DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 24 Jun 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 10, and 16 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 24 Jun 2026, with respect to the objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 24 Jun 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 24 Jun 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schmocker et al. (US 20180140303 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Schmocker, and Loeb (US 20110144630 A1), as explained in further detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmocker et al. (US 20180140303 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Schmocker, in view of Loeb (US 20110144630 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schmocker discloses a medical optical fiber (Fig. 3, paragraph [0055] optical light guiding element 111), comprising:
a non-renewable portion (Fig. 21, paragraph [0125], proximal part 507); and
a renewable portion coupled to a distal end of the non-renewable portion (Fig. 21, paragraph [0125], distal part 508), the renewable portion comprising a plurality of detachable segments (paragraph [0120], "the light guiding element consists of several parts, some of them, situated at the distal end, are detachable").
Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber.
However, Loeb teaches a fiber optic device (Abstract) wherein detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber (Figs. 4-5, paragraphs [0040]-[0041], "As with the other, prior uses of optical fiber 13, its free end is extended out of the distal end of cannula 17 by a suitable distance for its clipping and cleaving, to remove the prior, now damaged buffer coat 54 and core tip 56 working end of optical fiber 13, thereby exposing a sufficient length of new working end or tip of optical fiber 13 having buffer coating end portion 60 and core tip 58. ... FIG. 5 illustrates device 10 ready for its final use cycle, after the damaged buffer coating end portion 54 and the tip 56 of core 18 shown in FIG. 4 have been clipped off exposing new tip 58 and buffer coating end portion 60").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmocker with the teachings of Loeb so that detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber, because doing so reduces the cost per case while preventing the optical fiber from being excessively reused (Loeb, paragraphs [0010], [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, the medical optical fiber of claim 1 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that each of the plurality of detachable segments comprises an optically transparent material (paragraph [0102], "The light is guided by total internal reflection") having a generally cylindrical shape (paragraph [0068], "the light guiding element has a diameter"; paragraph [0102], "The first material is shaped in an elongated structure").
Regarding claim 3, the medical optical fiber of claim 1 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that each of the plurality of detachable segments has a length between 0.2 millimeters (mm) and 6.0 mm (paragraph [0068], "the light guiding element has a diameter below 1 mm").
Regarding claim 6, the medical optical fiber of claim 1 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that the plurality of detachable segments are coupled to each other via an adhesive material (paragraph [0120], "This physical connection can be achieved by butt-coupling the fibers using a glue or another element to connect them").
Regarding claim 7, the medical optical fiber of claim 6 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that the adhesive material is configured to melt, dissolve, or substantially weaken when exposed to specific wavelengths of light, when exposed to a select combination of laser pulse frequency and/or power, upon reaching a specific temperature, or upon exposure to a quantity of transmitted laser energy (paragraph [0120], "This physical connection can be undone remotely by means of electromagnetic radiation"; paragraph [0121], "different light sources are used, either to activate the injected photoactive material or to detach the detachable parts of the light guiding element. It this aspect also different sub-parts of the detachable parts can react to different wavelengths. For instance a laser at 10600 nm is used to detach a first part of light guiding element and a second laser at 1523 nm is used to detach a second part of the light guiding element"; paragraph [0125], "This increase in temperature 513 can entirely or partly destroy the material layer 509 ... This change in material leads to the rupture 514 or a weakening of 509").
Regarding claim 8, the medical optical fiber of claim 6 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that the adhesive material between a first one of the plurality of detachable segments and a second one of the plurality of detachable segments is configured to melt when exposed to a first quantity of laser energy (paragraph [0125], "The light 511 of this second light source might have a different intensity than 112 or a different wavelength"),
wherein the adhesive material between the second one of the plurality of detachable segments and a third one of the plurality of detachable segments is configured to melt when exposed to a second quantity of laser energy (paragraph [0121], "a laser at 10600 nm is used to detach a first part of light guiding element and a second laser at 1523 nm is used to detach a second part of the light guiding element"),
wherein the second quantity of laser energy is higher than the first quantity of laser energy (paragraph [0121], "a laser at 10600 nm is used to detach a first part of light guiding element and a second laser at 1523 nm is used to detach a second part of the light guiding element"; light of a lower wavelength has higher energy).
Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that the second one of the plurality of detachable segments is proximal to the first one of the plurality of detachable segments, and the third one of the plurality of detachable segments is proximal to the second one of the plurality of detachable segments.
