DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura [US 2015/0262743] in view of Sasaki et al. [US 2018/0047537].
Claim 1, Mimura discloses an electromagnetic relay [abs], comprising: a coil [20]; a first contact terminal; a second contact terminal [obvious in order to create a relay]; a coil terminal [30] including a body portion [31] disposed between the first contact terminal and the second contact terminal, and a tie-down portion [33] extending forward from the body [31] portion along the coil [20; figure 3]; and a spool [10] around which the coil [20] is wound with an end of the coil connected to the tie-down portion to electrically connect the coil to the coil terminal [paragraph 0051], the spool [10] including a front flange [10a top; figure 1] and a rear flange [10a bottom, figure 1], wherein the front flange includes 1) a vertical wall portion located between the first contact terminal and the tie-down portion and 2) a lateral wall portion bent relative to the vertical wall portion and extending forward from the vertical wall portion.
Mimura fails to teach specifically a first contact terminal disposed in front of the coil; a second contact terminal disposed behind the coil with the spool being disposed between the first contact terminal and the second contact terminal.
Sasaki et al. teaches an electromagnetic relay [100], comprising: a coil [20]; a first contact terminal disposed [44] in front of the coil; a second contact terminal [273] disposed behind the coil; a coil terminal [80] including a body portion [81/82/83] disposed between the first contact terminal and the second contact terminal, and a tie-down portion [85] extending forward from the body portion along the coil [20; figure 3]; and a spool [21] around which the coil [20] is wound with an end of the coil connected to the tie-down portion to electrically connect the coil to the coil terminal [paragraph 0044], the spool [21] being disposed between the first contact terminal [44] and the second contact terminal [273], the spool [21] including a front flange [23] facing the first contact terminal [44] and a rear flange [23] facing the second contact terminal [273; figure 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first and second terminal of Sasaki et al. in the relay Mimura in the relay in order to realize a fully functioning relay as disclosed by Mimura.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over. Sasaki et al. [2018/0047537] in view of Mimura [US 2015/0262743].
Claim 1, Sasaki et al. discloses an electromagnetic relay [100], comprising: a coil [20]; a first contact terminal disposed [44] in front of the coil; a second contact terminal [273] disposed behind the coil; a coil terminal [80] including a body portion [81/83/83] disposed between the first contact terminal and the second contact terminal, and a tie-down portion [85] extending forward from the body portion along the coil [20; figure 3]; and a spool [21] around which the coil [20] is wound with an end of the coil connected to the tie-down portion to electrically connect the coil to the coil terminal [paragraph 0044], the spool [21] being disposed between the first contact terminal [44] and the second contact terminal [273], the spool [21] including a front flange [23] facing the first contact terminal [44] and a rear flange [23] facing the second contact terminal [273; figure 4]; wherein the front flange includes 1) a vertical wall portion located between the first contact terminal and the tie-down portion and 2) a support portion [231] bent relative to the vertical wall portion and extending forward from the vertical wall portion.
Sasaki et al. the teach that the front flange includes 2) a lateral wall portion bent relative to the vertical wall portion and extending forward from the vertical wall portion.
Mimura teaches an electromagnetic relay [abs], comprising: a coil [20]; a first contact terminal; a second contact terminal [obvious in order to create a relay]; a coil terminal [30] including a body portion [31] disposed between the first contact terminal and the second contact terminal, and a tie-down portion [33] extending forward from the body [31] portion along the coil [20; figure 3]; and a spool [10] around which the coil [20] is wound with an end of the coil connected to the tie-down portion to electrically connect the coil to the coil terminal [paragraph 0051], the spool [10] including a front flange [10a top; figure 1] and a rear flange [10a bottom, figure 1], wherein the front flange includes 1) a vertical wall portion located between the first contact terminal and the tie-down portion and 2) a lateral wall portion bent relative to the vertical wall portion and extending forward from the vertical wall portion see annotated figure 1 above].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the spool structure of Mimura in the relay of Sasaki et al. as an alternate coil attachment means since a simple substitution of one known element for another, producing a predictable result, renders the claim obvious.
Claim 2, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, wherein Sasaki et al. further disclose that the spool [21] includes a central flange [24] disposed between the front flange [23] and the rear flange [22], the first contact terminal [44] is attached to the front flange [23 via 231], the second contact terminal [273] is attached to the rear flange [22 via 221], and the coil terminal [80] is attached to the central flange [figure 6].
