DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-10, 12, 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grogg (US 20240102689, hereinafter “Grogg”), and further in view of Kielkowski (US 20230108616, hereinafter “Kielk”).
Regarding claim 1, Grogg discloses,
An HVAC system (Fig. 12; HVAC 500) comprising:
at least one HVAC component (a HVAC system 500 comprising an HVAC field device 200 and an actuated part 206, such as a valve and/or a damper, drivingly connected to the electric motor 205 of the base HVAC device block 201 of the HVAC field device 200 [0113]);
an HVAC control module, the HVAC control module configured to control the at least one HVAC component, the HVAC control module including a controller board, and a controller processor, and a controller memory disposed on the controller board ( The base control module 207 and the first NFC control circuit 208 may be advantageously integrated in one electronic circuit. In one embodiment the base control module 207 is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), in particular it may be the ASIC that comprises a motor controller [0061]; [0062] and [0066]; FIG. 11 shows another embodiment of the HVAC field device 200, wherein the base control module 207 and the first add-on control module 215 both comprises printed circuit boards (PCB) [0112]);
a control housing covering or enclosing at least a portion of the HVAC control module, the control housing having an inner surface facing the HVAC control module and an outer surface opposite the inner surface (base HVAC device block 201 comprises: a base housing 203 and a base control module 207 [0061]; the first add-on HVAC device block 202 is positioned on top of the base HVAC device block 201. Alternatively, the first add-on HVAC device block 202 may be positioned on the side of the base HVAC device block 201 [0065]; [0070] and [0073]);
a near field communication (NFC) module including an NFC board, NFC circuitry, and an NFC antenna connected to the NFC board, the NFC module positioned remote from the HVAC control module and proximate the inner surface or the outer surface of the control housing (the first add-on HVAC device block 202 comprises a first add-on control module 215 and a first add-on NFC circuit 216. The first add-on NFC antenna 210 is connected to the first add-on NFC circuit 216 and/or the first add-on control module 215. The base control module 207 and the first add-on control module 215 may be connected through the electrical interface 214 between the base HVAC device block 201 and the first add-on HVAC device block 202. In this embodiment shown in FIG. 5; the base NFC circuit 208 and the first add-on NFC circuit 216 are both integrated onto respective PCBs and interconnected via an electrical connection 405. The first add-on NFC antenna 209 is a flex print antenna positioned on the cover of the add-on HVAC device block 202, while the base NFC antenna 210 is integrated on the PCB board [0112]);
a communication connection connected to the HVAC control module and the NFC module to permit communication between the NFC module and the HVAC control module (The base control module 207 and the first add-on control module 215 may be connected through the electrical interface 214 between the base HVAC device block 201 and the first add-on HVAC device block 202 [0086]; the base NFC circuit 208 and the first add-on NFC circuit 216 are both integrated onto respective PCBs and interconnected via an electrical connection 405. The first add-on NFC antenna 209 is a flex print antenna positioned on the cover of the add-on HVAC device block 202, while the base NFC antenna 210 is integrated on the PCB board [0112]); and
a mobile device, the mobile device including a user interface and a mobile NFC wireless interface configured for wireless communication with the NFC module when the mobile NFC wireless interface is in close proximity to the NFC module (The base NFC antenna 209 and the first add-on NFC antenna 210 are configured to communicate with the external service device 220 when located inside a communication range of the external service device 220. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 4, only the first add-on NFC antenna 210 is located inside a communication range of the external service device 220 [0082];The signal from the service device 220 is received by the HVAC field device 200, and more particularly by the first add-on NFC antenna 210. This operation may be performed without powering the HVAC device 200, since the add-on NFC antenna 210, and respectively the connected NFC circuit 208 or 216, may harvest the power from the active NFC module 221 of the service device 220 [0082]-[0085]).
However, Grogg does not explicitly disclose, wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert NFC signals received from the mobile device through the NFC antenna to wired signals according to a wired communication protocol and to transmit the wired signals to the HVAC control module through the communication connection.
