DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action regarding application number 18/764,592, filed July 5, 2024, is in response to the applicants arguments and amendments filed December 30, 2025. Claim 3 has been cancelled. New claims 9-21 have been added. Claims 1-2 and 8-21 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
The applicants arguments and amendments to the application have overcome some of the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final action mailed November 4, 2025. Claim 3 has been cancelled and therefore all associated objections and rejections are withdrawn. Applicants amendments to claims 1 and 6-8 have been deemed sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC 101 rejections through the inclusion of “a drivinq control unit configured to implement an autonomous driving for traveling along a predetermined route by controlling a driving force control unit, a braking force control unit, and a steerinq control unit,” therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
However Applicants amendments to claims 1, and 6-8 have been NOT deemed sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC 103 rejections through the inclusion of the language of claim 3, therefore the rejections are maintained with changes to reflect amendments. New rejections have additionally been added for new claims 9-21. Additionally the applicants arguments have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive for the reasons seen below.
On pages 20-21 the applicant argues “That is, Knutson does not teach to correct the first vehicle position by "shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position" in response to the first accuracy being higher than the second accuracy ("responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position"), or vice versa (as recited in claim 1). Instead Knutson discloses to update the corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system for subsequent mappings (paragraph [0052]). Furthermore, because Knutson's satellite corrective mapping corrects for atmospheric delay and signal error, Knutson's correction of a subsequent first vehicle position may yield a corrected subsequent first vehicle position which is not "closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position" in a situation that "the second accuracy is higher than the first accuracy", to the contrary of claim 1. Knutson discloses complicated calculations that may compare a newly calculated position (based on, e.g., a newly found satellite) and the instantaneous differential solution that was previously determined (based on the previously found satellite). Thus, Knutson compares a new value with a previous value, which are the results of the same calculation. That is, Knutson does not teach or suggest to use the "degree of accuracy of the provisional first vehicle position" which is defined in claim 1 as estimated using the map information and the surrounding information (claim 1: "the first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating unit is a provisional first vehicle position"), with the degree of accuracy of the new first vehicle position, which is estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position (claim 1:"the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position"), as recited in claim 1.”, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
MPEP 2142-2144 discusses the requirements for a case of obviousness using 35 USC 103 and provides examples of such cases. MPEP 2111 discusses Broadest Reasonable Interpretation and the interpretation of claims.
As discussed in the rejections below Knutson teaches a relative position estimating unit configured to estimate a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information (Paragraph [0028], “The system 20 associated with the first vehicle 22 includes at least one detector 40 that is configured for detecting a positional relationship between the first vehicle 22 and the second vehicle 32. The detector 40 in some embodiments includes a RADAR detector. In other embodiments the detector 40 includes a LIDAR detector, an ultrasound detector, or a vision based detector.”); and correcting the position of a first vehicle using the positional information of a second vehicle (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle”). This correction is performed by performed by determining a positional variance between the two positions and determining an offset/shift to apply to the position of the first vehicle (Paragraph [0036], “The processor 42 uses any positional variance between the two positions as a basis to determine a positional offset to apply to the determined position of the first vehicle 22.”).
Knutson further teaches that this determination of correction information is performed on the basis of a determined reliability/accuracy of the individual positional information (Paragraph [0034], “Assuming that the information from the second vehicle 32 is determined to be reliable, the processor 42 determines the location of the second vehicle 32 at 54. In other words, the processor 42 makes a determination at 54 whether to accept and rely upon the GNSS location information within the communication received from the second vehicle 32,”). See Figure 2 which further outlines the process of Knutson including determining a first “provisional location” receiving a second “new” position from a positional relationship with a second vehicle.
Therefore the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position in a situation that the second accuracy is higher than the first accuracy. The rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a coordinates obtaining unit”, “a map information obtaining unit”, “a surrounding information obtaining unit”, “a vehicle position estimating unit”, “a relative position estimating unit”, “a correcting unit”, “a vehicle information obtaining unit”, and “a drivinq control unit … a driving force control unit, a braking force control unit, and a steerinq control unit” in claims 1-6.
Regarding “a coordinates obtaining unit”, “a map information obtaining unit”, “a surrounding information obtaining unit”, “a vehicle position estimating unit”, “a relative position estimating unit”, “a correcting unit”, “a vehicle information obtaining unit” and “a drivinq control unit … a driving force control unit, a braking force control unit, and a steerinq control unit” in claims 1-6, the specification recites the structure of a CPU in figures 1 and 4, showing a CPU providing structure to performing the functions of the recited units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaki (US-20190072674) in view of Knutson (US-20220113740).
Regarding claim 1, Otaki teaches a vehicle position estimating device comprising (Abstract, "A host vehicle position estimation device")
a coordinates obtaining unit configured to obtain coordinates of a first vehicle (Paragraph [0025], "The GPS receiver 1 is a measurement unit that measures a position of the host vehicle on the map (for example, latitude and longitude of the vehicle) by receiving signals from equal to or more than three GPS satellites.")
a map information obtaining unit configured to obtain map information including the coordinates obtained by the coordinates obtaining unit (Paragraph [0032], "The map database 4 is a database storing map information. The map database 4 is formed, for example, in a hard disk drive (HDD) mounted on the vehicle. The map information includes information on the position of a road, information on a shape of the road (for example, a curve, types of straight lines, a curvature of the curve or the like), information on the position on an intersection and a branch, and information on the position on a structure such as a building.")
