DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9, 11, 13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siddarahally Vajrachari (EP – 4382312 A1).
As per claim 1, Siddarahally discloses Brake Cooling Assembly comprising:
a brake system (Fig: 2-3) configured to be positioned within a wheel cavity (22, Fig: 2) of a wheel of an aircraft (10, Fig: 2-3), wherein the brake system is configured to move between a first position relative to a fuselage of the aircraft to a second position relative to the fuselage (when wheel 10 is coupled to a landing gear of an aircraft, conduit 72 may be configured to produce the flow F during the raising or lowering of the landing gear, [0049], Fig: 2-3); and
a conduit (72, Fig: 2-3) configured to receive a cooled air flow produced by an air conditioning pack of the aircraft (operation and distribution of cooled air, [0030] – [0032], Fig: 2-3),
wherein the conduit (72) is configured to discharge the cooled air flow to a volume defined by the brake system (Second stream sensor 94, first stream sensor 96, and/or mixed stream sensor 98, when configured to provide a signal indicative of a flow rate, may be any device configured to provide a flow signal indicative of a flow rate of a gas stream. For example, second stream sensor 94, first stream sensor 96, and/or mixed stream sensor 98 may be configured to provide an indication of a flow rate using. For example, a venturi meter, an orifice plate, a Dall tube, a pitot tube, a linear resistance meter, an optical flowmeter, a sonar flowmeter, a magnetic flowmeter, a turbine flowmeter, a gear flowmeter, an obstruction type flowmeter, a paddle wheel flowmeter, and/or other devices configured to measure a flow rate. Second stream sensor 94, first stream sensor 96, and/or mixed stream sensor 98 may be configured to provide a flow signal indicative of the flow rate (e.g., an analog electrical signal or a digital signal), [0073], Fig: 2-3) when the brake system is in the first position and when the brake system is in the second position (when wheel 10 is coupled to a landing gear of an aircraft, conduit 72 may be configured to produce the flow F during the raising or lowering of the landing gear, [0049], Fig: 2-3).
As per claim 2, Siddarahally discloses wherein the conduit (72, Fig: 2-3) is fluidically coupled with at least one of a compartment of the aircraft (As per Fig: 3, air conditioning system 86 is fluidically connected to at least one compartment of the aircraft, Fig: 2-3), a mixing manifold of the aircraft (74, mixing manifold , Fig: 3), an air distribution system of the aircraft (84, 86, air distribution system, Fig: 3), an air return system of the aircraft, or a pack discharge of the air conditioning pack ([0030] – [0032], Fig: 2-3).
As per claim 3, Siddarahally discloses a valve (90, Fig: 3) configured to control a flow rate of the cooled air flow discharged by the conduit ([0032], Fig: 3); and
control circuitry configured to control the valve (The technique includes adjusting, using control circuitry 68, a flow rate of a second gas stream G2 based on the pressure signal indicative of first gas stream G1 (608). In examples, the technique includes operating, using control circuitry 68, control valve 90 to adjust the flow rate of second gas stream G2, [0081], Fig: 3).
As per claim 4, Siddarahally discloses a user input device configured to receive an input from a user, wherein the user input device is configured to provide a signal to the control circuitry based on the input, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the valve based on the signal ( the cooling system is configured such that control circuitry and/or an operator within a vehicle (e.g., a pilot within an aircraft) may actuate the cooling system to initiate and/or substantially cease the flow of cooling fluid. Hence, the cooling system may be configured to allow an onboard control system and/or operator to initiate cooling of the brake assembly in a manner minimizing or eliminating the need for a ground crew to set-up and operate a separate cooling system., [0012], Fig: 2-3).
