DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 7/2/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under 102, or in the alternative, 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 102 in view of Blair, U.S. Patent 1,705,895.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blair, U.S. Patent 1,705,895.
Regarding Claim 1, Blair teaches:
First and second end portions (Fig. 3) adapted to overlap each other as inner and an
outer clamping band portions when installing the clamp structure around an object to be fastened,
connecting means (4, 7, 8) operable to mechanically interconnect the inner and outer clamping band portions, and
tolerance compensation means (13-15) to impart stretchability to the clamping band in its longitudinal direction,
characterized in that the tolerance compensation means includes the following adjacent band regions along the longitudinal direction of the clamping band that have a pair of lateral band edges extending outwardly and terminating in a common plane with the adjacent band regions so that the adjacent band regions are planar (see Fig. 2):
a first band region (see below) in which the lateral band width between the pair of lateral band edges decreases from a first band width to a second band width between the pair of lateral band edges which is smaller than that first band width,
a second band region (see below) in which the lateral band width between the pair of lateral band edges remains constant at the second band width, and
a third band region (see below) in which the lateral band width increases to a third band width which is larger than the second band width;
wherein all three band regions (51-53) of the tolerance compensation means have less material extending between the lateral band edges than the first band width of the clamping band to reduce from the first band width to the second band width (see below).
Regarding Claim 2, Blair teaches:
The third band width is equal to the first band width (see above).
Regarding Claim 7, Blair teaches:
The decrease of the band width in the first band region is linear (see above).
Regarding Claim 8, Blair teaches:
The increase of the band width in the third band region is linear (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair ‘895.
Regarding Claim 3, Blair ‘895 is silent with regard to the limitations of this claim, but does not disclose the sums of the first and third band regions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art barring any unforeseen result to provide Blair ‘895 with the claimed dimensions because Applicant has not stated any specific problem solved by the claimed dimensions nor provided any unforeseen result stemming from the claimed dimensions and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Regarding Claims 4-5, the prior art(s) is/are silent with regard to the specific angles claimed because the angles of Blair ‘895 are clearly between 90° and 180° and because Applicant has not stated any specific problem solved by the claimed dimensions nor provided any unforeseen result stemming from the claimed dimensions and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677