In the same field of endeavor, Kielk discloses, wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert NFC signals received from the mobile device through the NFC antenna to wired signals according to a wired communication protocol and to transmit the wired signals to the HVAC control module through the communication connection (The communication cable 550 may be a hardline cable that is configured to connect the near field communication device 500 to the outdoor controller 213 so that the near field communication device 500 may communicate with the outdoor controller 213. The outdoor controller 213 is configured to communicate with the mobile device 400 through the near field communication device 500 and the mobile device 400 is configured to communicate with the outdoor controller 213 through the near field communication device 500 [0044]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grogg by specifically providing wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert NFC signals received from the mobile device through the NFC antenna to wired signals according to a wired communication protocol and to transmit the wired signals to the HVAC control module through the communication connection, as taught by Kielk for the purpose of placing a near field radio antenna in an area of the easily accessible to a mechanic such that a mechanic may easily connect to the HVAC system through near field communication [0025].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 1), further Grogg discloses, wherein the NFC board comprises a flexible printed circuit (NFC antennas 209 and 210 are printed circuit board (PCB) antennas, in particular flexible printed circuit board (FPC) antennas [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 1), further Grogg discloses,
wherein the NFC antenna is formed from traces on the NFC board (NFC antennas 209 and 210 are printed circuit board (PCB) antennas, in particular flexible printed circuit board (FPC) antennas [0072]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 1), further Grogg discloses,
wherein the NFC antenna is separate from and communicatively attached to the NFC board (The first add-on NFC antenna 210 is connected to the first add-on NFC circuit 216 and/or the first add-on control module 215 [0086]; the base NFC circuit 208 and the first add-on NFC circuit 216 are both integrated onto respective PCBs and interconnected via an electrical connection 405. The first add-on NFC antenna 209 is a flex print antenna positioned on the cover of the add-on HVAC device block 202, while the base NFC antenna 210 is integrated on the PCB board [0112]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 1), further Grogg discloses,
a system housing enclosing at least a portion of the HVAC component, the HVAC control module, the control housing, the NFC module, and the communication connection (wherein the base control module 207 and the first add-on control module 215 both comprises printed circuit boards (PCB). In this embodiment, the base NFC circuit 208 and the first add-on NFC circuit 216 are both integrated onto respective PCBs and interconnected via an electrical connection 405. The first add-on NFC antenna 209 is a flex print antenna positioned on the cover of the add-on HVAC device block 202, while the base NFC antenna 210 is integrated on the PCB board [0112]-[0114]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 1), further Grogg discloses,
wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert wired signals received from the HVAC control module to NFC signals and to transmit the NFC signals to the mobile device through the NFC antenna (The communication cable 550 may be a hardline cable that is configured to connect the near field communication device 500 to the outdoor controller 213 so that the near field communication device 500 may communicate with the outdoor controller 213. The outdoor controller 213 is configured to communicate with the mobile device 400 through the near field communication device 500 and the mobile device 400 is configured to communicate with the outdoor controller 213 through the near field communication device 500 [0044]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 13, Grogg discloses,
An HVAC controller (Fig. 12; HVAC 500) comprising:
an HVAC control module, the HVAC control module configured to control the at least one HVAC component, the HVAC control module including a controller board, and a controller processor, and a controller memory disposed on the controller board ( The base control module 207 and the first NFC control circuit 208 may be advantageously integrated in one electronic circuit. In one embodiment the base control module 207 is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), in particular it may be the ASIC that comprises a motor controller [0061]; [0062] and [0066]; FIG. 11 shows another embodiment of the HVAC field device 200, wherein the base control module 207 and the first add-on control module 215 both comprises printed circuit boards (PCB) [0112]);
a control housing covering or enclosing at least a portion of the HVAC control module, the control housing having an inner surface facing the HVAC control module and an outer surface opposite the inner surface (base HVAC device block 201 comprises: a base housing 203 and a base control module 207 [0061]; the first add-on HVAC device block 202 is positioned on top of the base HVAC device block 201. Alternatively, the first add-on HVAC device block 202 may be positioned on the side of the base HVAC device block 201 [0065]; [0070] and [0073]);
