DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al (US 2022/0046507, hereinafter Krishnan) and in view of Filin et al (US 2024/0163741, hereinafter Filin).
Regarding claim 1, Krishnan discloses an information configuration method, comprising: sending a first message to a first access network device, wherein the first message comprises information of handing over a terminal device to the first beam (original base station sends mobility change request to another base station with updated parameters associated with conditional handover, Para [0006], determine thresholds for initiating handover, Para [0036], updating parameters to provide load balancing between one or more beams, Para [0005], updates to a handover trigger that corresponds to a threshold, updates are at a beam level, Para [0037], updates can be provided as a difference (delta) value, Para [0037], mobility change request indicates one or more beams, Para [0038]); and receiving a second message from the first access network device, wherein the second message indicates whether the first access network device succeeds in configuration (the other base station may transmit a mobility change acknowledge message to the original base station, when the updated parameters are compatible, Para [0093], or the parameters changes can be unsuitable and the base station will send a mobility change failure indication, Para [0085]); but does not disclose the first message comprises probability information of handing over a terminal device to a first beam. Filin discloses a mobility change request message including assistance information, Para [0226], where the assistance information includes success probability which includes success probability of a handover to a beam that is emitted from the RAN node, Para [0228] (and [0174] in foreign document). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Filin in the system of Krishnan in order to provide RAN and UE with transmission/reception of various types of information between AI capable RAN and another apparatus.
Regarding claim 9, Krishnan discloses a second access network device (base station, Fig. 8), comprising: at least one processor and one or more memories (processor and memory, Fig. 8) including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second access network device to: send a first message to a first access network device, wherein the first message information of handing over a terminal device to the first beam (original base station sends mobility change request to another base station with updated parameters associated with conditional handover, Para [0006], determine thresholds for initiating handover, Para [0036], updating parameters to provide load balancing between one or more beams, Para [0005], updates to a handover trigger that corresponds to a threshold, updates are at a beam level, Para [0037], updates can be provided as a difference (delta) value, Para [0037], mobility change request indicates one or more beams, Para [0038]); and receive a second message from the first access network device, wherein the second message indicates whether the first access network device succeeds in configuration (the other base station may transmit a mobility change acknowledge message to the original base station, when the updated parameters are compatible, Para [0093], or the parameters changes can be unsuitable and the base station will send a mobility change failure indication, Para [0085]); but does not disclose the first message comprises probability information of handing over a terminal device to a first beam. Filin discloses a mobility change request message including assistance information, Para [0226], where the assistance information includes success probability which includes success probability of a handover to a beam that is emitted from the RAN node, Para [0228] (and [0174] in foreign document). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Filin in the system of Krishnan in order to provide RAN and UE with transmission/reception of various types of information between AI capable RAN and another apparatus.
Regarding claim 15, Krishnan discloses a first access network device (base station, Fig. 8), comprising: at least one processor and one or more memories (processor and memory, Fig. 8) including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first access network device to: send a third message to a second access network device, wherein the third message comprises information of handing over a terminal device to a first beam (original base station sends mobility change request to another base station with updated parameters associated with conditional handover, Para [0006], determine thresholds for initiating handover, Para [0036], updating parameters to provide load balancing between one or more beams, Para [0005], updates to a handover trigger that corresponds to a threshold, updates are at a beam level, Para [0037], updates can be provided as a difference (delta) value, Para [0037], mobility change request indicates one or more beams, Para [0038]); and receive a fourth message from the second access network device, wherein the fourth message indicates whether the second access network device succeeds in configuration (the other base station may transmit a mobility change acknowledge message to the original base station, when the updated parameters are compatible, Para [0093], or the parameters changes can be unsuitable and the base station will send a mobility change failure indication, Para [0085]); but does not disclose the first message comprises probability information of handing over a terminal device to a first beam. Filin discloses a mobility change request message including assistance information, Para [0226], where the assistance information includes success probability which includes success probability of a handover to a beam that is emitted from the RAN node, Para [0228] (and [0174] in foreign document). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Filin in the system of Krishnan in order to provide RAN and UE with transmission/reception of various types of information between AI capable RAN and another apparatus.