Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by More et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0022859.
Per Claim 1, More discloses:
a semiconductor integrated circuit device (Paragraph 147; power management integrated circuit (PMIC) 102) forming at least a portion of a power supply device (Paragraph 147, Figure 1; PMIC 102 in combination with battery 104, and AC connection 105 form a power supply device for device 101.),
the power supply device configured to convert an input voltage into an output voltage (Paragraph 147, “converts the AC supply to suitable DC supply”; Paragraph 150, “DC-DC Buck (step-down) converters, DC-DC Boost (step-up) converters”),
the semiconductor integrated circuit device comprising:
a memory configured to store a plurality of settings regarding a plurality of types of internal parameters (Paragraph 153, registers 114; Paragraphs 158, and 159, NVM 115; Paragraph 173, Registers 114 and NVM 115 can be used interchangeably depending on their state which is affected by the power cycles of the device (i.e. volatile memory vs. non-volatile memory).);
a receiver configured to receive an instruction transmitted from outside the semiconductor integrated circuit device (Paragraph 147 discusses device-to-device interface 106, such as a USB interface. Paragraphs 152 and 153; “The control signal lines may also be used to communicate control information back to the power domains. As illustrated some control signal information may also be received via the device-to-device interface 106”.;
and a controller configured to select one of the plurality of settings on the basis of the instruction and to enable the selected setting (Paragraphs 152 and 153; “The control circuitry 111 determines which power blocks are active in the PMIC and also the output of the active power blocks. Some power domains, when active, may require a fixed voltage supply but for others the voltage requirements may vary with usage of the device. The control circuitry may therefore be arranged to receive, via command and control signal lines 112, information regarding the power requirements of the power domains 103a-d from one or more of the various device sub-systems 117a-d and to control the outputs of power blocks 109a-d accordingly.”).
Per Claim 2, More discloses the semiconductor integrated circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the memory, which is a multiple-time programmable memory, is configured to store of which the plurality of settings is enabled (Paragraph 158; “MTP (multi-time programmable, e.g. Flash memory)”).
Per Claim 3, More discloses the semiconductor integrated circuit device according to claim 1, further comprising: a read-only memory configured to store the plurality of types of setting values of internal parameters respectively corresponding to the plurality of settings (Paragraph 158; “non-volatile memory (NVM) 115 (e.g. ROM)”).
Per Claim 4, More discloses the semiconductor integrated circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the receiver is configured to receive the instruction through wired communication (Paragraph 147; Device-to-device interface 106 is described as being a USB interface which is a wired interface.).
Per Claim 5, More discloses the semiconductor integrated circuit device according to claim 1, wherein the instruction includes information regarding a maximum load current of the power supply device (Paragraph 64; “Additionally or alternatively the control circuitry may be arranged to provide control over the configuration settings of the external power blocks so as to allow control over any or all of the voltage output, any operating limits such as current limits or voltage settings or operating mode of the device.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0022859 in view of Lee, U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0107998.
Per Claim 6, More discloses an electrical apparatus (Paragraphs 147 and 217 discuss types of devices represented by numeral 1.) comprising: a power supply device (Paragraph 147, Figure 1; PMIC 102 in combination with battery 104, and AC connection 105 form a power supply device for device 101.); and a processor configured to execute software using an output voltage of the power supply device as a power supply voltage (Paragraphs 58, 149, and 150; CPU core 117a), wherein the power supply device includes the semiconductor integrated circuit device according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim 1).
More does not specifically teach the processor is configured to make it possible to update the software through communication.
However, Lee teaches a PMIC 530 in communication with a core unit 542 and further teaches wherein the core unit helps facilitate a software update (Paragraph 51, “the server 100 may provide new SW necessary to perform a software update on the MDPS controller 500 by transmitting the new SW to the MDPS SW update apparatus 200 by using an over the air (OTA) method in response to a request from the MDPS SW update apparatus 200”; Paragraphs 85 and 86; “Furthermore, when receiving new SW through the communication unit 548, the core unit 542 may download the new SW to the second memory 546 in which an old version of SW has not been stored, and may check the integrity of the new SW downloaded to the second memory 546.”)
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the update operations described by More in the manner taught by Lee because over-the-air (OTA) updates offer a method for rapidly updating the software of an electronic device (Lee; Paragraph 150).
Per Claim 7, the electrical apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the update of the software is executed through wireless communication (Paragraph 51; “transmitting the new SW to the MDPS SW update apparatus 200 by using an over the air (OTA) method”). The motivation to combine the references remains the same as outlined in the rejection of claim 6.
Per Claims 8/9, Lee further teaches the electrical apparatus according to claim 6/7, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the instruction to the semiconductor integrated circuit in response to the update of the software (Paragraph 88; “when the update of the new SW is completed, the core unit 542 may control the MCU 540 to operate in the normal sleep mode by deactivating the communication transceiver 510 and transmitting a latch signal control-off command to the power management unit 530”). The motivation to combine the references remains the same as outlined in the rejection of claim 6.
Per Claims 10-13, please see the above rejection of claims 6-9 for details on More’s teaching of the claimed electrical apparatus of claims 6-9.
More does not specifically teach that the electrical apparatus is comprised within a vehicle.
However, Lee teaches performing the software update teachings of claim 6 on system circuitry that is resident of a vehicle (Paragraph 55, Fig. 1).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electrical apparatus of More as a vehicular embodiment because the devices (GPS, navigation devices, etc.) of More (Paragraph 133) are also commonly used within the vehicle of Lee and would benefit from the ease and speed of OTA updates as taught by Lee (Lee; Paragraph 150).
Conclusion
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175