DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Notice to Pro-Se Applicant
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at www.uspto.gov/FindPatentAttorney.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement (IDS). 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The Examiner notes U.S. Patent reference 20220095 does not exist. It appears Applicant meant to list US 2022/009522. While, this reference has been crossed-through on the considered IDS, it has been cited in the attached PTO-892.
The information disclosure statement filed July 3, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. A copy of the EP 1557077 A1 reference has not been provided by Applicant. Further, said reference would be considered a foreign patent document, not a non-patent literature document. While, this reference has been crossed-through on the considered IDS, it has been cited in the attached PTO-892, and a copy has been provided for the application file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) because improper cross hatching is used to indicate section portions of an object in a cross-sectional view of the invention shown in Figures 8-16. See MPEP 608.02(IX) for proper cross hatching patterns.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(m) for including solid black shading areas in Figures 8-11. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(q) and 37 CFR 1.84(r) for including reference characters with freestanding lead lines which do not extend to the feature indicated, nor do they utilize an arrow to point to the feature indicated in Figures 1, 3, 4, 8, 12, 20, 22, 23, 27-29, 32, 34, 36, 37, and 39.
Specification
The abstract is objected to for referring to purported merits of the invention in lines 5-9. See MPEP 608.01(b). Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The Examiner notes references EP 1569077 A1 (see paragraphs [0003]-[0004]), US 1690189 A (see paragraph [0005]), and US 6316541 B1 (see paragraph [0007] in the specification do not correspond to the structure described. EP 1569077 A1 is directed to a keyboard for mobile devices, US 1690189 A is directed to differential gearing, and US 6316541 B1 is directed to a method for making polysiloxane emulsions.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “an end cap on the handle casing with a toggle mechanism” in lines 1-2. An end cap with a toggle mechanism is not set forth in the disclosure as originally filed and is therefore not enabled. A toggle (101) is disclosed as being on the handle casing (106) and not the end cap (116) as purported by the claim (see Figure 32 and paragraph [0064]).
Claims 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the tool head” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. A tool head is not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the tool head” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. A tool head is not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the tool head” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. A tool head is not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “for securing accessories like a dustpan” in line 2. This phrase renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the brake foot" in line 2 and “the tool head” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. A brake foot and tool head are not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends. The Examiner notes it appears claim 14 should depend from claim 3, instead of from claim 1, given a brake foot and a cable are recited in claim 3.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the handle casing" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A handle is not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the brake foot" in line 1 and “the tool head” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. A brake foot and tool head are not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends. The Examiner notes it appears claim 14 should depend from claim 3, instead of from claim 1, given a brake foot and a cable are recited in claim 3.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the compression collar" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A compression collar is not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends. The Examiner notes it appears claim 16 should depend from claim 5, instead of from claim 1, given claim 5 first recites a compression collar.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the octagonal tool adapter chamber” in lines 1-2 and "the tool head" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. An octagonal tool adapter chamber and a tool head are not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends. The Examiner notes it appears claim 16 should depend from claim 2, instead of from claim 1, given the octagonal tool adapter chamber is first recited in claim 2.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “enable ergonomic use for tasks such as sweeping or raking” in line 3. This limitation amounts to purported merits of the invention, and it is unclear from the limitation what structure, if any, the limitation adds to the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “providing versatility for different tasks” in lines 3-4. This limitation amounts to purported merits of the invention, and it is unclear from the limitation what structure, if any, the limitation adds to the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the cable" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A cable is not previously recited in the claim or from the claim which it depends. The Examiner notes it appears claim 18 should depend from claim 3, instead of from claim 1, given the cable is first recited in claim 3.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “reducing weight and improving maneuverability compared to rod-based mechanisms” in lines 2-4. This limitation amounts to purported merits of the invention, and it is unclear from the limitation what structure, if any, the limitation adds to the claim.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 is only directed to purported merits of the invention and, as such, does not add any structure to the claim from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CH 341615 (Rudolf; the citations of which are taken from the attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf discloses an adjustable tool holder (see Figures 1 and 2 and annotated Figure 1 below) comprising:
- a handle (7);
- a joint assembly (see annotated Figure 1 below) connected to the handle;
- a drum assembly (11) within the joint assembly;
- a tool head adapter (2) configured to be mounted to the drum assembly at multiple angular positions (via pivot pin 5);
- a locking mechanism (14) within the drum assembly that secures the tool head adapter in one of multiple fixed angular positions (see page 2, first paragraph);
- a dynamic adjustment mechanism (13, 15-20) allowing the angle between the handle and the tool head to be changed in a sweeping arc of up to 270° without interrupting use (see page 2, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Rudolf discloses the tool head adapter (2) comprises an octagonal post (formed by the nut on the end of pivot pin 5) and the drum assembly (11) comprises an octagonal tool adapter chamber, allowing the tool head adapter to be mounted in 45° increments around a 360° axis (see “any desired position” in page 2, second paragraph).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 1 of Rudolf
Regarding claim 3, Rudolf discloses the dynamic adjustment mechanism (13, 15-20) comprises a brake foot (13) and a cable (19), where the brake foot is disengaged by pulling the cable, allowing the drum assembly to rotate relative to the handle (see page 2, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, Rudolf discloses the locking mechanism (14) comprises a tool lock (provided by the nut on the end of pivot pin 5) with ramped surfaces that engage with a notch (formed at the octagonal tool chamber in annotated Figure 1 above) in the tool head adapter (2) to secure the tool head in place.
