DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 reads “for each member selected from a group consisting of” and “performing a bilateral stimulation of said group member of said patient”. These should be corrected to “for each [[member]] type of sense selected from a group consisting of” and “performing a bilateral stimulation of each selected type of sense of said group [[member]] of said patient”.
Claim 10 reads “determining a sense or a combination of senses” and should be corrected to “determining a sense or a combination of senses to be stimulated”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-10 do not include additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception into a practical application of the exception or sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons provided below which are in line with the 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 79, No. 241, p 74618, December 16, 2014), the July 2015 Update on Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 80, No. 146, p. 45429, July 30, 2015), the May 2016 Subject Matter Eligibility Update (Federal Register, Vol. 81, No. 88, p. 27381, May 6, 2016), and the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 4, page 50, January 7, 2019), and the 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 89, No. 137 p. 58128, July 17, 2024).
Analysis for claims 1 and 10 for subject matter eligibility is as follows:
Step 1: Claims 1 and 10 are drawn to a system and method which are statutory categories.
Step 2A – Prong 1: Claims 1 and 10 are drawn to an abstract idea in the form of a process that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind and mathematical concepts.
In particular, claim 1 recites the following limitations:
[A1]: “activating a stimulation of said bilateral stimulation device”
[B1]: “determining characteristics of said stimulation for a next treatment session according to past ratings of said patient”
In particular, claim 10 recites the following limitations:
[C1]: “performing a bilateral stimulation of said group member of said patient for a time period”
[D1]: “determining a sense or combination of senses according to a best improvement determined by the ratings for next treatment sessions”
These elements [A1] – [D1] of claims 1 and 10 are drawn to an abstract idea because they are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, can be done mentally by a human mind or a human using a pen and paper. A skilled artisan, such as a medical doctor or research assistant can readily acquire patient ratings of their mood, and adjust the characteristics of stimulation for a treatment session based on patient past ratings.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Claims 1 and 10 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional limitations:
[A2]: “patient provides his distressing mood rating to said system before and after each treatment session”
[B2]: “bilateral stimulation devices”
[C2]: “an application program executed on a computer”
[D2]: “an input device”
[E2]: “computer code”
In particular, claim 10 recites the following additional limitations:
[F2]: “rating by a patient his distressing mood”
[G2]: “for each member selected from a group consisting of: sight sense, touch sense, hearing sense, and combinations thereof,”
The elements [A2] –[G2] do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements amount to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. Further, the receiving and acquiring steps are each recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant presolution activity, e.g., mere data gathering step necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. Additionally, each of the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Please see MPEP 2106.05(g) and 2106.05 (f), Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Step 2B: Claims 1 and 10 do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
In particular, claim 1 recites the following:
[A3]: “patient provides his distressing mood rating to said system before and after each treatment session”
[B3]: “bilateral stimulation devices”
[C3]: “an application program executed on a computer”
[D3]: “an input device”
[E3]: “computer code”
In particular, claim 10 recites the following:
[F3]: “rating by a patient his distressing mood”
[G3]: “for each member selected from a group consisting of: sight sense, touch sense, hearing sense, and combinations thereof,”
The element [A3] – [G3] do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself because these elements are adding well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known in the industry, recited at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium both of which are well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional step that distinguishes it from well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering and comparing activity engaged in by medical professionals prior to Applicant's invention. Please see MPEP 2106.05 (f), Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015) and MPEP 2106.05 (g) ee Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any specific disease or state of mind. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Dependent claims 2-9 are also rejected under 35 USC 101 as these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process or mathematical algorithm) and/or append abstract ideas (that is, the claims only recite limitations that add further mental processes or mathematical algorithms) and/or add additional elements that are not practical application or significantly more. Although specific steps are claimed such as “wherein said bilateral stimulation devices are operated simultaneously” these steps could be performed by someone skilled in the arts such as a doctor or research assistant who can turn on the stimulation devices to be operated simultaneously. The specific steps claimed as “one of said stimulation devices stimulates a sight, touch or hearing sense” amounts to insignificant data gathering and outputting. This would be an insignificant extra-solution activity and is not a practical application or significantly more. Please see Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) and MPEP 2106.05 (g).
In view of the above, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves inducing desired mental states. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayo (US 2017/0296429) in view of Bense (US 2022/0118218).
Regarding claim 1, Mayo teaches an EMDR therapy system, comprising:
one or more bilateral stimulation devices (paragraph [0028] “The vibrating elements 104 are controlled by a mobile device 102 (e.g., cell phone, tablet computer, personal digital assistant or remote control device) running a software application (or app) that wirelessly communicates with the vibrating elements 104 via the mobile device 102 causing them to vibrate.” The examiner notes the mobile device and vibrating elements as stimulation devices.);
an application program executed on a computer, for activating a stimulation of said bilateral stimulation device (The examiner notes the software application on the mobile device that controls the vibrating elements.);
but fails to teach an input device through which a patient provides his distressing mood rating to said system before and after each treatment session and a computer code for determining characteristics of said stimulation for a next treatment session, according to past ratings of said patient.
