NON-FINAL
Claims 1-16, filed December 18, 2025, are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because paragraphs [0047] and [0048] as comprising a software per se embodiment. For example, [0047] describes the claimed system can be implemented by electronic hardware, computer software, or a combination thereof. Therefore, the specification supports the claimed does not preclude the software per se embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (June hereafter, US 2006/0195378 A1) in view of Ye et al. (Ye hereafter, PROAGENT: FROM ROBOTIC PROCESS AUTOMATION TO AGENTIC PROCESS AUTOMATION, November 23, 2023).
Claim interpretations as supported by the specification as originally filed:
[0018] The term "first task request" is used to represent the target task initiated by the external business system 200. It can be a request to execute a specific business process on specific business data. The term "first processing result" is used to represent the task data and information generated after the completion of the target task, which can be presented in an appropriate form.
[0021] The term "second task request" can be used to represent at least one virtual task. In other words, after receiving the second task request, the online virtual platform can generate a corresponding virtual task in the virtual world based on it. The term "second processing result" is used to represent the task data collected by the online virtual platform after the completion of the virtual task.
Claim 1, Jung discloses a data transformation system, comprising:
a first data interface (pages 4-5, [0057], e.g. user interface 306), configured to: receive a first task request from an external business system, and feed back a first processing result corresponding to the first task request to the external business system (page 4, [0047], e.g. If the option for transition to the actual real-world account is exercised, the transition of the authorized user is facilitated from the virtual credit account to the actual real-world account (block 150). The authorized user can then be enabled to make financial transactions with the actual real-world account (block 152). Aspects of usage of the real-world account may be monitored (block 154) in order to provide feedback to the authorized user. It is noted disclosure of “make financial transactions with the actual real-world account” has been interpreted as “specific business process” by Jung reasonably anticipates the limitation of “first task request” as described by the instant specification [0018]);
a second data interface (page 5, [0061], e.g. individual players 350 have access via a first bi-directional communication link 352 to a user interface/feedback module 354 with connects through a second bi-directional communication link 356 to a simulated environment 358), configured to: send a second task request to an online virtual platform, and receive a second processing result corresponding to the second task request from the online virtual platform (page 3, [0037], e.g. The user is enabled to make simulated purchases of foods and/or services and/or items of value. The user receives feedback regarding results of the simulated purchases. Responsive to an experience of making the simulated purchases and receiving the feedback, a transition by the user to usage of an actual financial account is facilitated. It is noted disclosure of “make simulated purchases of foods and/or services and/or items of value” has been interpreted as “one virtual task” by Jung reasonably anticipates the limitation of “first task request” as described by the instant specification [0021]);
a data storage module, configured to: store the first task request, the second task request, the first processing result, and the second processing result; wherein the first task request and the corresponding first processing result are conforming to the wherein the first task request and the corresponding first processing result are conforming to a data model of the external business system (page 6, [0074], e.g. actual charge card server 404 includes various predetermined data records as well as other dynamically updated records that are used by the server to help provide actual credit services based on different types of credit arrangements and accounts. Exemplary categories of records available to the actual charge card server 404 includes a database 430 of actual real-world charge cards issued to users by others such as third party issuers, a database 432 for actual special charge cards provided to authorized users, account status records 434 for actual charge cards, and performance records 436 for actual charge cards. These records help to identify actual real-world accounts selected by a user, including the actual special charge cards created for the user); the second task request and the corresponding second processing result are conforming to a data model of the online virtual platform (page 6, [0072], e.g. virtual charge card server 402 includes various predetermined data records as well as other dynamically updated records that are used by the server to help provide virtual credit services based on different types of credit arrangements and accounts. Exemplary categories of records available to the virtual charge card server 402 include user ID data and related individual virtual card terms 406, user demographic parameters 408, user ID virtual account status data 410 (e.g., entity/person owed, compensation already received, and remaining balance due), virtual account statements 412, user ID performance records 414, and benchmark standards for virtual card usage 416).
