DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the projecting elements" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lamoureux (U.S. 2022/0277875). Lamoureux teaches a separable object holder 100, 200, shown in figure 6, comprising a base assembly 200 including a base body having a first surface (upper surface of 200), a second surface (lower surface of 200) configured to attach to a surface 300, and a base magnet located 120, 140 in the base body, and a mounting assembly 100 including a mounting body having a first surface (surfaces of upper portion of 100) configured to attach to an object 70 and a second surface (lower surface of 100) configured to abut the first surface (upper surface of 200) of the base assembly (figure 6), and a mounting assembly magnet 20, 40 located therein, wherein, in a united configuration, the base magnet and the mounting assembly magnet are configured such that the mounting assembly magnet magnetically repels the base magnet when either the mounting assembly or base assembly is rotated relative to the other of the mounting assembly or base assembly by up to approximately 90° (figure 5B; paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 2, a face of each of the base magnet 120, 140 and the mounting assembly magnet 20, 40 is configured with a polarity pattern including alternating polarity portions about face of the respective magnet to allow the mounting assembly magnet to magnetically attract the base magnet to hold the mounting assembly in a fixed position relative to the base assembly ( figure 5A; paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, a face of each of the base magnet 120, 140 and the mounting assembly 20, 40 is configured with a polarity pattern enabling magnetic attraction between the face of the base magnet in direct opposition with the face of the mounting assembly magnet when either of the base magnet or the mounting assembly magnet is rotated between 0 and 90 degrees about an axis extending through a center of both the mounting assembly magnet and the base magnet to hold the mounting assembly in a fixed position relative to the base assembly (figure 5A; paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, a face of each of the base magnet 120, 140 and the mounting assembly 20, 40 is configured with a polarity pattern enabling magnetic repulsion between the face of the base magnet in direct opposition with the face of the mounting assembly magnet when the first surface of the base assembly is in abutment with the second surface of the mounting assembly in the united configuration and either of the base magnet or the mounting assembly magnet is rotated approximately 90 degrees about an axis extending through a center of both the mounting assembly magnet and the base magnet to thereby separate the mounting assembly from the base assembly (figure 5B; paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, the base assembly 200 includes an alignment arrangement 110 (figure 8) for assisting with aligning the mounting assembly with the base assembly (figures 3A and 3B) to induce magnetic engagement between the respective mounting assembly magnet and base magnet (figure 5A; paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, the alignment arrangement 110 includes a plurality of projections 162 connected to a surface of the base assembly between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the projecting elements extend beyond the first surface in a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the assembly (when 110 moves upwardly, as shown in figure 3B, projections 162 also move upwardly in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 8, the base assembly 200 includes a plurality of projecting elements 162 connected to and projecting from the first surface of the base assembly (figure 5A).
