DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18764719 has claims 1-20 are pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0259158 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a port mapping method for sounding reference signals, comprising: in a case that a number of ports for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) is 6 or 8, (20240259158-See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset.) determining, by a terminal, a cyclic shift (CS) corresponding to each port for the first SRS and/or a comb position mapped by the each port for the first SRS; (See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset; comb offset #0 is mapped with 4-ports, e.g., port {#0, #1, #2, #3}. Comb offset #1 is mapped with another 4-ports, e.g., port {#4, #5, #6, #7}. Over the same comb offset, different cyclic shift is used for different ports (e.g., 4 different cyclic shifts are used over the same comb offset).) wherein a comb structure size of the first SRS is N, and N is 2, 4, 6, or 8. (See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset; interpreted the comb structure is 2)
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the CS corresponding to the each port for the first SRS is determined based on at least one of a cyclic shift offset value, a maximum cyclic shift offset value, a first parameter, a comb structure size, a port number, or the number of ports; and/or a comb position mapped by the each port for the first SRS is determined based on at least one of a comb offset value, the comb structure size, the cyclic shift offset value, the maximum cyclic shift offset value, the first parameter, or the port number. For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset; comb offset #0 is mapped with 4-ports, e.g., port {#0, #1, #2, #3}. Comb offset #1 is mapped with another 4-ports, e.g., port {#4, #5, #6, #7}
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses in a case that the number of ports is 8 and the comb structure size is 2, different ports for the first SRS correspond to different CSs, (20240259158-See ¶0061, When the maximum number of cyclic shifts is 12, then one comb offsets could be used for 8-port SRS; which is mapped with 8-ports with different cyclic shifts, e.g., over the same comb offset) and the CS corresponding to the each port for the first SRS is obtained through calculation by using the following formula:
See ¶0019, equation (1)
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses a terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a program or instructions are stored in the memory and executable on the processor, and the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform: (See 0270, one or more processors and one or more computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors) in a case that a number of ports for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) is 6 or 8, (20240259158-See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset.) determining a cyclic shift (CS) corresponding to each port for the first SRS and/or a comb position mapped by the each port for the first SRS; (See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset; comb offset #0 is mapped with 4-ports, e.g., port {#0, #1, #2, #3}. Comb offset #1 is mapped with another 4-ports, e.g., port {#4, #5, #6, #7}. Over the same comb offset, different cyclic shift is used for different ports (e.g., 4 different cyclic shifts are used over the same comb offset).)
wherein a comb structure size of the first SRS is N, and N is 2, 4, 6, or 8. (See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset; interpreted the comb structure is 2)
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or the instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform: (See 0267, may include one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions to cause an electronic device, upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors of the electronic device)
in a case that a number of ports for a first sounding reference signal (SRS) is 6 or 8, (20240259158-See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset.) determining a cyclic shift (CS) corresponding to each port for the first SRS and/or a comb position mapped by the each port for the first SRS; (See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset; comb offset #0 is mapped with 4-ports, e.g., port {#0, #1, #2, #3}. Comb offset #1 is mapped with another 4-ports, e.g., port {#4, #5, #6, #7}. Over the same comb offset, different cyclic shift is used for different ports (e.g., 4 different cyclic shifts are used over the same comb offset).) wherein a comb structure size of the first SRS is N, and N is 2, 4, 6, or 8. (See ¶0030, For 8-port SRS, multiple Comb offsets should be used, e.g., 2 comb offsets should be used and different antenna port group are mapped to different comb offset; interpreted the comb structure is 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Wang (Pub. No. US 2024/0422038 A1; hereinafter Wang2).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses in a case that the number of ports is 6 and the comb structure size is 2, different ports for the first SRS use different CSs; (20240259158 -See 0092, generating 6-port SRS for Comb-2, multiple Comb offsets, e.g., 2 comb offsets, should be used. For example, 2 comb offsets (0,1) will be used. One comb offset (0) is mapped with 4-port (different cyclic shift are used for the four ports) and the other comb offset (1) is mapped with 2-port (different cyclic shift are used for the two ports).) wherein six ports for the first SRS are divided into two groups, comb positions mapped by ports in a same group are same, and ports in different groups are mapped to different comb positions; (20240259158 -See 0092, generating 6-port SRS for Comb-2, multiple Comb offsets, e.g., 2 comb offsets, should be used. For example, 2 comb offsets (0,1) will be used. One comb offset (0) is mapped with 4-port (different cyclic shift are used for the four ports) and the other comb offset (1) is mapped with 2-port (different cyclic shift are used for the two ports).)
