DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 30 March 2026, in which claims 19, 20, 22, 26, and 37-39 were amended, and claims 18 and 36 were canceled. Examiner notes that the status identifiers associated with claims 22, 38, and 39 are incorrect because these claims are currently amended, rather than previously presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salmon et al. (US 5406303 A). Salmon et al. discloses a vehicle (the recitation of “off-road” leads to the intended use of the vehicle, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; additionally, there is no structure in the claims to differentiate use with an off-road vehicle from use with any other vehicle) comprising a mount assembly (instrument cluster mount) for a display interface (including layers #24, 26, 28, 30, clear plastic front panel #85) in the vehicle (figures 1-6), the display interface being accessible to a vehicle driver within a vehicle cabin (figures 1, 2, 6-7b), the mount assembly comprising:
(claim 31) a dashboard having an opening therein (opening in dashboard that receives instrument cluster) sized to receive the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85), the dashboard having an outer side facing the vehicle cabin (figures 1, 2, 6);
wherein the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85) is securable to the dashboard opening (opening in dashboard that receives instrument cluster) from the outer side of the dashboard (securable via mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88 from the front or back side; figure 6; column 9, lines 4-35);
fasteners securable between the dashboard and the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85) from behind the dashboard, opposite the outer side of the dashboard (securable via mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88 from the front or back side; figure 6; column 9, lines 4-16);
(claim 32) wherein the mount assembly further comprises a mount frame (including frame of cluster shell #84) for engagement with the display interface (layers #24, 26, 28, 30, 85), the mount frame adapted to secure the display interface at least partially extending from the mount frame such that at least a portion of a side of the display interface is exposed to the vehicle cabin (figures 1, 2, 6);
(claim 33) wherein the mount frame (including frame of cluster shell #84) is shaped to cover a top of the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85) and extend towards the vehicle cabin past the top of the display interface (figure 6);
(claim 34) wherein the mount frame (including frame of cluster shell #84) is securable to the dashboard from the outer side of the dashboard (securable via mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88 from the front or back side; figure 6; column 9, lines 4-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31, 32, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenfish (US 6370037 B1) in view of Salmon et al. (US 5406303 A). Schoenfish discloses a vehicle (the recitation of “off-road” leads to the intended use of the vehicle, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; additionally, there is no structure in the claims to differentiate use with an off-road vehicle from use with any other vehicle) comprising a mount assembly (mounting apparatus #10) for a display interface (electronic device #12) in the vehicle, the display interface being accessible to a vehicle driver within a vehicle cabin (such as, global positioning satellite (GPS) device, a sonar depth finder, a communication device, a stereo, any combination thereof, and/or another conventional electronics device accessible to a driver within the vehicle cabin), the mount assembly comprising:
(claim 31) a dashboard (including dashboard surface #68, brackets #72) having an opening (window #70) therein, the dashboard having an outer side (surface #68) facing the vehicle cabin (figures 1-4; column 4);
wherein the display interface (#12) is securable to the dashboard opening (#70) from the outer side of the dashboard (including dashboard surface #68, brackets #72; securable via screws #26 placed through screw receiving apertures #24 and secured within holes #28 formed within rear wall #30 of electronic device #12, and screws placed through screw receiving aperture #62 of cradle #16 and received within holes #74 in brackets #72, or in a variety of other manners or by other suitable means; columns 3-4; figures 1-4);
(claim 32) wherein the mount assembly (#10) further comprises a mount frame (including frame portion of mount #14 and/or cradle #16) for engagement with the display interface (#12), the mount frame adapted to secure the display interface at least partially extending from the mount frame such that at least a portion of a side of the display interface is exposed to the vehicle cabin (figures 1-4);
(claim 34) wherein the mount frame (including frame portion of mount #14 and/or cradle #16) is securable to the dashboard (including dashboard surface #68, brackets #72) from the outer side of the dashboard (via screws placed through screw receiving aperture #62 of cradle #16 and received within holes #74 in brackets #72, or in a variety of other manners; column 4);
(claim 35) wherein the mount frame (including frame portion of mount #14 and/or cradle #16) has an outer side facing the vehicle cabin, the display interface (#12) is securable to the mount frame from the outer side of the mount frame (via screws #26 placed through screw receiving apertures #24 and secured within holes #28 formed within rear wall #30 of electronic device #12, or by other suitable means; column 3).