Bense teaches a system for EMDR treatment that takes input from a patient before and after a session then updates the therapy options according to past feedback. (paragraph [0024] “The biologics sensor 122 may be in communication with the communication device 110 to provide the measurements to the therapy server 112. Thus, answers or input provided by the user 108 may be analyzed against the measurements. This may be especially helpful to determine the truthfulness of answers or identify potentially stressful issues not realized or provided by the patient.”; paragraph [0047] “Returning to FIG. 5, the process 500 continues to operation 508, where feedback is received. As noted above, the feedback may be audio feedback such as the patient indicating if they feel better, worse, or the same. The feedback may be provided by use of the remote control 120.”; paragraph [0048] “The process 500 continues to operation 510, where the therapy results 118 are updated from information gleaned during the session. The updated therapy results 118 may be used to update the therapy menu 116.” Paragraph [0020] “By updating the therapy menu 116 once connected, the therapist (or another person or computer program acting at the direction of the therapist) may have for selection from the therapy menu 116 those treatments that are available.” The examiner notes here that an updated therapy menu would change the therapy options for the next therapy session)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Mayo to consider user ratings to adapt therapy settings as taught by Bense. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that each patient’s response to treatment would be unique to them and would require adjustments based on their desired outcome.
Regarding claim 2, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, and Mayo further teaches wherein said bilateral stimulation devices are operated simultaneously. (paragraph [0029] “As used herein, “asynchronous” means to stimulate each vibrating element 104 in an alternating manner with some period of overlap where both stimulating elements are vibrating simultaneously.”)
Regarding claim 3, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, and Mayo further teaches wherein said computer is local thereby keeping information of said patient local. (Figure 1 shows a mobile device in the presence of the user, therefore it is a local computer keeping the information of the patient local.)
Regarding claim 5, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, and Bense further teaches wherein one of said stimulation devices stimulates a sight sense of said patient. (paragraph [0022] “ For example, the user 108 may be shown various patterns on a screen (not shown) of the therapy headset 104.”)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Mayo and Bense to further visually stimulate a user. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that when seeking treatment for various afflictions, such as post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), conventional treatment methods often include the use of a therapist to perform various treatment therapies. Some of these therapies include audio, visual, light, smell, and the like. See paragraph [0001] of Bense.
Regarding claim 6, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, and Mayo further teaches wherein one of said stimulation devices stimulates a touch sense of said patient. (The examiner notes that the vibrating elements stimulate a touch sense of the patient.)
Regarding claim 7, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, and Bense further teaches wherein one of said stimulation devices stimulates a hearing sense of said patient. (paragraph [0017] “ The therapy device 102 includes a therapy headset 104 and a therapy audio device 106. The therapy headset 104 is designed to fit over a user's 108 head and partially or fully isolate the eyes of the user 108 from outside stimuli. The therapy audio device 106 is designed to fit over at least one if not both of the ears of the user 108 and partially or fully isolate the ears of the user 108 from outside stimuli.”)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Mayo and Bense to further audibly stimulates a user. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that when seeking treatment for various afflictions, such as post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), conventional treatment methods often include the use of a therapist to perform various treatment therapies. Some of these therapies include audio, visual, light, smell, and the like. See paragraph [0001] of Bense.
Regarding claim 8, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, and Bense further teaches wherein said input device is a physical keyboard or a virtual keyboard. (paragraph [0040] “The input device(s) 422 can include a touch-sensitive display or a keyboard to enable users to enter data and make requests and receive responses via web applications….The touch-sensitive display or keyboard/keypad may be a standard push button alphanumeric multi-key keyboard (such as a conventional QWERTY keyboard), virtual controls on a touchscreen”)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Mayo and Bense in view of Bense. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that the combination of elements in prior art would yield the predictable result accurately and privately being able to input the parameters into the system for the appropriate therapy treatment.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayo in view of Bense further in view of Ilaria (US 2022/0105309).
Regarding claim 4, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, but fail to teach wherein said computer is remote, thereby allowing multiple patients to use said bilateral stimulation devices.
Ilaria teaches an EMDR therapy system that allows the therapist to remotely control the stimulation of multiple patients. (paragraph [0023] “the patient and therapist may be in separate locations and the EDMR therapy session may be accomplished with the desired delivery of BLS to the patient in the therapy protocol.”; paragraph [0024] “A therapist may oversee sessions with a plurality of different remote patients that will each have their own dedicated remote BLS device at their own specific geographic location.”)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Mayo and Bense to have a remote option for multiple users to use the stimulation devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that not every user may be able to be in person with their therapist to receive treatment.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayo in view of Bense further in view of Morgan (US 10943407).
