CTNF 18/764,496 CTNF 82173 DETAILED ACTION This action is made in response to the claim filed on 07/05/2024. This action is made non-final . Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1, 14, and 15 are independent claims. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hosomizo (US 2021/0216256 A1; hereinafter Hosomizo) . As to claim 1 , Hosomizo teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that are executable by a computer of an information processing device and compatible with a printer connected with the information processing device, the instructions supporting a general-purpose print program incorporated in advance in an operating system of the information processing device, the instructions being configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to (see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0007, 0027): read, in response to receiving a processing request from the general-purpose print program when the printer is selected, setting data indicating settings for customizing a print setting screen, the general-purpose print program being configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to display the print setting screen on a display of the information processing device (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0033-0036; When the editing application 43 receives a detailed setting instruction from the user in a state where the printer 2 is selected (arrow C), the editing application 43 requests the general-purpose print program 41 to provide detailed setting information on the printer 2 arrow D), When the selected device is the printer 2, the general-purpose print program 41 causes the auxiliary program 42 to operate because the auxiliary program 42 corresponding to the printer 2 is stored in the memory 12, and outputs a request the auxiliary program 42 to provide UI data for detailed setting (arrow E)); generate, based on the settings indicated by the read setting data, display data indicating contents to be displayed on the print setting screen (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0036; The auxiliary program 42 provides the general-purpose print program 41 with UI data for the detailed setting related to printing by the printer 2 in response to the provision request (arrow F). This UI data is data required to create a screen that receives an input related to the detailed setting and is data for requesting an input from the user. UI data is an example of an input request); and send the generated display data to the general-purpose print program, thereby causing the print setting screen to be displayed on the display in accordance with the display data via the general-purpose print program (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0036; The auxiliary program 42 provides the general-purpose print program 41 with UI data for the detailed setting related to printing by the printer 2 in response to the provision request (arrow F). This UI data is data required to create a screen that receives an input related to the detailed setting and is data for requesting an input from the user. UI data is an example of an input request; the editing application 43 causes the UI 20 to display a UI screen for the detailed setting based on the received UI data (arrow H)). As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: include, into the settings indicated by the setting data, one or more print setting items and/or one or more parameters settable for each print setting item; and based on the setting data indicating the settings that include the one or more print setting items and/or the one or more parameters settable for each print setting item, generate the display data to specify, as contents to be displayed on the print setting screen, the one or more print setting items and/or the one or more parameters settable for each print setting item (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0036; The auxiliary program 42 provides the general-purpose print program 41 with UI data for the detailed setting related to printing by the printer 2 in response to the provision request (arrow F). This UI data is data required to create a screen that receives an input related to the detailed setting and is data for requesting an input from the user. UI data is an example of an input request; the editing application 43 causes the UI 20 to display a UI screen for the detailed setting based on the received UI data (arrow H)). As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include a particular parameter set for a particular item of the one or more print setting items, generate the display data in which the particular parameter is set not to be changed to another parameter for the particular item of the one or more print setting items that are to be displayed on the print setting screen (see ¶ 0043; The general-purpose print program 41 passes the generated intermediate image data and print settings to the auxiliary program 42 (arrow M). The print settings passed to the auxiliary program in arrow M may be all the information of the print settings received by the general-purpose print program 41 in arrow K, or may be only the information not supported by the general-purpose print program 41). As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include a setting to preclude a specific parameter from being set for a specific item among a plurality of parameters settable for the specific item of the one or more print setting items, generate the display data to preclude the specific parameter from being set for the specific item of the one or more print setting items that are to be displayed on the print setting screen (see ¶ 0043; The general-purpose print program 41 passes the generated intermediate image data and print settings to the auxiliary program 42 (arrow M). The print settings passed to the auxiliary program in arrow M may be all the information of the print settings received by the general-purpose print program 41 in arrow K, or may be only the information not supported by the general-purpose print program 41). As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include a setting to incorporate an additional item into the one or more print setting items, generate the display data to render the additional item configurable in the one or more print setting items that are to be displayed on the print setting screen (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0036; The auxiliary program 42 provides the general-purpose print program 41 with UI data for the detailed setting related to printing by the printer 2 in response to the provision request (arrow F). This UI data is data required to create a screen that receives an input related to the detailed setting and is data for requesting an input from the user. UI data is an example of an input request; the editing application 43 causes the UI 20 to display a UI screen for the detailed setting based on the received UI data (arrow H)). As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include a setting to incorporate an additional parameter as a parameter settable for a