a surrounding information obtaining unit configured to obtain surrounding information indicating a reference around the first vehicle (Paragraph [0029], "The external sensor 2 has a predetermined sensor detection range (detection range). As an example, the camera has a sensor detection range spreading at a predetermined detection angle on both sides in the vehicle width direction with a longitudinal vehicle length direction of the host vehicle as a reference. The camera can detect an article existing within the sensor detection range in front of the host vehicle.")
the reference being detected by a surrounding sensor installed in the first vehicle (Paragraph [0033], "The object is an article of which a position on the map (for example, longitude, latitude, or the like in the world coordinate system) is set in advance. The object is used as a reference for the host vehicle position estimation. The object includes at least one of a structure provided on a road or around the road and a road sign appeared on a road surface. The object may include a part of the structure or a part of the road sign.")
a vehicle position estimating unit configured to estimate a position of the first vehicle position using the map information and the surrounding information (Paragraph [0054], "The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position based on the position of the candidate object on the map recognized by the candidate object recognition unit 13A and the result of detection of the external sensor 2. The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position by collating the recognized position of the candidate object on the map and the position of the object on the map detected by the external sensor 2. A well-known method can be adopted as a method of collating.")
and a driving control unit configured to implement an autonomous driving for traveling along a predetermined route (Paragraph [0043], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 is mounted on the host vehicle and is an electronic control unit for performing the autonomous driving of the host vehicle. The autonomous driving means a vehicle control in which the host vehicle autonomously travels without a driving operation by a driver. The autonomous driving ECU 50 may be configured with a plurality of electronic units. A part of the functions of the autonomous driving ECU 50 may be performed by a server that can communicate with the host vehicle.”)
by controlling a driving force control unit, a braking force control unit and a steering control unit (Paragraph [0045], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 performs the autonomous driving by transmitting a control signal to actuators of the host vehicle (an engine actuator, a steering actuator, a brake actuator, or the like).”)
a first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating (See Figure 4, Step S11, Acquire measurement position using GPS)
a new first vehicle position estimated using surrounding information (Paragraph [0033], "The object is an article of which a position on the map (for example, longitude, latitude, or the like in the world coordinate system) is set in advance. The object is used as a reference for the host vehicle position estimation. The object includes at least one of a structure provided on a road or around the road and a road sign appeared on a road surface. The object may include a part of the structure or a part of the road sign.").
However Otaki does not explicitly teach a relative position estimating unit configured to estimate a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information and a correcting unit configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle obtained from the second vehicle, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy.
Knutson teaches systems and methods to increase a detection accuracy of a position of a vehicle including
a relative position estimating unit configured to estimate a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information (Paragraph [0028], “The system 20 associated with the first vehicle 22 includes at least one detector 40 that is configured for detecting a positional relationship between the first vehicle 22 and the second vehicle 32. The detector 40 in some embodiments includes a RADAR detector. In other embodiments the detector 40 includes a LIDAR detector, an ultrasound detector, or a vision based detector.”)
and a correcting unit configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle”)
and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle obtained from the second vehicle (Paragraph [0012], “determining a location of the second vehicle based on the received communication”)
wherein the first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating unit is a provisional first vehicle position (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112,” here the system is treating the correction information as provisional/temporary)
the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle,” here the system has a provisional first vehicle position, and a new first vehicle position determined using the positional relationship of the first vehicle to the second vehicle)
and the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position (Paragraph [0034], “Assuming that the information from the second vehicle 32 is determined to be reliable, the processor 42 determines the location of the second vehicle 32 at 54. In other words, the processor 42 makes a determination at 54 whether to accept and rely upon the GNSS location information within the communication received from the second vehicle 32,” here the system is only applying the correction information if it is determined that the information is reliable/accurate) (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20.”)
and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20,” here the system is either implementing/shifting the vehicle position or removing the temporary correction based on an accuracy determination).
Otaki and Knutson are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a relative position estimating unit configured to estimate a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information and a correcting unit configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle obtained from the second vehicle, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy of Knutson in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the location accuracy of vehicles by correlating observed positions with satellite signals (Paragraph [0055], “Utilizing a corrective mapping based on information from another vehicle and location information determined from received satellite signals facilitates more accurate subsequent vehicle location determinations for an appropriate amount of time.”)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches the system discussed above in claim 1, however Otaki does not explicitly teach wherein the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position and the second vehicle position if the second accuracy is higher than a predetermined threshold.
Knutson further teaches wherein the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position and the second vehicle position if the second accuracy is higher than a predetermined threshold (Paragraph [0034], “Assuming that the information from the second vehicle 32 is determined to be reliable, the processor 42 determines the location of the second vehicle 32 at 54. In other words, the processor 42 makes a determination at 54 whether to accept and rely upon the GNSS location information within the communication received from the second vehicle 32,” here the system is only applying the correction information if it is determined that the information is reliable/accurate).
Otaki and Knutson are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position and the second vehicle position if the second accuracy is higher than a predetermined threshold of Knutson in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the location accuracy of vehicles by correlating observed positions with satellite signals (Paragraph [0055], “Utilizing a corrective mapping based on information from another vehicle and location information determined from received satellite signals facilitates more accurate subsequent vehicle location determinations for an appropriate amount of time.”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches the system discussed above in claim 1, however Otaki does not explicitly teach a vehicle information obtaining unit configured to obtain a second vehicle information that includes at least one of a vehicle type of the second vehicle and a size of the second vehicle wherein the relative position estimating unit is further configured to: identify the second vehicle among a plurality of vehicles around the first vehicle using the surrounding information and the second vehicle information; and estimate the relative position.
