DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to 05/01/2026.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/193003, filed on 03/30/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Patent 11,664,355) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2017/0005077), hereinafter Kim, and Lim et al. (US Pub. 2020/0091376), hereinafter Lim.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an electronic device (a display apparatus-see fig. 1), comprising: a first substrate (support substrate 160-see figs. 1-2); a first electronic unit arranged on the first substrate (drive devices (thin film transistors) for driving light emitting devices may be formed together with wires on a lower surface of a module substrate 120 (i.e., on the module substrate-see fig. 6 and [col. 7, ll. 47-64]); a package unit (light emitting device 130 (130a, 130b, and 130c)-see fig. 2A with description in, for example, [col. 6, ll. 26-52]) including a second substrate overlapped with the first substrate (module substrate 120 for each display module 110-see figs. 1-2 with description in [col. 6, ll. 8-38]) and a second electronic unit arranged on the second substrate (light emitting device 130-see figs. 2-5); a first pad and a second pad overlapped with the second substrate (interconnect portions 125, directly connected to contact pads 137a, 137b of each light emitting device-see figs. 2b and 3 with description in [col. 9, ll. 20-30]), wherein the first pad is separated from the second pad by a space (see figs. 2-3), and at least one of the first pad and the second pad is electrically connected to the first electronic unit and the second electronic unit (see [col. 7, ll. 57-64] and [col. 9, ll. 39-52]-drive devices for driving light emitting devices 130 may be thin film transistors, each of which may be connected to the corresponding light emitting device 130); a third pad electrically connected to the at least one of the first pad and the second pad (upper pad 123a may be connected to the interconnect portion 125 formed on the upper surface of the module substrate 120-see fig. 2B with description in [col. 10, ll. 5-7]).
Lee does not appear to expressly disclose a first pad and a second pad arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate and a protective layer overlapped with at least portion of the third pad.
Kim is relied upon to teach a first pad and a second pad arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate (see, for example, fig. 9, which illustrates electrical components 24 (see [0056]) comprising electrical devices 30 (second electronic unit) on a substate 32 (second substrate), contact pads 56(56’/50’/54) disposed between the substrate 32 and substrate 44 (first substrate)) and a protective layer overlapped with at least portion of the third pad (see figs. 13 and 15-16 with description in [0079]-[0083]-encapsulating layers 64, 68, or 72 … openings may be formed in the layers (64, 68 or 72) that are aligned with some or all of light emitting components 24 (see [0083])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to form the first and the second pads between the first and the second substrates, and to provide a protective layer for protecting underlying components, as taught by Kim, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (i.e., electrically coupling component 24 to pads on the substrate 44, and providing encapsulation to protect underlying components).
Lee in view of Kim does not appear to expressly teach a first layer arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate; wherein a portion of the first layer is in the space and in contact with sidewalls of the first pad and the second pad.
Lim is relied upon to teach a first layer arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate (see, for example, figs. 2-4 and 6-9 with description in [0072]-[0074], which teaches a protective layer 223 formed on a substrate 220 … the protective layer may be a light absorption layer (see [0074])); wherein a portion of the first layer is in the space and in contact with sidewalls of the first pad and the second pad (see figs. 2 and 6-9, wherein, the protective layer may also be formed between contact electrodes (pads) 17/227 and 19/229, and, as shown in for example fig. 9, the protective layer 223 at least contacts the side walls of the contact electrodes 17/227 and 19/229).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lim with the inventions of Lee and Kim by forming a protective layer, such as a light absorption layer, on a substrate in which light-emitting diodes are coupled, as taught by Lim, for protecting the plurality of electrodes 227 and 229 (see [0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses further comprising a conductor electrically connected to the first electronic unit, wherein the first substrate has a through hole, and a first portion of the conductor is in the through hole (see figs. 2B and 6-7 with description in [col. 9, ll. 53-col. 10, ll. 67]-through hole 121 is formed with a via 123 that includes lower pad 123c, upper pad 123a, and inner electrode 123b (fig. 6), and in fig. 7, conductive electrode portion 163 extends the via through the support substrate 160).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses wherein a second portion of the conductor is outside the through hole of the first substrate and electrically connected to the first portion of the conductor, and the second portion is greater than the first portion in width (see figs. 6-7, for example, in fig. 6, upper pad 123a has a larger width than middle electrode 123b).
Regarding claim 5, Lim is further relied upon to teach wherein the first substrate comprises inorganic material (see, for example, [0073], which teaches that substrate 44 may be formed from transparent dielectrics (e.g., glass, transparent ceramic)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lim with the inventions of Lee and Kim, such that the first substrate is made of an inorganic material, such as glass or ceramics, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Lim is further relied upon to teach wherein the first substrate comprises glass (i.e., substrate 44 may be formed from transparent dielectrics (e.g., glass)).
