DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 6.25.26. Claims 1-8 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendments to dependent claims 3,5 which will be examined below.
Claim objections related to claim 1 and claim 5 are withdrawn in light of explanation of claim 1 “the "axial direction" is defined as a "direction parallel to a center axis” and claim 5 amendment wherein “are” is deleted.
Specification objection is withdrawn in light of title amendment to make it descriptive.
Claim 3 rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b) is withdrawn in light of amendment “axially-opposite”.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: However, with reference to FIG. 1 of Fagel (reproduced above), Fagel discloses that the end portions of the conductors 5 (asserted by the Office as corresponding to the claimed "coil end portion") are "embedded in a cast and hardened insulator 8" (asserted by the Office as corresponding to the claimed "cover member") to form an integrated structure. Fagel at 2:1-6. Fagel does not teach or even suggest that the end portions of the conductors 5 are "bent toward" or "in contact with" the annular base or flange 2, extension 3, and comb with radial teeth 4 (asserted by the Office as corresponding to the claimed "housing").
Examiner Response 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees with above. Claim 1 is a product claim and Examiner has compared the structure of Fagel Fig 1 with instant invention. Looking at previously annotated Fig 1, it is clear that end winding 5e is configured to be bent outwards radially towards “inner peripheral surface of element 3 (portion of Examiner interpreted housing 2,3,4). Therefore the argument “are "embedded in a cast and hardened insulator 8" (asserted by the Office as corresponding to the claimed "cover member") to form an integrated structure” is not relevant. Further argument regarding Fagel not disclosing “coil end portion is in contact with the inner peripheral surface…” is also not persuasive because even in Applicant Fig 1, end winding 49 is making contact with inner peripheral surface of 12 through element 50 which is comparable to element 8 in Fagel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagel (US3123729A) in view of Halm (US3979822A).
Regarding Claim 1, Fagel discloses (Figs 1-2) a rotating electric machine comprising:
a stator (1) which has an annular shape (Fig 1) centered on a center axis (AA);
a rotor which is located on a radial inside of the stator (Fig 1 is an inner rotor structure),
a tubular housing (2,3,4 both sides taken together is tubular) which is configured to accommodate the stator and the rotor; and
a cover member (8) which is attached to the stator,
wherein the stator comprises:
a stator core (1) which has a core back portion (1y) having an annular shape centered on the center axis; and
a coil (5) which is attached to the stator core,
wherein the coil comprises:
a coil straight portion (5s) which is located on a radial inside (Fig 1) of the core back portion, the coil straight portion extending in a form of straight line (Fig 1) along an axial direction (AA); and
a pair of coil end portions (5e) which respectively protrude from both axial end surfaces of the stator core in the axial direction, and
wherein the cover member (8) comprises at least a first cover portion (8f)which contacts (Fig 1) one coil end portion (5e) of the pair of coil end portions,
wherein the coil end portion (5e) is bent toward an inner peripheral surface (Fig 1) of the housing, and
wherein the coil end portion (5e) is in contact (5e is contacting 2,3,4 inside through insulator 8) with the inner peripheral surface of the housing.
Fagel does not explicitly disclose the rotor being supported to be rotatable around the center axis. Halm discloses (Fig 1) the rotor (6r) being supported (5c,5d) to be rotatable around the center axis (6c axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotating electric machine of Fagel modified by supported rotor of Halm in order rotatably support a rotating shaft with bearings.
Regarding Claim 2, Fagel in view of Halm discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 1. Fagel in view of Halm further discloses wherein the cover member (8) further comprises: a second cover portion (8s) which is located on a radial inside (Fig 1) of the coil straight portion (5s), the second cover portion applies a surface pressure (8s is touching 5s, therefore there will be contact pressure) radially outward to the coil straight portion to make the coil straight portion into contact with the stator core (1).
Regarding Claim 3, Fagel in view of Halm discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 2. Fagel in view of Halm further discloses wherein the at least first cover portion (8f) comprises: a pair (8f on both axial ends) of first cover portions which are respectively located at radially-opposite outer-sides (5e is radially opposite to 8f) of the coil end portion (5e) , respectively, and wherein the pair of first cover portions (8f) are respectively located at axially-opposite (Fig 1) outer-sides (See 35 U.S.C 112(b) section) of the second cover portion (8s).
Regarding Claim 4, Fagel in view of Halm discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 2. Fagel in view of Halm further discloses wherein the stator core (1) comprises: a plurality of protrusion portions (1t) which protrude radially inward (Fig 2) from the core back portion (1y), the plurality of protrusion portion being arranged in the circumferential direction (Fig 2), and wherein the coil straight portion (5s) extends in the axial direction (AA) between the protrusion portions adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction (Fig 1) and wherein the second cover portion (8s) includes a plurality of divided portions is resin which are respectively located between the protrusion portions [Col 2, 9-11 discloses slot wedges being formed which is same as divided portions].
Regarding Claim 5, Fagel in view of Halm discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 1. Fagel in view of Halm further discloses wherein the cover member (8) comprises: a second cover portion (8s) which is located on a radial inside of the coil straight portion (5s), wherein the at least first cover portion (8f) comprises: a pair of first cover portions (8f on both axial ends) which respectively connects to both axial ends of the second cover portion (8s) and are respectively located on an axially outside of the coil end portion (5e) on one axial side and the other axial side (Fig 1), wherein the housing (2,3,4) has a housing inside space, and the cover member (8) partitions the housing inside space into a first space and a second space, the first space being located on a radially outside of the cover member, and the second space being located on a radially inside of the cover member, wherein the coil (5) is disposed in the first inside space, and wherein the rotor (Fig 1) is disposed in the second inside space (8f lies radially between 5e and rotor space) in Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Fagel in view of Halm discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 1. Fagel in view of Halm further discloses wherein the first cover portion (8f) has a pressing surface (8f is contacting 5e) which contacts the coil end portion (5e), and wherein the pressing surface is inclined radially outward (Fig 1) as it goes away from the stator core (1) in the axial direction (AA).
Regarding Claim 8, Fagel in view of Halm discloses the rotating electric machine according to claim 1. Fagel in view of Halm further discloses wherein an insulating member (8i is resin) is interposed between the coil end portion(5e) and the inner peripheral surface (3 inside surface) of the housing (2,3,4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 recites “ The rotating electric machine according to claim 1, wherein the cover member is made of a ceramic material” . In Fagel , cover ember is 8 is “synthetic plastic or resin” which is not the same as “ceramic material” of instant invention. Halm does not explicitly disclose relevant structure. Therefore claim 7 is allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834