DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,338,781. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant claims are encompassed in the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (US 2009/0320685 A1).
Yoshida et al. ‘685 teach a fuel vapor canister comprising adsorbent chambers (17, 18) inside a housing (15), inflow, outflow, and atmospheric ports (23,24,25) at one end of the housing, and linear, tapering protrusions (42,42a) integral with an inner wall of the housing and extending linearly from the one end of the housing in a flow direction. The protrusions can be arranged around the inner wall to surround an adsorbent chamber. The housing cross section is tapered with a reduced (smallest cross section) area at the one end where the protrusions are located (see figures 1-12, paragraphs 27, 34, 43).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2015086847 A.
JP ‘847 teaches a fuel vapor canister comprising adsorbent chambers (11,12) inside a housing (2), inflow, outflow, and atmospheric ports (4,5,6) at one end of the housing, and linear, tapering protrusions (41,41e) integral with an inner wall of the housing and extending linearly from the one end of the housing in a flow direction. The protrusions can be arranged around the inner wall to surround an adsorbent chamber. The housing cross section is tapered with a reduced (smallest cross section) area at the one end where the protrusions are located (see figures 1-6, abstract).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US 5,632,808).
Hara et al. ‘808 teach a fuel vapor canister comprising adsorbent chambers (29,30) inside a housing (17), inflow, outflow, and atmospheric ports (37,38,39,40) at one end of the housing, and linear, tapering protrusions (211-9) integral with an inner wall of the housing and extending linearly from the one end of the housing in a flow direction. The protrusions can be arranged around the inner wall to surround and adsorbent chamber (see figures 1-11, col. 3, lines 21-50, col. 4, lines 3-38, col. 6, lines 47-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any one of JP ‘847 or Yoshida et al. ‘685 in view of JP 2022040806 A.
Any one of JP ‘847 or Yoshida et al. ‘685 discloses all of the limitations of the claim except that the case is arranged in an outer case. JP ‘806 discloses a fuel vapor canister including an adsorbent volume (22) in a case (51) that is arranged in an outer case (31) (see figure 2, abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the housing of the primary references by using an inner adsorbent case inside of an outer case in order to provide for a cartridge arrangement that allows for easy installation adsorbent volumes having different length:diameter ratios depending the requirements of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references listed on the attached PTO-892 form disclose fuel vapor adsorbent canister arrangements.
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl