DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/09/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Accordingly, the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 has been considered by the examiner, to the extent possible in view of the long list of documents. The Applicants should note that it is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. For example, eliminate clearly irrelevant and only marginally pertinent information, and especially cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, a highlight of those documents brought to the Applicants’ attention and/or are known to be of most significance would be helpful to avoid possibly missing such a significant reference. [See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).]
Double Patenting
Claims 2-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,681,197 in view of Callahan et al. (US 2005/0200934).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,681,197 discloses an electrochromic (EC) window, comprising: an window having an EC device and an associated localized window controller, the localized window controller being connected with a power source and with an upstream controller or a building management system, wherein the localized window controller is configured to receive power via a conductor, and wherein the localized window controller is configured to receive a voltage of 48 Volts from the conductor.
U.S. Patent No. 11,681,197 does not disclose the electrochromic window is part of a network of electrochromic windows comprising a plurality of EC windows.
In a related endeavor Callahan discloses an electrochromic window (Para. 0008) that is part of a network of electrochromic windows comprising a plurality of EC windows (Para. 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the electrochromic window, as taught by Callahan, with the electrochromic window, as claimed by U.S. Patent No. 11,681,197 for the purpose of providing an electrochromic window that is part of a simple and effective network with reduced lifecycle costs.
Claims 2-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,906 in view of Callahan et al. (US 2005/0200934).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,906 discloses an electrochromic (EC) window, comprising: an window having an EC device and an associated localized window controller, the localized window controller being connected with a power source and with an upstream controller or a building management system, wherein the localized window controller is configured to receive power via a conductor, and wherein the localized window controller is configured to receive a voltage of 48 Volts from the conductor.
U.S. Patent No. 12,078,906 does not disclose the electrochromic window is part of a network of electrochromic windows comprising a plurality of EC windows.
In a related endeavor Callahan discloses an electrochromic window (Para. 0008) that is part of a network of electrochromic windows comprising a plurality of EC windows (Para. 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the electrochromic window, as taught by Callahan, with the electrochromic window, as claimed by U.S. Patent No. 12,078,906 for the purpose of providing an electrochromic window that is part of a simple and effective network with reduced lifecycle costs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 2-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al. (US 2012/0293855; already of record).
Regarding claim 2, Shrivastava discloses, a network of electrochromic (EC) windows (Figs. 1A-6B), the network comprising:
a plurality of EC windows (Para. 0026 and see 105, 115, 400, 430) each having an EC device (Para. 0030) and an associated localized window controller (140 and 410), each localized window controller being connected with a power source (405a, b and “MASTER CONTROLLER”) and with an upstream controller or a building management system (Para. 0034, 0040 and see 405a, b and “MASTER CONTROLLER”),
wherein the localized window controllers are configured to receive power via a conductor (Para. 0040-0041), and wherein the localized window controllers are configured to receive a voltage of 48 Volts from the conductor (Para. 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 3, Shrivastava discloses, the localized window controllers are configured to communicate with the upstream controller or the building management system via the conductor (Para. 0034 and 0040).
Regarding claim 4, Shrivastava discloses, the localized window controllers are configured to communicate with the upstream controller or building management system via an Ethernet protocol (Para. 0032, 0043 and 0054).
Regarding claim 5, Shrivastava discloses, the localized window controllers are configured to communicate with the upstream controller or building management system via a Power over Ethernet protocol (Para. 0032, 0043 and 0054).
Regarding claim 6, Shrivastava discloses, at least one of the localized window controllers is an onboard window controller (see 140 and 410).
Regarding claim 7, Shrivastava discloses, the onboard window controller positioned in a frame of the EC window associated with the at least one localized window controller (Para. 0043-0044 and see 220).
Regarding claim 8, Shrivastava discloses, the onboard window controller is positioned in a secondary seal zone (105, 110) of the EC window associated with the at least one localized window controller (Para. 0043-0044 and see 220).
Regarding claim 9, Shrivastava discloses, the onboard window controller is positioned between two panes of the EC window associated with the at least one localized window controller (Para. 0043-0044 and see 220).
Regarding claim 10, Shrivastava discloses, for at least one of the localized window controllers, power and communication functions are combined on a single chip (Para. 0044).
Regarding claim 11, Shrivastava discloses, at least one of the localized window controllers comprises a power converter configured to convert the voltage of 48 Volts to a power requirement of the EC device associated with the at least one localized window controller (Para. 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 12, Shrivastava discloses, the power converter is configured to convert the voltage of 48 Volts to a reduced voltage between 2 Volts and 10 Volts (Para. 0014 and 0041).
Regarding claim 13, Shrivastava discloses, the localized window controllers are paired to the EC windows with which they are associated at a manufacturing facility where the EC windows are produced (Para. 0028 and 0040).
Regarding claim 14, Shrivastava discloses, the localized window controllers are connected with one or more sensors (Para. 0014, Claims 2-3 and see 220, “SENSOR 1”, “SENSOR 2”, “SENSOR 3”).
Regarding claim 15, Shrivastava discloses, at least one of the one or more sensors is positioned in one or more of the localized window controllers (Para. 0014, Claims 2-3 and see 220, “SENSOR 1”, “SENSOR 2”, “SENSOR 3”).
Regarding claim 16, Shrivastava discloses, at least one of the one or more sensors is positioned in a frame proximate one of the EC windows (Para. 0014, Claims 2-3 and see 220, “SENSOR 1”, “SENSOR 2”, “SENSOR 3”).
Conclusion
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/09/2026