Regarding claim 16, Lamoureux teaches a method of securing an object 70 with a separable object holder 100, 200, the method comprising providing a base assembly 200 including a base body having a first surface (upper surface of 200), a second surface (lower surface of 200) configured to attach to a surface 300, and a base magnet 120, 140 located in the base body, providing a mounting assembly 100 including a mounting body having a first surface (upper surface of 100) configured to attach to an object 70 and a second surface (lower surface of 100) configured to abut the first surface of the base assembly (figure 6), and a mounting assembly magnet 20, 40 located therein, attaching the second surface (lower surface of 200) of the base assembly to a surface 300 (figure 3B), attaching an object 70 to the first surface of the mounting assembly (figure 6), magnetically engaging the mounting assembly magnet 20, 40 with the base magnet 120, 140 such that the mounting assembly magnet is magnetically attracting the base magnet to hold he mounting assembly in a fixed position relative to the base assembly to configure the base assembly and the mounting assembly in a united configuration (figure 5A; paragraph [0061]), and rotating either the mounting assembly or base assembly relative to the other of the mounting assembly or base assembly by up to approximately 90°to magnetically repel the mounting assembly magnet away from the base magnet and separate the mounting assembly from the base assembly (figure 5B; paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 17, a face of each of the base magnet 120, 140 and the mounting assembly 20, 40 being configured with a polarity pattern enabling magnetic engagement between the face of the base magnet in direct opposition with the face of the mounting assembly magnet when either of the base magnet or the mounting assembly magnet is rotated between 0 and 90 degrees about an axis extending through a center of both the mounting assembly magnet and the base magnet when to hold the mounting assembly in a fixed position relative to the base assembly (figure 5A; paragraph [0061]), and the method further comprises arranging the face of the mounting assembly magnet in direct opposition with the base magnet (figure 5B), and rotating the mounting assembly or the base assembly between 0 and 90 degrees about the axis extending through the center of both the mounting assembly magnet and the base magnet to magnetically engage the mounting assembly magnet with the base magnet to hold the mounting assembly in a fixed position relative to the base assembly (paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 18, a face of each of the base magnet 120, 140 and the mounting assembly magnet 20, 40 is configured with a polarity pattern including alternating polarity portions about an edge of the respective magnet to allow the mounting assembly magnet to magnetically engage with the base magnet to hold the mounting assembly in a fixed position relative to the base assembly (figure 5A; paragraph [0061]), and the method further comprises arranging the face of the mounting assembly magnet in direct opposition with the base magnet (figure 5B), and magnetically engaging the mounting assembly magnet with the base magnet to hold the mounting assembly in a fixed position relative to the base assembly (paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 19, Lamoureux teaches a separable object holder 100, 200 comprising a base assembly 200 including a base body having a first surface (upper surface of 100), a second surface (lower surface of 200) configured to attach to a surface 300 (figure 3B), and a base magnet 120, 140 located in the base body, and a mounting assembly 100 including a mounting body having a first surface (upper surface of 100) configured to attach to an object 70 and a second surface (lower surface of 100) configured to abut the first surface of the base assembly (figure 6), and a mounting assembly magnet 20, 40 located therein, wherein the base magnet 120, 140 and the mounting assembly magnet 20, 40 are configured such that the mounting assembly magnet magnetically repels the base magnet when either the mounting assembly or base assembly is rotated relative to the other of the mounting assembly or base assembly to separate the base assembly from the mounting assembly (figure 5B; paragraph [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamoureux (U.S. 2022/0277875) in view of Kuhn et al. (U.S. 10,292,514).
Regarding claim 5, Lamoureux discloses the claimed invention except for the magnets being programmable magnets. Kuhn et al. teaches that it is known to provide assemblies with magnets that are programmable magnets (see col. 2 lines 10-15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Lamoureux with the magnets being programmable magnets, as taught by Kuhn et al., in order to allow the user to increase the magnetic force for a stronger attachment.
Regarding claim 9, Lamoureux teaches an annular first polarity pattern but does not teach the second, circular polarity pattern. Kuhn et al. teaches that it is known to provide assemblies with an annular and a circular polarity pattern (see figure 1A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Lamoureux with the second, circular polarity pattern, as taught by Kuhn et al., in order to assist the vertical alignment of the mounting assembly with the base assembly.
Regarding claim 10, the first polarity pattern comprises four substantially equal sub-portions arranged in an alternating polarity sequence (figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Lamoureux teaches an annular portion but does not teach the circular portion. Kuhn et al. teaches that it is known to provide assemblies with an annular and a circular polarity pattern (see figure 1A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Lamoureux with the second, circular portion, as taught by Kuhn et al., in order to assist the vertical alignment of the mounting assembly with the base assembly.
Regarding claim 14, the substantially annular portion comprises four substantially equal sub-portions, wherein each of the sub-portions has a polarity opposite to an adjacent sub-portion of the substantially annular portion (figure 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art is cited for the magnetic attachment feature.
THIS ACTION IS NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736