Claim 3, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, wherein Sasaki et al. further discloses that the lateral wall portion extends forward from the vertical wall portion to a position beyond the first contact terminal [figure 2].
Claim 4, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, wherein Sasaki et al. further disclose that the lateral wall portion [once extended as taught Mimura] by covers the first contact terminal from a lateral side [figure 2].
Claim 5, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, wherein Sasaki et al. further disclose that the spool [23] includes a support portion [231] that is provided on the front flange and supports the first contact terminal [paragraph 0049], and the lateral wall portion extends downward from the support portion.
Claim 6, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 5, with the exception that the support portion is longer than the lateral wall portion in a front-rear direction of the electromagnetic relay.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention adjust the relative length of the support portion and longer than the lateral wall portion, since applicant has not disclosed that having different lengths solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the support portion being of equal to the lateral wall portion in a front-rear direction of the electromagnetic relay.
Claims 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over. Sasaki et al. [2018/0047537] in view of Mimura [US 2015/0262743] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minowa [US 7,956,710].
Claim 7, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, further comprising a first contact [42/43] provided on the first contact terminal [44]; a third contact terminal disposed in front of the first contact terminal; a third contact provided on the third contact terminal; a movable piece [46] connected to the second contact terminal [273]; and a movable contact [61/63] provided on the movable piece and adjacent to the first contact [figure 2].
Sasaki et al. as modified fails to teach a third contact terminal disposed in front of the first contact terminal; a third contact provided on the third contact terminal; and a movable contact provided on the movable piece and disposed between the first contact and the third contact.
Minowa teaches a relay [figure 1] comprising a first contact [57b] provided on the first contact terminal [43]; a third contact terminal [42] disposed in front of the first contact terminal [43]; a third contact [57a] provided on the third contact terminal [42]; a movable piece [4] connected to a second contact terminal [41]; and a movable contact [52] provided on the movable piece [4] and disposed between the first contact and the third contact [figure 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the contact structure of Sasaki et al. to include a third contact terminal as taught by Minowa in order to create a relay that can switch a signal/voltage to two different outputs.
Claim 8, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, further disclosing comprising a base [10] disposed below the spool [21] but fails to teach that the base including a base wall portion disposed between the first contact terminal and the tie-down portion.
Minowa teaches a relay [figure 1] comprising a base [11] disposed below a spool [22] wherein the base including a base wall portion [17] disposed between a first contact terminal and a first flange of the spool adjacent to the first contact terminal [figure 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the base wall portion of Minowa which would be located between the first contact terminal and the tie-down portion in the relay of Sasaki et al. in order to provide additional isolation and alignment means between the coil and contacts.
Claim 10, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, further comprising a case [50] including a side surface covering the first contact terminal from a lateral side, wherein the lateral wall portion [extended 231 as modified] is disposed between the first contact terminal and the side surface of the case, and a front end of the lateral wall portion is located past the first contact terminal.
Sasaki et al. as modified fails to teach that a third contact terminal disposed in front of the first contact terminal; and a front end of the lateral wall portion is located between the first contact terminal and the third contact terminal.
Minowa teaches a relay [figure 1] comprising a first contact [57b] provided on the first contact terminal [43]; a third contact terminal [42] disposed in front of the first contact terminal [43]; case [6] including a side surface covering the first contact terminal and the third contact terminal from a lateral side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the contact structure of Sasaki et al. to include a third contact terminal as taught by Minowa in order to create a relay that can switch a signal/voltage to two different outputs.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over. Sasaki et al. [2018/0047537] in view of Mimura [US 2015/0262743] as applied to claim 1 above, Miyake [US 2021/0012993].
Claim 9, Sasaki et al. as modified discloses the electromagnetic relay according to claim 1, further comprising a base [10] disposed below the spool [21]; and a case [50] attached to the base [10] and covering the spool [21], but fail to teach that the case including a case wall portion disposed between the first contact terminal and the tie-down portion.
Miyake teaches a relay [1] comprising a base [6] disposed below the spool [22]; and a case [7] attached to the base and covering the spool [figure 1], the case including a case wall portion [61] disposed between the first contact terminal [for contact 3; figure 3] and the spool.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the case wall portion of Minowa which would be located between the first contact terminal and the tie-down portion in the relay of Sasaki et al. in order to provide additional isolation and alignment means between the coil and contacts.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837