Schoenfish does not disclose the mount assembly (#10) comprising fasteners securable between the dashboard and the display interface from behind the dashboard, opposite the outer side of the dashboard. Salmon et al. teaches a mount assembly (instrument cluster mount), as set forth above, comprising fasteners securable between a dashboard and a display interface from behind the dashboard, opposite the outer side of the dashboard (securable via mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88 from the front or back side; figure 6; column 9, lines 4-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Schoenfish to include fasteners securing from behind the dashboard opposite the outer side of the dashboard, as taught by Salmon et al., so as to quickly secure and mount the assembly to the dashboard from the front or back side, thereby easing the manufacturing process (Salmon et al.: column 9, lines 10-16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20, 22, 23, 26-30, and 37-39 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to pages 7-8 and claim 31, Applicant argues that Salmon et al. (US 5406303 A) does not disclose the mount assembly comprising fasteners securable between the dashboard and the display interface from behind the dashboard, opposite the outer side of the dashboard. As set forth above, Salmon et al. discloses a vehicle comprising a mount assembly (instrument cluster mount) for a display interface (including layers #24, 26, 28, 30, clear plastic front panel #85; figures 1, 2, 6) in the vehicle (figure 1-6), the mount assembly comprising a dashboard (figure 1, 2, 6) and fasteners securable between the dashboard and the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85) from behind the dashboard, opposite the outer side of the dashboard (securable via mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88 from the front or back side; figure 6; column 9, lines 4-16). More specifically, the mount assembly (instrument cluster mount) includes mounting tabs (#86), mounting clips (#88), and any other fasteners or mating components secured with the mounting tabs and mounting clips to connect the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85) to the dashboard. Whether or not Salmon et al. (US 5406303 A) discloses the fasteners as being separate from the mount assembly and display interface is not relevant because Applicant specifically claims that the mount assembly comprises the fasteners in the phrase “the mount assembly comprising fasteners securable between the dashboard and the display interface” (lines 8-9). In addition, based on their physical configuration (as best seen in figure 6), the mounting tabs (#86) and mounting clips (#88) would mate with other fasteners or mating components to secure the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85) to the dashboard, and the joint fastening structures are securable between the dashboard and the display interface from behind the dashboard (securable via mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88 from the front or back side; figure 6; column 9, lines 4-16).
In regards to page 9 and claim 33, Applicant argues that Salmon et al. (US 5406303 A) does not disclose wherein the mount frame is shaped to cover a top of the display interface and extend towards the vehicle cabin past the top of the display interface. As set forth above, Salmon et al. discloses wherein the mount frame (including frame of cluster shell #84) is shaped to cover a top of the display interface (#24, 26, 28, 30, 85) and extend towards the vehicle cabin past the top of the display interface (figure 6). The portion of the mount frame that is shaped to cover a top of the display interface and extend towards the vehicle cabin past the top of the display interface (upper and side portions of frame of cluster shell #84 covering and extending toward the vehicle cabin in relation to clear plastic front panel #85 and layers #24, 26, 28, 30) is clearly shown in Figure 6, and arrows have been added to a marked-up version below to generally show this covering portion of the mount frame.
In regards to pages 9-10 and claim 31, Applicant argues that Examiner has not provided support for modifying the vehicle of Schoenfish (US 6370037 B1) with Salmon et al. (US 5406303 A). As set forth above, Schoenfish does not disclose the mount assembly (#10) comprising fasteners securable between the dashboard and the display interface from behind the dashboard, opposite the outer side of the dashboard. Salmon et al. teaches a mount assembly (instrument cluster mount) comprising fasteners securable between a dashboard and a display interface from behind the dashboard, opposite the outer side of the dashboard (securable via mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88 from the front or back side; figure 6; column 9, lines 4-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Schoenfish to include fasteners securing from behind the dashboard opposite the outer side of the dashboard, as taught by Salmon et al., so as to quickly secure and mount the assembly to the dashboard from the front or back side, thereby easing the manufacturing process (Salmon et al.: column 9, lines 10-16). Salmon et al. clearly and specifically provides motivation for combining the references, including so as to quickly secure and mount the assembly to the dashboard from the front or back side, thereby easing the manufacturing process (Salmon et al.: column 9, lines 10-16).
In regards to page 10 and claim 31, Applicant argues that modifying the vehicle of Schoenfish (US 6370037 B1) to include fasteners securing from behind the dashboard, as taught by Salmon et al. (US 5406303 A), would require substantial redesign of both references. As an initial matter, Salmon et al. is not being modified, and thus no redesign of the vehicle of Salmon et al. is required. In addition, since Salmon et al. broadly teaches the ability to secure the fasteners (including mounting tabs #86 and mounting clips #88; figure 6) from the front or back side (column 9, lines 4-16), and Schoenfish includes similar mounting tabs and mounting clips (figure 1), it does not appear that a substantial redesign of the vehicle of Schoenfish would be required to provide securement from behind the dashboard.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614