Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claim 1, in the reply filed on August 19, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, “Alkaline” should be rewritten in lower case, i.e., “alkaline” and “The” (4 occurrences) in lines 6, 8, 10 and 11 should be rewritten in lower cases, i.e., “the,” respectively.
It is further suggested that:
a) lines 6-7 be replaced with “wherein the alkaline salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium carbonate, potassium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, potassium bicarbonate, and mixtures thereof;”
b) lines 8-9 be replaced with “wherein the pH buffer regulator is selected from the group consisting of citric acid, tartaric acid, sodium citrate, and mixtures thereof;”
c) line 10 be replaced with “wherein the filler is selected from the group consisting of magnesium sulfate, sodium sulfate, urea, and mixtures thereof;”
d) line 11 be replaced in part with “and wherein the cleaning block is a solid block . . .”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the "cleaning block” is missing a transitional phrase “comprising”, “consisting essentially of” or “consisting of” to define the scope of the claim with respect to what unrecited additional components, if any, are excluded from the scope of the claim. See MPEP 2111.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caparrόs Casco (US 2018/0105766), as evidenced by Maka et al. (US 2017/0360672), hereinafter “Maka,” in view of Gorlin (US Patent No. 6,605,583), and further in view of Ehrlich (US Patent No. 4,365,853).
Regarding claim 1, Caparrόs Casco teaches a detergent composition in the form of an effervescent tablet having a high dissolution rate and a good stability (see abstract) for cleaning hard surfaces or washing and softening clothes (see [0119]) and which generates a large amount of foam (see [0162]), the detergent tablet comprising a) an alkylsulfate-type anionic surfactant having a linear C8-18 alkyl chain in the form of sodium salt, b) an effervescent system formed by a water-soluble organic acid and an inorganic salt selected from the group formed by an alkaline carbonate, an alkaline bicarbonate, and mixtures thereof, c) a disintegrant system comprising a combination of at least two disintegrating agents selected from the group formed by starch, pregelatinized starch, sodium starch glycolate, and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, and d) urea (see [0024]-[0028]), wherein the anionic surfactant is usually comprised between 2% and 20% by weight with respect to the total weight of components a) to d) (see [0037]), wherein the water-soluble organic acid content is generally comprised between 10% and 45% by weight with respect to the total weight of components a) to d) (see [0042]), wherein the inorganic salt content is usually comprised between 15% and 45% by weight with respect to the total weight of components a) to d) (see [0045]), and wherein the urea content is generally comprised between 5% and 25% by weight with respect to the total weight of components a) to d) (see [0055]). The disintegrating agent content is usually comprised between 5% and 25% by weight with respect to the total weight of components a) to d) (see [0051]), and when using a combination of starch and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, a starch:sodium carboxymethyl cellulose weight ratio comprised between 10:1 and 1:10 (see [0052]). In a particularly preferred embodiment, the composition comprises the sodium salt of an alkylsulfate having a linear C12 alkyl chain, i.e., sodium lauryl sulfate, the effervescent system is formed by anhydrous citric acid and a mixture of sodium carbonate and sodium bicarbonate, and the disintegrating agent is a combination of starch and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose; and more preferably, the anionic surfactant content is comprised between 4% and 10% by weight with respect to the total weight of components a) to d) (see [0053]). The composition can include additional components in an amount between 1% by weight and 50% by weight with respect to the total weight of the composition (see [0060]), for example surfactants like acylglutamates (see [0064]). The components are gently mixed in a mixer and compacted in a tablet (see [0101]-[0109]), hence, the tablet has a uniform distribution of the components. Caparrόs Casco, however, fails to specifically disclose sodium lauroyl glutamate as the specific acylglutamate, the tablet or block comprising sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium carbonate, citric acid, sodium lauroyl glutamate, sodium carboxymethylcellulose and urea in amounts as those recited, the incorporation of 1-2.5 parts preservative, the density and compressive strength of the tablet.
As evidenced by Maka, acylglutamates include sodium lauroyl glutamate (see [0018]).
Gorlin, an analogous art, teaches cleaning compositions in the form of a tablet for use in cleaning hard surfaces (see col. 1, lines 6-12), wherein the composition can contain other components to provide additional effect, for example, preservatives in amounts up to 2% by weight (see col. 5, line 63 to col. 6, line 4).
Ehrlich, an analogous art in the washing of laundry (see col. 3, lines 11-15) teaches that normal tablet densities are from 0.8 to 2 g/ml, preferably 1 to 1.5 g/ml (see col. 9, lines 56-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect the acylglutamate of Caparrόs Casco to include sodium lauroyl glutamate because, as evidenced by Maka in para [0018], acylglutamates include sodium lauroyl glutamate.
With respect to the proportions of the sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium carbonate, citric acid, sodium lauroyl glutamate, sodium carboxymethylcellulose and urea, considering that Caparrόs Casco teaches a tablet comprising between 4% and 10% by weight of sodium lauryl sulfate, between 15% and 45% by weight inorganic salt like sodium carbonate, between 10% and 45% by weight organic acid like citric acid, between 1% by weight and 50% by weight of other surfactants like sodium lauroyl glutamate, between 5% and 25% by weight of urea, between 5% and 25% by weight starch:sodium carboxymethyl cellulose in 10:1 weight ratio, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g. 5-8 wt% (or parts by wt) sodium lauryl sulfate, 15-25 wt% sodium carbonate, 15-20 wt% citric acid, 28-30 wt% sodium lauroyl glutamate, 20-25 wt% urea, and 0.5 wt% sodium carboxymethyl cellulose) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a preservative in the tablet of Caparrόs Casco because this will provide additional effect as taught by Gorlin. With respect to the specific amount of the preservative, considering that Gorlin teaches up to 2% by weight of preservative, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g., 1-2 wt% or 1-2 parts by wt) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect the tablet of Caparrόs Casco, as evidenced by Maka in view of Gorlin to have a density within those recited because it is known from Ehrlich that normal tablet densities are from 1 to 1.5 g/ml, and to reasonably expect the tablet to have a compressive strength within those recited because similar tablet components with overlapping proportions and overlapping densities have been utilized, hence, would behave similarly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761