Knutson further teaches a vehicle information obtaining unit configured to obtain a second vehicle information that includes at least one of a vehicle type of the second vehicle and a size of the second vehicle (Paragraph [0032], “At 50, the system 20 receives a communication from the second vehicle 32 in the example of FIG. 1, through the antenna 30, for example. In the illustrated example, the communication from the second vehicle 32 is a V2X basic safety message (BSM). The communication from the second vehicle 32 includes information regarding a GNSS location of the second vehicle 32, a current speed of the second vehicle 32, a size of the second vehicle 32, a shape of the second vehicle 32, and an indication of a quality of the GNSS location information.”)
wherein the relative position estimating unit is further configured to: identify the second vehicle among a plurality of vehicles around the first vehicle using the surrounding information and the second vehicle information (Paragraph [0048], “When there is an available source, such as the second vehicle 32, that meets the criteria of the decision at 86, another decision is made by the processor 42 whether the detector 40 detects an object at the approximate location of the source identified at 86,” here the system is receiving information and identifying a nearby vehicle using the received information to determine a match)
and estimate the relative position (Paragraph [0050], “When there is a sufficient match, the processor 42 calculates an instantaneous differential position based upon the communication received from the second vehicle and the information from the detector 40 at 100. The differential position information determined at 100 indicates whether a correction is needed regarding the location information for the first vehicle 22.”).
Otaki and Knutson are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a vehicle information obtaining unit configured to obtain a second vehicle information that includes at least one of a vehicle type of the second vehicle and a size of the second vehicle wherein the relative position estimating unit is further configured to: identify the second vehicle among a plurality of vehicles around the first vehicle using the surrounding information and the second vehicle information; and estimate the relative position of Knutson in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the location accuracy of vehicles by correlating observed positions with satellite signals (Paragraph [0055], “Utilizing a corrective mapping based on information from another vehicle and location information determined from received satellite signals facilitates more accurate subsequent vehicle location determinations for an appropriate amount of time.”).
Regarding claim 6, Otaki teaches a vehicle position estimating system comprising: a first vehicle (Abstract, "A host vehicle position estimation device")
a second vehicle around the first vehicle (See Figure 7 showing the host vehicle and a plurality of other vehicles)
a coordinates obtaining unit configured to obtain coordinates of the first vehicle (Paragraph [0025], "The GPS receiver 1 is a measurement unit that measures a position of the host vehicle on the map (for example, latitude and longitude of the vehicle) by receiving signals from equal to or more than three GPS satellites.")
a map information obtaining unit configured to obtain map information that includes the coordinates of the first vehicle obtained by the coordinates obtaining unit (Paragraph [0032], "The map database 4 is a database storing map information. The map database 4 is formed, for example, in a hard disk drive (HDD) mounted on the vehicle. The map information includes information on the position of a road, information on a shape of the road (for example, a curve, types of straight lines, a curvature of the curve or the like), information on the position on an intersection and a branch, and information on the position on a structure such as a building.")
a surrounding information obtaining unit configured to obtain surrounding information indicating a reference around the first vehicle (Paragraph [0029], "The external sensor 2 has a predetermined sensor detection range (detection range). As an example, the camera has a sensor detection range spreading at a predetermined detection angle on both sides in the vehicle width direction with a longitudinal vehicle length direction of the host vehicle as a reference. The camera can detect an article existing within the sensor detection range in front of the host vehicle.")
the reference being detected by a surrounding sensor installed in the first vehicle (Paragraph [0033], "The object is an article of which a position on the map (for example, longitude, latitude, or the like in the world coordinate system) is set in advance. The object is used as a reference for the host vehicle position estimation. The object includes at least one of a structure provided on a road or around the road and a road sign appeared on a road surface. The object may include a part of the structure or a part of the road sign.")
a vehicle position estimating unit configured to estimate a position of the first vehicle as a first vehicle position using the coordinates, the map information, and the surrounding information (Paragraph [0054], "The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position based on the position of the candidate object on the map recognized by the candidate object recognition unit 13A and the result of detection of the external sensor 2. The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position by collating the recognized position of the candidate object on the map and the position of the object on the map detected by the external sensor 2. A well-known method can be adopted as a method of collating.")
and a driving control unit configured to implement an autonomous driving for traveling along a predetermined route (Paragraph [0043], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 is mounted on the host vehicle and is an electronic control unit for performing the autonomous driving of the host vehicle. The autonomous driving means a vehicle control in which the host vehicle autonomously travels without a driving operation by a driver. The autonomous driving ECU 50 may be configured with a plurality of electronic units. A part of the functions of the autonomous driving ECU 50 may be performed by a server that can communicate with the host vehicle.”)
by controlling a driving force control unit, a braking force control unit and a steering control unit (Paragraph [0045], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 performs the autonomous driving by transmitting a control signal to actuators of the host vehicle (an engine actuator, a steering actuator, a brake actuator, or the like).”)
a first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating (See Figure 4, Step S11, Acquire measurement position using GPS)
a new first vehicle position estimated using surrounding information (Paragraph [0033], "The object is an article of which a position on the map (for example, longitude, latitude, or the like in the world coordinate system) is set in advance. The object is used as a reference for the host vehicle position estimation. The object includes at least one of a structure provided on a road or around the road and a road sign appeared on a road surface. The object may include a part of the structure or a part of the road sign.").
However Otaki does not explicitly teach a relative position estimating unit configured to estimate a relative position of the second vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information, and a correcting unit configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating unit is a provisional first vehicle position, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy.
