DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 07/05/2024. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Claim - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 15-20 recites “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium” are deemed in compliance with the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 101, and are eligible claims.
Terminal Disclaimer
5. Examiner suggests the Assignee must submit the Terminal Disclaimer accordingly, in order to process of the application promptly.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,697 as further detailed in the table below:
Instant Application
United States Patent No. 12,081,697
Claim 1. A method, comprising:
determining whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location;
creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and
blocking the inbound call to the mobile device.
Claim 1, A method, comprising: determining whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location;
wherein when the mobile device is identified as not actively roaming,
creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time,
wherein the call block rule blocks all inbound calls to the mobile device at a protected carrier network.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8. An apparatus, comprising:
a processor configured to
determine whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location;
create a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and
block the inbound call to the mobile device.
Claim 8. An apparatus, comprising:
a processor configured to
determine whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location;
wherein when the mobile device is identified as not actively roaming,
create a call block rule for a predefined period of time,
wherein the call block rule blocks all inbound calls to the mobile device at a protected carrier network.
Claim 15. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor to perform:
determining whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location;
creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and
blocking the inbound call to the mobile device.
Claim 15. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor to perform:
determining whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location;
wherein when the mobile device is identified as not actively roaming,
creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time,
wherein the call block rule blocks all inbound calls to the mobile device at a protected carrier network.
Claims 9, 16
Claims 9, 16
Claims 10, 17
Claims 10, 17
Claims 11, 18
Claims 11, 18
Claims 12, 19
Claims 12, 19
Claims 14, 20
Claims 14, 20
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et all (US 2010/0124916), hereinafter “Kim“, in view of Sharpe (US 2019/0335036), hereinafter “Sharpe“.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method, comprising:
determining whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location (pars [0014-0015] [0050]);
Kim does not explicitly teach creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and blocking the inbound call to the mobile device.
Sharpe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and blocking the inbound call to the mobile device (pars [0004] [0020], and [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Sharpe, in order to provide the systems for controlling inbound and/or outbound calls to prevent the scam calls, spam calls, fraud calls, and/or unwanted calls (as suggested by Sharpe in paragraphs [0002-0003]).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, 20, the combination of Kim and Sharpe teach the method of claims 1, 8, 15, Kim does not clearly teach comprising determining the inbound call intended for the mobile device is assigned an origination telephone number that is subscribed to a protected carrier network.
Sharpe, in the same field of endeavor teaches determining the inbound call intended for the mobile device is assigned an origination telephone number that is subscribed to a protected carrier network (par [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Sharpe, in order to provide the systems for controlling inbound and/or outbound calls to prevent the scam calls, spam calls, fraud calls, and/or unwanted calls (as suggested by Sharpe in paragraphs [0002-0003]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, the combination of Kim and Sharpe teach the method of claims 1, 8, Kim does not clearly teach comprising identifying the inbound call is intended for the mobile device based on a called number included in a call data message received with the inbound call.
Sharpe, in the same field of endeavor teaches comprising identifying the inbound call is intended for the mobile device based on a called number included in a call data message received with the inbound call (pars [0004-0005])
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Sharpe, in order to provide the systems for controlling inbound and/or outbound calls to prevent the scam calls, spam calls, fraud calls, and/or unwanted calls (as suggested by Sharpe in paragraphs [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a processor configured to (Figure 2)
determine whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location (pars [0014-0015] [0050]);
Kim does not explicitly teach create a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and block the inbound call to the mobile device (pars [0004] [0020], and [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Sharpe, in order to provide the systems for controlling inbound and/or outbound calls to prevent the scam calls, spam calls, fraud calls, and/or unwanted calls (as suggested by Sharpe in paragraphs [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor to perform (Figure 2):
determining whether to transmit to a mobile device that an inbound call has an elevated likelihood of being a scam call based on an inbound call origination source location (pars [0014-0015] [0050]);
Kim does not explicitly teach creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and blocking the inbound call to the mobile device.
Sharpe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches creating a call block rule for a predefined period of time; and blocking the inbound call to the mobile device (pars [0004] [0020], and [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Sharpe, in order to provide the systems for controlling inbound and/or outbound calls to prevent the scam calls, spam calls, fraud calls, and/or unwanted calls (as suggested by Sharpe in paragraphs [0002-0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 2-5, 9-12, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 2, 9, 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose determining whether the inbound call originated from a protected carrier network or an out-of-network carrier network comprises determining whether one or more call parameters identify an origination device address registered with the protected carrier network or with the out-of-network carrier network as specified in the claim.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641