DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12033050.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12033050. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘050 anticipates the instant application claims.
Instant Application
Patent No. 12033050
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, at an assistance application associated with a communication generation neural network, a request to respond to an electronic communication within an electronic communication thread;
accessing, by the assistance application and in response to the request, the electronic communication thread from an electronic communication system;
determining, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters by analyzing the electronic communication thread; and
generating, based on the one or more composition parameters and utilizing the communication generation neural network, a response communication to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread.
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method comprising:
accessing an electronic communication thread of a user account, the electronic communication thread comprising one or more electronic communications between the user account and an additional user account;
determining one or more composition parameters for generating electronic communications to include within the electronic communication thread by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the one or more electronic communications of the electronic communication thread;
generating, based on the one or more composition parameters, an electronic communication to include within the electronic communication thread utilizing a communication generation neural network;
receiving a user prompt from a user interaction to modify the generated electronic communication; and
utilizing the user prompt with the communication generation neural network to generate a modified electronic communication.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, via an assistance application, a user request to respond to the electronic communication thread within an electronic communication platform, wherein the electronic communication platform comprises a website or an electronic communication application and the assistance application comprises a browser plugin, an application plugin, or a mobile device keyboard application; and in response to the user request, causing the assistance application to: access the electronic communication thread; and generate, utilizing the communication generation neural network, the electronic communication to include within the electronic communication thread.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12033050 in view of Hattangady et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11962546), hereinafter Hattangady.
Claim 12 of ‘050 recites a medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to: access an electronic communication thread of a user account, the electronic communication thread comprising one or more electronic communications between the user account and an additional user account and generate, based on the one or more composition parameters, an electronic communication to include within the electronic communication thread utilizing a communication generation neural network. The medium of claim 12 differs from claim 8 herein in that determine, by an assistance application associated with a communication generation neural network, to respond to an electronic communication within an electronic communication thread, the electronic communication sent to a user account on an electronic communication system.
Hattangady shows
determine, by an assistance application (Fig. 2, 110; i.e. message generator) associated with a communication generation neural network, (Fig. 2, 108; Column 4, lines 28-39) to respond to an electronic communication (Column 3, lines 52-58) within an electronic communication thread, the electronic communication sent to a user account on an electronic communication system; (Column 3, lines 28-51; i.e. messaging system) (Column 17, lines 37-39 and 48-50; i.e. It is determined to generate a response based on a selection by a user to generate a suggested draft reply message.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ‘050 to incorporate the teachings of Hattangady to determine when it was necessary to perform the method of generating the response message.
Instant Application
Patent No. 12033050
8. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to:
determine, by an assistance application associated with a communication generation neural network, to respond to an electronic communication within an electronic communication thread, the electronic communication sent to a user account on an electronic communication system;
access, by the assistance application, the electronic communication thread from the electronic communication system; and
generate, based on one or more composition parameters associated with the user account and utilizing the communication generation neural network, a response communication to the electronic communication.
12. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to:
access an electronic communication thread of a user account, the electronic communication thread comprising one or more electronic communications between the user account and an additional user account;
determine one or more composition parameters for generating electronic communications to include within the electronic communication thread by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the one or more electronic communications of the electronic communication thread;
generate, based on the one or more composition parameters, an electronic communication to include within the electronic communication thread utilizing a communication generation neural network; receive a user prompt from a user interaction to modify the generated electronic communication; and utilize the user prompt with the communication generation neural network to generate a modified electronic communication.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12033050 in view of Hattangady et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11962546), hereinafter Hattangady.
Claim 17 of ‘050 recites a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: access an electronic communication thread of a user account, the electronic communication thread comprising one or more electronic communications between the user account and an additional user account, determine one or more composition parameters for generating electronic communications to include within the electronic communication thread by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the one or more electronic communications of the electronic communication thread and generate, based on the one or more composition parameters, an electronic communication to include within the electronic communication thread utilizing a communication generation neural network. The medium of claim 17 differs from claim 15 herein in that determine, by an assistance application associated with a communication generation neural network, to respond to an electronic communication within an electronic communication thread, the electronic communication sent to a user account on an electronic communication system.
Hattangady shows
determine, by an assistance application (Fig. 2, 110; i.e. message generator) associated with a communication generation neural network, (Fig. 2, 108; Column 4, lines 28-39) to respond to an electronic communication within an electronic communication thread; (Column 3, lines 52-58) (Column 17, lines 37-39 and 48-50; i.e. It is determined to generate a response based on a selection by a user to generate a suggested draft reply message.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ‘050 to incorporate the teachings of Hattangady to determine when it was necessary to perform the method of generating the response message.