However, Loeb further teaches that the second one of the plurality of detachable segments is proximal to the first one of the plurality of detachable segments, and the third one of the plurality of detachable segments is proximal to the second one of the plurality of detachable segments (Figs. 4-5, new tip 58 and buffer coating end portion 60 are proximal to damaged buffer coat 54 and core tip 56 before cleaving).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the medical optical fiber such that the second one of the plurality of detachable segments is proximal to the first one of the plurality of detachable segments, and the third one of the plurality of detachable segments is proximal to the second one of the plurality of detachable segments, for the purpose of controlling which segment is detached, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 9, the medical optical fiber of claim 1 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that each of the plurality of detachable segments comprises a machined end surface, wherein the machined end surface of a first one of the plurality of detachable segments is configured to attract via intermolecular attraction the machined surface of a second one of the plurality of detachable segments when the end surfaces are positioned proximate to each other (paragraph [0125], "the absorption of a photon is the process of the photon being absorbed by the molecules, atoms or lattice or structure build by molecules of the material 509 and wherein this processes requires that the photon energy given by the Planck relationship or a multiple of this energy is equal to the energy separation of the participating pair of quantum energy states. On the macroscopic level the absorption of a photon can result in heat and thus in an increase in temperature 513 of the material 509. This increase in temperature 513 can entirely or partly destroy the material layer 509 and will lead to a separation 514 of 507 and 508."; the intermediate layer 509 and the parts 507 and 508 are held together by intermolecular forces that are disrupted by the incoming photons 511).
Regarding claim 10, Schmocker discloses an endoscope system (paragraph [0067]), comprising:
an endoscope configured for use with a renewable optical fiber, the endoscope having a working channel (paragraph [0064], "the applicator is a cannula or a catheter containing optical fibers"); and
a renewable optical fiber configured to be inserted through the working channel (paragraph [0064], "the applicator is a cannula or a catheter containing optical fibers"), the renewable optical fiber comprising:
a non-renewable portion (Fig. 21, paragraph [0125], proximal part 507); and
a renewable portion coupled to a distal end of the non-renewable portion (Fig. 21, paragraph [0125], distal part 508), the renewable portion comprising a plurality of detachable segments (paragraph [0120], "the light guiding element consists of several parts, some of them, situated at the distal end, are detachable").
Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber.
However, Loeb teaches a fiber optic device (Abstract) wherein detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber (Figs. 4-5, paragraphs [0040]-[0041], "As with the other, prior uses of optical fiber 13, its free end is extended out of the distal end of cannula 17 by a suitable distance for its clipping and cleaving, to remove the prior, now damaged buffer coat 54 and core tip 56 working end of optical fiber 13, thereby exposing a sufficient length of new working end or tip of optical fiber 13 having buffer coating end portion 60 and core tip 58. ... FIG. 5 illustrates device 10 ready for its final use cycle, after the damaged buffer coating end portion 54 and the tip 56 of core 18 shown in FIG. 4 have been clipped off exposing new tip 58 and buffer coating end portion 60").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmocker with the teachings of Loeb so that detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber, because doing so reduces the cost per case while preventing the optical fiber from being excessively reused (Loeb, paragraphs [0010], [0075]).
Regarding claim 11, the endoscope system of claim 10 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that the endoscope comprises a catheter (paragraph [0064], "the applicator is a cannula or a catheter containing optical fibers, connected to a light source"; paragraph [0067]) and that the working channel extends from a proximal end to a distal end of the catheter (paragraph [0060]). Schmocker further discloses that the distal end of the catheter comprises a cleaving apparatus configured to cleave the plurality of detachable segments (paragraph [0112], "This cut can be introduced into 111 externally by a mechanism or tool brought close to 504 ... To induce the previous mechanisms at 504 one option is to place one or several elements 505 at the tip of 111. This element can consist of...mechanical objects such as clamps").
Regarding claim 13, the endoscope system of claim 10 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that each of the plurality of detachable segments comprises an optically transparent material (paragraph [0102], "The light is guided by total internal reflection") having a generally cylindrical shape (paragraph [0068], "the light guiding element has a diameter"; paragraph [0102], "The first material is shaped in an elongated structure").
Regarding claim 14, the endoscope system of claim 10 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that each of the plurality of detachable segments has a length between 0.2 millimeters (mm) and 6.0 mm (paragraph [0068], "the light guiding element has a diameter below 1 mm").
