DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iketani [US 4,267,540].
Claim 1, Iketani discloses an electromagnetic relay [figure 1], comprising: a fixed contact [54]; a fixed terminal [41] including a contact support portion [46] on which the fixed contact is provided; a coil [22] disposed behind the fixed terminal and having a central axis extending in a front-rear direction [up/down in figure 1 as directions are relative to orientation] of the electromagnetic relay; an iron core [10] including a shaft portion disposed within the coil [figure 1] and extending in the front-rear direction and a head portion [25] connected to a front end of the shaft portion; and a spool [11] around which the coil is wound, wherein the spool includes a hole in which the shaft portion is disposed [figure 1], a flange [23] including a first front surface [23 at 25] at which the hole is open and which is disposed rearward of the head portion to face the head portion [figure 1], and a second front surface [recess in 23 accommodating 54] which is spaced rearward from the first front surface by a predetermined distance and which is disposed rearward of the contact support portion to face the contact support portion, and the predetermined distance is greater than a thickness of the contact support portion in the front-rear direction [figure 1].
Claim 2, Iketani discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, wherein the entire contact support [46] portion is located rearward of the first front surface [23 at 25; figure 1].
Claim 7, Iketani discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, further comprising: a movable contact [56] disposed to face the fixed contact [54]; a movable piece [18] on which the movable contact is provided; and an armature [19] attached to the movable piece, wherein the contact support portion [46] is disposed below the head portion [25], and the armature is attracted to the iron core by an electromagnetic force generated by the coil when the coil is energized so that the armature comes into contact with the head portion below the central axis [col. 3 lines 8-16].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Iketani fails to disclose the spool as claimed.
“As stated, claim 1 expressly recites "a spool around which the coil is wound." As recited a "spool" must physically support the winding of the coil and includes the flange with the first and second front surfaces.”
In response, the spool is comprised of a central portion with flanges located on either end. Therefore, Iketani discloses that a coil 11 is wound around the spool 23. The claim does not require that the coil encapsulate the entirety of the spool including the flanges, merely that the coil be wound unto the spool (the coil is wound into the central portion of the spool of Iketani. Additionally Applicants drawings do not disclose that the coil is wound unto the flanges, the provided drawings show the same coil spoon relationship as disclosed by Iketani with the coil wound onto body portions and the flanges located adjacent thereto.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the coil is wound onto the entirety of the spool) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant contends that the cover 21 is not part of the spool.
In response, the rejection does not rely upon cover 21. As disclosed by Iketani a spool 11 consisting of an upper flange 26, a central portion 27 and a lower flange 31 [col. 1 lines 53-55]. Wherein the coil 11 is wound onto the spool as discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837