DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ communication filed on August 7, 2026. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 are amended. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed August 7, 2026, have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references as presented in this Office action. Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230403114 (KO et al.) (hereinafter KO) in view of US 20230194648 A1 (MIAO et al.) (hereinafter MIAO) and in further view of US 20210156949 A1 (LIOU et al.) (hereinafter LIOU).
In re claims 1, 5 and 9, KO discloses a method of operating a position estimation entity (Fig. 16, [0176], “a sidelink TDOA method for performing positioning based on one positioning reference and an apparatus supporting the same are proposed. In this case, for example, a positioning reference may include at least one of a base station, a transmission point (TP), and/or an RSU (UE-type RSU or eNB/gNB-type RSU). As an embodiment, considering the SL positioning to be applied to a vehicle, since a UE can use an RSU located on a road outside the coverage of a base station as a positioning reference, the UE may perform positioning”) and a position estimation entity ([0150], “a method for more accurately estimating the location of a UE and an apparatus supporting the same may be proposed, by UEs capable of estimating position information having an estimation error mutually sharing a relative distance measurement value for a specific landmark on a road whose absolute location is not known in advance”), comprising: a memory (Fig. 20:104); at least one transceiver (Fig. 20:106); and at least one processor (Fig. 20:102) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver ([0213], “the one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers”), a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions ([0214], “For example, the apparatus may comprise: one or more processors; and one or more memories operably connectable to the one or more processors and storing instructions. For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to: receive information related to an absolute position of a positioning reference”) that, when executed by a position estimation entity, cause the position estimation entity to:
determine a set of local coordinate system (LCS) locations associated with a set of anchors ([0177], “In this case, the vehicle UE may be a T-UE that intends to measure its own location, and the UE-type RSU on the road and vehicles around the T-UE may be S-UEs participating in positioning of the T-UE” (S-UE’s are a set of anchors) associated with position estimation of user equipment’s (UEs) ([0151], “For example, a vehicle may select or determine any nearby object that can be used as a landmark for positioning. For example, a vehicle may use one or more objects that are uniquely recognizable without being confused with other surrounding objects, such as a specific building, traffic sign, or structure, as landmarks for positioning” (anchor points). [0152], “For example, any vehicle may use radar, lidar, camera, and/or sensor, etc., to perform relative positioning for a selected landmark (vehicle obtained its relative positioning with respect to the landmark or anchor implies determining the location coordinates of the landmark or anchor) ... In this case, for example, a vehicle may estimate the absolute position of a landmark by using its absolute position estimation value and the relative positioning estimation value for the landmark... In addition, a vehicle may transmit information regarding the absolute position of the landmark to one or more nearby vehicles” (determining an absolute position of the landmark anchor by using its estimates absolute position as obtained by GNSS and its relative position w.r.t to the landmark). [0185], “In step S1605, based on the difference of a positioning RS reception timing (RSTD) of each S-UE received from at least one neighboring S-UE and the timing when the T-UE receives a positioning RS, the T-UE may estimate the location of a positioning reference (e.g., RSU or S-UE #3) using TDOA-based positioning” (determining location coordinates of the set of anchors associated with position estimation of the UE)); and
transmit an LCS frame that includes indications of the set of LCS locations, wherein the set of anchors is associated with an environment where absolute position estimation is unavailable or does not satisfy an accuracy requirement for position estimation.
KO does not explicitly disclose transmit an LCS frame that includes indications of the set of LCS locations ([0184], “In step S1620, an RSU or S-UE operating as a positioning reference may transmit a positioning RS to neighboring T-UE or the remaining S-UE. And, in step S1630, a T-UE and at least one S-UE may measure the timing of receiving a positioning RS”).
MIAO discloses transmit an LCS frame that includes indications of the set of LCS locations (Fig. 6, [0127], “As shown in FIG. 5, an embodiment of the disclosure provides a positioning system, including: a first terminal 10 and a peer device 20” (peer device maybe an anchor node). [0128], “The first terminal 10 is configured to receive the positioning auxiliary information, and determine the position information of the second terminal relative to the first terminal according to the received positioning auxiliary information”. [0044], “In one embodiment, the second terminal sends a second positioning signal and timestamp information of a sending moment of the second positioning signal to the first terminal” (transmit PRS signal indicative of the positions in local coordinate system). [0275], “determine a relative distance between the second terminal and the first terminal according to the timestamp information of the sending moment of the first positioning signal, the timestamp information of the receiving moment of the second positioning signal and the time difference information; and determine a relative position between the second terminal and the first terminal according to the relative distance between the second terminal and the first terminal”. [0158], “Step 604: the UE2 reports its own speed information and speed direction information to the UE1” (here speed information indicates position of the UE in local coordinates). [0223], “The UE1 determines the relative distance and relative direction angle between the UE2 and UE1 according to its own absolute position and the absolute position of the UE2, and determines the position information of the UE2 relative to the UE1 according to the determined relative distance and relative direction angle” (transmitting positioning reference signal to the UE according to the absolute position of the anchor UEs as measured in the local coordinate system)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO with MIAO to provide a system and a method to determine an accurate absolute position for the UE based on its estimated absolute position and a relative position of a nearby object as a landmark for positioning such as a building, traffic sign or structure when a TDOA-based positioning method is not possible such as when a UE is outside the coverage area of a base station. The advantage is in the V2X communication technology and may include vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, or the like.