However, Jung does not disclose a first data converter, configured to: read at least one first task request from the data storage module, and based on a data model of the online virtual platform, convert the first task request into the second task request; a second data converter, configured to: read at least one second processing result from the data storage module, and based on a data model of the external business system, convert the second processing result into the first processing result…wherein the first task request and the corresponding first processing result are conforming to the data model of the external business system; the second task request and the corresponding second processing result are conforming to the data model of the online virtual platform, wherein the second task request includes a script of the online virtual platform task and a virtual object of the online virtual platform, wherein the online virtual platform is an electronic online platform for providing and presenting a virtual world, whereby, based on the received task script and virtual object definition, the online virtual platform publishes one or more virtual tasks in the virtual world for players or users to claim and complete, wherein the second processing result [[is]]includes task data information generated after at least one online virtual platform player or user completes the virtual task generated based on the second task request.
Ye discloses a first data converter, configured to: read at least one first task request from the data storage module, and based on a data model of the online virtual platform, convert the first task request into the second task request (Figures 5 and 6)
;
a second data converter, configured to: read at least one second processing result from the data storage module, and based on a data model of the external business system, convert the second processing result into the first processing result (Figures 5 and 6)
…wherein the first task request and the corresponding first processing result are conforming to the data model of the external business system; the second task request and the corresponding second processing result are conforming to the data model of the online virtual platform, wherein the second task request includes a script of the online virtual platform task and a virtual object of the online virtual platform, wherein the online virtual platform is an electronic online platform for providing and presenting a virtual world, whereby, based on the received task script and virtual object definition, the online virtual platform publishes one or more virtual tasks in the virtual world for players or users to claim and complete, wherein the second processing result includes task data information generated after at least one online virtual platform player or user completes the virtual task generated based on the second task request (Figures 5 and 6)
.
Ye discloses a method Process Mining is a data-driven technique used to discover, analyze, and improve existing workflows (page 9, section 4.1). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention would have been motivated by Ye to improve the system of Jung. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the converters of Ye with the system of Jung. The benefit would be to achieving efficiency and flexibility in process automation (page 11, section 6).
Claim 2, Jung as modified discloses wherein the first task request comprises a business process (Jung, page 1, [0012], e.g. a computer process operates a credit account business, provides advertising for the credit account business in a fictional world environment, and enables features of the credit account business to include both real-world benefits and fictional world benefits) and business data of a target task initiated by at least one external business system (Jung, page 6, [0074], e.g. actual charge card server 404 includes various predetermined data records as well as other dynamically updated records that are used by the server to help provide actual credit services based on different types of credit arrangements and accounts. Exemplary categories of records available to the actual charge card server 404 includes a database 430 of actual real-world charge cards issued to users by others such as third party issuers, a database 432 for actual special charge cards provided to authorized users, account status records 434 for actual charge cards, and performance records 436 for actual charge cards. These records help to identify actual real-world accounts selected by a user, including the actual special charge cards created for the user); and
Claim 3, Jung as modified discloses wherein the business process is converted into the script while the business data is converted into the virtual object, so that the target task initiated by the external business system is converted into a corresponding virtual task on the online virtual platform (Ye, Figures 5 and 6).
Claim 4, Jung as modified discloses wherein the business data further comprises: a private data (Jung Figure 6, e.g. Authorized User) and the private data is converted into an identification information of the virtual object, for protecting the private data ([0096], e.g. records may include an ID name and contact address 582 for an authorized user, a fictitious character identity 584 for such user, virtual world credit terms 586 for a particular credit account, virtual credit transactions 587, and virtual world statement status 588).
Claim 5, Jung as modified discloses wherein the virtual task is set with a task reward, so that the virtual task is completed by at least one online virtual platform user to generate the second processing result (Jung, page 11, [0133], e.g. a credit account that enables a player to acquire virtual items of value pursuant to a credit transaction (block 861). Initial activities may include engaging in solicitation activity in a virtual world environment to obtain new credit account prospects (block 862). A commission may be paid based on a successful solicitation that results in obtaining a credit account for a virtual world player (block 864)).