Knutson teaches systems and methods to increase a detection accuracy of a position of a vehicle including
a relative position estimating unit configured to estimate a relative position of the second vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information (Paragraph [0028], “The system 20 associated with the first vehicle 22 includes at least one detector 40 that is configured for detecting a positional relationship between the first vehicle 22 and the second vehicle 32. The detector 40 in some embodiments includes a RADAR detector. In other embodiments the detector 40 includes a LIDAR detector, an ultrasound detector, or a vision based detector.”)
and a correcting unit configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle”)
and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle (Paragraph [0012], “determining a location of the second vehicle based on the received communication”)
wherein the first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating unit is a provisional first vehicle position (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112,” here the system is treating the correction information as provisional/temporary)
the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle,” here the system has a provisional first vehicle position, and a new first vehicle position determined using the positional relationship of the first vehicle to the second vehicle)
and the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position (Paragraph [0034], “Assuming that the information from the second vehicle 32 is determined to be reliable, the processor 42 determines the location of the second vehicle 32 at 54. In other words, the processor 42 makes a determination at 54 whether to accept and rely upon the GNSS location information within the communication received from the second vehicle 32,” here the system is only applying the correction information if it is determined that the information is reliable/accurate) (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20.”).
and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20,” here the system is either implementing/shifting the vehicle position or removing the temporary correction based on an accuracy determination).
Otaki and Knutson are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a relative position estimating unit configured to estimate a relative position of the second vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information, and a correcting unit configured to correct the first vehicle position using the relative position and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating unit is a provisional first vehicle position, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correct the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy of Knutson in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the location accuracy of vehicles by correlating observed positions with satellite signals (Paragraph [0055], “Utilizing a corrective mapping based on information from another vehicle and location information determined from received satellite signals facilitates more accurate subsequent vehicle location determinations for an appropriate amount of time.”).
Regarding claim 7, Otaki teaches a method for estimating a vehicle position comprising (Abstract, "A host vehicle position estimation device")
obtaining coordinates of a first vehicle (Paragraph [0025], "The GPS receiver 1 is a measurement unit that measures a position of the host vehicle on the map (for example, latitude and longitude of the vehicle) by receiving signals from equal to or more than three GPS satellites.")
obtaining map information including the coordinates (Paragraph [0032], "The map database 4 is a database storing map information. The map database 4 is formed, for example, in a hard disk drive (HDD) mounted on the vehicle. The map information includes information on the position of a road, information on a shape of the road (for example, a curve, types of straight lines, a curvature of the curve or the like), information on the position on an intersection and a branch, and information on the position on a structure such as a building.")
obtaining surrounding information indicating a reference around the first vehicle (Paragraph [0029], "The external sensor 2 has a predetermined sensor detection range (detection range). As an example, the camera has a sensor detection range spreading at a predetermined detection angle on both sides in the vehicle width direction with a longitudinal vehicle length direction of the host vehicle as a reference. The camera can detect an article existing within the sensor detection range in front of the host vehicle.")
estimating a position of the first vehicle as a first vehicle position using the coordinates, the map information, and the surrounding information (Paragraph [0054], "The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position based on the position of the candidate object on the map recognized by the candidate object recognition unit 13A and the result of detection of the external sensor 2. The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position by collating the recognized position of the candidate object on the map and the position of the object on the map detected by the external sensor 2. A well-known method can be adopted as a method of collating.")
and implementing an autonomous driving for traveling along a predetermined route (Paragraph [0043], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 is mounted on the host vehicle and is an electronic control unit for performing the autonomous driving of the host vehicle. The autonomous driving means a vehicle control in which the host vehicle autonomously travels without a driving operation by a driver. The autonomous driving ECU 50 may be configured with a plurality of electronic units. A part of the functions of the autonomous driving ECU 50 may be performed by a server that can communicate with the host vehicle.”)
by controlling a driving force control unit, a braking force control unit and a steering control unit (Paragraph [0045], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 performs the autonomous driving by transmitting a control signal to actuators of the host vehicle (an engine actuator, a steering actuator, a brake actuator, or the like).”)
a first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating (See Figure 4, Step S11, Acquire measurement position using GPS)
a new first vehicle position estimated using surrounding information (Paragraph [0033], "The object is an article of which a position on the map (for example, longitude, latitude, or the like in the world coordinate system) is set in advance. The object is used as a reference for the host vehicle position estimation. The object includes at least one of a structure provided on a road or around the road and a road sign appeared on a road surface. The object may include a part of the structure or a part of the road sign.").
However Otaki does not explicitly teach estimating a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information, obtaining a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle, and correcting the first vehicle position using the second vehicle position and the relative position, wherein the first vehicle position being estimated using the coordinates, the map information and the surrounding information is a provisional first vehicle position, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the method further comprising correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy.
Knutson teaches systems and methods to increase a detection accuracy of a position of a vehicle including
estimating a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information (Paragraph [0028], “The system 20 associated with the first vehicle 22 includes at least one detector 40 that is configured for detecting a positional relationship between the first vehicle 22 and the second vehicle 32. The detector 40 in some embodiments includes a RADAR detector. In other embodiments the detector 40 includes a LIDAR detector, an ultrasound detector, or a vision based detector.”)
obtaining a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle (Paragraph [0012], “determining a location of the second vehicle based on the received communication”).
and correcting the first vehicle position using the second vehicle position and the relative position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle”)
wherein the first vehicle position being estimated using the coordinates, the map information and the surrounding information is a provisional first vehicle position (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112,” here the system is treating the correction information as provisional/temporary)
the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle,” here the system has a provisional first vehicle position, and a new first vehicle position determined using the positional relationship of the first vehicle to the second vehicle)
and the method further comprising correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position (Paragraph [0034], “Assuming that the information from the second vehicle 32 is determined to be reliable, the processor 42 determines the location of the second vehicle 32 at 54. In other words, the processor 42 makes a determination at 54 whether to accept and rely upon the GNSS location information within the communication received from the second vehicle 32,” here the system is only applying the correction information if it is determined that the information is reliable/accurate) (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20.”)
and correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20,” here the system is either implementing/shifting the vehicle position or removing the temporary correction based on an accuracy determination).
