device 10 transmits instruction information including route information to automatic steering device 11, wherein automatic steering device 11 automatically operates a rudder of the watercraft based on the instruction information, positional information, and heading information to cause the watercraft to travel along the generated route – See at least 22-25, FIG. 1).
Kikuchi fails to disclose the at least four spatially separated location data points including: a berthing location, an unberthing location, a first point away from the unberthing location, and a second point away from the berthing location of a watercraft; generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information such that the route includes the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point; and wherein the first point away from the unberthing location is a starting positions of offshore navigation, and the second point is an ending position of offshore navigation.
However, Grunewald teaches:
the at least four spatially separated location data points including: a berthing location, an unberthing location, a first point away from the unberthing location, and a second point away from the berthing location of a watercraft (a destination berth 171 at an arrival port, a departure berth 171 at a departure port, a final harbor track waypoint in an exit zone of the departure port, and a first harbor track waypoint 181 in an entry zone 180 of the destination port, respectively – See at least ¶¶176, 190-193);
generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information such that the route includes the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point (a departure track extending grom the departure berth to the departure side exit zone, a transit track extending between the departure side exit zone and the destination side entry zone, and a destination side harbor track extending to the destination berth – See at least ¶¶176 and 190-193);
wherein the first point away from the unberthing location is a starting positions of offshore navigation, and the second point is an ending position of offshore navigation (the Transit phase begins at the final harbor track waypoint in the departure side exit zone and ends at the first harbor track waypoint 181 in the destination side entry zone 180, wherein the watercraft follows a transit track using waypoint information – See at ¶193).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kikuchi and include the feature of he at least four spatially separated location data points including: a berthing location, an unberthing location, a first point away from the unberthing location, and a second point away from the berthing location of a watercraft; generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information such that the route includes the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point; and wherein the first point away from the unberthing location is a starting positions of offshore navigation, and the second point is an ending position of offshore navigation, as taught by Grunewald Mayer, to facilitate continuous automated route planning and navigation while accommodating different maneuvering requirements associated with harbor departure, open water transit and harbor arrival.
Regarding claim 14, Kikuchi discloses an automatic route generation method comprising (a traveling route generating device 10 configure to generate a traveling route for a watercraft, including receiving part 21, information processor 24, and route generating module 31 – See at least ¶¶28-30; FIG. 1):
acquiring route generation information, the route generation information including at least four spatially separated location data points (receiving part 21 receives positional information identifying a home harbor HB and a plurality of heading change points P defining a home route HR, wherein the positional information is stored in memory 34 for route generation. Further, receiving positional information identifying a destination D and information associated with a selected local route including additional heading change points P – See at least ¶¶41-43, 60-62, 83 and FIG. 2-3);
generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information (route generating module 31 generates a home route HR connecting home harbor HB and heading change points P based on the received positional information, generates an automatically generated route AR1, and generates a combined route including home route HR, automatically generated route AR1, and a selected local route – See at least 43, 64-65, 83 and FIGS. 2-4);
controlling steering of the watercraft along the route (traveling route generating device 10 transmits instruction information including route information to automatic steering device 11, wherein automatic steering device 11 automatically operates a rudder of the watercraft based on the instruction information, positional information, and heading information to cause the watercraft to travel along the generated route – See at least 22-25, FIG. 1).
Kikuchi fails to disclose the at least four spatially separated location data points including: a berthing location, an unberthing location, a first point away from the unberthing location, and a second point away from the berthing location of a watercraft; generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information such that the route includes the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point; and wherein the first point away from the unberthing location is a starting positions of offshore navigation, and the second point is an ending position of offshore navigation.
However, Grunewald teaches:
the at least four spatially separated location data points including: a berthing location, an unberthing location, a first point away from the unberthing location, and a second point away from the berthing location of a watercraft (a destination berth 171 at an arrival port, a departure berth 171 at a departure port, a final harbor track waypoint in an exit zone of the departure port, and a first harbor track waypoint 181 in an entry zone 180 of the destination port, respectively – See at least ¶¶176, 190-193);
generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information such that the route includes the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point (a departure track extending grom the departure berth to the departure side exit zone, a transit track extending between the departure side exit zone and the destination side entry zone, and a destination side harbor track extending to the destination berth – See at least ¶¶176 and 190-193);
wherein the first point away from the unberthing location is a starting positions of offshore navigation, and the second point is an ending position of offshore navigation (the Transit phase begins at the final harbor track waypoint in the departure side exit zone and ends at the first harbor track waypoint 181 in the destination side entry zone 180, wherein the watercraft follows a transit track using waypoint information – See at ¶193).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kikuchi and include the feature of he at least four spatially separated location data points including: a berthing location, an unberthing location, a first point away from the unberthing location, and a second point away from the berthing location of a watercraft; generating a route of the watercraft on the basis of the route generation information such that the route includes the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point; and wherein the first point away from the unberthing location is a starting positions of offshore navigation, and the second point is an ending position of offshore navigation, as taught by Grunewald Mayer, to facilitate continuous automated route planning and navigation while accommodating different maneuvering requirements associated with harbor departure, open water transit and harbor arrival.