KO and MIAO do not explicitly disclose transmit an LCS frame that includes indications of the set of LCS locations, wherein the set of anchors is associated with an environment where absolute position estimation is unavailable or does not satisfy an accuracy requirement for position estimation.
LIOU discloses transmit an LCS frame that includes indications of the set of LCS locations, wherein the set of anchors is associated with an environment where absolute position estimation is unavailable or does not satisfy an accuracy requirement for position estimation (Fig. 1A, [0003], “Nowadays everyone has a smartphone equipped with GNSS so that a person can determine his or her whereabouts. However, the GNSS signal fade quickly indoor. Without a reliable satellite signal indoor, GNSS is not useful in determining indoor locations”. [0008], “The drawback of the fingerprint approach is its in-advance measurement. In-advance site survey is a must; however automatic it can be carried out. That is the prerequisite”. [0009], “...Each communication node learns of its geographic coordinate in a global sense by harvesting location information from neighboring communication nodes. By conducting telemetry multiple times and implementing an error index each communication node maintains its geographic coordinate with a precision that improves progressively over time. These communication nodes with progressively improved location accuracy are then used as the hinge points (also called “anchor nodes” in many literatures) for other communication nodes with no coordinate information or with coordinate information in less accuracy to conduct telemetry survey and secure (improved) coordinate information” (using relative positioning framework where absolute positioning does not meet the accuracy framework). [0010], “...the present invention provides a progressive global positioning system, which includes a plurality of communication nodes bearing absolute geographic position coordinates (also called Cartesian coordinates; hereinafter “geographic coordinates” or simply “coordinates”) and accuracy merits. The communication nodes are distributed over a space and adjacent to one another. The embodiments of the present invention use Cartesian space coordinates in (x, y, z) to represent the geographic coordinates...The communication node intending to determine the geographic coordinate and the accuracy merit thereof can therefore perform a relative positioning algorithm with the communication nodes adjacent thereto (“the first hinge communication node”) in order to determine the geographic coordinate and the accuracy merit of the communication node”. [0014], “...These include signal strength, time-of-flight, etc. These radio telemetry skills are subject to errors introduced by object obstruction and reflection and introduce different degrees of uncertainty. Assessment of uncertainties in distance measurement becomes part of the positioning exercise indicated in a communication node's Accuracy Merit (AM)” (discloses a LCS frame with cartesian coordinate performing relative positioning with anchor nodes). [0036], “As an exemplary use scenario in a place such as a household or public space (indoors), (first or second) hinge communication nodes NJ, NK, NL, and NM (anchor nodes) with reliable coordinates can be deployed so that movable communication nodes such as smartphones (UE), acting as initiators, can identify their absolute coordinates by exercising relative positioning algorithm... After obtaining its geographic coordinate with the relative positioning algorithm, the smartphone may use its newly obtained location info in various applications. For example, the location data may be sent to an online map service so that the phone displays its location on a map”. [0026], “The calculations involved in a relative positioning algorithm include retrieving the geographic coordinates from neighboring first hinge communication nodes, measuring distances from neighboring first hinge communication nodes, and determining the geographic coordinate via trilateration...In this work each communication node's geographic coordinate is further given an Accuracy Merit so that both distance errors in a telemetry measurement and the errors inherited from its hinge communication nodes can be included” (using relative positioning as absolute positioning does not meet accuracy requirement in indoor environment). [0075], “This way even without GPS or internet connection the gadgets on board the vehicle get to know their precise locations. An app on the gadget (a smartphone) can not only count on the absolute position to identify its location on a geographic map, but also gets to know its reference location in this vehicle. A passenger can therefore be guided to a seat or to a moving train conductor, as some examples. Inertial motion sensors (e.g. accelerometer and gyroscope) data collected on the vehicle can further be used to improve the precision of the absolute coordinates for the vehicle communication nodes NV. This is done with a known trajectory of the vehicle and the previous known position at the starting point of the trajectory. With this type of inertial navigation assistance, the vehicle communication nodes continues to provide services even if stationary hinge communication nodes by roadside are temporarily unavailable” (using relative positioning frame when absolute positioning not available)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and MIAO with LIOU to provide a system and a method to determine an accurate absolute position for the UE based on its estimated absolute position and a relative position of a nearby object as a landmark for positioning such as a building, traffic sign or structure when a TDOA-based positioning method is not possible such as when a UE is outside the coverage area of a base station. The advantage is in the V2X communication technology and may include vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, or the like.