As per claim 9, Siddarahally discloses a pressure seal separating the inlet portion and the outlet portion (In examples, second system 86 includes an ECS compressor 124 configured to receive and compress at least some portion of the gas flow FO entering second system 86 via inlet valve 120, and Primary heat exchanger 126 may be configured to receive gas flow FO from inlet valve 120 and provide a gas flow FO1 to compressor 124. Compressor 124 may be configured to compress (e.g., pressurize) gas flow FO and generate a compressed gas flow F02, that is seal separating the inlet portion and the outlet portion, [0063], Fig: 5),
wherein the inlet portion is configured to position within a pressurized space of the aircraft (As per Fig: 5, system 84 and 86 in pressurized and the outlet portion is configured to position within an unpressurized space (out let 72 is in an unpressurized space, Fig: 2),
wherein the unpressurized space is at least one of a space defined by the aircraft or a space surrounding the aircraft (Fig: 2), and
wherein the pressure seal is configured to limit a flow of fluid from the pressurized space to the unpressurized space (air inlet 128 may be scoop or ram-air inlet configured to generate air flow FR during motion of a vehicle such as an aircraft which includes air inlet 128. Primary heat exchanger 126 may be configured to receive gas flow FO from inlet valve 120 and provide a gas flow FO1 to compressor 124. Compressor 124 may be configured to compress (e.g., pressurize) gas flow FO and generate a compressed gas flow F02. , [0063], .
As per claim 11, Siddarahally discloses wherein the volume is at least partially bounded by at least one of a torque tube (50, Fig: 2) of the brake system or one or more discs of the brake system (Fig: 2).
As per claim 13, Siddarahally discloses wherein the conduit is configured to discharge the cooled air flow into the volume in a direction from an inboard side of the brake system (F, Fig: 2) to an outboard side of the brake system when the brake system is positioned within the wheel cavity (via hole in torque tube 50, Fig: 2).
As per claim 16, Siddarahally discloses Brake Cooling Assembly comprising:
a brake system (Fig: 2-3) configured to be positioned within a wheel cavity (22, Fig: 2-3) of a wheel (10, Fig: 2-3) of an aircraft;
a conduit (72, Fig: 2-3) configured to receive a cooled air flow produced by an air conditioning pack of the aircraft (Fig: 2-3),
wherein the conduit (72) is fluidically coupled with at least one of a compartment of the aircraft, a mixing manifold of the aircraft (74, fig: 3), an air distribution system of the aircraft (84, 86, Fig: 3), an air return system of the aircraft, or a pack discharge of the air conditioning pack (As per Fig: 3, air conditioning system 86 is fluidically connected to at least one compartment of the aircraft),
wherein the conduit is configured to discharge the cooled air flow to a volume defined by the brake system ([0049], Fig: 2-3);
a valve (90, Fig: 3) configured to control a flow rate of the cooled air flow provided by the conduit ([0032], Fig: 3); and
control circuitry configured to control the valve (The technique includes adjusting, using control circuitry 68, a flow rate of a second gas stream G2 based on the pressure signal indicative of first gas stream G1 (608). In examples, the technique includes operating, using control circuitry 68, control valve 90 to adjust the flow rate of second gas stream G2, [0081], Fig: 3).
As per claim 17, Siddarahally discloses wherein the brake system comprises an actuator (64, Fig: 2) cover and an actuator configured to compress a disc stack (52, Fig: 2) of the brake system to limit movement of the wheel (Fig: 2),
wherein the actuator cover (71, Fig: 2) is mechanically engaged with the actuator (Fig: 2),
wherein a body of the conduit (72, Fig: 2) defines an inlet portion configured to receive the cooled air flow (F, Fig: 2) and defines an outlet portion mechanically engaged to the actuator cover (via hole on torque tube 50, Fig: 2), and
wherein the conduit (72, fig: 2) is configured to discharge the cooled air flow through a passage defined by the actuator cover (Fig: 2) in a direction from an inboard side of the brake system to an outboard side brake system when the brake system is positioned within the wheel cavity (Fig: 2).
As per claim 18, Siddarahally discloses the air conditioning pack (86, Fig: 3), wherein the air conditioning pack is configured to cool an air flow to produce the cooled air flow, wherein the air conditioning pack is configured to cool the air flow using a compressor to compress the air flow and a turbine to expand the air flow (second system 86 includes an ECS compressor 124 configured to receive and compress at least some portion of the gas flow FO entering second system 86 via inlet valve 120. …..Compressor 124 may be configured to compress (e.g., pressurize) gas flow FO and generate a compressed gas flow F02, [0063], fig: 3).
