DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10, 19-24, 27, 28, 30, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otterstrom US20170293134 and further in view of Geissler US20050135095.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 1, “A light source for illuminating a target for medical imaging, the light source comprising:
a first light emitter (second LED 132 emits blue wavelength light; fig 5; 0053) that emits light having a first wavelength band and a second light emitter (first LED/UV LED 130 emits UV wavelength light; fig 5; 0053) that emits light having a second wavelength band that is different than the first wavelength band;
a second light emitter package (package containing third LED 134; fig 5) comprising a third light emitter (third LED 134 emitting green wavelength light; fig 5; 0053) that emits light having a third wavelength band that is different than the first and second wavelength bands;
a third light emitter package comprising a fourth light emitter (red light fourth LED 136; fig 5; 0053) that emits light having a fourth wavelength band (red light) that is different than the first, second, and third wavelength bands, and
a controller (switching logic 164; fig 4; 0059) for operating the light source in a first mode (0061 describes the first mode) in which the first light emitter, the third light emitter, and the fourth light emitter are activated and to produce white light and the second light emitter is deactivated (0061 describes the first mode where the first LED/UV LED 130 is off and RGB light is on for white light illumination), and a second mode (0063 describes a third mode as the claimed second mode where only the first LED/UV LED 130 as the claimed second light emitter is powered on) in which the first light emitter is deactivated and the second light emitter is activated”.
Otterstrom does not disclose for claim 1, wherein the first light emitter and second light emitter are configured on “a first light emitter package comprising” the first and second light emitters, but rather does not specify the configuration of the emitters on emitter packages. Geissler teaches in the same field of endeavor, packaging multiple light emitters onto a single emitter package (fig 8 showing red and blue on a single package along with green and turquoise on a single package, taking four separate light emitters onto two packages 0039). Since Otterstrom fails to disclose the nature of the light emitter packages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any suitable package configuration known in the art, including the one taught by Geissler to achieve the predictable result of configuring a first light emitter package comprising a first light emitter and a second light emitter as claimed. Geissler provides additional motivation for the combination citing that multiple panels (packages) connected in series requires greater installation space and exhibit disadvantageously different differences in distance from the sources to the connection to the projection device (0005), whereby combining two emitters into a single package provides efficient and comparatively simply array for the illumination of an object including a small installation space (0007).
Modified Otterstrom discloses for claim 3, “The light source of claim 1, comprising a first optical element (Geissler: dichroic beam splitter SP4 as modified in claim 1; fig 8 0039) for combining emissions from at least the first and second light emitter packages into a combined light beam”.
Modified Otterstrom discloses for claim 4, “The light source of claim 3, comprising a second optical element (optical component 132’ modified for dual emitters; fig 7; 0055) located in front of the first light emitter and the second light emitter (Geissler: fig 8 shows a package with two light emitters emitting in a single light path) for receiving light from the first light emitter and the second light emitter and directing the received light to the first optical element”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 5, “The light source of claim 3, comprising a third optical element (optical component 134’; fig 5; 0055) located in front of at least the third light emitter for receiving light from at least the third light emitter and directing the received light to the first optical element.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 7, “The light source of claim 1, wherein the light having the second wavelength band comprises non-visible light (UV light as cited above)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 8, “The light source of claim 7, wherein the non-visible light comprises near-infrared light or ultraviolet light (first LED/UV LED 130 emits UV wavelength light; fig 5; 0053)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 10, “The light source of claim 8, wherein the third light emitter comprises a green light emitter (third LED 134 emitting green wavelength light; fig 5; 0053)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 19, “The light source of claim 1, wherein the light source is configured for endoscopic imaging (0044 describes the system for endoscopic imaging)”.