a near field communication (NFC) module including an NFC board, NFC circuitry, and an NFC antenna connected to the NFC board, the NFC module positioned remote from the HVAC control module and proximate the inner surface or the outer surface of the control housing (the first add-on HVAC device block 202 comprises a first add-on control module 215 and a first add-on NFC circuit 216. The first add-on NFC antenna 210 is connected to the first add-on NFC circuit 216 and/or the first add-on control module 215. The base control module 207 and the first add-on control module 215 may be connected through the electrical interface 214 between the base HVAC device block 201 and the first add-on HVAC device block 202. In this embodiment shown in FIG. 5; the base NFC circuit 208 and the first add-on NFC circuit 216 are both integrated onto respective PCBs and interconnected via an electrical connection 405. The first add-on NFC antenna 209 is a flex print antenna positioned on the cover of the add-on HVAC device block 202, while the base NFC antenna 210 is integrated on the PCB board [0112]);
a communication connection connected to the HVAC control module and the NFC module to permit communication between the NFC module and the HVAC control module (The base control module 207 and the first add-on control module 215 may be connected through the electrical interface 214 between the base HVAC device block 201 and the first add-on HVAC device block 202 [0086]; the base NFC circuit 208 and the first add-on NFC circuit 216 are both integrated onto respective PCBs and interconnected via an electrical connection 405. The first add-on NFC antenna 209 is a flex print antenna positioned on the cover of the add-on HVAC device block 202, while the base NFC antenna 210 is integrated on the PCB board [0112]).
However, Grogg does not explicitly disclose, wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert NFC signals received from the mobile device through the NFC antenna to wired signals according to a wired communication protocol and to transmit the wired signals to the HVAC control module through the communication connection.
In the same field of endeavor, Kielk discloses, wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert NFC signals received from the mobile device through the NFC antenna to wired signals according to a wired communication protocol and to transmit the wired signals to the HVAC control module through the communication connection (The communication cable 550 may be a hardline cable that is configured to connect the near field communication device 500 to the outdoor controller 213 so that the near field communication device 500 may communicate with the outdoor controller 213. The outdoor controller 213 is configured to communicate with the mobile device 400 through the near field communication device 500 and the mobile device 400 is configured to communicate with the outdoor controller 213 through the near field communication device 500 [0044]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grogg by specifically providing wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert NFC signals received from the mobile device through the NFC antenna to wired signals according to a wired communication protocol and to transmit the wired signals to the HVAC control module through the communication connection, as taught by Kielk for the purpose of placing a near field radio antenna in an area of the easily accessible to a mechanic such that a mechanic may easily connect to the HVAC system through near field communication [0025].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 13), further Grogg discloses, wherein the NFC board comprises a flexible printed circuit or a rigid printed circuit board (NFC antennas 209 and 210 are printed circuit board (PCB) antennas, in particular flexible printed circuit board (FPC) antennas [0072]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 13), further Grogg discloses,
wherein the NFC antenna is formed from traces on the NFC board (NFC antennas 209 and 210 are printed circuit board (PCB) antennas, in particular flexible printed circuit board (FPC) antennas [0072]) or the NFC antenna is separate from and communicatively attached to the NFC board (The first add-on NFC antenna 210 is connected to the first add-on NFC circuit 216 and/or the first add-on control module 215 [0086]; the base NFC circuit 208 and the first add-on NFC circuit 216 are both integrated onto respective PCBs and interconnected via an electrical connection 405. The first add-on NFC antenna 209 is a flex print antenna positioned on the cover of the add-on HVAC device block 202, while the base NFC antenna 210 is integrated on the PCB board [0112]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 13), further Grogg discloses,
wherein the NFC circuitry is configured to convert wired signals received from the HVAC control module to NFC signals and to transmit the NFC signals to the mobile device through the NFC antenna (The communication cable 550 may be a hardline cable that is configured to connect the near field communication device 500 to the outdoor controller 213 so that the near field communication device 500 may communicate with the outdoor controller 213. The outdoor controller 213 is configured to communicate with the mobile device 400 through the near field communication device 500 and the mobile device 400 is configured to communicate with the outdoor controller 213 through the near field communication device 500 [0044]-[0048]).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grogg, in view of Kielk and further in view of Overesch et al. (US 20180277320, hereinafter “Overesch”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 1), however the combination of Grogg and Kielk does not explicitly disclose, wherein the communication connection comprises a ribbon cable.