Otaki and Knutson are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include teach estimating a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information, obtaining a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle, and correcting the first vehicle position using the second vehicle position and the relative position wherein the first vehicle position being estimated using the coordinates, the map information and the surrounding information is a provisional first vehicle position, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the method further comprising correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy of Knutson in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the location accuracy of vehicles by correlating observed positions with satellite signals (Paragraph [0055], “Utilizing a corrective mapping based on information from another vehicle and location information determined from received satellite signals facilitates more accurate subsequent vehicle location determinations for an appropriate amount of time.”).
Regarding claim 8, Otaki teaches a vehicle position estimating device comprising (Abstract, "A host vehicle position estimation device")
at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor having a memory storing computer program code, wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor having the memory is configured to cause the vehicle position estimating device to perform (Paragraph [0023], “The host vehicle position estimation ECU 10A is an electronic control unit including a central processing unit (CPU), read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), a controller area network (CAN) including a communication network, and the like.”)
obtaining coordinates of a first vehicle (Paragraph [0025], "The GPS receiver 1 is a measurement unit that measures a position of the host vehicle on the map (for example, latitude and longitude of the vehicle) by receiving signals from equal to or more than three GPS satellites.")
obtaining map information including the coordinates (Paragraph [0032], "The map database 4 is a database storing map information. The map database 4 is formed, for example, in a hard disk drive (HDD) mounted on the vehicle. The map information includes information on the position of a road, information on a shape of the road (for example, a curve, types of straight lines, a curvature of the curve or the like), information on the position on an intersection and a branch, and information on the position on a structure such as a building.")
obtaining surrounding information indicating a reference around the first vehicle
the reference being detected by a surrounding sensor installed in the first vehicle (Paragraph [0029], "The external sensor 2 has a predetermined sensor detection range (detection range). As an example, the camera has a sensor detection range spreading at a predetermined detection angle on both sides in the vehicle width direction with a longitudinal vehicle length direction of the host vehicle as a reference. The camera can detect an article existing within the sensor detection range in front of the host vehicle.")
estimating a position of the first vehicle as a first vehicle position using the map information and the surrounding information (Paragraph [0054], "The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position based on the position of the candidate object on the map recognized by the candidate object recognition unit 13A and the result of detection of the external sensor 2. The host vehicle position estimation unit 14 estimates the host vehicle position by collating the recognized position of the candidate object on the map and the position of the object on the map detected by the external sensor 2. A well-known method can be adopted as a method of collating.")
and implementing an autonomous driving for traveling along a predetermined route (Paragraph [0043], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 is mounted on the host vehicle and is an electronic control unit for performing the autonomous driving of the host vehicle. The autonomous driving means a vehicle control in which the host vehicle autonomously travels without a driving operation by a driver. The autonomous driving ECU 50 may be configured with a plurality of electronic units. A part of the functions of the autonomous driving ECU 50 may be performed by a server that can communicate with the host vehicle.”)
by controlling a driving force control unit, a braking force control unit and a steering control unit (Paragraph [0045], “The autonomous driving ECU 50 performs the autonomous driving by transmitting a control signal to actuators of the host vehicle (an engine actuator, a steering actuator, a brake actuator, or the like).”)
a first vehicle position estimated by the vehicle position estimating (See Figure 4, Step S11, Acquire measurement position using GPS)
a new first vehicle position estimated using surrounding information (Paragraph [0033], "The object is an article of which a position on the map (for example, longitude, latitude, or the like in the world coordinate system) is set in advance. The object is used as a reference for the host vehicle position estimation. The object includes at least one of a structure provided on a road or around the road and a road sign appeared on a road surface. The object may include a part of the structure or a part of the road sign.").
However Otaki does not explicitly teach estimating a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information and correcting the first vehicle position using the relative position and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle obtained from the second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle position which is estimated is a provisional first vehicle position, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle position estimating device to perform correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy.
Knutson teaches systems and methods to increase a detection accuracy of a position of a vehicle including
estimating a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information (Paragraph [0028], “The system 20 associated with the first vehicle 22 includes at least one detector 40 that is configured for detecting a positional relationship between the first vehicle 22 and the second vehicle 32. The detector 40 in some embodiments includes a RADAR detector. In other embodiments the detector 40 includes a LIDAR detector, an ultrasound detector, or a vision based detector.”)
and correcting the first vehicle position using the relative position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle”)
and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle obtained from the second vehicle (Paragraph [0012], “determining a location of the second vehicle based on the received communication”)
wherein the first vehicle position which is estimated is a provisional first vehicle position (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112,” here the system is treating the correction information as provisional/temporary)
the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position (Paragraph [0002], “a corrected location of the first vehicle based on the location of the second vehicle and the positional relationship between the first vehicle and the second vehicle,” here the system has a provisional first vehicle position, and a new first vehicle position determined using the positional relationship of the first vehicle to the second vehicle)
and the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle position estimating device to perform correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position (Paragraph [0034], “Assuming that the information from the second vehicle 32 is determined to be reliable, the processor 42 determines the location of the second vehicle 32 at 54. In other words, the processor 42 makes a determination at 54 whether to accept and rely upon the GNSS location information within the communication received from the second vehicle 32,” here the system is only applying the correction information if it is determined that the information is reliable/accurate) (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20.”)
and correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy (Paragraph [0052], “At 110, the processor 42 determines whether the correction information is reliable by determining whether the calculated vehicle location at 108 is closer to the instantaneous differential solution from the steps 100 and 102. If the newly determined vehicle location is not closer to that instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are removed at 112. If, on the other hand, the newly determined vehicle location is closer to the instantaneous differential solution, then the temporary corrections are considered permanent for a new corrective mapping of the field of view of the satellite receiver of the system 20,” here the system is either implementing/shifting the vehicle position or removing the temporary correction based on an accuracy determination).