Regarding claim 15, Kikuchi discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the automatic route generation method according to claim 14 (The traveling route generating device of the traveling route generating system may have, for example, a computer. An arithmetic processor, such as a CPU in the computer, may read a traveling route generating program including a part or all of steps of the following flowchart from the memory, and execute the program. The traveling route generating program is installable from an external device or through a network. Moreover, the traveling route generating program may be commercially distributed in a state where the program is stored in a recording medium – See at least ¶96).
Regarding claim 16, Kikuchi discloses a watercraft comprising: the automatic route generation apparatus according claim 1 (a traveling route generating device 10 configure to generate a traveling route for a watercraft, including receiving part 21, information processor 24, and route generating module 31 – See at least ¶¶28-30; FIG. 1).
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryota Kikuchi, US 20190204086A1, in view of Grunewald Mayer et al., US 20210221485A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nanri et al., US 20160195399 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kikuchi, Grunewald and Nanri, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer fail to disclose wherein the operations include accepting an input by a user, the inputs including at least of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, or the second point.
However, Nanri teaches wherein the operations include accepting an input by a user, the inputs including at least of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, or the second point (Shipboard terminal device comprises, as a functional component, an acquisition unit that acquires data sets indicating an arrival time at each port and a departure time from each port on a sailing route of the voyage input by the user – See at least ¶45. Moreover, a user can change an order of ports on a sailing route by dragging in a horizontal direction any display field of a name of a port other than the departure port, i.e. unberthing location and the destination port, i.e. berthing location, in the first line of area. When an order of ports on a sailing route is changed, data related to sectional sailing routes, (i.e. first point and second point) affected by the change of the order of ports are updated in a similar way to the case where a port is added to a sailing route – See at least ¶80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer and include the feature of wherein the operations include accepting an input by a user, the inputs including at least of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, or the second point, as taught by Nanri, to reduce fuel consumption required for a ship to carry out a voyage from a specified departure port to a specified destination port as much as possible under a condition that the ship can arrive at the destination port by a certain timing (See at least ¶2 of Nanri).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer fail to disclose wherein the operations include accepting an input by a user, the input including of each of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point.
However, Nanri teaches wherein the operations include accepting an input by a user, the input including each of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point (“Add port” button is used for adding a port on a sailing route in a modified voyage schedule. A user can add a port before any port on a sailing route other than the departure port, i.e. unberthing location, by selecting a name of a port in the first line by clicking a display field of the name and clicking “add port” button – See at least ¶77. For example, it is assumed that a user selects the fourth port, i.e. port “D,” and clicks “add port” button. In this case, objects related to ports “D,” “E” and “A” (as the destination port), i.e. berthing location, in area move to the right, and objects related to the added port appear at the positions of objects related to the fourth port. Among the newly added objects, a display field in the first line is editable by a user just after the new port is added to the sailing route. It is assumed that a user inputs “X” to the display field as a name of the added port. In response to the input of the name of the added port, a distance from the third port (port “C”), i.e. first point, to the fourth port (port “X”), i.e. second point, and a distance from the fourth port (port “X”) to the fifth port (port “D”) are updated based on the distance data set – See at least ¶78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer and include the feature of wherein the operations include accepting an input by a user, the input including of each of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point, as taught by Nanri, to enable a user such as a ship operation manager and a ship's navigator to specify a preferable time period for a ship to be docked at a berth at each of ports visited by the ship during a voyage from the viewpoint of reduction in fuel consumption required for the voyage (See at least ¶8 of Nanri).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer fail to disclose wherein the route is generated on the basis of the inputs in the order of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point to the input unit.