Regarding claim 16, Schmocker discloses a method comprising:
providing a medical optical fiber having a plurality of detachable segments coupled to a distal end of the medical optical fiber (paragraph [0120], "the light guiding element consists of several parts, some of them, situated at the distal end, are detachable");
inserting the medical optical fiber through a working channel of an endoscope (paragraph [0064], "the applicator is a cannula or a catheter containing optical fibers"; paragraph [0067]);
irradiating a target with laser energy via the medical optical fiber (paragraph [0056], "The light guiding element 111 illuminates the liquid material 113"; paragraph [0125], "To activate the LPM 113 actinic light 112 is guided through the light guide 111 from its proximal to its distal end"); and
renewing the distal end of the medical optical fiber by detaching a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments (paragraph [0125], "To split the light guide 111 into a proximal 507 and a distal part 508 as for instance in the case where the distal part 508 (506) is left inside a cavity, a layer or intermediate piece 509 is placed between 507 and 508. ... This increase in temperature 513 can entirely or partly destroy the material layer 509 and will lead to a separation 514 of 507 and 508").
Although Schmocker does not disclose that the method is "a lithotripsy method", the requirement of lithotripsy is part of the preamble. According to MPEP 2111.02, "If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction". Therefore, Schmocker discloses a lithotripsy method.
Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber.
However, Loeb teaches a fiber optic device (Abstract) wherein detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber (Figs. 4-5, paragraphs [0040]-[0041], "As with the other, prior uses of optical fiber 13, its free end is extended out of the distal end of cannula 17 by a suitable distance for its clipping and cleaving, to remove the prior, now damaged buffer coat 54 and core tip 56 working end of optical fiber 13, thereby exposing a sufficient length of new working end or tip of optical fiber 13 having buffer coating end portion 60 and core tip 58. ... FIG. 5 illustrates device 10 ready for its final use cycle, after the damaged buffer coating end portion 54 and the tip 56 of core 18 shown in FIG. 4 have been clipped off exposing new tip 58 and buffer coating end portion 60").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmocker with the teachings of Loeb so that detachment of a most distal one of the plurality of detachable segments exposes a distal end surface of an adjacent segment as a renewed optically-functional tip of the fiber, because doing so reduces the cost per case while preventing the optical fiber from being excessively reused (Loeb, paragraphs [0010], [0075]).
Regarding claim 17, the lithotripsy method of claim 16 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that each of the plurality of detachable segments comprises an optically transparent material (paragraph [0102], "The light is guided by total internal reflection") having a generally cylindrical shape (paragraph [0068], "the light guiding element has a diameter"; paragraph [0102], "The first material is shaped in an elongated structure").
Regarding claim 18, the lithotripsy method of claim 16 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that each of the plurality of detachable segments has a length between 0.2 millimeters (mm) and 6.0 mm (paragraph [0068], "the light guiding element has a diameter below 1 mm").
Claims 4-5, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmocker et al. (US 20180140303 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Schmocker, in view of Loeb (US 20110144630 A1), and further in view of Ohdaira (US 20090306686 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, the medical optical fiber of claim 1 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses connecting the plurality of detachable segments to each other using a material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple one of the plurality of detachable segments (paragraph [0120], "This physical connection can be undone remotely by means of electromagnetic radiation"; paragraph [0125]).
Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that the material comprises a ferrous material.
However, Ohdaira teaches an endoscopic holding apparatus (Abstract) wherein each detachable segment (Fig. 16, paragraph [0149], first connection portion 5 and second connection portion 41) comprises a ferrous material (paragraphs [0145]-[0147]), the ferrous material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple the detachable segment (paragraph [0119]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmocker and Loeb with the teachings of Ohdaira so that each of the plurality of detachable segments comprises a ferrous material, the ferrous material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple one of the plurality of detachable segments, because doing so reduces the amount of time needed to complete the operation (Ohdaira, paragraph [0037]).
Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 5, the medical optical fiber of claim 4 is obvious over Schmocker and Ohdaira, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that the medical optical fiber is configured to be inserted through a working channel of an endoscope comprising a catheter (Fig. 19(b), paragraph [0112], cannula/catheter 110; paragraph [0064], "The light applied to and collected from the photosensitive material travels through an applicator ... the applicator is a cannula or a catheter containing optical fibers"; paragraph [0067]).