Otaki and Knutson are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include estimating a relative position of a second vehicle around the first vehicle with respect to the first vehicle using the surrounding information and correcting the first vehicle position using the relative position and a second vehicle position that is a position of the second vehicle obtained from the second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle position which is estimated is a provisional first vehicle position, the first vehicle position estimated using the second vehicle position and the relative position is a new first vehicle position, and the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle position estimating device to perform correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to a corrected position closer to the provisional first vehicle position than to the new first vehicle position responsive to a first accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position being higher than a second accuracy that is a degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position, and correcting the first vehicle position by shifting the first vehicle position to the corrected position closer to the new first vehicle position than to the provisional first vehicle position responsive to the second accuracy being higher than the first accuracy of Knutson in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the location accuracy of vehicles by correlating observed positions with satellite signals (Paragraph [0055], “Utilizing a corrective mapping based on information from another vehicle and location information determined from received satellite signals facilitates more accurate subsequent vehicle location determinations for an appropriate amount of time.”).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaki (US-20190072674) in view of Knutson (US-20220113740) and further in view of Guo (US-20220026566).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Knutson further teaches wherein the second vehicle are a plurality of second vehicles the relative position estimating unit is further configured to estimate the relative position of each of the plurality of second vehicles with respect to the first vehicle (Paragraph [0032], “At various times different vehicles including a system designed according to an embodiment like that shown in FIG. 1, will be able to provide accurate or reliable vehicle location information that can be useful to facilitate accurately locating other vehicles.”).
However the combination does not explicitly teach the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position using the second vehicle position of each of the plurality of second vehicles and the relative position for each of the plurality of second vehicles.
Guo teaches location data correction service for connected vehicles using a difference between sensor data and location data including
the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position using the second vehicle position of each of the plurality of second vehicles and the relative position for each of the plurality of second vehicles (Paragraph [0100], “Described herein are embodiments of a correction system that provides a location data correction service. In some embodiments, the location data correction service is provided by an operation center of a serverless ad-hoc vehicular network. The operation center is one vehicle or a group of vehicles. In some embodiments, the operation center receives wireless messages from other members of the serverless ad-hoc vehicular network; these wireless messages include a payload that includes the location data for these members as well as, optionally, sensor data that describes the location of objects in their vicinity (e.g., within the roadway environment that includes the endpoints of the serverless ad-hoc vehicular network). The operation center also receives location data and/or sensor data from a legacy vehicle. The serverless ad-hoc vehicular network generally includes sensor rich vehicles, but in some embodiments the legacy vehicle is a member of the serverless ad-hoc vehicular network too,” here the system is using a group of vehicles and receiving messages from the plurality of vehicles including location data and sensor data describing relative positions) (Paragraph [0102], “For example, the correction data describes a variance between the location data recorded by the legacy vehicle and the location data recorded by one or more sensor rich vehicles whose sensors are more accurate than the sensors of the legacy vehicles,” the system uses the received information from the plurality of vehicles in order to determine a correction, while the system here is directed towards a legacy vehicle, the same methodology of using a plurality of vehicles could reasonably be applied to the system of Otaki and Knutson described above).
Otaki, Knutson, and Guo are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the correcting unit is further configured to correct the first vehicle position using the second vehicle position of each of the plurality of second vehicles and the relative position for each of the plurality of second vehicles of Guo in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki and Knutson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the location accuracy of all participating vehicles (Paragraph [0110], “consensus optimization to compute the improved localization for all the participants in the serverless ad-hoc vehicular network, including the operation center itself”).
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaki (US-20190072674) in view of Knutson (US-20220113740) and further in view of Watanabe (US-20200191975).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Otaki further teaches wherein the coordinates of the first vehicle are information obtained by using a Global Navigation Satellite System of the first vehicle (See Figure 4, Step S11, Acquire measurement position using GPS).
However Otaki does not explicitly teach the coordinates of the second vehicle are information obtained by using a Global Navigation Satellite system of the second vehicle,
Knutson further teaches the coordinates of the second vehicle are information obtained by using a Global Navigation Satellite system of the second vehicle (Paragraph [0030], “The second vehicle 32 includes a system 20′ that is functionally the same as the system 20 on the first vehicle 22. In the illustrated example, the system 20′ includes a receiver comprising an antenna 25 configured for receiving a signal from the satellites 26 and 28. Another receiver portion includes an antenna 31 configured for vehicle-to-vehicle communications,” here the second vehicle is functionally the same as the first vehicle and is equipped with an antenna to receive a position signal from satellites).
However while Knutson teaches that satellites may have atmospheric delays that may impact the precision or accuracy of a determined position (Paragraph [0035], “If, for example, the detected satellite signals received by the receiver of the system 20 associated with the vehicle 22 are subject to atmospheric delays, the pseudo ranges determined by the processor 42 based on those signals may not provide a precise or accurate location of the first vehicle 22.”).