specified item of the one or more print setting items, generate the display data to render the additional parameter settable for the specified item of the one or more print setting items that are to be displayed on the print setting screen (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0036; The auxiliary program 42 provides the general-purpose print program 41 with UI data for the detailed setting related to printing by the printer 2 in response to the provision request (arrow F). This UI data is data required to create a screen that receives an input related to the detailed setting and is data for requesting an input from the user. UI data is an example of an input request; the editing application 43 causes the UI 20 to display a UI screen for the detailed setting based on the received UI data (arrow H)). As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include a display order for each of the one or more print setting items and/or a display order for each of the one or more parameters settable for each print setting item, generate the display data to specify the display order for each of the one or more print setting items that are to be displayed on the print setting screen and/or the display order for each of the one or more parameters settable for each print setting item (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0036, 0042; The general- purpose print program 41 may cause the auxiliary program 42 to operate before generating the intermediate image data. The auxiliary program 42 may receive, for example, the information indicating the print settings included in the print instruction from the general-purpose print program 41, edit a part of the information, and return the edited information to the general-purpose print program 41). As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include a notation for each of the one or more print setting items and/or a notation for each of the one or more parameters settable for each print setting item, generate the display data to specify the notation for each of the one or more print setting items that are to be displayed on the print setting screen and/or the notation for each of the one or more parameters settable for each print setting item (see ¶ 0035-0038; detailed setting included in the UI data). As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the print setting screen includes a particular display area configured to display an image, and wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include image data, generate the display data to display an image represented by the image data in the particular display area on the print setting screen (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0036; The auxiliary program 42 provides the general-purpose print program 41 with UI data for the detailed setting related to printing by the printer 2 in response to the provision request (arrow F). This UI data is data required to create a screen that receives an input related to the detailed setting and is data for requesting an input from the user. UI data is an example of an input request; the editing application 43 causes the UI 20 to display a UI screen for the detailed setting based on the received UI data (arrow H)). As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the print setting screen includes a particular display area configured to display an image, and wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: when the settings indicated by the setting data include information indicating that no image is to be displayed in the particular display area on the print setting screen, generate the display data to display no image in the particular display area on the print setting screen (see ¶ 0035-0038; detailed setting included in the UI data). As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: perform a registration process to register the setting data to be read; and read, in said reading, the setting data registered in the registration process (see ¶ 0029; When a printer is newly connected to the PC 1 and an auxiliary program corresponding to the printer is registered in the platform, the OS 21 downloads the auxiliary program from a server storing the auxiliary program and installs the auxiliary program in the PC 1). As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to perform the registration process comprising: displaying, on the display of the information processing device, a customization screen configured to accept the settings for customizing the print setting screen; and registering the setting data based on the settings accepted via the customization screen (see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0029; 0036; The auxiliary program 42 provides the general-purpose print program 41 with UI data for the detailed setting related to printing by the printer 2 in response to the provision request (arrow F). This UI data is data required to create a screen that receives an input related to the detailed setting and is data for requesting an input from the user. UI data is an example of an input request; the editing application 43 causes the UI 20 to display a UI screen for the detailed setting based on the received UI data (arrow H)). As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Hosomizo further teaches: wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to: in response to receiving a processing request from the general-purpose print program when a print instruction to cause the printer to print a target image has been output from an application program incorporated in the information processing device to the general-purpose print program, obtain image data representing the target image from the general-purpose print program, and send a print command to the printer based on the obtained image data (see Fig. 2 and 0040-0044; image data). As to claim 14, claim 14 is directed to an information processing device, configured to perform similar functions as claimed in claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale ( Hosomizo : see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0019-0024). As to claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a method for implementing the features similar to claim 1, therefore, is rejected under similar rationale ( Hosomizo : see ¶ 0009). Conclusion The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action. It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TUYETLIEN T TRAN whose telephone number is (571)270-1033. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Irete (Fred) Ehichioya can be reached on 571-272-4034. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 2 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 3 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 4 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 5 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 6 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 7 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 8 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 9 Art Unit: 2179 Application/Control Number: 18/764,496 Page 10 Art Unit: 2179