However, Wang fails to disclose the CS corresponding to the each port for the first SRS is obtained through calculation by using the following formula:
Wang2 discloses
(See 0079)
2024/0422038 A1-See 0094,
See 0218, pi (1000, 1001,1002,1003,1004,1005)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify determine the comb offset for each srs port to include also determine the cs for each port using a formula. The motivation to combine is efficiently determine a frequency-domain starting position corresponding to each of the L SRS antenna ports may be determined according to the first transmission comb offset to determine SRS resource mapping and an SRS resource pattern (See 0042).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses in a case that the number of ports is 6 and the comb structure size is 2, different ports for the first SRS use different CSs; (20240422038-See 0092, generating 6-port SRS for Comb-2, multiple Comb offsets, e.g., 2 comb offsets, should be used. For example, 2 comb offsets (0,1) will be used. One comb offset (0) is mapped with 4-port (different cyclic shift are used for the four ports) and the other comb offset (1) is mapped with 2-port (different cyclic shift are used for the two ports).)
(20240422038-See 0092, generating 6-port SRS for Comb-2, multiple Comb offsets, e.g., 2 comb offsets, should be used. For example, 2 comb offsets (0,1) will be used. One comb offset (0) is mapped with 4-port (different cyclic shift are used for the four ports) and the other comb offset (1) is mapped with 2-port (different cyclic shift are used for the two ports).)
However, Wang fails to disclose
Wang2 discloses
(see 0079).
See 0218, pi (1000, 1001,1002,1003,1004,1005)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify determine the comb offset for each srs port to include also determine the cs for each port using a formula. The motivation to combine is efficiently determine a frequency-domain starting position corresponding to each of the L SRS antenna ports may be determined according to the first transmission comb offset to determine SRS resource mapping and an SRS resource pattern (See 0042).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10-12 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao et al. (Pub. No. US 2025/0141628 A1)-See 0134, one specific example embodiment, port #0 and port #2 map to REs based on a first comb offset (e.g. k.sub.TC), and the CSs for port #0 and port #2 are n_CS and (n_CS+3) mod 6, respectively, while port #1 and port #3 map to REs based on a second comb offset (e.g. (k.sub.TC+K.sub.TC/2) mod K.sub.TC), and the CSs for port #1 and port #3 are (n_CS+cs_offset) and (n_CS+3+cs_offset) mod 6, respectively. For example, the value of n_CS may be one of {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5}. For example, the value of cs_offset may be 1 or 2. In one specific example embodiment, parameters n_CS may be calculated based on below Equation (4).
Duan et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0112498 A1)-See 0090, a UE having 8 RX antenna ports and 8 TX chains (T=R) may sound all 8 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 8 SRS ports). Similarly, a UE having 6 RX antenna ports and 6 TX chains also may sound all 6 RX antenna ports with a single SRS resource (having 6 SRS ports). In some implementations, the number of SRS ports included in each SRS resource may be expanded (>4) to support UEs having more than 4 TX chains. Some antenna ports may be sounded using the same frequency resources but with different cyclic shifts. The cyclic shift (a.sub.i) for each antenna port (p.sub.i) is a function of the number of antenna ports (N.sub.ap.sup.SRS), the number of cyclic shifts (n.sub.SRS.sup.cs) defined by a transmissionComb parameter, and a maximum number of cyclic shifts (n.sub.SRS.sup.cs,max), as shown in Equation 1
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472