Although Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that the catheter has one or more electromagnets disposed at a distal end, the one or more electromagnets configured to generate the electromagnetic field, the claim does not require the endoscope and its components, only that the medical optical fiber can be inserted through a working channel of an endoscope. According to MPEP 2114(II):
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Ohdaira further teaches a catheter having one or more electromagnets disposed at a distal end, the one or more electromagnets configured to generate an electromagnetic field (paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 15, the endoscope system of claim 10 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses connecting the plurality of detachable segments to each other using a material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple one of the plurality of detachable segments (paragraph [0120], "This physical connection can be undone remotely by means of electromagnetic radiation"; paragraph [0125]).
Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that the material comprises a ferrous material.
However, Ohdaira teaches an endoscopic holding apparatus (Abstract) wherein each detachable segment (Fig. 16, paragraph [0149], first connection portion 5 and second connection portion 41) comprises a ferrous material (paragraphs [0145]-[0147]), the ferrous material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple the detachable segment (paragraph [0119]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmocker and Loeb with the teachings of Ohdaira so that each of the plurality of detachable segments comprises a ferrous material, the ferrous material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple one of the plurality of detachable segments, because doing so reduces the amount of time needed to complete the operation (Ohdaira, paragraph [0037]).
Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 19, the lithotripsy method of claim 16 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses connecting the plurality of detachable segments to each other using a material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple one of the plurality of detachable segments (paragraph [0120], "This physical connection can be undone remotely by means of electromagnetic radiation"; paragraph [0125]).
Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that the material comprises a ferrous material.
However, Ohdaira teaches an endoscopic holding apparatus (Abstract) wherein each detachable segment (Fig. 16, paragraph [0149], first connection portion 5 and second connection portion 41) comprises a ferrous material (paragraphs [0145]-[0147]), the ferrous material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple the detachable segment (paragraph [0119]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmocker and Loeb with the teachings of Ohdaira so that each of the plurality of detachable segments comprises a ferrous material, the ferrous material configured to interact with an electromagnetic field to selectively decouple one of the plurality of detachable segments, because doing so reduces the amount of time needed to complete the operation (Ohdaira, paragraph [0037]).
Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 20, the lithotripsy method of claim 19 is obvious over Schmocker, Loeb, and Ohdaira, as explained above. Schmocker further discloses that the medical optical fiber is configured to be inserted through a working channel of an endoscope comprising a catheter (Fig. 19(b), paragraph [0112], cannula/catheter 110; paragraph [0064], "The light applied to and collected from the photosensitive material travels through an applicator ... the applicator is a cannula or a catheter containing optical fibers"; paragraph [0067]).
Although Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that the catheter has one or more electromagnets disposed at a distal end, the one or more electromagnets configured to generate the electromagnetic field, the claim does not require the endoscope and its components, only that the medical optical fiber can be inserted through a working channel of an endoscope. According to MPEP 2114(II):
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Ohdaira further teaches a catheter having one or more electromagnets disposed at a distal end, the one or more electromagnets configured to generate an electromagnetic field (paragraph [0150]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmocker et al. (US 20180140303 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Schmocker, in view of Loeb (US 20110144630 A1), and further in view of Marin et al. (US 5827310 A, previously cited), hereinafter Marin.
Regarding claim 12, the endoscope system of claim 11 is obvious over Schmocker and Loeb, as explained above. Schmocker does not explicitly disclose that the endoscope comprises a handle, nor that the handle comprises an actuator arranged to actuate the cleaving apparatus.
However, Marin teaches a cutting device (Fig. 18, column 6, lines 47-54) comprising a handle (rotatable knob 122), the handle comprising an actuator arranged to actuate the cleaving apparatus ("Movement of the blades 120 is controlled by a rotatable knob 122 at the proximal end of the catheter through an elongated rod 124 and a suitable transmission").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmocker and Loeb with the teachings of Marin so that the endoscope comprises a handle, and that the handle comprises an actuator arranged to actuate the cleaving apparatus, because doing so allows the cutting to take place entirely within the catheter (Marin, column 1, lines 54-56).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Moran (US 20060106374 A1) discloses an expendable optical fiber suitable for use in endoscopic medical treatments having predetermined portions with means for enhancing visualization of the treatment area and means for rapid and convenient determination of the fiber's cumulative use history by visual inspection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE SISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796