In re claims 2, 6 and 10, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, the position estimation entity of claim 5 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein KO discloses wherein each LCS location in the set of LCS locations is associated with transformation information for transforming the respective LCS location to an absolute location associated with an absolute coordinate system (Fig. 17, [0133], “the UE may obtain or determine the absolute position estimation value of the landmark based on the relative position estimation value of the landmark and the UE's own absolute position estimation value”. [0168], “By using the shared absolute position estimation value of a landmark obtained/determined by other UEs and the absolute position estimation value of the landmark it has estimated, the UE may determine/obtain the absolute position estimation value of the landmark with reduced estimation error”. [0186], “for example, the T-UE and each S-UE may estimate their approximate position based on GPS (determine LCS of anchor S-UE). Here, a T-UE receiving the position information from a S-UE may estimate the relative distance between the S-UE and the T-UE. Accordingly, the T-UE may determine both the relative positions/distances and absolute orientations of the surrounding S-UEs by using the geomagnetic sensor and a sensor that measures the relative position/distance”. [0187], “For example, by determining the relative position/distance of the positioning reference from the T-UE and S-UEs through the TDOA-based positioning, and using the absolute orientation of a T-UE and S-UEs to remove ambiguity about the absolute orientation for a positioning reference, the absolute position of the positioning reference may be estimated from the absolute positions roughly estimated by the T-UE and the S-UE based on GPS” (transforming the estimated LCS coordinates to absolute position determination for the anchor UEs). At this time, if the absolute coordinates for the absolute position shared by the positioning reference and the absolute position of the estimated positioning reference are compared, the estimation error for the absolute position of the positioning reference can be calculated...that is, in step S1660, the T-UE may obtain an accurate absolute position by correcting its absolute position estimation value based on the relative position of the positioning reference and the absolute position of the positioning reference”).
In re claims 3, 7 and 11, the combination discloses the method of claim 2, the position estimation entity of claim 6 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein MIAO discloses wherein the transformation information is applied to one or more of: an origin of the LCS, or an x-axis position of the LCS location, or a y-axis position of the LCS location, or a z-axis position of the LCS location, or a combination thereof ([0174], “the reference direction is the horizontal direction in the map coordinate system, the UE1 and UE2 have a relative motion trend in the vertical direction (perpendicular to the horizontal direction) and are in the relatively static state in the horizontal direction, and the initial distance between UE1 and UE2 is the distance di in the vertical direction. [0176], “d2=d1+V1×sinθ1+V2×sinθ2×T4-T1/2” (Formula 5 discloses transformation is applied to an origin (0,0) and x, y, z axis of the LCS)).
In re claims 4, 8 and 12, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein MIAO discloses wherein the set of LCS locations is defined by cartesian coordinates or polar coordinates (Fig. 8, [0222], “In an example, assuming that the positioning auxiliary information sent by the eNB1 includes the position information of eNB1 itself, for example: the eNB1 is located at coordinates (0, 0) in the map coordinate system, the relative position of the UE1 relative to the eNB1 is coordinates (0, 10), and the relative position of the UE2 relative to the eNB1 is coordinates (0, 20), then the UE1 can infer the relative position of the UE2 relative to the UE1 itself according to the above information” (discloses locations of the UE in cartesian coordinates). [0183], “Here, the direction angle of the UE2 relative to the UE1 itself is the relative direction angle between two vehicles. For example, if the UE1 determines that the arrival angle of the PRS2 is directly in front of the UE1, then the UE1 can determine that the UE2 is located on a circle with the UE1 as the center and the determined relative distance as the radius after determining the relative distance from the UE2. After the direction angle of the UE2 relative to the UE1 is determined, a position can be uniquely determined according to the determined direction angle relative to the UE1 itself, where this position is the position of the UE2 relative to the UE1”. [0233], “For example, the UE1 determines that the final relative distance of the UE2 relative to the UE1 is 10.5 m and the azimuth angle is 60.5” (discloses locations of UE in polar coordinates r, ϴ)).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649