DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 10, & 18 recite the limitation "the housing" in lines 18, 16, & 12 , respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. All other claims are dependent from these independent claims and are therefore also subject to the 112 2nd rejection.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 contains four sentences and apparently four claims. Which claim does applicant wish to prosecute? Clarification is needed. One of the four claims will be addressed to advance prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-13, & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mitchell et al (U.S. PGPub # 2023/.0107226).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Mitchell teaches:
A sensor system (100) structured to measure an environmental property (Title, Abstract, & throughout the body of the text.), the system (100) comprising:
a. a laser cavity network (120) (Fig. 7 & 8. See paragraphs 0119-0124.), the laser cavity network (120) (Fig. 7 & 8. See paragraphs 0119-0124.) comprising:
i. one or more laser cavity arms (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.), each cavity arm comprising:
A. a cavity (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.);
B. a gain chip (122) configured to generate a laser beam (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109 wherein any laser is necessarily a device with a gain.); and
C. a rough tuning filter (123) comprising a birefringent filter operatively coupled to the gain chip (122), configured to coarsely tune the laser beam generated by the gain chip (122) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109 wherein any laser is necessarily a device with a gain.) to be within a broad range of wavelengths and maintain a single frequency operation for the laser beam (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109 wherein any laser is tuned to a certain frequency/wavelength.); and
ii. a sensing material (130) (Fig. 7 Elements 118, 119, 136, & 137 & Fig. 8 Elements 143 & 147.) disposed within the laser cavity network (120), configured to accept the one or more laser beams of the one or more laser cavity arms and measure the environmental property in response to the plurality of laser beams (Fig. 7 Elements 108, 109, 118, 119, 136, & 137 & Fig. 8 Elements 143 & 147.); and
b. a supply (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107 & 123.) and control subsystem (200) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 128.) operatively coupled to the laser cavity network (120) such that the supply (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107 & 123.) and control subsystem (200) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 128.) is external to the housing (110) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements that hold the lasers or are external to them.), the supply and control subsystem (200) comprising a laser pumping source (210) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 108.) configured to power each gain chip (122) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109 wherein any laser is necessarily a device with a gain.) of the one or more laser cavity arms (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107 & 123.).
Regarding claim 2, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches the environmental property comprises temperature, pressure, quantum properties, an electric field (Paragraph 0117.), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches the sensing material (130) comprises silicon carbide, vapor reference cells (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches the sensor system (100) comprises a magnetometer system (Title, Abstract, & throughout the body of the text.), wherein the environmental property comprises a magnetic field (Title, Abstract, & throughout the body of the text.).
Regarding claim 8, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms further comprises a mirror component (125) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 132.) disposed optically in line with the gain chip (122) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108, 109, & 132 wherein there exists a light path between all elements.).
Regarding Independent claim 10, Mitchell teaches:
A sensor system (100) structured to measure an environmental property, the system (100) (Title, Abstract, & body of text.) comprising:
a. a laser cavity network (120) (Fig. 7 & 8. See paragraphs 0119-0124.), the laser cavity network (120) (Fig. 7 & 8. See paragraphs 0119-0124.) comprising:
i. one or more laser cavity arms (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.), each cavity arm comprising:
A. a cavity (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.);
B. a gain chip (122) configured to generate a laser beam (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109 wherein all lasers have a gain element.); and
C. a frequency-selecting element (124), disposed optically in line with the gain chip (122), configured to fine-tune and narrow a linewidth of the laser beam (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109 wherein any laser is tuned to a certain frequency/wavelength.); and
ii. a sensing material (130) (Fig. 7 Elements 118, 119, 136, & 137 & Fig. 8 Elements 143 & 147.) disposed within the laser cavity network (120), configured to accept the one or more laser beams of the one or more laser cavity arms and measure the environmental property in response to the plurality of laser beams (Fig. 7 Elements 118, 119, 136, & 137 & Fig. 8 Elements 143 & 147.); and
b. a supply (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107 & 123.) and control subsystem (200) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 128.) operatively coupled to the laser cavity network (120) such that the supply (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107 & 123.) and control subsystem (200) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 128.) is external to the housing (110) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements that hold the lasers or are external to them.), the supply and control subsystem (200) comprising a laser pumping source (210) configured to power each gain chip (122) of the one or more laser cavity arms (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107 & 123.).
Regarding claim 11, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches the environmental property comprises temperature, pressure, quantum properties, an electric field (Paragraph 0117.), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches the sensing material (130) comprises silicon carbide, vapor reference cells (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 13, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches the sensor system (100) comprises a magnetometer system (Title, Abstract, & throughout the body of the text.), wherein the environmental property comprises a magnetic field (Title, Abstract, & throughout the body of the text.).
Regarding claim 16, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms further comprises a mirror component (125) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 132.) disposed optically in line with the gain chip (122) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107, 108, & 132.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell et al (U.S. PGPub # 2023/.0107226).
Regarding claim 6, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell does not explicitly teach the supply and control subsystem (200) further comprises a power supply configured to power the laser cavity network (120) and control electronics to control a function of the laser cavity network (120).
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the supply and control subsystem (200) further comprises a power supply configured to power the laser cavity network (120) and control electronics to control a function of the laser cavity network (120) because these are common elements used in the function of optical, laser based sensor systems to effectively operate sensitive devices.
Claims 9 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell et al (U.S. PGPub # 2023/.0107226) in view of Fallahi et al (U.S. PGPub # 2015/0288141).
Regarding claim 9, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell does not explicitly teach each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms comprises a vertical external surface-emitting laser (VECSEL).
