DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of CN202412990389 filed on 06/06/2024 has been received/retrieved by the office.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 11/20/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, there is an erroneous “.” after the term “correspondence” recited on lines 6 and 9, which should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2023/0036482A1 hereinafter “Altonen” in view of US2022/0007476A1 hereinafter “Casey” in view of US2024/0094695A1 hereinafter “Shurte”
Regarding claim 1, Altonen discloses a power supply with an integrated dimming and color panel, comprising:
a mounting panel (¶187L11: a yoke), wherein the mounting panel is used for fixed connection with wall surface or cabinet surface (¶187L11-14: yoke connect to the enclosure back cover and configure to mount the control device to an electrical wall-box);
a control panel (¶124L6: a user interface), wherein the control panel is arranged on the mounting panel (as shown in Fig.8, for example),
a front of the control panel (as shown in Fig.2, for example) is provided with a control switch (¶126L2: an actuation member), and a brightness control mechanism (¶128L1-2: an analog adjustment actuator), and the brightness control mechanism is used for inputting electrical signals for brightness adjustment (¶128L8-14: analog adjustment actuator to provide a control command of the lighting load with referee to intensity control),
a rear housing (¶181L15-18: the control device may comprise an enclosure), wherein the rear housing is detachably connected to the mounting panel (as seen in Fig.13, for example), and
a dimming supply module (¶247L9-10: a gate drive circuit), wherein the dimming power supply module is arranged in a cavity formed by the rear housing and the mounting panel (¶181L16-18: an enclosure for housing load control circuitry), and is electrically connected (as shown in Fig.25, for example) to the control switch, the brightness control mechanism, the input end (¶246L6-7: control device include a hot terminal H) and the output end (¶246L8-9: the control device include a dimmed hot terminal DH); and
the dimming power supply module is used to adjust an electrical energy input from the input end to a required value based on the electrical signals (¶128L1-14: the position of movable component of the analog adjustment actuator may indicate a value of characteristic of an electrical load via load control) input by the control switch, and the brightness control mechanism, and then output the electrical energy to a light source from the output end. (¶250L1-19: responsive to local control of the lighting load, such as user inputs received from actuators and/or analog intensity adjustment actuators)
Altonen does not expclitly disclose:
the front of the control panel is provided with a color temperature control mechanism,
the color temperature control mechanism is used for inputting electrical signals for color temperature adjustment
a dimming and color power supply module
Casey discloses a power supply (¶23L4-5L: a load control device) with an integrated dimming (¶24L5-12: an intensity adjustment actuator) and color panel (¶24L5-12: a color adjustment actuator), comprising:
a control panel (¶35L1-2: user interface),
a front of the control panel (as shown in Fig.2 for example) is provided with a control switch (¶35L4: a rectangular toggle actuator [210]), a color temperature control mechanism (¶35L9: the color adjustment actuator [214]) and a brightness control mechanism (¶35L8-9: the intensity adjustment actuator [212]), and
the color temperature control mechanism and the brightness control mechanism are used for inputting electrical signals for color temperature adjustment and brightness adjustment, respectively (¶35L21-40: actuation of the intensity adjustment actuator and color adjustment actuator may respectively adjust the light intensity or color (e.g., color temperature) of the light source);
a dimming and color power supply module (¶28L12-16: a control circuit [135] configured to control the controllably conductive device [134])
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to duplicate the analog adjustment actuator for intensity control disclosed by Altonen and have it be an color adjustment actuator disclosed by Casey.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would allow the control device to control both the brightness and color of the lighting load, and furthermore, Altonen contemplated that the analog adjustment actuator can control more than intensity, but color of the lighting load as well. (¶128L1-8: an analog adjustment actuator control a characteristic of the load (e.g., intensity and/or color of a lighting load))
Altonen in view of Casey hereinafter “Altonen/Casey” does not expclitly disclose:
a surface of the rear housing is provided with a via hole for an input end and an output end to pass through
Shurte discloses a load control device with a housing (¶68L7: a housing) to be installed in an electrical box (¶35) in Fig.5B for example comprising:
a rear housing (¶68L8: a base housing), wherein the rear housing is detachably connected to the mounting panel (as shown in Fig.5B), and a surface of the rear housing is provided with a via hole for the input end and the output end to pass through (¶68L17-21: wires connect to circuit board and extend through base housing to allow connect of the load control between a power source and a load)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to construct the enclosure disclosed by Altonen to include the wire connection hole as disclosed by Shurte.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes both load control device are wall-mounted in to a standard electrical box thus an equivalent structure known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Altonen/Casey in view of Shurte hereinafter “Altonen/Casey/Shurte” discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 1, wherein
both the color temperature control mechanism and the brightness control mechanism comprise a potentiometer (¶186L1-2: control device include a potentiometer) and an adjustment mechanism (¶186L3: slider knob);
