DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pfeisechifter et al (USPN 2023/0382249).
Regarding claim 1, Pfeisechifter discloses a power supply circuit (shown in figure) for supplying power to a management unit of a battery (a battery AA), wherein the battery is connected to an external circuit (an external circuit G) by a safety protection switch (a safety switch TS1), the power supply circuit comprising:
a first line (a first branching line coupled to an output side at GA terminal);
a second line (a second branching line V); and
a voltage conversion circuit (DC-DC converter GW) connected to two terminals of the safety protection switch (TS1) by the first line and the second line respectively, the voltage conversion circuit being configured to convert an output voltage of the battery into an operating voltage of the management unit (such as a charging circuit LS shown in figure, see par. 0035, 0037) and supply power to the management unit,
wherein the second line comprises a first switch (a switch TS2), the first switch being configured to be switched on (when the switch TS2 closes during a direct current charging) when the safety protection switch (TS1) is switched off, to cause the battery ( the battery AA) to supply power to the management unit (the charge circuit LS by the voltage conversion circuit (the DC-DC converter GW) via the second line (e.g. see par. 0020, 0039, 0042).
Regarding claim 9, Pfeisechifter discloses the voltage conversion circuit (the DC-DC converter GW) is configured to convert, when the safety protection switch (TS1) switched on, an output voltage of an energy storage converter of the external circuit into the operating voltage of the management unit (such as a charging circuit coupled to a terminal BA) through the first line and supply power to the management unit (e.g. see par. 0042).
Regarding claim 11, Pfeisechifter discloses an internal power supply (such as G1) connected to the management unit (the charging circuit LS) to supply power to the management unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 12, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeisechifter et al (USPN 2023/0382249) in view of Sato et al (USPN 2005/0127879)
Regarding claims 12, 20, Pfeisechifter discloses a power supply circuit comprises a battery (a battery AA), but does not explicitly discloses a battery monitoring circuit as claimed.
Sato discloses a batter pack comprises a battery monitoring circuit (110).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified a power supply circuit of Pfeisechifter to incorporate a battery monitoring circuit as disclosed by Sato in order to protect a battery from being damage from an abnormality condition.
3. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeisechifter et al (USPN 2023/0382249) in view of Zhang (USPN 2019/0074555).
Regarding claim 2, Pfeisechifter all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the first switch as claimed.
Zhang discloses a battery charging system comprises a first switch (62) is manually switchable off by a user (e.g. see par. 0076, 0077).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified a first switch of Pfeisechifter to incorporate a manually controllable switch as disclosed by Zhang in order to allow a user to manually switch power for various power needs.
4. Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeisechifter et al (USPN 2023/0382249) in view of Sato et al (USPN 2005/0127879), and further in view of Zhang (USPN 2019/0074555).
Regarding claim 14, Pfeisechifter and Sato all limitations of claims 1 and 12 as discussed above, but do not explicitly discloses the first switch as claimed.
Zhang discloses a battery charging system comprises a first switch (62) is manually switchable off by a user (e.g. see par. 0076, 0077).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified a first switch of Pfeisechifter and Sato to incorporate a manually controllable switch as disclosed by Zhang in order to allow a user to manually switch power for various power needs.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3-8, 10, 13, 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838