The combination does not explicitly teach the degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position is a reception strength of the information obtained by using the Global Navigation Satellite System of the first vehicle and the degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position is a reception strength of the information obtained by using the Global Navigation Satellite System of the second vehicle.
Watanabe teaches methods and apparatus for estimating a position of a movable object based on a received satellite signal including
the degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position is a reception strength of the information obtained by using the Global Navigation Satellite System of the first vehicle (Paragraph [0145], “On the contrary, the higher the strength of the GNSS signal, the lower the possibility of failure in self-position estimation by the GNSS self-position estimation unit 232. Further, the estimation accuracy is improved, and the reliability of the estimation results is also improved. Meanwhile, the lower the strength of the GNSS signal, the higher the possibility of failure in self-position estimation by the GNSS self-position estimation unit 232. Further, the estimation accuracy is reduced, and the reliability of the estimation results is also reduced,” here the system is relating an degree of accuracy of a vehicle self position estimation with a signal strength received from a satellite)
and the degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position is a reception strength of the information obtained by using the Global Navigation Satellite System of the second vehicle (Paragraph [0145], “On the contrary, the higher the strength of the GNSS signal, the lower the possibility of failure in self-position estimation by the GNSS self-position estimation unit 232. Further, the estimation accuracy is improved, and the reliability of the estimation results is also improved. Meanwhile, the lower the strength of the GNSS signal, the higher the possibility of failure in self-position estimation by the GNSS self-position estimation unit 232. Further, the estimation accuracy is reduced, and the reliability of the estimation results is also reduced,” here the system is relating an degree of accuracy of a vehicle self position estimation with a signal strength received from a satellite, here the satellite accuracy determined by both vehicles can be related to signal strength).
Otaki, Knutson, and Watanabe are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the correcting unit is further configured the degree of accuracy of the first vehicle position is a reception strength of the information obtained by using the Global Navigation Satellite System of the first vehicle and the degree of accuracy of the second vehicle position is a reception strength of the information obtained by using the Global Navigation Satellite System of the second vehicle of Watanabe in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki and Knutson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the position estimation accuracy by determining if the strength of a signal indicates positional accuracy (Paragraph [0145], “On the contrary, the higher the strength of the GNSS signal, the lower the possibility of failure in self-position estimation by the GNSS self-position estimation unit 232. Further, the estimation accuracy is improved, and the reliability of the estimation results is also improved. Meanwhile, the lower the strength of the GNSS signal, the higher the possibility of failure in self-position estimation by the GNSS self-position estimation unit 232. Further, the estimation accuracy is reduced, and the reliability of the estimation results is also reduced.”).
Claims 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaki (US-20190072674) in view of Knutson (US-20220113740) and further in view of Hosoya (US-10247830).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the correcting unit is further configured to set the corrected position on a straight line between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position, such that a ratio of a first distance, which is between the corrected position and the provisional first vehicle position, to a second distance, which is between the corrected position and the new first vehicle position, is equal to a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy.
Hosoya teaches a vehicle position determination program capable of determining a position of a vehicle with higher accuracy including
wherein the correcting unit is further configured to set the corrected position on a straight line between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position (Column 24 lines 40-50, “since one or both of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 and the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40 are weighted on the basis of the position measurement error in the GNSS receiver, it is possible to determine the position of the vehicle more accurately,” here the system is determining a first position and a second position and determining a corrected position between the first and second position based on the weights)
such that a ratio of a first distance, which is between the corrected position and the provisional first vehicle position, to a second distance, which is between the corrected position and the new first vehicle position, is equal to a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy (Claim 1, “wherein the control unit weights one or both of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit and the position recognized by the recognition unit to derive the required correction amount on the basis of accuracy according to determination of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit, wherein when the accuracy is lower than a threshold value, the control unit causes a weight of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit to be greater than a weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit, wherein when the accuracy is equal to or higher than a threshold value, the control unit causes a weight of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit to be smaller than a weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit, and wherein the weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit is changed by an amount corresponding to the change in the weight of the position acquired by the coordinate acquisition unit,” here the system is determining a corrected position amount between the first position and the second position as a function of weight of each of the positions, this weight is determined via the determined accuracy of the positions, the system is therefore using a ratio of the weights in order to determine the position correction amount) (Column 23, lines 45-55, “a degree of contribution of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 greater than that of the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40”) (EXAMINERS NOTE: Here while Hosoya is not using the position of a first vehicle and a position relative to a second vehicle, this same methodology of weighting two different position values could reasonably be combined with Knutson which teaches a first vehicle and second vehicle).
Otaki, Knutson, and Hosoya are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the correcting unit is further configured to set the corrected position on a straight line between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position, such that a ratio of a first distance, which is between the corrected position and the provisional first vehicle position, to a second distance, which is between the corrected position and the new first vehicle position, is equal to a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy of Hosoya in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki and Knutson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the position estimation accuracy by adjusting the correction amount according to the accuracy of the data pieces (Column 1, lines 40-50, “The present invention has been made in view of such circumstances, and an object of the present invention is to provide a vehicle position determination device, a vehicle control system, a vehicle position determination method, and a vehicle position determination program capable of determining a position of a vehicle with higher accuracy.”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the correcting unit is further configured to determine a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy, and set the corrected position to a position between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position based on the ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy.