However, Nanri teaches wherein the route is generated on the basis of the inputs in the order of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point to the input unit (Accordingly, after a user adds a port on a sailing route, he/she is required to input data in these input fields to complete a modified voyage schedule – See at least ¶79. Moreover, a user can change an order of ports on a sailing route by dragging in a horizontal direction any display field of a name of a port other than the departure port and the destination port in the first line of area. When an order of ports on a sailing route is changed, i.e. generates the route, data related to sectional sailing routes, i.e. first point and second point, affected by the change of the order of ports are updated in a similar way to the case where a port is added to a sailing route – See at least ¶80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer and include the feature of wherein the route is generated on the basis of the inputs in the order of the berthing location, the unberthing location, the first point, and the second point to the input unit, as taught by Nanri, to enable a user such as a ship operation manager and a ship's navigator to specify a preferable time period for a ship to be docked at a berth at each of ports visited by the ship during a voyage from the viewpoint of reduction in fuel consumption required for the voyage (See at least ¶8 of Nanri).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer fail to disclose wherein operations include modifying a via-point on the route on the basis of the input.
However, Nanri teaches wherein operations include modifying a via-point on the route on the basis of the input (Accordingly, after a user adds, i.e. modify a via-point, a port on a sailing route, he/she is required to input data in these input fields to complete a modified voyage schedule – See at least ¶79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer and include the feature of wherein operations include modifying a via-point on the route on the basis of the input, as taught by Nanri, to reduce fuel consumption required for a ship to carry out a voyage from a specified departure port to a specified destination port as much as possible under a condition that the ship can arrive at the destination port by a certain timing (See at least ¶2 of Nanri).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer fail to disclose wherein the operations include adding a new via-point between adjacent via-points on the route on the basis of the input.
However, Nanri teaches wherein the operations include adding a new via-point between adjacent via-points on the route on the basis of the input (Moreover, a user can change an order of ports on a sailing route by dragging in a horizontal direction any display field of a name of a port other than the departure port and the destination port in the first line of area. When an order of ports on a sailing route is changed, data related to sectional sailing routes affected by the change of the order of ports are updated in a similar way to the case where a port is added to a sailing route – See at least ¶80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer and include the feature of wherein the operations include adding a new via-point between adjacent via-points on the route on the basis of the input, as taught by Nanri, to reduce fuel consumption required for a ship to carry out a voyage from a specified departure port to a specified destination port as much as possible under a condition that the ship can arrive at the destination port by a certain timing (See at least ¶2 of Nanri).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer fail to disclose a display, wherein the operations include controlling the display to display the route.
However, Nanri teaches:
a display (Display device – See at least ¶44); and
wherein the operations include controlling the display to display the route (Computer comprises CPU that executes various kinds of data processing in accordance with programs such as an OS and an application program and controls the other components of computer and various data sets and input-output that inputs various data sets to external devices connected to input-output and receives data sets from the external devices. External devices connected to input-output may include an operation device such as a display device – See at least ¶44. The second line of area contains display fields corresponding to sectional sailing routes, and a sailing distance of a corresponding sectional sailing route is displayed in each of the display fields – See at least ¶67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer and include the feature of a display, wherein the operations include controlling the display to display the route, as taught by Nanri, to reduce fuel consumption required for a ship to carry out a voyage from a specified departure port to a specified destination port as much as possible under a condition that the ship can arrive at the destination port by a certain timing (See at least ¶2 of Nanri).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer fail to disclose wherein the display is controlled to not display, a selection screen on which a change in an orientation of the watercraft at a via-point on an offshore navigation route included in the route is the input.
However, Nanri teaches wherein the display is controlled to not display, a selection screen on which a change in an orientation of the watercraft at a via-point on an offshore navigation route included in the route is the input (FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary image of area of the voyage management screen image. The first line of area contains input fields of a voyage ID identifying a voyage to be managed, a name of a ship making the voyage and a name of a sailing route of the voyage. The first line of area further contains five operation buttons, i.e. “original to current” button, “current to modified” button, “modified to current” button, “graph” button and “automatic modification” button – See at least ¶56. Examiner notes the display screen does NOT display a selection screen on which a change in an orientation of the watercraft at a via-point on an offshore navigation route included in the route is input through the input unit as claimed in the limitation above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi and Grunewald Mayer and include the feature of wherein the display is controlled to not display, a selection screen on which a change in an orientation of the watercraft at a via-point on an offshore navigation route included in the route is the input, as taught by Nanri, to reduce fuel consumption required for a ship to carry out a voyage from a specified departure port to a specified destination port as much as possible under a condition that the ship can arrive at the destination port by a certain timing (See at least ¶2 of Nanri).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryota Kikuchi, US 20190204086A1, in view of Grunewald Mayer et al., US 20210221485A1, in view of Nanri et al., US 20160195399 A1, applied to claims 2 and 8 above, and further in view of Poreda et al., US 20080133131 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri and Poreda, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri fail to disclose wherein when an input of a navigation prohibition area is accepted, the route generated includes an avoidance route for avoiding the navigation prohibition area.