Instant Application
Patent No. 12033050
15. A system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
determine, by an assistance application associated with a communication generation neural network, to respond to an electronic communication within an electronic communication thread;
access, by the assistance application, the electronic communication thread from an electronic communication system;
determine, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters by analyzing the electronic communication thread; and
generate, based on the one or more composition parameters and utilizing the communication generation neural network, a response communication to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread.
17. A system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
access an electronic communication thread of a user account, the electronic communication thread comprising one or more electronic communications between the user account and an additional user account;
determine one or more composition parameters for generating electronic communications to include within the electronic communication thread by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the one or more electronic communications of the electronic communication thread;
generate, based on the one or more composition parameters, an electronic communication to include within the electronic communication thread utilizing a communication generation neural network;
receive a user prompt from a user interaction to modify the generated electronic communication; and utilize the user prompt with the communication generation neural network to generate a modified electronic communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hattangady et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,962,546), hereinafter Hattangady.
Regarding claim 8, Hattangady discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to: (Fig. 8; Column 23, lines 48-63; Column 24, line 56 – Column 25, line 18; i.e. Computer device implementing message generator.)
determine, by an assistance application (Fig. 2, 110; i.e. message generator) associated with a communication generation neural network, (Fig. 2, 108; Column 4, lines 28-39) to respond to an electronic communication (Column 3, lines 52-58) within an electronic communication thread, the electronic communication sent to a user account on an electronic communication system; (Column 3, lines 28-51; i.e. messaging system) (Column 17, lines 37-39 and 48-50; i.e. It is determined to generate a response based on a selection by a user to generate a suggested draft reply message.)
access, by the assistance application, the electronic communication thread (i.e. messages of the thread are extracted from the body of selected message from the messaging application) from the electronic communication system; and (Column 14, lines 56-61; Column 19, lines 23-33; Column 6, lines 15-26; Column 20, lines 4-18)
generate, based on one or more composition parameters (i.e. user’s preferred communication style/user’s relationships) associated with the user account and utilizing the communication generation neural network, a response communication to the electronic communication. (Column 20, lines 4-67)
Regarding claim 10, Hattangady discloses
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to provide the response communication to the electronic communication system with instructions (i.e. Check the Message…before sending) to send the response communication to a recipient account. (Fig. 3K; Column 14, lines 17-42)
Regarding claim 13, Hattangady discloses
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein determining to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on receiving a request to generate the response communication. (Hattangady: Column 17, lines 37-39 and 48-50)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattangady et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0297856), hereinafter Hattangady, in view of Miller et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0005021), hereinafter Miller.
Regarding claim 1, Hattangady shows
A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, at an assistance application (Fig. 2, 110; i.e. message generator) associated with a communication generation neural network, (Fig. 2, 108; Column 4, lines 28-39) a request (i.e. selection of a message to respond to) to respond to an electronic communication (i.e. message) within an electronic communication thread; (Column 17, lines 18-31; Column 1, lines 30-44; Column 3, lines 52-58)
accessing, by the assistance application and in response to the request, the electronic communication thread (i.e. messages of the thread are extracted from the body of selected message from the messaging application) from an electronic communication system; (Fig. 2, 112, i.e. messaging application) (Column 14, lines 43-61; Column 19, lines 23-33; Column 6, lines 15-26)
generating, based on the one or more composition parameters (i.e. user’s preferred communication style/user’s relationships) and utilizing the communication generation neural network, a response communication (i.e. requested reply) to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread. (Column 20, lines 4-67)
However, Hattangady fails to show
determining, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters by analyzing the electronic communication thread; and
Miller shows
accessing, by the assistance application, (i.e. enhanced virtual assistant) the electronic communication thread ([0045]; i.e. CS); ([0165]; [0005])
determining, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters (i.e. CS content features such as content-substance and content-style) by analyzing the electronic communication thread; and ([0030]; [0057-0058])
generating, based on the one or more composition parameters and utilizing the communication generation neural network, ([0096]; i.e. trained response generation model) a response communication ([0177]) to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread. ([0182-0183])
Miller and Hattangady are considered analogous art because they involve automatic generation of responses for a use of a conversation thread. Hattangady shows generating the response to the thread after accessing all of the messages of the thread. Miller shows that such messages may be used to determine the appropriate response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determining, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters by analyzing the electronic communication thread. Doing so provides that the response is appropriate for the thread.
