DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/764,721, filed on July 5, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed July 5, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on July 5, 2024. These drawings are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama et al (Pub Num 2023/0154652A, herein referred to as Nakayama). Nakayama discloses coaxial cable (Figs 1-4) having a favorable appearance, excellent processability (Paragraph 1), while also having a small diameter and favorable transmission characteristics (Paragraph 5). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Nakayama discloses a coaxial cable (Fig 1) comprising a central conductor (11) including a plurality of twisted conductor element wires (Fig 1, Paragraph 28), an insulator (12) disposed outside the central conductor (11), a shield layer (13, 14) disposed outside the insulator (12), and a jacket (16) disposed outside the shield layer (13, 14), wherein the shield layer (13, 14) includes a first shield layer (13) and a second shield layer (14) in an order from a position closest to the central conductor (11), wherein the first shield layer (13) includes a plurality of longitudinally lapped metal wires (Fig 1, Paragraph 32), the second shield layer (14) includes a metal tape disposed outside the first shield layer (13, Paragraph 32), wherein an outer diameter of the central conductor (11) is 0.2 mm or more and 0.4 mm or less (i.e. 0.09-1mm incorporates the entire range, Paragraph 29), and a twist pitch of the conductor element wires of the central conductor (11) is 6 times or more and 10 times or less the outer diameter of the central conductor (i.e. twist pitch is between 0.5-11mm, diameter is 0.09-1mm, therefore 0.5 (6)=3 twist length is within the twist pitch of 0.5-11mm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (Pat Num 4,847,448) in view of Nakayama (Pub Num 2023/0154652A). Sato discloses a coaxial cable (Figs 1-3) having minimizing the outer diameter, sufficient flexibility, and sufficient shielding characteristics (Col 1, lines 50-54). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Sato discloses a coaxial cable (Fig 1-2) comprising a central conductor (1) including a plurality of twisted conductor element wires (Col 2, lines 10-12), an insulator (2) disposed outside the central conductor (1), a shield layer (3, 42) disposed outside the insulator (2) and a jacket (41) disposed outside the shield layer (3, 42), wherein the shield layer (3, 42) includes a first shield layer (3) and a second shield layer (42) in an order from a position closest to the central conductor (1), wherein the first shield layer (3) includes a plurality of longitudinally lapped metal wires (Fig 2, Col 2, lines 15-20), wherein the second shield layer (42) includes a metal tape disposed outside the first shield layer (3, Col 2, lines 21-25), an outer diameter of the central conductor is 0.2 mm or more and 0.4 mm or less (0.37mm, Col 2, lines 50-56), and a twist pitch of the conductor element wires of the central conductor (1, Fig 1). With respect to claim 2, Sato discloses a multi-core cable (Fig 2) comprising a core including a plurality of sheathed electric wires (A’s) including a coaxial cable (Fig 2) a coaxial cable (Fig 1-2) comprising a central conductor (1) including a plurality of twisted conductor element wires (Col 2, lines 10-12), an insulator (2) disposed outside the central conductor (1), a shield layer (3, 42) disposed outside the insulator (2) and a jacket (41) disposed outside the shield layer (3, 42), wherein the shield layer (3, 42) includes a first shield layer (3) and a second shield layer (42) in an order from a position closest to the central conductor (1), wherein the first shield layer (3) includes a plurality of longitudinally lapped metal wires (Fig 2, Col 2, lines 15-20), wherein the second shield layer (42) includes a metal tape disposed outside the first shield layer (3, Col 2, lines 21-25), an outer diameter of the central conductor is 0.2 mm or more and 0.4 mm or less (0.37mm, Col 2, lines 50-56), and a twist pitch of the conductor element wires of the central conductor (1, Fig 1) and an outer sheath (not numbered, Fig 2) disposed outside the core (Fig 2).
While Sato discloses a twist pitch of the conductor element wires of the central conductor, Sato doesn’t necessarily disclose the twist pitch of the conductor element wires of the central conductor being 6 times or more and 10 times or less the outer diameter of the central conductor (claim 1).
Nakayama teaches a coaxial cable (Figs 1-4) having a favorable appearance, excellent processability (Paragraph 1), while also having a small diameter and favorable transmission characteristics (Paragraph 5). Specifically, with respect to claim 2, Nakayama discloses a coaxial cable (Fig 1) comprising a central conductor (11) including a plurality of twisted conductor element wires (Fig 1, Paragraph 28), an insulator (12) disposed outside the central conductor (11), a shield layer (13, 14) disposed outside the insulator (12), and a jacket (16) disposed outside the shield layer (13, 14), wherein the shield layer (13, 14) includes a first shield layer (13) and a second shield layer (14) in an order from a position closest to the central conductor (11), wherein the first shield layer (13) includes a plurality of longitudinally lapped metal wires (Fig 1, Paragraph 32), the second shield layer (14) includes a metal tape disposed outside the first shield layer (13, Paragraph 32), wherein an outer diameter of the central conductor (11) is 0.2 mm or more and 0.4 mm or less (i.e. 0.09-1mm incorporates the entire range, Paragraph 29), and a twist pitch of the conductor element wires of the central conductor (11) is 6 times or more and 10 times or less the outer diameter of the central conductor (i.e. twist pitch is between 0.5-11mm, diameter is 0.09-1mm, therefore 0.5 (6)=3 twist length is within the twist pitch of 0.5-11mm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the coaxial cable of Sato to comprise the conductor configuration as taught by Nakayama because Nakayama teaches that such a configuration provides a coaxial cable (Figs 1-4) having a favorable appearance, excellent processability (Paragraph 1), while also having a small diameter and favorable transmission characteristics (Paragraph 5) and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
September 14, 2026