However, Poreda teaches wherein when an input of a navigation prohibition area is accepted, the route generated includes an avoidance route for avoiding the navigation prohibition area (To avoid the proximate convergence as predicted, an alternate route is generated. In at least one embodiment, route is generated by the operator manually, i.e. input, indicating a new waypoint – See at least ¶63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri and include the feature of wherein when an input of a navigation prohibition area is accepted, the route generated includes an avoidance route for avoiding the navigation prohibition area, as taught by Poreda, to ensure an operator of a watercraft is able to quickly adapt to changes in information (See at least ¶5 of Poreda).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri fail to disclose wherein the operations include: receiving obstacle information; and predicting risk of a collision of the watercraft with an obstacle based on the obstacle information, wherein, generating the route includes generating an avoidance route to avoid a collision with the obstacle when the risk precited is equal to or higher than a reference, and wherein the display is controlled to display the avoidance route.
However, Poreda teaches:
receiving obstacle information; predicting risk of a collision of the watercraft with an obstacle based on the obstacle information (The planned route of the host ship and the predicted route of the sensed object(s) are conveyed to an operator as visual information upon the display. Further, as the computer, (i.e. risk prediction unit) is operable to analyze the planned and predicted routes, in response to a predicted proximate convergence, a collision warning is provided to the operator – See at least ¶33), wherein
wherein, generating the route includes generating an avoidance route to avoid a collision with the obstacle when the risk precited is equal to or higher than a reference, (The computer includes a route generator, (i.e. generation unit). The route generator is operable to generate a predicted route of at least one sensed object in the environment. The route generator is also operable to generate a planned route of the host ship – See at least ¶29. Further, as the computer is operable to analyze the planned and predicted routes, in response to a predicted proximate convergence, a collision warning is provided to the operator. Examiner notes the claimed “equal to” is construed as proximate convergence of a collision), and
and wherein the display is controlled to display the avoidance route (RPINS (a route-planning interactive navigational system) also typically includes at least one operator data entry device, such as for example a keyboard. As indicated, in at least one embodiment RPINS is disposed upon the host ship. A warning system or device is also provided in at least one embodiment, and/or may be incorporated as part of the display – See at least ¶27. In response to the indicated proximate convergence, and/or the warning signal, the operator may choose to modify the host ship planned route, decision. If the decision is to modify the planned route, the operator and/or the RPINS will modify one or more of the collective route elements. As a result of the operator initiating a modification, the method re-generates the planned route – See at least ¶57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri and include the feature of wherein the operations include: receiving obstacle information; predicting risk of a collision of the watercraft with an obstacle based on the obstacle information, wherein, generating the route includes generating an avoidance route to avoid a collision with the obstacle when the risk precited is equal to or higher than a reference, and wherein the display is controlled to display the avoidance route, as taught by Poreda, to ensure an operator of a watercraft is able to quickly adapt to changes in information (See at least ¶5 of Poreda).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryota Kikuchi, US 20190204086A1, in view of Grunewald Mayer et al., US 20210221485A1, in view of Nanri et al., US 20160195399 A1, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Dohi et al., US 20140253597 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri and Dohi, respectively.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri fail to disclose wherein the display is controlled to display an attitude of the watercraft on the route by icons on the display.
However, Dohi teaches wherein the display is controlled to display an attitude of the watercraft on the route by icons on the display (“FIG. 2 illustrates one example of contents displayed on the display unit in the plotter screen mode. In this mode, destination marks indicating the set waypoints and a route line indicating the course to the intermediate and final destinations are displayed on the map or the nautical chart. Moreover, the current location of the ship and a heading of the ship are respectively displayed as a boat icon and a heading line by being superimposed on the map or the nautical chart” – See at least ¶50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri and include the feature of wherein the display is controlled to display an attitude of the watercraft on the route by icons on the display, as taught by Dohi, to obtain a position of the movable body with higher accuracy (See at least ¶3 of Dohi).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simo Kikuchi, US 20190204086A1, in view of Grunewald Mayer et al., US 20210221485A1, in view of Nanri et al., US 20160195399 A1, in view of Dohi et al., US 20140253597 A1, as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Tenpei Hosokawa, US 20150120102 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri, Dohi and Hosokawa, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri, and Dohi fail to disclose wherein when the input is an input to modify the attitude, the display is controlled to display, a new icon indicating the attitude after modification and the old icon indicating the attitude before the modification in a superimposed manner.