Regarding claim 9, Mayo and Bense teach the system according to claim 1, and Bense further teaches wherein said input device is a microphone through which a user reads his input (paragraph [0040] “the input device(s) 422 may include…a microphone,”) but fails to teach a speech-to-text converter, for converting said input into text.
Morgan teaches a virtual health platform with an input speech to text module. (column 24, line 57 “a patient is asked to described one or more desirable thoughts and/or destinations using patient inputs. The thoughts and/or destinations may be identified and/or described using one or more speech-to-text ML/AI models to convert spoken words into a text-based representation of the inputs.“)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system taught by Mayo and Bense to have a speech to text module as taught by Morgan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that some users may be unable to communicate their input via keyboard due to being visually impaired and would require another mode of communication.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bense in view of Burgio (US 2009/0156886) further in view of Ilaria.
Regarding claim 10, Bense teaches a method for determining a stimulation type of an EMDR treatment, comprising the steps of:
(a) rating by a patient his distressing mood (paragraph [0024] “The biologics sensor 122 may be in communication with the communication device 110 to provide the measurements to the therapy server 112. Thus, answers or input provided by the user 108 may be analyzed against the measurements. This may be especially helpful to determine the truthfulness of answers or identify potentially stressful issues not realized or provided by the patient.”)
rating by said patient his distressing mood (paragraph [0047] “Returning to FIG. 5, the process 500 continues to operation 508, where feedback is received. As noted above, the feedback may be audio feedback such as the patient indicating if they feel better, worse, or the same. The feedback may be provided by use of the remote control 120.”);
according to a best improvement determined by the ratings, for next treatment sessions. (paragraph [0048] “The process 500 continues to operation 510, where the therapy results 118 are updated from information gleaned during the session. The updated therapy results 118 may be used to update the therapy menu 116.” Paragraph [0020] “By updating the therapy menu 116 once connected, the therapist (or another person or computer program acting at the direction of the therapist) may have for selection from the therapy menu 116 those treatments that are available.” The examiner notes here that an updated therapy menu would change the therapy options for the next therapy session.)
However, Bense fails to teach a patient re-rating the session based on their mood.
Burgio teaches an EMDR therapy method that requires repeat patient input to adjust the therapy. (Paragraph [0010] “Depending upon the patient's report the clinician will facilitate the next focus of attention. In most cases a patient directed association process is encouraged. This is repeated numerous times throughout the session. If the patient becomes distressed or has difficulty with the process, the therapist follows established procedures to help the patient resume processing. When the patient reports no distress related to the targeted memory, the clinician asks him or her to think of the preferred positive belief that was identified at the beginning of the session, or a better one if it has emerged, and to focus on the incident,”)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Bense to repeat the patient’s ratings as taught by Burgio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that patients tend to have a preference for one mode of treatment versus another. For example, some patients prefer to process their traumatic memories with eyes closed, and some prefer processing trauma in a quiet environment. Some patients prefer the tactile stimulation because it helps them feel more grounded. Sometimes it is necessary to switch to tones or tactile stimulations in mid-session. It is recommended that EMDR therapists are flexible and open to the varying needs and preferences of patients when deciding which variation to use at a given moment. See paragraph [0004] of Burgio.
But both Bense and Burgio fail to teach that for each member selected from a group consisting of: sight sense, touch sense, hearing sense, and combinations thereof, performing a bilateral stimulation of said group member of said patient, for a time period; and to determine a sense or a combination of senses to be stimulated.
Ilaria teaches providing one or more types of bilateral stimulation alone or in combination. (paragraph [0023] “the remote BLS device 16 may provide tactile stimulations, as well as possibly audible and visual stimulations to be perceived by a patient.” Paragraph [0028] “. For example, the speaker elements 70 might be powered to provide an audible sound, such as a beep that has a particular volume as well as a particular duration to the left and right side of a patient in combination with tactile stimulation.” The examiner notes that BLS stands for bilateral stimulation, and that the time the stimulation is ongoing is the time period. Further, the examiner is modifying the system taught by Bense and Burgio which is reliant on patient ratings to determine future treatment parameters thus the device taught by Ilaria would determine a sense or combination of senses to be stimulated according to a best improvement determined by ratings.)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Bense to have the types of bilateral stimulation as taught by Ilaria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that tactile stimulation, may be preferable in various situations, but EMDR therapists need to be flexible and open to the varying needs and preferences of clients when deciding which variation to use at a given moment. See paragraph [0006] of Ilaria.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schmidt (US 6001073) and Causey (US 2020/0376230) teach bilateral stimulation devices.
/A.L.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791