the adjustment mechanism is arranged on the front of the control panel, the potentiometer is arranged on the mounting panel (as shown in Fig.13, for example), and the potentiometer is electrically connected to the dimming and color power supply module (as shown in Fig.25, for example); and
the adjustment mechanism is connected to a brush handle of the potentiometer, and the adjustment mechanism is used to adjust a position of the brush handle. (¶186L1-27: a potentiometer shaft of the potentiometer coupled to the slider actuator)
Regarding claim 3, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 2, wherein
the potentiometer is a sliding potentiometer (¶186L1-4: potentiometer adjusted in response to slider knob), and the adjustment mechanism comprises
a guiding groove and a push rod; the guiding groove is arranged on a back side of the control panel, and a surface of the control panel is provided with a limiting waist-shaped hole that communicates with the guiding groove; a strip-shaped hole is arranged on the mounting panel, allowing the brush handle of the potentiometer to protrude out; an adjustment handle is arranged on a front end surface of the push rod, and a handle slot matching the brush handle is arranged on a rear end surface of the push rod; and the brush handle passes through the strip hole and snaps into the handle slot, the push rod is arranged in the guiding groove and is capable of sliding along the guiding groove, and the adjustment handle passes through the limiting waist-shaped hole and extends out to a front side of the control panel. (¶213 and as shown in Fig.13 for example)
Regarding claim 4, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 3, wherein
a width of the push rod and the adjustment handle is wider than a width of the limiting waist-shaped hole, and a width of the connection portion between the adjustment handle and the push rod matches the width of the limiting waist-shaped hole; and the limiting waist-shaped holes of both the color temperature control mechanism and the brightness control mechanism are arranged at an edge of the control panel. (¶213 and as shown in Fig.13 for example)
Regarding claim 5, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 1, wherein
both the color temperature control mechanism and the brightness control mechanism are touch sliders (¶186L1-27: a potentiometer shaft of the potentiometer coupled to the slider actuator), and the control switch is a touch switch (¶126L2: an actuation member).
Regarding claim 6, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 1, wherein
the control switch is a rocker switch, comprising a rocker mechanism (¶182L1-16: actuation member comprise an upper portion and a lower portion and pivot about a pivot axis) and a micro switch;
a switch slot is arranged on the mounting panel, the micro switch is clamped in the switch slot, and one end of a switch panel of the rocker mechanism is provided with a triggering portion that is capable of pressing down a spring piece of the micro switch. (¶183L1-24)
Regarding claim 7, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 1, wherein
both ends of the control panel are provided with buckles, a buckle hole that matches the buckle is arranged on the mounting panel, and the control panel is detachably connected to the mounting panel by snapping the buckle into the corresponding buckle hole. (as shown in Fig.14 for example)
Regarding claim 8, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 1, wherein the dimming and color power supply module comprises
a switching power supply unit, (¶246L9: a gate drive circuit)
a control unit and an output adjustment unit (¶246L14: controllably conductive device);
an input end of the switching power supply unit is electrically connected to the input end, and an output end of the switching power supply unit is electrically connected to an input end of the output adjustment unit and the control unit, respectively (as shown in Fig.25 for example);
an output end of the output adjustment unit is electrically connected to the output end, the control unit is electrically connected to a control end of the output adjustment unit, the control unit is electrically connected to the color temperature control mechanism and the brightness control mechanism, and the control switch is connected in series between the input end and the switching power supply unit or is electrically connected to the control unit. (as shown in Fig.25 for example)
Regarding claim 10, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses in Altonen the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 8, wherein the dimming and color power supply module further comprises
a wireless control unit (¶254L1-14: the control device may comprise the wireless communication circuit), and the wireless control unit is electrically connected to the control unit. (as shown in Fig.25 for example)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altonen/Casey/Shurte in view of US2021/2136888A1 hereinafter “Vasquez”
Regarding claim 9, Altonen/Casey/Shurte discloses the power supply with the integrated dimming and color panel according to claim 8,
Altonen/Casey/Shurte does not expclitly disclose:
the output adjustment unit comprises a plurality of output adjustment circuits; an input end of each output adjustment circuit is electrically connected to the input end of the switching power supply unit, and output ends of the plurality of output adjustment circuits are electrically connected to a plurality of control pins of the control unit in a one-to-one correspondence., respectively; and the output end comprises a plurality of voltage output ends, and the plurality of the voltage output ends are electrically connected to output ends of the plurality of output adjustment circuits in a one-to-one correspondence., respectively.
Vasquez discloses a controller for light fixture including light intensity and color contorl wherein the output adjustment circuit (¶34L12-16: the switching circuit to provide control to eh light engine) include a plurality of outputs. (as shown in Fig.2 for example)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to duplicate the output of Altonen to include a plurality of output as disclosed by Vasquez.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the control device to control more than one load device, and it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844