Modified Otterstrom discloses for claim 20 (as in claim 1), “A method for illuminating a target for medical imaging, the method comprising:
emitting light having a first wavelength band (second LED 132 emits blue wavelength light; fig 5; 0053) from a first light emitter (Geissler: fig 8 showing an emitter with two light sources) of a first light emitter package while a second light emitter (first LED/UV LED 130 emits UV wavelength light; fig 5; 0053) of the first light emitter package remains deactivated (0061 describes the first mode where the first LED/UV LED 130 is off and RGB light is on for white light illumination), wherein the second light emitter is configured to emit light having a second wavelength band (UV light) that is different than the first wavelength band (blue light);
while emitting the light having the first wavelength band from the first light emitter, emitting light having a third wavelength band (third LED 134 emitting green wavelength light; fig 5; 0053) that is different than the first and second wavelength bands from a third light emitter of a second light emitter package (package containing third LED 134; fig 5) emitting light having a fourth wavelength band (blue light second LED 132; fig 5; 0053) that is different from the first, second, and third wavelength bands from a fourth light emitter of a third light emitter package to illuminate the target with white light (0053 describes white light generation by activating red, green, and blue lights) that includes the first, third, and fourth wavelength bands and lacks the second wavelength band (0061 describes the first mode where the first LED/UV LED 130 is off and RGB light is on for white light illumination); and
deactivating the first light emitter and activating the second light emitter to emit the light having the second wavelength band to illuminate the target with light that includes the second wavelength band and lacks the first wavelength band (0063 describes a third mode as the claimed second mode where only the first LED/UV LED 130 as the claimed second light emitter is powered on)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 21, “The method of claim 20, comprising combining the light from the first and second light emitter packages into a combined light, and illuminating the target with the combined light (Geissler: dichroic beam splitter SP4 as modified in claim 1; fig 8 0039)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 22, “The method of claim 20, comprising, while emitting the light having the first and third wavelength bands, generating a first temporal sequence of images of the target (0004, 0045 describes video image data for the different imaging modes)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 23, “The method of claim 20, comprising, while emitting the light having the second wavelength band, generating a second temporal sequence of images of the target (0004, 0045 describes video image data for the different imaging modes)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 24, “The method of claim 20, comprising generating a temporal sequence of images while alternatingly activating and deactivating the first and second light emitters (0045 describes controlling various functions, which includes imaging modes)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 27, “The method of claim 20, wherein the light having the second wavelength band includes non-visible light (UV light as cited above)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 28, “The method of claim 27, wherein the non-visible light comprises infrared light or ultraviolet light (first LED/UV LED 130 emits UV wavelength light; fig 5; 0053)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 30, “The method of claim 28, wherein the third light emitter comprises a green light emitter (third LED 134 emitting green wavelength light; fig 5; 0053)”.
Otterstrom discloses for claim 38, “The method of claim 20, comprising illuminating the target with an endoscope (0044 describes the system for endoscopic imaging)”.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otterstom and Geissler as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Landes US20240032782.
Otterstrom does not disclose for claim 25, “The method of claim 20, wherein the third light emitter remains activated while the first light emitter is deactivated and the second light emitter is activated to illuminate the target with light that includes the third wavelength band (0061 describes the first mode where the first LED/UV LED 130 is off and RGB light is on for white light illumination)”. Landes teaches in the same field of endeavor, structure of blood vessels can be better recognized by illuminating with UV light and green light (0002). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the modification of Landes into the invention of Otterstrom in order to configure the method e.g. as claimed because it provides an imaging mode that better images blood vessel structure (0002).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Geissler does not teach packaging together simply any light emitters of a light source, but rather ONLY emitters whose light is combined, i.e., those that are emitting at the same time (page 10 of Remarks). Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive because Geissler repeatedly describes the LEDs as “individual”, and therefore not functionally connected or coupled to any other LEDs even ones on the same package. Geissler’s placement of multiple LEDs on a single package does not further detail or describe how the LEDs must be reconfigured to operate in a non-individual manner such that their on/off functionality is now forced to be bound together, e.g. tying/soldering/electrically connecting their power leads. Without this further teaching, it is unclear how Geissler’s disclosure requires LEDs on the same package to be forced to operate synchronously. Rather, the control of the “individual” LEDs are still left to the controller, allowing for continued “individual” control of EACH LED. Geissler simply provides an example where packaged LEDs are considered illuminated in coordination and this one example does not therefore preclude or presume that all operation of “individual” LEDs are forced somehow into the same constraint.
Additionally, Geissler’s motivation for combining packages described at 0005 details simply providing the advantage of space saving of adjacent lights, i.e. LEDs “in series” by placing them on a single package, with no further requirements, restrictions, or considerations other than simply “adjacent” in order to provide physical space savings which is a universal advantage. This advantage that Geissler discloses does not wade into the waters of how the “individual” LEDs are turned on or off. This advantage is provide irrespective of this function. The operational requirement is purely fabricated based on applicant’s comments and has no basis found in Geissler.
Additionally, with respect to the operation of the DMD matrix that Geissler uses for these LEDs, 0039 describes the light of the LEDs are supplied to the system “in chronological sequence”, i.e. not emitting at the same time as applicant alleges on the last para of page 10 of their Remarks. This sequential emitting of the LEDs comports with how DMD matrices encodes color information, i.e. separately and chronologically exposing individual color illumination channels (e.g. R, G, and B) onto a micromirror channel at a high frequency such that the human eye integrates these rapid sequences into continuous color perception. Since the LEDs must be illuminated in sequence, the LEDs on the same package are not in fact illuminated or required to be illuminated at the same time and must be “individually” controlled regardless of on what package they reside.
Based on these reasonings, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jae Woo/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
08/22/26