DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11 of copending Application No. 19/017,792. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are coextensive in scope to the claims of the copending application. Both teach a pet water dispenser with a water tank, cover, and water pump. Merely calling the members of the water pump different names, e.g. accommodating chamber first and second versus pump cartridge outer and inner wall housing, pump hood, does not present a patentable distinction between the two copending applications. The attempt to broaden and/or narrow the claims does not present a patentable distinction since it is the same invention being claimed in both applications and changes are merely obvious engineering design choices. For example, merely eliminating an element when that function is not desired is an obvious engineering design choice.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/270,415. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are coextensive in scope to the claims of the copending application. Both applications teach a pet water dispenser with a pump, filter, impeller, water storage, water inlet, water outlet. Although the claims are not exact copies, the minor discrepancies between them are merely obvious changes and do not present patentable distinctions between the two applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over China Patent CN 217336936 to Liang et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,277,800 to Dieckmann et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Liang teaches pet water dispenser, comprising a shell (Liang Fig. 1 #2) and a water pump (Liang Fig. 2 #102), wherein the shell comprises a water tank and a top cover (Liang Fig. 1 #3), and the top cover covers the water tank; the water pump comprises a pump cartridge (Liang Fig. 2 #102) and a pump housing (Liang Fig. 7 #101), and a water outlet (Liang Fig. 7 #1011) is formed in the pump housing and communicated to a surface of the top cover (Liang Fig. 1).
Liang is silent on the structure of the pump cartridge and pump housing details. However, Dieckmann teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to provide the pump cartridge (Dieckmann Fig. 3, #17, #19, #18) comprises a pump hood (Dieckmann Fig. 1 #50, #51, and #52), a pump motor (Dieckmann Fig. 2 #17) and a pump blade (Dieckmann Fig. 2 #25), the pump motor is arranged in the pump hood, the pump blade is arranged at a bottom of the pump hood (Dieckmann Fig. 4 #25 is at the bottom of #52), and the pump motor is in transmission connection with the pump blade; the pump cartridge is arranged in the pump housing (Dieckmann Fig. 1 #50 is arranged into #60), and a water passage is formed between an outer wall of the pump cartridge (Dieckmann Fig. 4 passage between outer wall of pump cartridge #54/#52 and inner wall of pump housing #62, arrows travel in passage) and an inner wall of the pump housing and connects the water tank and the water outlet (Dieckmann Fig. 3 #72); upper ends of the pump cartridge (Dieckmann upper end of Fig. 1 #52) and the pump housing (Dieckmann Fig. 1 and 3 #60) extend to be above a plane in which the surface of the top cover is located, such that an upper end of the water passage extends to be above the plane to communicate to the water outlet provided above the surface of the top cover (Dieckmann Fig. 3 elements #60 and #52 extend above the surface of the water and terminate at the outlet; the outlet of Liang is above the cover and above the water level). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Liang with the teachings of Dieckmann before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success for the filter features as taught by Dieckmann. The modification is merely the simple substitution of one known pump chamber with another to obtain predictable results and/or the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Liang as modified teaches the pump cartridge is movably arranged in the pump housing, and the pump housing is movably connected to the shell (Dieckmann Fig. 1 #50 is separable from housing #60, thus the pump cartridge is movable; Dieckmann Fig. 3 #15 suction cups allows housing to be movably connected to shell #14 or Liang #101 is movably connected to shell #2).
Regarding Claim 3, Liang as modified teaches pump motor is arranged on a lower portion of the pump cartridge (Liang Fig. 2 #17).
Regarding Claim 5, Liang as modified teaches the pump motor is in transmission connection with the pump blade through a pump motor shaft (Dieckmann Fig. 3 unnumbered shaft between #19 and #25).
Regarding Claim 6, Liang as modified teaches the water pump comprises a power supply (Liang Fig.4 #1032; Dieckmann Fig. 2 #20) and a control system (Liang Fig. 4 #103), the power supply is connected to the control system, the control system comprises a control mainboard (Liang Fig. 4 #1031) and an operation panel (Liang Fig. 4 #103), the operation panel is connected to the control mainboard, and the control mainboard is connected to the pump motor.
Regarding Claim 7, Liang as modified teaches wherein the surface of the top cover is provided with a bowl configured to hold water discharged from the water outlet (Liang Fig. 1 #3).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over China Patent CN 217336936 to Liang et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,277,800 to Dieckmann et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0151782 to Himes et al.
Regarding Claim 4, Liang as modified teaches the pump housing comprises an inlet water filter screen (Dieckmann #34), but is silent on explicitly teaching the inlet water filter screen is arranged at a bottom of the pump housing and located below the pump blade. However, Himes teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to have the water inlet via a filter screen under the pump blade (Himes Fig. 6 #40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Liang with the teachings of Himes before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce vibration as taught by Himes (Himes paragraph [0150]). The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or merely an obvious engineering design choice involving the shifting the location of known parts performing the same intended function [In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 1023, 86 USPQ 70, 73 (CCPA 1950)] for optimal operation and/or size/configuration of the shell and does not present a patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner maintains that applicant hasn’t patentably distinguished over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/ANDREA M VALENTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
09 December 2025