DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the fastening assembly of Figures 1-10B and 12 in the reply filed on May 12, 2026 is acknowledged. In the reply, Applicant did not identify the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species as required on page 3 of the requirement mailed March 20, 2026. The Examiner notes claim 10 is directed to Species III (see paragraph [00103]) and claim 19 is directed to Species II (see paragraph [0093]). Claims 10 and 19 are therefore withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(2) for including a partial view without its own label in Figures 6 and 7C.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h) and 37 CFR 1.84(u) because Figure 13A includes multiple views under a single label, and therefore the views are not “clearly separated from one another”. Further, “[t]he different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals”.
Specification
The abstract is objected to for including a phrase which can be implied. See “The present disclosure discloses” in line 1. See MPEP 608.01(b). The Examiner notes simply removing this phrase and beginning the abstract with --A fastening assembly…-- would place the abstract in proper form and overcome this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the positioning body accommodating portion" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; a positioning body accommodating portion is not previously recited in the claim(s). For the purpose of this action, the Examiner has interpreted claim 9 as depending from claim 4, where a positioning body accommodating portion is recited in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0154450 (Ding).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses a fastening assembly (see Figures 1-6) comprising:
a housing (2) defining a housing cavity (formed inside 2; see, e.g., 201 in Figure 2);
a positioning body (110) being accommodated inside the housing cavity and movable relative to the housing in a first direction (see Figure 2 and paragraphs [0033]-[0036]);
an adjustment member (22) being rotatable around an axis of the adjustment member relative to the housing (see Figure 4 and paragraphs [0033]-[0034]); and
a motion converter (formed by threads on 2, 22, and 210-216) being configured such that rotation of the adjustment member around the axis of the adjustment member drives the positioning body to move relative to the housing in the first direction (see Figure 5 and paragraphs [0032]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Ding discloses the axis of the adjustment member (22) is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (see Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Ding discloses the motion converter (formed by threads on 2, 22, and 210-216), comprises a slider (210), a first motion conversion structure (formed by the threads on 22 cooperating with the housing), and a second motion conversion structure (212), wherein the slider is accommodated inside the housing cavity and movable relative to the housing along the axis of the adjustment member (22; see Figure 2 and paragraph [0034]);
the first motion conversion structure is provided on the adjustment member (22) and the slider and configured to convert the rotation of the adjustment member around the axis of the adjustment member into movement of the slider along the axis of the adjustment member (see paragraphs [0033]-[0036]); and
the second motion conversion structure is provided on the slider and the positioning body (110) and configured to convert movement of the slider along the axis of the adjustment member into movement of the positioning body in the first direction (see Figures 2 and 4, and paragraphs [0033]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Ding discloses the first motion conversion structure comprises a threaded structure (formed by the threads on 22 cooperating with the housing 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ding discloses the threaded structure comprises a first thread (formed by the threads on 22) and a second thread (formed by the threads on housing 2) having different cross sections (an inherent feature in that the internal threads must have a larger cross-section in order to accept the external threads; see, e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Ding discloses the second motion conversion structure (212) is configured such that a distance of movement of the positioning body (110) along the first direction increases as the distance of movement of the slider (216) along the axis of the adjustment member increases (see Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 11, Ding discloses a limiting structure (surface shown at 20 in Figure 2) being provided on the adjustment member (22) and the housing (2) and configured to limit a maximum angle of rotation of the adjustment member around the axis of the adjustment member (the surface shown at 20 in Figure 2 provided a maximum amount of travel of the adjustment member 22).
Regarding claim 14, Ding discloses a positioning structure (surface shown at 20 in Figure 2) being provided on the adjustment member (22) and the housing (2) and configured to hinder movement of the adjustment member relative to the housing (the surface shown at 20 in Figure 2 provided a maximum amount of travel of the adjustment member 22).
Regarding claim 16, Ding discloses an indicating structure (11) being configured to indicate a distance by which the positioning body (110) moves relative to the housing (2) in the first direction (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Ding discloses a housing positioning member (121) enabling the housing (2) to be positioned relative to a first part in the direction of the axis of the adjustment member (22); and
a positioning pin (12) being provided on the positioning body (110) and formed by extending in the direction of the axis of the adjustment member to enable the positioning body to be positioned relative to a second part in the direction of the axis of the adjustment member (see Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, Ding discloses a connecting component (see, e.g., 213) extending through the housing (2) and being configured to connect the housing, a first part (10) and a second part together (see Figure 4, where the component 213 cooperates with the remainder of the fastening assembly which allows the connection of a first and second part; see also paragraphs [0033]-[0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of US 10,309,435 (Couto).
