CTNF 18/764,715 CTNF 90160 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to Application 18/764,715 filed on 07/05/2024. In the instant application, claims 1, 11 and 20 are independent claims; Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This action is made non-final . Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings submitted on 07/05/2024 are acceptable. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 and 11/19/2025 were filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the conflicting application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b). Independent Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1, 11 and 20 of U. S. Patent No. 12095722 (hereinafter 722’) since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent. Instant Application 18/764,715 Patent 722’ Claim 1: A method comprising: + providing, to a messaging system, contact data associated with a first user account of the messaging system, the contact data comprising communication destination identifiers associated with a set of user accounts of the messaging system; + receiving, from the messaging system, a first notification of a first message directed to the first user account from a second user account of the set of user accounts, the second user account linked to the first user account by a first intermediate connection tier link based on a first communication destination identifier of the communication destination identifiers; and + presenting the first notification on a display. Claim 11: A system comprising: + one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: + providing, to a messaging system, contact data associated with a first user account of the messaging system, the contact data comprising communication destination identifiers associated with a set of user accounts of the messaging system; receiving, from the messaging system, a first notification of a first message directed to the first user account from a second user account of the set of user accounts, the second user account linked to the first user account by a first intermediate connection tier link based on a first communication destination identifier of the communication destination identifiers; and + presenting the first notification on a display. Claim 20: A machine-readable non-transitory storage medium having instruction data executable by at least one processor to cause a machine to perform operations comprising: + providing, to a messaging system, contact data associated with a first user account of the messaging system, the contact data comprising communication destination identifiers associated with a set of user accounts of the messaging system; receiving, from the messaging system, a first notification of a first message directed to the first user account from a second user account of the set of user accounts, the second user account linked to the first user account by a first intermediate connection tier link based on a first communication destination identifier of the communication destination identifiers; and + presenting the first notification on a display. Claim 1: A method comprising: + for a first account in a messaging system, creating intermediate connection tier links associated with respective intermediate connection tier accounts from a set of user accounts, each account from the intermediate connection tier accounts identified in the messaging system by a communication destination identifier that is present in contact data associated with the first account; + in response to detecting a message, directed to the first account, from a first intermediate connection tier account from the intermediate connection tier accounts, generating, for the first account, a notification of the message from the first intermediate connection tier account; and + causing presentation of the notification on a display device. Claim 11: A system comprising: + one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed by the one or processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: + for a first account in a messaging system, creating intermediate connection tier links associated with respective intermediate connection tier accounts from a set of user accounts, each account from the intermediate connection tier accounts identified in the messaging system by a communication destination identifier that is present in contact data associated with the first account; in response to detecting a message, directed to the first account, from a first intermediate connection tier account from the intermediate connection tier accounts, generating, for the first account, a notification of the message from the first intermediate connection tier account; and + causing presentation of the notification on a display device. Claim 20: A machine-readable non-transitory storage medium having instruction data executable by at least one processor to cause a machine to perform operations comprising: + for a first account in a messaging system, creating intermediate connection tier links associated with respective intermediate connection tier accounts from a set of user accounts, each account from the intermediate connection tier accounts identified in the messaging system by a communication destination identifier that is present in contact data associated with the first account; in response to detecting a message, directed to the first account, from a first intermediate connection tier account from the intermediate connection tier accounts, generating, for the first account, a notification of the message from the first intermediate connection tier account; and + causing presentation of the notification on a display device. Claim 2-3, 12 of the instant application are similar to claims 2-3 and 13 of 722’ respectively As can be seen from the table above, independent Claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by Claim 1 of 722’, in that Claim 1 of 722’ contains all the limitations of Claim 1 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting. Claims 11 and 20 are similarly mapped to claims 11 and 20 of 722’ as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting. The instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were effectively filed absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was effectively filed in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 7-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Wilson et al. (“Wilson,” US 11095601), patented on 17 August 2021, or in the alternative, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (“Wilson,” US 11095601), patented on 17 August 2021 in view of Ma et al. (“Ma,” US 2018/0150464), published on 31 May 2018 . Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a method comprising: providing, to a messaging system (Wilson: see col. 6 lines 38-45 AND Fig. 1; a user using a client computer 102 or a server computer 112 may use the social network program 110a, 110b to communicate and share content with connections in the social network) , contact data associated with a first user account of the messaging system, the contact data comprising communication destination identifiers associated with a set of user accounts of the messaging system (Wilson: see col. 6 line 53 to col. 7 line 20; interaction data for users of a social network are received. Interaction data may also be received via manual input from a first user of the social network in that a user provides relationship information that is received by the additional server 120. A user could provide interaction data which indicates that a connection is a close relative, e.g., a son or daughter, a parent, a sibling, a cousin etc., or is a close friend) ; receiving, from the messaging system, a first notification of a first message directed to the first user account from a second user account of the set of user accounts, the second user account linked to the first user account by a first intermediate connection tier link based on a first communication destination identifier of the communication destination identifiers (Wilson: see col. 12 lines 50-52; each connection of the user in the social network is assigned to one of the tiers of the tier structure based on the determined strength of the relationship. See col. 13 lines 17-52 and Fig. 5; Tier 1 connections 508 who can see or hear and respond to the post 506 that was made by the first user 504 John Johnson. See col. 14 lines 27-51 and Fig. 6; after Tier 1 Connections 508 have provided some feedback 604 to the post 506 made by first user 504. Because some feedback 604 has been given to the post 506, a thread 602, e.g., a subject thread, has been created) ; and presenting the first notification on a display (Wilson: see col. 14 lines 46-51 and Fig. 6; the feedback 604 provided in the form of text messages that re public to the first user 504 and to the other Tier 1 Connections 508) . If Wilson is not interpreted to teach: receiving, from the messaging system, a first notification of a first message directed to the first user account from a second user account of the set of user accounts, the second user account linked to the first user account by a first intermediate connection tier link based on a first communication destination identifier of the communication destination identifiers. Ma is relied upon to teach: receiving, from the messaging system, a first notification of a first message directed to the first user account from a second user account of the set of user accounts (Ma: ¶0003; the social networking system may generate a personalized set of content objects to display to a user, such as a newsfeed of aggregated stories of other users connected to the user. ¶0045 and Fig. 5; a newsfeed of the online social-network with posts 520A-520B (from Erika and Alyssa, respectively) and suggested-friends interface 501. Note: message from Erica and/or Alyssa may be interpreted as a first notification of a first message) , the second user account linked to the first user account by a first intermediate connection tier link based on a first communication destination identifier of the communication destination identifiers (Ma: ¶0003; the social networking system may generate a personalized set of content objects to display to a user, such as a newsfeed of aggregated stories of other users connected to the user). presenting the first notification on a display (Ma: ¶0003; the social networking system may generate a personalized set of content objects to display to a user, such as a newsfeed of aggregated stories of other users connected to the user. ¶0045 and Fig. 5; a newsfeed of the online social-network with posts 520A-520B (from Erika and Alyssa, respectively) and suggested-friends interface 501) . Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ma and Wilson in front of them to include the method for generating newsfeed with recommend user connections as disclosed by Ma with the method of assigning tier structure to connections as taught by Wilson to encourage the user to further interact with the online social network and other users (Ma: ¶0005) . Regarding claim 2, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 1, Wilson and Ma also teach: the method further comprising: presenting a user selectable element actionable to grant permission to access the contact data, the providing the contact data associated with the first user account of the messaging system responsive to detecting activation of the user selectable element (Wilson: See col. 7 lines 51-58; the plug-in program may generate a GUI to send to assigned computing nodes of users to obtain consent to have the interaction data from the devices to be sent to and received by the additional server 120 and/or to the server 112. See col. 6 line 53 to col. 7 line 20; interaction data for users of a social network are received. Interaction data may also be received via manual input from a first user of the social network in that a user provides relationship information that is received by the additional server 120. A user could provide interaction data which indicates that a connection is a close relative, e.g., a son or daughter, a parent, a sibling, a cousin etc., or is a close friend. Ma: ¶0034; a first user may indicate that a second user is a “friend” of the first user. In response to this indication, the social-networking system may send a “friend request” to the second user. If the second user confirms the “friend request”, the social-networking system may create an edge connecting the first user’s user node 202 to the second user’s user node 202. ¶0045; the embedded suggested-friends interface 501 also has elements 514A-514B associated with each candidate-user 510A-510B that allow the first user to initiate a connection with the candidate user 510A-510B by sending a friend request) . Regarding claim 3, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 1, Wilson and Ma also teach: the method further comprising: presenting, as part of a new user flow provided by the messaging system, a user selectable element actionable to permit creation of intermediate connection tier links based on the contact data (Ma: ¶0034; a first user may indicate that a second user is a “friend” of the first user. In response to this indication, the social-networking system may send a “friend request” to the second user. If the second user confirms the “friend request”, the social-networking system may create an edge connecting the first user’s user node 202 to the second user’s user node 202. ¶0045; the embedded suggested-friends interface 501 also has elements 514A-514B associated with each candidate-user 510A-510B that allow the first user to initiate a connection with the candidate user 510A-510B by sending a friend request) . Regarding claim 4, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 1, Wilson and Ma also teach: the method further comprising: receiving, from the messaging system, a second notification of a second message directed to the first user account from a third user account of the set of user accounts, the third user account being a non-expanded access connection tier account represented by a second communication destination identifier of the communication destination identifiers (Ma: ¶0003; the social networking system may generate a personalized set of content objects to display to a user, such as a newsfeed of aggregated stories of other users connected to the user. ¶0045 and Fig. 5; a newsfeed of the online social-network with posts 520A-520B (from Erika and Alyssa, respectively) and suggested-friends interface 501. Note: a suggested-friend interface 501 contains a plurality