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 21, Krishnan discloses the method/device according to claim 1/9/15, wherein the first message includes handover trigger configuration information of the first beam, the handover trigger configuration information of the first beam includes beam indication information of the first beam and/or proposed mobility parameters information of the first beam, and the proposed mobility parameters information of the first beam includes a proposed handover trigger threshold change value of the first beam and/or a proposed handover trigger threshold of the first beam (the mobility change request indicates the one or more beams of the first and second base station, Para [0084], load balancing parameters are determined at the beam level, Para [0088], load balancing adjustment applied to one or more beams, Para [0104], updated parameters are provided as actual values or provided as difference values, Para [0037]).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 22, Krishnan discloses the method/device according to claim 1/9/15, wherein the first message further includes handover trigger configuration information of a second beam of a second access network device, the handover trigger configuration information of the second beam includes beam indication information of the second beam and/or mobility parameters information of the second beam, and the mobility parameters information of the second beam includes a handover trigger threshold change value of the second beam and/or a handover trigger threshold of the second beam. (the mobility change request indicates the one or more beams of the first and second base station, Para [0084], load balancing parameters are determined at the beam level, Para [0088], load balancing adjustment applied to one or more beams, Para [0104], updated parameters are provided as actual values or provided as difference values, Para [0037]).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 23, Krishnan discloses the method/device according to claim 1/9/15, wherein the first message includes cause information of sending the first message, and the cause information of the first message indicates a handover trigger configuration cause of the first beam and/or a handover trigger configuration cause of a second beam (source cell informs the target cell about new mobility setting and provides a cause for the change, such as a load balancing request, Para [0037]).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 24, Krishnan discloses the method/device according to claim 1/9/15, wherein the second message comprises one or more of: beam indication information of the first beam, mobility change acknowledge criticality diagnostics information of the first beam, beam indication information of the second beam, and mobility change acknowledge criticality diagnostics information of the second beam, the mobility change acknowledge criticality diagnostics information of the first beam indicates that partial information of the first beam in the first message is incorrect, and the mobility change acknowledge criticality diagnostics information of the second beam indicates that partial information of the second beam in the first message is incorrect (the base station can transmit a mobility change acknowledge to the original base station, Para [0093], obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art it can include beam information).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 25, Krishnan discloses the method/device according to claim 1/9/15, wherein the second message comprises one or more of: beam indication information of the first beam, mobility change failure cause information of the first beam, mobility change failure criticality diagnostics information of the first beam, mobility parameters modification range information of the first beam, beam indication information of the second beam, and mobility change failure criticality diagnostics information of the second beam, the mobility change failure cause information of the first beam indicates a reason why the first access network device sends the second message for the first beam, and the second message indicates the first access network device fails in configuration, and the mobility parameters modification range information of the first beam indicates an allowed modification range of a handover trigger threshold change value of the first beam (the base station can transmit a mobility change failure to the original base station, with indications providing a upper and lower limit for handover trigger parameters, information provided at the beam level, Para [0100]).
Regarding claim 7, Krishnan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message includes conditional handover request information of the first beam, the conditional handover request information of the first beam includes beam indication information of the first beam and/or estimated arrival probability information of the first beam(the mobility change request indicates the one or more beams of the first and second base station, Para [0084], load balancing parameters are determined at the beam level, Para [0088], load balancing adjustment applied to one or more beams, Para [0104], updated parameters are provided as actual values or provided as difference values, Para [0037]), and the estimated arrival probability information of the first beam indicates the probability of handing over the terminal device to the first beam.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan, in view of Filin and in view of Hong (US 2024/0205783, hereinafter Hong) and in view of Balan et al (US 2022/0279382, hereinafter Balan).
Regarding claim 8, Krishnan discloses the method according to claim 1, but not wherein the second message includes information about a maximum number of conditional handover preparations of the first beam, and the information about the maximum number of conditional handover preparations of the first beam indicates a maximum number of candidate first beams for conditional handover. Hong discloses the conditional handover information acknowledgement IE may include a maximum number of conditional handover preparations, Para [0154]. Balan discloses the mobility change acknowledgement can include acceptance of deactivation of at least one beam of respective candidate beams, Para [0019]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hong and Balan in the system of Krishnan in view of Filin in order to more effectively control the mobility of a UE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Krishnan does not disclose a second access network device sending a first message to first access network device, having probability information of handing over a terminal device to a first beam. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461