Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires not less than 100 ppm of metal hydroxide, but fails to specify what the ppm figure is in relation to. For instance, it could be 100 ppm relative to weight of polycarbonate, relative to weight of reaction liquid, or relative to weight of additives. Accordingly, the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
As claims 2-12 depend from claim 1, they are rejected for the same issue discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchiyama (US 2023/0322653 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, and 12, Uchiyama teaches methods for degrading polycarbonates (Abstract) and describes examples where polycarbonate, aqueous sodium hydroxide, and phenol are combined and reacted in a two step process to form bisphenol A and carbon dioxide (¶ 388-395). 320 g of 25 wt% NaOH is used relative to 650 g of reaction mixture, which suggests an excess of 100 ppm of NaOH is used. While not indicating the same order of addition (adding metal hydroxide to phenol; then adding polycarbonate and water), Uchiyama teaches the order of mixing is not particularly limited (¶ 121). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that any order of mixing, inclusive of adding metal hydroxide to phenol and then adding polycarbonate and water can be used to afford the predictable result of polycarbonate degradation to bisphenol A.
Further, different quantities of water are used within Uchiyama’s examples than what is indicated within the claims. In this regard, Uchiyama teaches the quantity of water may vary widely so as to avoid decreases in reaction rates if too small and inefficiencies if too large (¶ 97-98). Thus, Uchiyama expressly indicates the quantity of water is a known result effective variables because changing them will clearly affect the type of product obtained. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable or optimal water contents within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desired end results.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Uchiyama teaches reaction temperatures, corresponding to claimed second heating temperatures, spanning 40-110 degrees C (¶ 133-134), which overlaps the range claimed. With respect to first heating temperature, Uchiyama teaches the formation of reaction mixture occurs preferably 20 degrees C or more (¶ 120), which also overlaps the range claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Uchiyama suggests the claimed ranges. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Uchiyama. See MPEP 2123.
While it is acknowledged ¶ 120 of Uchiyama also sets forth a preferred range of 40 degrees C or less, Uchiyama explains the concerns of high temperatures are owing to volatilization of the catalyst, leading to difficulties in creating predetermined concentrations and reaction rates (¶ 120). The examiner submits 1) the upper value of 40 degrees C is only “preferred” and therefore not required and 2) one of ordinary skill would readily ascertain metal hydroxide catalysts such as sodium hydroxide are clearly non-volatile and thus, would ascribe Uchiyama’s preferred upper limit solely relevant toward those embodiments involving volatile catalysts.
Regarding Claim 5, claim 5 refers to a contingent limitation operating should the water content in the reaction liquid fall below 0.5 wt%. Per MPEP 2111.04(II), the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. In the present case, Uchiyama does not indicate water is consumed over the course of reaction (Formula 4 of Page 10). Thus, claim 4 is met since Uchiyama indicates the water content would not drop over the course of reaction.
Regarding Claim 6, the example of Uchiyama utilizes 250 g of phenol relative to 80 g polycarbonate (¶ 388), equivalent to a ratio of 3.125.
Regarding Claim 10, Uchiyama teaches the content of hydroxide catalyst varies widely, such as where the mass ratio of hydroxide to polycarbonate spans 0.01-50 (¶ 101). Uchiyama notes if the content of hydroxide is too low, the degradation time is lengthened while if too high, the production efficiency of bisphenol decreases (¶ 101). Thus, Uchiyama expressly indicates the quantity of hydroxide is a known result effective variables because changing them will clearly affect the type of product obtained. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable or optimal water contents within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desired end results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/903,109. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, claim 2 pertains to a process of depolymerizing polycarbonate using a mixture of phenol, metal hydroxide, and water, the metal hydroxide added is not less than 100 ppm and the water content of the reaction liquid is controlled to be not greater than 10 wt%. Bisphenol A is formed (Claim 1). As there is no perceivable difference in protocol between what is instantly claimed and what is set forth within the claims of ‘109, the generation of carbon dioxide, inclusive of the mechanism of claim 7, is seen to necessarily occur in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Therefore, the ‘109 claims anticipate the instant claims. The remaining limitations of the instant claims are found within the claims of the ‘109 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if 1) a terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the above double patenting rejection and 2) rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Related Art
The cited prior art made of record in the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759