In the same field of endeavor, overesch discloses, wherein the communication connection comprises a ribbon cable (One or more of the close-proximity communication antenna 102 and the switch panel 106 can be connected to the controller 104 via an electrical connection [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grogg and Kielk by specifically providing wherein the communication connection comprises a ribbon cable, as taught by Overesch for the purpose of providing a membrane panel having a user interface and an embedded close-proximity antenna can provide for increased functionality and secured communications in, for example, a welding-type system.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 13), however the combination of Grogg and Kielk does not explicitly disclose, wherein the communication connection comprises a ribbon cable.
In the same field of endeavor, overesch discloses, wherein the communication connection comprises a ribbon cable (One or more of the close-proximity communication antenna 102 and the switch panel 106 can be connected to the controller 104 via an electrical connection [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grogg and Kielk by specifically providing wherein the communication connection comprises a ribbon cable, as taught by Overesch for the purpose of providing a membrane panel having a user interface and an embedded close-proximity antenna can provide for increased functionality and secured communications in, for example, a welding-type system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grogg, in view of Kielk and further in view of Niculescu et al. (US 20180149381, hereinafter “Nicul”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Grogg and Kielk discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 1), however the combination of Grogg and Kielk does not explicitly disclose, wherein the HVAC component is mounted on the HVAC control module.
In the same field of endeavor, Nicul discloses, wherein the HVAC component is mounted on the HVAC control module (the hardware of control device 20, much or all of which can be mounted on a PCB 42. Control device 20 includes at least one processor 100, which can be a microcontroller, a microprocessor or any other suitable device as will occur to those of skill in the art, non-volatile RAM 104 and volatile RAM 108 [0019]; control device 20 and relay assembly 140 is operatively connected to processor 100 by a signal bus 122 such that processor 100 can change the state of the outputs (described in more detail below) of relay assembly 140 [0028]-[0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Grogg and Kielk by specifically providing wherein the HVAC component is mounted on the HVAC control module, as taught by Overesch for the purpose of providing a smart thermostat be affordable, reasonably small in size and, above all, reliable. Meeting all of these criteria is a difficult task [0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Grogg and Kielk, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“The HVAC system comprising wherein an opening is defined through the control housing, the NFC module is positioned outside of the control housing on the outer surface of the control housing, and the communication connection passes from the NFC module to the HVAC control module through the opening in the control housing”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1
Claims 3-5 are allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from
claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Grogg and Kielk, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature:
“The HVAC system comprising wherein an opening is defined through the control housing, the NFC module is positioned outside of the control housing on the outer surface of the control housing, and the communication connection passes from the NFC module to the HVAC control module through the opening in the control housing”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 13.
Claims 15 and 16 are allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from
claim 14.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20230011855: a mobile device is configured to receive and/or determine a first identifier of the first HVAC control and to automatically configure one or more first settings for the first HVAC control corresponding with the first identifier. The one or more first settings are stored within and retrievable directly from the memory of the mobile device.
US 20220299231: A method and system for configuring a controller of a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning (HVAC) equipment. The method can include receiving, with a near-field communication (NFC) module of the controller, configuration information for the HVAC equipment from a user device (e.g., equipped with near-field communications (NFC))’
US 20210334483: Generating configuration parameters for a controller includes receiving, by a mobile computing device, identity information associated with the controller via Near Field Communication (NFC) read operations from memory of a NFC tag associated with the controller. The mobile computing device generates one or more configuration parameters for the controller based on the received identity information associated with the controller.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641