Method claim 19 disclose all limitations recited in claims 1 and 16 and therefore rejects under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, Siddarahally discloses controlling, by control circuitry, a valve (90, Fig: 3) configured to control a flow rate of the cooled air flow discharged by the conduit (The technique includes adjusting, using control circuitry 68, a flow rate of a second gas stream G2 based on the pressure signal indicative of first gas stream G1 (608). In examples, the technique includes operating, using control circuitry 68, control valve 90 to adjust the flow rate of second gas stream G2, [0081], Fig: 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddarahally Vajrachari (EP – 4382312 A1).
As per claim 5, Siddarahally discloses wherein the brake system is configured to extend away from the fuselage in the first position and configured to position within a bay defined by the fuselage in the second position (when wheel 10 is coupled to a landing gear of an aircraft, conduit 72 may be configured to produce the flow F during the raising or lowering of the landing gear, [0049], Fig: 2-3),
wherein a body of the conduit (72, Fig: 2) defines an inlet portion defining an inlet configured to receive the cooled air flow and defines an outlet portion defining an outlet configured to discharge the cooled air flow to the volume (The technique includes adjusting, using control circuitry 68, a flow rate of a second gas stream G2 based on the pressure signal indicative of first gas stream G1 (608). In examples, the technique includes operating, using control circuitry 68, control valve 90 to adjust the flow rate of second gas stream G2, [0081], Fig: 3).
Siddarahally discloses all the claimed limitations, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the outlet portion is configured to mechanically engage the brake system when the brake system is in the first position and in the second position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the outlet portion is configured to mechanically engage the brake system when the brake system is in the first position and in the second position, since it was known in the art that to proper function of the brake assembly in the aircraft art that require the outlet portion is configured to mechanically engage the brake system when the brake system is in the first position and in the second position.
As per claim 10, Siddarahally discloses conduit 72 is connected to strut of the landing gear (Fig: 2) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the conduit is configured to mechanically connect to a strut of a landing gear of the aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the conduit is configured to mechanically connect to a strut of a landing gear of the aircraft, since it was known in the art that to proper function of the brake assembly in the aircraft art that require the outlet portion is configured to mechanically engage the brake system when the brake system is in the first position and in the second position.
As per claim 12, Siddarahally discloses wherein the conduit is configured to establish a first configuration when the brake system is in the first position and establish a second configuration when the brake system is in the second position (when wheel 10 is coupled to a landing gear of an aircraft, conduit 72 may be configured to produce the flow F during the raising or lowering of the landing gear, [0049], Fig: 2-3).
Siddarahally discloses all the claimed limitations, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the conduit is configured to at least one of flex or bend when the conduit transitions between the first configuration and the second configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the conduit is configured to at least one of flex or bend when the conduit transitions between the first configuration and the second configuration, since it was known in the art that to proper function of the brake assembly in the aircraft art that require the outlet portion is configured to mechanically engage the brake system when the brake system is in the first position and in the second position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art fails to disclose wherein the brake system comprises an actuator cover and an actuator, wherein the outlet portion is configured to mechanically engage the actuator cover, and wherein the actuator cover is mechanically engaged with the actuator, the actuator being configured to compress a disc stack of the brake system to limit movement of the wheel (Claim 6), and , wherein the air conditioning pack is configured to cool the air flow using a compressor to compress the air flow and a turbine to expand the air flow (Claim 14).
Claims 7-8 depend on claim 6 and claim 15 depends on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: HOGG (US – 2023/0258238 A1),
B: SOULA et al. (US – 2022/0235835 A1),
C: Ke et al. (US – 2022/0135008 A1),
D: Kirkbride (US – 2021/0239173 A1),
E: Zywiak et al. (US – 2014/0345991 A1), and
F: SELLES et al. (US – 2013/0230075 A1).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616