Regarding claim 2, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining the one or more composition parameters by utilizing a communication analysis model (i.e. content-style model) to analyze the electronic communication thread to identify a tone or a composition style of the electronic communication thread. (Miller: [0092]; [0058]; [0064])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determining the one or more composition parameters by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the electronic communication thread to identify a tone or a composition style of the electronic communication thread for the same motivation as detailed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising providing the response communication to the electronic communication system, (i.e. messaging application) (Hattangady: Fig. 2, 250; Column 11, lines 23-36) wherein providing the response communication causes the electronic communication system to send the response communication. (Hattangady: Fig. 2, 244; Column 14, lines 17-42)
Regarding claim 4, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining the one or more composition parameters (i.e. content style) by utilizing a communication analysis model (i.e. content style model) to analyze digital content items (i.e. emojis/emoticons/symbolic content) associated with a user account (i.e. email account) within a content management system.(i.e. email system) (Miller: [0053]; [0030]; [0045])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determining the one or more composition parameters by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze digital content items (i.e. emojis/emoticons/symbolic content) associated with a user account within a content management system for the same motivation as detailed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the request to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on a user setting to automatically generate a draft response communication to newly received electronic communications; and (Miller: [0153]; [0185]; i.e. A user may set a notification preference such as whether to provide a real-time notification and the generated response and which activity/CS to monitor.)
the computer-implemented method further comprising providing the draft response communication for display within the assistance application. (Miller: [0028]; [0124])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein receiving the request to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on a user setting to automatically generate a draft response communication to newly received electronic communications and the computer-implemented method further comprising providing the draft response communication for display within the assistance application for the user to control the application to their liking.
Regarding claim 6, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the electronic communication thread is generated within an electronic communication platform that comprises a website or an electronic communication application; (i.e. messaging application) and (Hattangady: Column 3, lines 28-51)
the assistance application comprises a browser plugin or an application plugin. (Miller: [0144]; [0154])
Hattangady shows a messaging generator is a separate module that may be communicatively integrated into the messaging application. ([0030]) Miller shows that such a module may be plugin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein the assistance application comprises a browser plugin or an application plugin to extend the functionality of the messaging application.
Regarding claim 7, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a content item (i.e. emoji/GIFs/image data) within a content management system (i.e. email system) that relates to the response communication; and (Miller: [0050-0051]; [0053])
automatically attaching the content item within the response communication. (Miller: [0053])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein identifying a content item within a content management system that relates to the response communication and automatically attaching the content item within the response communication for the same motivation as detailed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Hattangady shows all of the features with respect to claim 8. However, Hattangady fails to disclose
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to:
determine a style composition parameter by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the electronic communication thread to identify a composition style of the electronic communication thread; and
wherein the one or more composition parameters comprise the style composition parameter.
Miller shows
determine a style composition parameter by utilizing a communication analysis model (i.e. content-style model) to analyze the electronic communication thread to identify a composition style of the electronic communication thread; and (Miller: [0092]; [0058]; [0064])
wherein the one or more composition parameters comprise the style composition parameter. (Miller: [0092])
Miller and Hattangady are considered analogous art because they involve automatic generation of responses for a use of a conversation thread. Hattangady shows generating the response to the thread after accessing all of the messages of the thread. Miller shows that such messages may be used to determine the appropriate response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determine a style composition parameter by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the electronic communication thread to identify a composition style of the electronic communication thread and wherein the one or more composition parameters comprise the style composition parameter. Doing so provides that the response is appropriate for the thread.
Regarding claim 11, Hattangady shows all of the features with respect to claim 8. However, Hattangady fails to disclose
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to determine the one or more composition parameters associated with the user account by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze digital content items associated with the user account.
Miller shows
determine the one or more composition parameters associated with the user account by utilizing a communication analysis model (i.e. content style model) to analyze digital content items (i.e. emojis/emoticons/symbolic content) associated with the user account. (Miller: [0053]; [0030])
Miller and Hattangady are considered analogous art because they involve automatic generation of responses for a use of a conversation thread. Hattangady shows generating the response to the thread after accessing all of the messages of the thread. Miller shows that such messages may be used to determine the appropriate response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determine the one or more composition parameters associated with the user account by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze digital content items associated with the user account. Doing so provides that the response is appropriate for the thread.
Regarding claim 12, Hattangady shows all of the features with respect to claim 8. However, Hattangady fails to disclose
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein determining to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on a user setting to automatically generate a draft response communication to newly received electronic communications.
Miller shows
wherein determining to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on a user setting to automatically generate a draft response communication to newly received electronic communications. (Miller: [0153]; [0185]; i.e. A user may set a notification preference such as whether to provide a real-time notification and the generated response and which activity/CS to monitor.)
Miller and Hattangady are considered analogous art because they involve automatic generation of responses for a use of a conversation thread. Hattangady shows generating the response to the thread after accessing all of the messages of the thread. Miller shows that such messages may be used to determine the appropriate response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determining to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on a user setting to automatically generate a draft response communication to newly received electronic communications. Doing so provides for the user to control the application to their liking.
Regarding claim 14, Hattangady shows all of the features with respect to claim 8. Hattangady further shows
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein: the electronic communication system comprises a website or an electronic communication application; (i.e. messaging application) and (Column 3, lines 28-51)
However, Hattangady fails to explicitly disclose
the assistance application comprises a browser plugin or an application plugin.