of candidate-users 510A-510B. Each candidate user may be interpreted as a second notification of a second message) ; and presenting a user selectable element actionable to permit creation of a second intermediate connection tier link between the first user account and the third user account (Ma: ¶0045; the embedded suggested-friends interface 501 also has elements 514A-514B associated with each candidate-user 510A-510B that allow the first user to initiate a connection with the candidate user 510A-510B by sending a friend request) . Regarding claim 5, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 1, Wilson and Ma also teach: wherein the first notification includes an indication the second user account is a user account with the messaging system (Ma: see Fig. 5; Erica message and Alyssa message do not have indicator 512A or 512B) and an indication the second user account is associated with an intermediate connection tier account (Ma: see Fig. 5; the Carrie message and Jesse message have the 512A and 512B, respectively). Regarding claim 7, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 1, Wilson and Ma also teach: the method further comprising: presenting a connections feed user interface (UI) including feed cells associated with respective user accounts linked to the first user account by an intermediate connection tier link or an expanded access connection tier link (Ma: ¶0003; the social networking system may generate a personalized set of content objects to display to a user, such as a newsfeed of aggregated stories of other users connected to the user. ¶0045 and Fig. 5; a newsfeed of the online social-network with posts 520A-520B (from Erika and Alyssa, respectively) and suggested-friends interface 501. Note: a suggested-friend interface 501 contains a plurality of candidate-users 510A-510B. Each candidate user may be interpreted as a second notification of a second message) . Regarding claim 8, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 7, Wilson and Ma also teach: wherein the connections feed UI includes a first feed cell associated with the second user account, the first feed cell including a display name from the second user account and a contact name from the contact data, the first feed cell including a user selectable element actionable to initiate communication with the second user account (Ma: ¶0045 and Fig. 4; a suggested-friend interface embedded in a page 400 of the online creating friend connections) . Regarding claim 9, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 8, Wilson and Ma also teach: wherein the first notification is presented in the first feed cell (Ma: ¶0003; the social networking system may generate a personalized set of content objects to display to a user, such as a newsfeed of aggregated stories of other users connected to the user. ¶0045 and Fig. 5; a newsfeed of the online social-network with posts 520A-520B (from Erika and Alyssa, respectively) and suggested-friends interface 501). Regarding claims 11-15 and 17-19, the claims are directed to a system comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Wilson: see col. 5 lines 40-45 and Fig. 1; processor 104 and software program 108), executing the method as claimed in claims 1-5 and 7-9, respectively; Claims 11-15 and 17-19 are similar scope to claims 1-5 and 7-9, respectively and are therefore rejected under similar rationale. Regarding claim 20, the claim is directed to a machine-readable non-transitory storage medium, executing the method as claimed in claim 1; Claim 20 is similar scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 6, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson and Ma as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wilson et al. (“Wilson,” US 11558211), filed on 18 November 2021 . Regarding claim 6, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 1, Wilson and Ma also teach: presenting a user selectable element actionable to request establishing an expanded access connection tier link with the third user account (Ma: ¶0045; the embedded suggested-friends interface 501 also has elements 514A-514B associated with each candidate-user 510A-510B that allow the first user to initiate a connection with the candidate user 510A-510B by sending a friend request) . Wilson and Ma teach all the limitations above but do not explicitly teach: presenting a conversation invitation including a reference to a third user account linked to the first user account by a second intermediate connection tier link. Olson is relied to teach: presenting a conversation invitation including a reference to a third user account linked to the first user account by a second intermediate connection tier link (Olsen: see col. 14 and Fig. 5; once the primary author sends an invitation to collaborate on a content item, the invited user may receive a notification associated with the invitation. The invitation may be displayed as an overlay to the invited user and include options to accept, decline, or cancel, as illustrated with respect to interface 502) . Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Olsen, Wilson and Ma in front of them to incorporate the method of displaying invitation as overlay to the invited user as disclosed by Olsen with the method of assigning tier structure to connections as taught by Wilson to provide an efficient and effective way allowing for creation of collaborative posts or content that is attributable to multiple users or user accounts (Olsen: see col. 2 lines 1-5) . Regarding claim 10, Wilson and Ma teach the method of claim 7, Wilson and Ma do not explicitly teach: wherein the first notification is presented as an overlay over the connections feed UI. Olson is relied to teach: wherein the first notification is presented as an overlay over the connections feed UI (Olsen: see col. 14 and Fig. 5; once the primary author sends an invitation to collaborate on a content item, the invited user may receive a notification associated with the invitation. The invitation may be displayed as an overlay to the invited user and include options to accept, decline, or cancel, as illustrated with respect to interface 502) . Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Olsen, Wilson and Ma in front of them to incorporate the method of displaying invitation as overlay to the invited user as disclosed by Olsen with the method of assigning tier structure to connections as taught by Wilson to provide an efficient and effective way allowing for creation of collaborative posts or content that is attributable to multiple users or user accounts (Olsen: see col. 2 lines 1-5) . Regarding claim 16, the claim is directed to a system comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Wilson: see col. 5 lines 40-45 and Fig. 1; processor 104 and software program 108), executing the method as claimed in claim 6; Claim 16 is similar scope to claim 6 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale. Conclusion The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action. It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tam T. Tran whose telephone number is (571) 270-5029. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William L. Bashore can be reached on 571-272-4088. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/764,715 Page 2 Art Unit: 2174