DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 does not contain any limitations that further limit claim 1. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “A base station” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 15-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masood et al. (US 10,003,310).
In regard to Claim 1:
Masood discloses, in Figure 1, a power amplifier system with symbol-based envelope tracking, the power amplifier system comprising:
a voltage modulator circuit (190) configured to generate an output bias voltage (194) that tracks a root mean square symbol power of a radio frequency signal (Column 6: lines 43-53), the voltage modulator circuit (190) configured to adjust the output bias voltage (194) on symbol boundaries (Column 6: lines 53-57);
a power amplifier (180) configured to receive the output bias voltage (194) and amplify the radio frequency signal (130); and
a signal path (130, 132, 160, 170 signal path) configured to provide the radio frequency signal (130) to the power amplifier (180), the signal path comprising a crest factor reduction block (Figure 2: 210; Figure 2 is the detailed view of 116) configured to adjust a crest factor reduction threshold such that the crest factor reduction threshold corresponds to the output bias voltage (Column 8: lines 11-18).
In regard to Claim 2:
Masood discloses, in Figure 1, The power amplifier system of Claim 1, further comprising a quantizer (Figure 2: 212; Figure 2 is a detailed view of 116) configured to determine a symbol-based envelope tracking state based on transmit signal power (Column 6: lines 43-59), wherein the voltage modulator circuit (190) is configured to generate the output bias voltage based on the symbol-based envelope tracking state (Column 6: lines 53-57), and the crest factor reduction block (Figure 2: 210) is configured to adjust the crest factor reduction threshold based on the symbol-based envelope tracking state (Column 8: lines 11-18).
In regard to Claim 15:
Masood discloses, in Figure 1, a base station (Column 2: lines 18-38) comprising the power amplifier system of Claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1 above).
In regard to Claim 16:
Masood discloses, in Figure 1, a method of radio frequency signal amplification with symbol-based envelope tracking, the method comprising:
determining a symbol-based envelope tracking state based on transmit signal power (Column 6: lines 43-59);
toggling an output bias voltage (194) between a plurality of discrete voltage levels on symbol boundaries of a radio frequency signal (130) based on the symbol-based envelope tracking state, wherein the output bias voltage (194) is provided to a power amplifier (180);
adjusting a crest factor reduction threshold (Column 8: lines 11-18) of a crest factor reduction block (Figure 2: 210; Figure 2 is the detailed view of 116) based on the symbol-based envelope tracking state, the crest factor reduction block (Figure 2: 210; Figure 2 is the detailed view of 116) being in a signal path (210 is located in 116 which is in the signal path connecting 130 to 180) that provides the radio frequency signal (130) to the power amplifier (180); and
amplifying the radio frequency signal (130) with the power amplifier (180).
In regard to Claim 17:
Masood discloses, in Figure 1, the method of Claim 16, further comprising adjusting digital predistortion in the signal path based on the symbol-based envelope tracking state (Column 5: lines 1-24).
In regard to Claim 20:
Masood discloses, in Figure 1, a system with symbol-based envelope tracking, the system comprising:
means (190) for generating an output bias voltage (194) that tracks a root mean square symbol power of a radio frequency signal (130) on a symbol-by-symbol basis (Column 6: lines 43-59); and
a signal path (130, 132, 160, 170 signal path) configured to provide the radio frequency signal (130), the signal path comprising a crest factor reduction block (Figure 2: 210; Figure 2 is the detailed view of 116) configured to adjust a crest factor reduction threshold such that the crest factor reduction threshold corresponds to the output bias voltage (194, Column 8: lines 11-18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pratt et al. (US 9,641,206) discloses a highly integrated cellular transceiver that offers such features by providing one or more digital functions on-chip, onto the same die in the cellular transceiver.
Shute (US 2023/0085587) discloses an amplification system that may include a first amplifier configured to generate an amplifier output voltage, a second amplifier having an output coupled to a supply node for the first amplifier, a voltage regulator having an output coupled to a supply node for the second amplifier, and control circuitry configured to control the voltage regulator to generate a supply voltage at the supply node for the second amplifier based on an indication associated with the amplifier output voltage.
Beaudin et al. (US 10,056,875) discloses a radio frequency front end of a user equipment for reducing power consumption includes a receive chain having a first low noise amplifier stage, a transmit chain including a first power amplifier stage, a transmit bypass path, a receive bypass path and a time division duplex swit
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843