Hosoya teaches a vehicle position determination program capable of determining a position of a vehicle with higher accuracy including
wherein the correcting unit is further configured to determine a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy (Claim , “wherein the control unit weights one or both of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit and the position recognized by the recognition unit to derive the required correction amount on the basis of accuracy according to determination of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit, wherein when the accuracy is lower than a threshold value, the control unit causes a weight of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit to be greater than a weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit, wherein when the accuracy is equal to or higher than a threshold value, the control unit causes a weight of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit to be smaller than a weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit, and wherein the weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit is changed by an amount corresponding to the change in the weight of the position acquired by the coordinate acquisition unit,” here the system is determining a corrected position amount between the first position and the second position as a function of weight of each of the positions, this weight is determined via the determined accuracy of the positions, the system is therefore using a ratio of the weights in order to determine the position correction amount) (Column 23, lines 45-55, “a degree of contribution of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 greater than that of the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40”)
and set the corrected position to a position between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position based on the ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy (Column 24 lines 40-50, “since one or both of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 and the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40 are weighted on the basis of the position measurement error in the GNSS receiver, it is possible to determine the position of the vehicle more accurately,” here the system is determining a first position and a second position and determining a corrected position between the first and second position based on the weights) (Column 23, lines 45-55, “a degree of contribution of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 greater than that of the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40”) (EXAMINERS NOTE: Here while Hosoya is not using the position of a first vehicle and a position relative to a second vehicle, this same methodology of weighting two different position values could reasonably be combined with Knutson which teaches a first vehicle and second vehicle).
Otaki, Knutson, and Hosoya are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the correcting unit is further configured to determine a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy, and set the corrected position to a position between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position based on the ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy of Hosoya in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki and Knutson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the position estimation accuracy by adjusting the correction amount according to the accuracy of the data pieces (Column 1, lines 40-50, “The present invention has been made in view of such circumstances, and an object of the present invention is to provide a vehicle position determination device, a vehicle control system, a vehicle position determination method, and a vehicle position determination program capable of determining a position of a vehicle with higher accuracy.”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Otaki and Knutson teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the correcting unit is further configured to: determine a ratio of a first distance, which is between the corrected position and the provisional first vehicle position, to a second distance, which is between the corrected position and the new first vehicle position, determine a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy, and set the corrected position to a position between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position based on the ratio of a first distance to the second distance and the ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy.
Hosoya teaches a vehicle position determination program capable of determining a position of a vehicle with higher accuracy including
wherein the correcting unit is further configured to: determine a ratio of a first distance, which is between the corrected position and the provisional first vehicle position, to a second distance, which is between the corrected position and the new first vehicle position, determine a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy (Claim , “wherein the control unit weights one or both of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit and the position recognized by the recognition unit to derive the required correction amount on the basis of accuracy according to determination of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit, wherein when the accuracy is lower than a threshold value, the control unit causes a weight of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit to be greater than a weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit, wherein when the accuracy is equal to or higher than a threshold value, the control unit causes a weight of the position acquired by the coordinates acquisition unit to be smaller than a weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit, and wherein the weight of the position recognized by the recognition unit is changed by an amount corresponding to the change in the weight of the position acquired by the coordinate acquisition unit,” here the system is determining a corrected position amount between the first position and the second position as a function of weight of each of the positions, this weight is determined via the determined accuracy of the positions, the system is therefore using a ratio of the weights in order to determine the position correction amount) (Column 23, lines 45-55, “a degree of contribution of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 greater than that of the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40”)
and set the corrected position to a position between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position based on the ratio of a first distance to the second distance and the ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy (Column 24 lines 40-50, “since one or both of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 and the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40 are weighted on the basis of the position measurement error in the GNSS receiver, it is possible to determine the position of the vehicle more accurately,” here the system is determining a first position and a second position and determining a corrected position between the first and second position based on the weights) (Column 23, lines 45-55, “a degree of contribution of the position of the host vehicle M determined by the navigation device 50 greater than that of the position of the host vehicle M determined from the captured image of the camera 40”) (EXAMINERS NOTE: Here while Hosoya is not using the position of a first vehicle and a position relative to a second vehicle, this same methodology of weighting two different position values could reasonably be combined with Knutson which teaches a first vehicle and second vehicle).
Otaki, Knutson, and Hosoya are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for determining the positions of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the correcting unit is further configured to: determine a ratio of a first distance, which is between the corrected position and the provisional first vehicle position, to a second distance, which is between the corrected position and the new first vehicle position, determine a ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy, and set the corrected position to a position between the provisional first vehicle position and the new first vehicle position based on the ratio of a first distance to the second distance and the ratio of the first accuracy to the second accuracy of Hosoya in the system for determining a position of a vehicle of Otaki and Knutson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the position estimation accuracy by adjusting the correction amount according to the accuracy of the data pieces (Column 1, lines 40-50, “The present invention has been made in view of such circumstances, and an object of the present invention is to provide a vehicle position determination device, a vehicle control system, a vehicle position determination method, and a vehicle position determination program capable of determining a position of a vehicle with higher accuracy.”).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 10, and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 11 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 12 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 10 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 11 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 12 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 10 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 11 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 12 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tezuka (US-20180093667) teaches a vehicle position detecting apparatus including detecting a position of a first vehicle and a relative position of a second vehicle. You (US-20150378015) teaches a self-localization system of a vehicle which uses detected landmark information matched with known position data to more accurately detect a position of a vehicle. Breed (US-20190271550) teaches systems for enabling access to the database by people and other vehicles to enable use of determined position of identified landmarks, data about roads on which the mapping vehicles were driven in the determination of vehicle positions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Examiner, Art Unit 3662