However, Hosokawa teaches wherein when the input is an input to modify the attitude, the display is controlled to display, a new icon indicating the attitude after modification and the old icon indicating the attitude before the modification in a superimposed manner ("FIG. 3A is a display screen on the display unit displayed before the turn. The target course display section, the heading display section, and the turning progress display section are displayed in FIG. 3A. Here, in the target course display section, the course specified through the user interface, i.e. input unit, or the like is displayed as a numeric value. In the heading display section, the current heading acquired by the heading sensor is displayed as a numeric value" - See at least 157. "FIG. 3B is a display screen displayed on the display unit immediately after the turn is started. When starting the turn, since a target course is newly set, the value in the target course display section described above is changed to the new target course. Moreover, as the turn proceeds, the value displayed in the heading display section changes" - See at least ¶160. Examiner notes Fig 3A shows old icon indicating the attitude before modification and Fig. 3B display new icon indicting the attitude after modification. Both images are superimposed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri and Dohi and include the feature of wherein when the input is an input to modify the attitude, the display is controlled to display, a new icon indicating the attitude after modification and the old icon indicating the attitude before the modification in a superimposed manner, as taught by Hosokawa, to provide a turning progress display apparatus, with which the progress of turning of a ship is able to easily and instinctively be grasped (See at least ¶10 of Hosokawa).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryota Kikuchi, US 20190204086A1, in view of Grunewald Mayer et al., US 20210221485A1, in view of Nanri et al., US 20160195399 A1, as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Poreda et al., US 20080133131 A1, and further in view of Kim Dong Hoon, KR102466804 B1, hereinafter referred to as Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri, Poreda and Hoon, respectively.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri fail to disclose wherein the operations include: receiving obstacle information; predicting risk of a collision of the watercraft with an obstacle based on the obstacle information: the display is controlled to display a bird's-eye view of the obstacle and risk information on a degree of the risk, included in the bird's-eye view, and in the case where the risk that is predicted differs by location on the basis of the obstacle information, the display is controlled to display the bird's-eye view including the risk information representing the highest risk.
However, Poreda teaches:
receiving obstacle information; predicting risk of a collision of the watercraft with an obstacle based on the obstacle information (The planned route of the host ship and the predicted route of the sensed object(s) are conveyed to an operator as visual information upon the display. Further, as the computer, (i.e. risk prediction unit) is operable to analyze the planned and predicted routes, in response to a predicted proximate convergence, a collision warning is provided to the operator – See at least ¶33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer and Nanri and include the feature of receiving obstacle information; predicting risk of a collision of the watercraft with an obstacle based on the obstacle information, as taught by Poreda, to ensure an operator of a watercraft is able to quickly adapt to changes in information (See at least ¶5 of Poreda).
The combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri and Poreda fail to disclose the display is controlled to display a bird's-eye view of the obstacle and risk information on a degree of the risk, included in the bird's-eye view, and in the case where the risk that is predicted differs by location on the basis of the obstacle information, the display is controlled to display the bird's-eye view including the risk information representing the highest risk.
However, Hoon teaches:
the display is controlled to display a bird's-eye view of the obstacle and risk information on a degree of the risk, included in the bird's-eye view (Around view monitoring may be possible by matching a plurality of images representing an area around a ship. Here, the around view monitoring may mean providing a bird's eye view of the environment around the ship – See at least ¶244. The display panel may output relative positions and characteristics of obstacles based on the current position of the ship. For example, a black area may indicate a first obstacle closer than a predetermined distance, and a gray area may indicate a second obstacle farther than the predetermined distance. Alternatively, the black area may indicate a high-risk area, the gray area may indicate an average risk area, and the white area may indicate a low-risk area – See at least ¶249), and
in the case where the risk that is predicted differs by location on the basis of the obstacle information, the display is controlled to display the bird's-eye view including the risk information representing the highest risk (For example, a black area may indicate a first obstacle closer than a predetermined distance, and a gray area may indicate a second obstacle farther than the predetermined distance. Alternatively, the black area may indicate a high-risk area – See at least ¶249).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kikuchi, Grunewald Mayer, Nanri and Poreda and include the feature of the display is controlled to display a bird's-eye view of the obstacle and risk information on a degree of the risk, included in the bird's-eye view, and in the case where the risk that is predicted differs by location on the basis of the obstacle information, the display is controlled to display the bird's-eye view including the risk information representing the highest risk, as taught by Hoon, to provide an autonomous navigation method capable of detecting the surrounding environment of a watercraft (See at least ¶4 of Hoon).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD M KAZIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3665