Fallahi teaches each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms comprises a vertical external surface-emitting laser (VECSEL) (Title, Abstract, & throughout body of text.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Fallahi to the teachings of Mitchell such that each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms comprises a vertical external surface-emitting laser (VECSEL) because “vertical external-cavity surface emitting lasers (VECSELs) employing various III-V materials, have been … shown to provide a flexible high-brightness high-power output laser platform for generation of light in visible-IR wavelength bands.” See paragraph 0008 of Fallahi.
Regarding Independent claim 18, Mitchell teaches:
A sensor system (100) structured to measure an environmental property, the system (100) (Title, Abstract, & body of text.) comprising:
a. a laser cavity network (120) (Fig. 7 & 8. See paragraphs 0119-0124.) comprising:
i. one or more laser cavity arms (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.), each cavity arm (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.) comprising a cavity (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.) and a gain chip (122) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109 wherein all lasers have a gain element.) configured to generate a laser beam (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109.); and
ii. a sensing material (130) (Fig. 7 Elements 118, 119, 136, & 137 & Fig. 8 Elements 143 & 147.) disposed within the laser cavity network (120), configured to accept the one or more laser beams of the one or more laser cavity arms and measure the environmental property in response to the plurality of laser beams (Fig. 7 Elements 118, 119, 136, & 137 & Fig. 8 Elements 143 & 147.); and
b. a supply (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 107 & 123.) and control subsystem (200) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 128.) operatively coupled to the laser cavity network (120) such that the supply and control subsystem (200) is external to the housing (110) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements that hold the lasers or are external to them.), the supply and control subsystem (200) (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 128.) comprising a laser pumping source (210) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109.) configured to power each gain chip (122) (Fig. 7 & 8 Elements 108 & 109.) of the one or more laser cavity arms (Fig. 7 & 8 Element 113.);
Mitchell does not explicitly teach:
wherein each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms comprises a vertical external surface-emitting laser (VECSEL).
Fallahi teaches:
wherein each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms comprises a vertical external surface-emitting laser (VECSEL) (Title, Abstract, & throughout body of text.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Fallahi to the teachings of Mitchell such that each laser cavity arm of the one or more laser cavity arms comprises a vertical external surface-emitting laser (VECSEL) because “vertical external-cavity surface emitting lasers (VECSELs) employing various III-V materials, have been … shown to provide a flexible high-brightness high-power output laser platform for generation of light in visible-IR wavelength bands.” See paragraph 0008 of Fallahi.
Regarding claim 19, Mitchell & Fallahi teach all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches the sensor system (100) comprises a magnetometer system (Title, Abstract, & throughout the body of the text.), wherein the environmental property comprises a magnetic field (Title, Abstract, & throughout the body of the text.).
Claims 5 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell et al (U.S. PGPub # 2023/.0107226) in view of Barry et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0178959).
Regarding claim 5, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell does not explicitly teach the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130).
Barry teaches the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130) (Title, Abstract, and throughout the body of the text. See Fig. 1 Element 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Barry to the teachings of Mitchell & Fallahi such that the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130) because “improvements in vector magnetometry over existing techniques are achieved using nitrogen vacancy (NV) centers in diamond” wherein “simultaneous vector (i.e., multi-axis) magnetometry is performed using a single diamond sensor while achieving the same or better sensitivity as with single-axis, single diamond magnetometry.”
Regarding claim 14, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell does not explicitly teach the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130). The system (100) of claim 12, wherein the supply and control subsystem (200) comprises a power supply configured to power the laser cavity network (120) and control electronics to control a function of the laser cavity network (120).14. The system (100) of claim 13, wherein the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130).The system (100) of claim 12, wherein the supply and control subsystem (200) comprises a power supply configured to power the laser cavity network (120) and control electronics to control a function of the laser cavity network (120).
Barry teaches the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130) (Title, Abstract, and throughout the body of the text. See Fig. 1 Element 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Barry to the teachings of Mitchell & Fallahi such that the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130) because “improvements in vector magnetometry over existing techniques are achieved using nitrogen vacancy (NV) centers in diamond” wherein “simultaneous vector (i.e., multi-axis) magnetometry is performed using a single diamond sensor while achieving the same or better sensitivity as with single-axis, single diamond magnetometry.”
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell et al (U.S. PGPub # 2023/.0107226) in view of Fallahi et al (U.S. PGPub # 2015/0288141) & Barry et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0178959).
Regarding claim 20, Mitchell & Fallahi teach all elements of claim 19, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell does not explicitly teach the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130).
Barry teaches the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130) (Title, Abstract, and throughout the body of the text. See Fig. 1 Element 102.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Barry to the teachings of Mitchell & Fallahi such that the sensing material (130) comprises a nitrogen-vacancy (NV) diamond, wherein measuring the environmental property comprises optically measuring an electron spin state of a center of the sensing material (130) because “improvements in vector magnetometry over existing techniques are achieved using nitrogen vacancy (NV) centers in diamond” wherein “simultaneous vector (i.e., multi-axis) magnetometry is performed using a single diamond sensor while achieving the same or better sensitivity as with single-axis, single diamond magnetometry.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 15, & 17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 7, Mitchell teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Mitchell teaches a housing (110) comprising an interior wall and one or more shock absorbers (115) disposed along the interior wall, such that the laser cavity network (120) is suspended in place by the one or more shock absorbers (115).
Regarding claim 15,
The system (100) of claim 10 further comprising a housing (110) comprising an interior wall and one or more shock absorbers (115) disposed along the interior wall, such that the laser cavity network (120) is suspended in place by the one or more shock absorbers (115).
Regarding claim 17,
The system (100) of claim 10, wherein the frequency-selecting element (124) comprises a temperature-controlled etalon comprising a thermoelectric cooler, an electro-optically-controlled etalon, a mechanically-controlled etalon, or a combination thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858