Ding discloses the fastening assembly according to claim 14, but does not expressly disclose the positioning structure comprises a plurality of raised ribs provided on the adjustment member (22) and at least one groove provided on the housing (2);
wherein the plurality of raised ribs protrude from a surface of the adjustment member in a radial direction of the adjustment member around the axis of the adjustment member, the at least one groove is recessed in a surface of the housing, and any one of the plurality of raised ribs is capable of being accommodated inside the at least one groove to hinder movement of the adjustment member relative to the housing.
Couto teaches a positioning structure (14.1) comprises a plurality of raised ribs provided on an adjustment member (2) and at least one groove provided on the housing (103; see Figure 1 and column 6, line 66, through column 7, line 2);
wherein the plurality of raised ribs protrude from a surface of the adjustment member in a radial direction of the adjustment member around the axis of the adjustment member, the at least one groove is recessed in a surface of the housing, and any one of the plurality of raised ribs is capable of being accommodated inside the at least one groove to hinder movement of the adjustment member relative to the housing (see Figure 1 and column 6, line 66, through column 7, line 2).
Couto teaches this structure provides friction between the adjustment member and housing to provide a braking effect (see Figure 1 and column 6, line 66, through column 7, line 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastening assembly of Ding such that the positioning structure comprises a plurality of raised ribs provided on the adjustment member and at least one groove provided on the housing; wherein the plurality of raised ribs protrude from a surface of the adjustment member in a radial direction of the adjustment member around the axis of the adjustment member, the at least one groove is recessed in a surface of the housing, and any one of the plurality of raised ribs is capable of being accommodated inside the at least one groove to hinder movement of the adjustment member relative to the housing, as taught in Couto, in order to provide friction between the adjustment member and housing to provide a braking effect.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 9, 12, 13, and 17, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Ding discloses the positioning body (110) is provided with a positioning body accommodating portion (111), but fails to disclose the slider (210) is arranged inside the positioning body accommodating portion.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Ding such that the slider is arranged inside the positioning body accommodating portion. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to make such a modification to Ding, as such a modification would interfere with the linkage-type motion conversion system shown in Figure 4.
Regarding claim 6, Ding discloses the threaded structure comprises an internal thread (formed on housing 2) and an external thread (formed on 22) which cooperate with each other (see Figure 4);
wherein the external thread is provided on the adjustment member (22).
Ding fails to disclose the slider being provided with an adjustment member hole, and the internal thread is provided on an inner wall of the adjustment member hole. Ding instead discloses the slider being provided with a groove (216) which cooperates with a baffle (221) provided on the adjustment member.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Ding such that the slider being provided with an adjustment member hole, and the internal thread is provided on an inner wall of the adjustment member hole. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to make such a modification as it would teach away from the sliding fit of the groove and baffle which ensures free movement (see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Ding discloses the fastening assembly according to claim 11, but fails to disclose the limiting structure (surface shown at 20 in Figure 2) comprises a tab provided on the adjustment member (22) and a boss provided on the housing (2);
wherein the tab is formed by protruding outwardly from the adjustment member in a radial direction of the adjustment member, and the boss protrudes from a surface of the housing and has a first stop surface and a second stop surface arranged opposite each other in a circumferential direction of the axis of the adjustment member; and
wherein the first stop surface and the second stop surface are capable of abutting against the tab to hinder the rotation of the tab.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Ding such that the limiting structure comprises a tab provided on the adjustment member and a boss provided on the housing; wherein the tab is formed by protruding outwardly from the adjustment member in a radial direction of the adjustment member, and the boss protrudes from a surface of the housing and has a first stop surface and a second stop surface arranged opposite each other in a circumferential direction of the axis of the adjustment member; and wherein the first stop surface and the second stop surface are capable of abutting against the tab to hinder the rotation of the tab. Further, one of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to make such a modification to Ding, as it would prevent the motion conversion capabilities of the adjustment member (22; see Figure 2 and paragraphs [0033]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Ding discloses the fastening assembly according to claim 16, but fails to disclose the indicating structure (11) comprises an indicating area provided on the housing (2) and a pointer provided on the adjustment member (22);
wherein the indicating area is arranged around the axis of the adjustment member ,and the indicating area is provided with a plurality of numerical values thereon; and
wherein when the pointer points at a numerical value of the plurality of numerical values, the numerical value represents the distance by which the positioning body moves relative to the housing in the first direction.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to Ding such that the indicating structure comprises an indicating area provided on the housing and a pointer provided on the adjustment member; wherein the indicating area is arranged around the axis of the adjustment member, and the indicating area is provided with a plurality of numerical values thereon; and wherein when the pointer points at a numerical value of the plurality of numerical values, the numerical value represents the distance by which the positioning body moves relative to the housing in the first direction. Further, the fastening assembly of Ding does not need such an indicating area, given the relative distances can be readily observed by the distance between the fastening assembly and member (10) to be assembled (see Figures 1 and 2).
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of fastening assemblies.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
August 4, 2026