Miller shows
the assistance application comprises a browser plugin or an application plugin. (Miller: [0144]; [0154])
Miller and Hattangady are considered analogous art because they involve automatic generation of responses for a use of a conversation thread. Hattangady shows a messaging generator is a separate module that may be communicatively integrated into the messaging application. ([0030]) Miller shows that such a module may be plugin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein the assistance application comprises a browser plugin or an application plugin. Doing so extends the functionality of the messaging application.
Regarding claim 15, Hattangady shows
A system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: (Fig. 8; Column 23, lines 48-63; Column 24, line 56 – Column 25, line 18; i.e. Computer device implementing message generator.)
determine, by an assistance application (Fig. 2, 110; i.e. message generator) associated with a communication generation neural network, (Fig. 2, 108; Column 4, lines 28-39) to respond to an electronic communication within an electronic communication thread; (Column 3, lines 52-58) (Column 17, lines 37-39 and 48-50; i.e. It is determined to generate a response based on a selection by a user to generate a suggested draft reply message.)
access, by the assistance application, the electronic communication thread (i.e. messages of the thread are extracted from the body of selected message from the messaging application) from an electronic communication system; (Column 14, lines 56-61; Column 19, lines 23-33; Column 6, lines 15-26; Column 20, lines 4-18)
generate, based on the one or more composition parameters (i.e. context such as user’s preferred communication style/user’s relationships) and utilizing the communication generation neural network, a response communication to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread. (Column 20, lines 4-67)
However, Hattangady fails to show
determine, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters by analyzing the electronic communication thread; and
Miller shows
accessing, by the assistance application, (i.e. enhanced virtual assistant) the electronic communication thread ([0045]; i.e. CS); ([0165]; [0005])
determine, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters (i.e. CS content features such as content-substance and content-style) by analyzing the electronic communication thread; and ([0030]; [0057-0058])
generating, based on the one or more composition parameters and utilizing the communication generation neural network, ([0096]; i.e. trained response generation model) a response communication ([0177]) to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread. ([0182-0183])
Miller and Hattangady are considered analogous art because they involve automatic generation of responses for a use of a conversation thread. Hattangady shows generating the response to the thread after accessing all of the messages of the thread. Miller shows that such messages may be used to determine the appropriate response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determining, by the assistance application, one or more composition parameters by analyzing the electronic communication thread. Doing so provides that the response is appropriate for the thread.
Regarding claim 16, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 15. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The system of claim 15, wherein generating, based on the one or more composition parameters and utilizing the communication generation neural network, a response communication to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread comprising providing a prompt comprising the electronic communication (Hattangady: Column 20, lines 4-18; i.e. extracted message data is included in the context object) and the one or more composition parameters (Hattangady: Column 10, lines 19-53; i.e. user’s profile data such as preferred communication style/relationships is included in the context object) to the communication generation neural network. (Hattangady: Column 20, lines 54-60)
Regarding claim 17, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The system of claim 15, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to determine the one or more composition parameters by utilizing a communication analysis model (i.e. content-style model) to analyze the electronic communication thread to identify a tone or a composition style of the electronic communication thread. (Miller: [0092]; [0058]; [0064])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein determining the one or more composition parameters by utilizing a communication analysis model to analyze the electronic communication thread to identify a tone or a composition style of the electronic communication thread for the same motivation as detailed in claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The system of claim 15, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to provide the response communication to the electronic communication system, (i.e. messaging application) (Hattangady: Fig. 2, 250; Column 11, lines 23-36) wherein providing the response communication causes the electronic communication system to send the response communication. (Hattangady: Fig. 2, 244; Column 14, lines 17-42)
Regarding claim 19, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The system of claim 15, wherein determining to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on a user setting to automatically generate a draft response communication to newly received electronic communications. (Miller: [0153]; [0185]; i.e. A user may set a notification preference such as whether to provide a real-time notification and the generated response and which activity/CS to monitor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein receiving the request to respond to the electronic communication within the electronic communication thread is based on a user setting to automatically generate a draft response communication to newly received electronic for the user to control the application to their liking.
Regarding claim 20, Hattangady in view of Miller shows all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above. Hattangady in view of Miller further shows
The system of claim 15, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: identify a content item (i.e. emoji/GIFs/image data) within a content management system that relates to the response communication; and attaching the content item within the response communication. (Miller: [0050-0051]; [0053])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hattangady to incorporate the teachings of Miller wherein identifying a content item within a content management system that relates to the response communication and attaching the content item within the response communication for the same motivation as detailed in claim 15.
Conclusion
/CAROLINE H JAHNIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451