Regarding claim 5, Rudolf discloses a compression collar (see annotated Figure 1 above) on the joint assembly that reinforces the connection between the handle (7) and the joint assembly (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Rudolf discloses the tool head adapter (2) can be quickly mounted and detached by pushing the adapter into the drum assembly (11), which automatically locks the tool head in place (see Figures 1 and 2, and page 2).
Regarding claim 7, Rudolf discloses the dynamic adjustment mechanism (13, 15-20) allows the tool holder to self-stand when the tool head is mounted (see page 2, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Rudolf discloses the dynamic adjustment mechanism (13, 15-20) includes a toggle (20) that, when depressed, disengages the locking mechanism and allows the drum assembly to rotate (see page 2).
Regarding claim 9, Rudolf discloses an accessory mounting dock on the joint assembly for attaching additional accessories, such as a secondary handle (the term “accessory mounting dock” being so broad so as to encompass any surface of the joint assembly).
Regarding claim 11, Rudolf discloses the drum assembly (11) comprises multiple slots (at 14) on its outer surface that engage with the brake foot (13) to secure the tool head in fixed angular positions (see Figures 1 and 2, and page 2).
Regarding claim 12, Rudolf discloses the locking mechanism (14) is spring biased (at 16) to automatically lock the tool head adapter when it is inserted into the drum assembly (see Figures 1 and 2, and page 2).
Regarding claim 13, Rudolf discloses an end cap (21) on the handle casing with a toggle mechanism (20) for activating the dynamic adjustment mechanism (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Rudolf discloses the brake foot (13) comprises a tooth that engages with the slots (at 14) on the outer surface of the drum assembly to lock the tool head in place (see Figure 2 and page 2).
Regarding claim 16, Rudolf discloses the octagonal tool adapter chamber and tool head adapter (see annotated Figure 1 above) allow the tool head to be mounted at an angle, enabling ergonomic use for tasks such as sweeping or raking (see page 2).
Regarding claim 17, Rudolf discloses the dynamic adjustment mechanism (13, 15-20) allows the tool holder to adapt to various tool heads, including brooms, rakes, debris pans, shovels, and squeegees, providing versatility for different tasks (see Figures 1 and 2, and page 2).
Regarding claim 18, Rudolf discloses the cable (19) of the dynamic adjustment mechanism (13, 15-20) runs through a lumen in the handle, reducing weight and improving maneuverability compared to rod-based mechanisms (the portion at 17 running through a lumen, as shown in Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of US 2023/0054432 (Michon).
Rudolf discloses the tool holder of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the handle casing includes a magnetic accessory dock for securing accessories like a dustpan.
Michon teaches providing a handle casing includes a magnetic accessory dock for securing accessories like a dustpan in order to ensure a user has quick access to desired additional tools (see paragraph [0008]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool holder of Rudolf such that disclose the handle casing includes a magnetic accessory dock for securing accessories like a dustpan, as taught in Michon, in order to ensure a user has quick access to desired additional tools.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of US 6,142,698 (Nutter).
Rudolf discloses the tool holder of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the handle (7) is secured to the joint assembly by screws and further reinforced by the compression collar (see annotated Figure 1 above) to prevent loosening over time.
Nutter teaches a handle (12) is secured to a joint assembly by screws (23) and further reinforced by the compression collar (26, 31) to prevent loosening over time by providing a redundant locking means (see Figures 7 and 8, and column 1, line 67, through column 2, line 6, and column 2, lines 32-44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool holder of Rudolf such that disclose the handle is secured to the joint assembly by screws and further reinforced by the compression collar to prevent loosening over time, as taught in Nutter, in order to provide a redundant locking means.
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of adjustable tool holders.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
August 3, 2026