Claim 6, Jung as modified discloses the task reward is dynamically adjustable (Jung, page 11, [0133], e.g. a credit account that enables a player to acquire virtual items of value pursuant to a credit transaction (block 861). Initial activities may include engaging in solicitation activity in a virtual world environment to obtain new credit account prospects (block 862). A commission may be paid based on a successful solicitation that results in obtaining a credit account for a virtual world player (block 864)).
Claim 7, Jung as modified discloses wherein the first data interface and the second data interface are application programming interface (API) (Jung, page 2, [0034], e.g. a memory such as volatile and non-volatile memory, processors such as microprocessors and digital signal processors, computational entities such as operating systems, drivers, graphical user interfaces, and applications programs, one or more interaction devices, such as a touch pad or screen, and/or control systems including feedback loops and control motors (e.g., feedback for sensing position and/or velocity; control motors for moving and/or adjusting components and/or quantities)).
Claim 8, Jung discloses the application programming interface includes:
a data structure corresponding to all data used in the data transformation system (Jung, page 6, [0074], e.g. Exemplary categories of records available to the actual charge card server 404 includes a database 430 of actual real-world charge cards issued to users by others such as third party issuers, a database 432 for actual special charge cards provided to authorized users, account status records 434 for actual charge cards, and performance records 436 for actual charge cards);
a data format describing the business process (Jung, page 6, [0074], e.g. various predetermined data records as well as other dynamically updated records that are used by the server to help provide actual credit services based on different types of credit arrangements and accounts. Exemplary categories of records available to the actual charge card server 404 includes a database 430 of actual real-world charge cards issued to users by others such as third party issuers, a database 432 for actual special charge cards provided to authorized users, account status records 434 for actual charge cards, and performance records 436 for actual charge cards. These records help to identify actual real-world accounts selected by a user, including the actual special charge cards created for the user);
a data format describing the business data (Jung, page 6, [0072], e.g. predetermined data records as well as other dynamically updated records that are used by the server to help provide virtual credit services based on different types of credit arrangements and accounts. Exemplary categories of records available to the virtual charge card server 402 include user ID data and related individual virtual card terms 406, user demographic parameters 408, user ID virtual account status data 410 (e.g., entity/person owed, compensation already received, and remaining balance due), virtual account statements 412, user ID performance records 414, and benchmark standards for virtual card usage 416); and
a communication connection method between the external business system, the data transformation system, and the online virtual platform (Ye, Figures 5 and 6).
Claim 9, Jung as modified discloses wherein the first data interface is further configured to: transfer the received first task request into the business process and the business data (Jung, page 8, [0094], e.g. as a storefront business may enable players to obtain information and issuance of virtual credit accounts usable in the virtual lobby arcade 562) in a corresponding data format, and store the business process and the business data in the data storage module (page 4, [0049], e.g. the virtual card features such as credit terms, payment terms, penalties, benefits, and the like may be selected by the user (block 190). In other instances a program may select the virtual card features (block 192), which features may be determined from stored application data (block 194) that is evaluated by the program (block 196). The virtual card features that are selected for each user are stored (block 198) for future reference).
Claim 10, Jung as modified discloses the second data interface is further configured to: transfer the received second processing result into the virtual task data in a corresponding data format, and store the virtual task data in the data storage module (Jung, page 4, [0049], e.g. the virtual card features such as credit terms, payment terms, penalties, benefits, and the like may be selected by the user (block 190). In other instances a program may select the virtual card features (block 192), which features may be determined from stored application data (block 194) that is evaluated by the program (block 196). The virtual card features that are selected for each user are stored (block 198) for future reference).
Claims 11-15, Jung as modified discloses a method and electronic device (Jung, Fig. 6) have the same system of claims 1-10. Therefore, claims 11-15 are rejected for the same rationale and citations.
Claim 16, Jung as modified discloses the electronic device is connected in parallel with one or more external business systems and one or more online virtual platforms; and different external business systems are connected in parallel with the electronic device, and different online virtual platforms are connected in parallel with the electronic device (Jung, Figure 16).
CONCLUSION
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO's PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199. The USPTO's official fax number is 571-272-8300.
/Cheyne D Ly/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152
5/2/2023