Regarding claim 7, Kim is further relied upon to each further comprising a third substrate, wherein the first substrate is arranged between the second substrate and the third substrate (see, for example, fig. 9, which illustrates electrical components 24 (see [0056]) comprising electrical devices 30 (second electronic unit) on a substate 32 (second substrate), contact pads 56(56’/50’/54) disposed between the substrate 32 and substrate 44 (first substrate), and, in for example fig. 14 with description in [0080], substate 44 and components 24 have been mounted on a support structure 66 (herein third substate)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with the inventions of Lee and Lim, by further attaching a third substrate below the first substrate, which, as taught by Kim, functions as a support substrate (see [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim is further relied upon to teach further comprising a second layer arranged between the first substrate and the third substrate (adhesive (second layer) may be used in attaching substrate 44 to layer 66-see [0080]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses further comprising a conductor electrically connected to the first electronic unit, wherein the first substrate has a through hole, and a first portion of the conductor is in the through hole (see figs. 2B and 6-7 with description in [col. 9, ll. 53-col. 10, ll. 67]-through hole 121 is formed with a via 123 that includes lower pad 123c, upper pad 123a, and inner electrode 123b (fig. 6), and in fig. 7, conductive electrode portion 163 extends the via through the support substrate 160).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses wherein a second portion of the conductor is outside the through hole of the first substrate and electrically connected to the first portion of the conductor, and the second portion is greater than the first portion in width (see figs. 6-7, for example, in fig. 6, upper pad 123a has a larger width than middle electrode 123b).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses wherein the first electronic unit comprises a transistor (i.e., drive devices (thin film transistors) for driving light emitting devices-see [col. 7, ll. 47-64]).
Regarding claim 14, Lim is further relied upon to teach wherein the first layer is configured to absorb a light (i.e., protective layer 223 may be a light-absorbing layer-see [0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses wherein the second electronic unit comprises a diode (light emitting device 130-see figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 16, Kim is further relied upon to teach wherein the first substrate has a first surface, the second substrate has a second surface adjacent to the first surface of the first substrate, and the first pad and the second pad are arranged between the first surface of the first substrate and the second surface of the second substrate (interconnects 56 (solder pads 56’ and solder 54) are disposed between the interposer substrate 32 and substrate 44 (first substrate)-see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses an electronic device (a display apparatus-see fig. 1), comprising: a first substrate (support substrate 160-see figs. 1-2); a first electronic unit arranged on the first substrate (drive devices (thin film transistors) for driving light emitting devices may be formed together with wires on a lower surface of a module substrate 120 (i.e., on the module substrate-see fig. 6 and [col. 7, ll. 47-64]); a package unit including a second electronic unit (light emitting device 130 is an LED package including first to third light emitting devices (130a, 130b, and 130c)-see fig. 2A with description in [col. 6, ll. 62-67]) on a second substrate (module substrate 120 for each display module 110-see figs. 2A-2B with description in [col. 6, ll. 88-10]); a first pad and a second pad, wherein the first pad is separated from the second pad by a space (interconnect portions 125 (separated by a space), directly connected to contact pads 137a, 137b of each light emitting device-see figs. 2B and 3 with description in [col. 9, ll. 20-30]), and at least one of the first pad and the second pad is electrically connected to the first electronic unit and the second electronic unit (see fig. 3, [col. 7, ll. 57-64] and [col. 9, ll. 39-52]-drive devices for driving light emitting devices 130 may be thin film transistors, each of which may be connected to the corresponding light emitting device 130); a third pad electrically connected to the at least one of the first pad and the second pad (upper pad 123a may be connected to the interconnect portion 125 formed on the upper surface of the module substrate120-see fig. 2B with description in [col. 10, ll. 5-7]).
Lee does not appear to expressly disclose a first pad and a second pad arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate and a protective layer overlapped with at least portion of the third pad.
Kim is relied upon to teach a first pad and a second pad arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate (see, for example, fig. 9, which illustrates electrical components 24 (see [0056]) comprising electrical devices 30 (second electronic unit) on a substate 32 (second substrate), contact pads 56(56’/50’/54) disposed between the substrate 32 and substrate 44 (first substrate)) and a protective layer overlapped with at least portion of the third pad (see figs. 13 and 15-16 with description in [0079]-[0083]-encapsulating layers 64, 68, or 72 … openings may be formed in the layers (64, 68 or 72) that are aligned with some or all of light emitting components 24 (see [0083])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to form the first and the second pads between the first and the second substrates, and to provide a protective layer for protecting underlying components, as taught by Kim, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (i.e., electrically coupling component 24 to pads on the substrate 44, and providing encapsulation to protect underlying components).
Lee in view of Kim does not appear to expressly teach a first layer arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate; wherein a portion of the first layer is in the space and in contact with sidewalls of the first pad and the second pad.
Lim is relied upon to teach a first layer arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate (see, for example, figs. 2-4 and 6-9 with description in [0072]-[0074], which teaches a protective layer 223 formed on a substrate 220 … the protective layer may be a light absorption layer (see [0074])); wherein a portion of the first layer is in the space and in contact with sidewalls of the first pad and the second pad (see figs. 2 and 6-9, wherein, the protective layer may also be formed between contact electrodes (pads) 17/227 and 19/229, and, a shown in for example fig. 9, the protective layer 223 at least contacts the side walls of the contact electrodes 17/227 and 19/229).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lim with the inventions of Lee and Kim by forming a protective layer, such as a light absorption layer, on a substrate in which light-emitting diodes are coupled, as taught by Lim, for protecting the plurality of electrodes 227 and 229 (see [0072]).
Claim 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim and Lim, and further in view of Iguchi (US Pub. 2018/0254226).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Kim and Lim does not appear to expressly teach wherein the conductor comprises copper.
Iguchi is relied upon to teach wherein the conductor comprises copper (see, for example, fig. 11, which illustrates a plurality of pixel substrates 200 disposed on a base substrate 110, via holes 215 through a film substrate 201 are electrically connected to wiring layers (111, 112) on a surface 110a of the base substrate 110, through conductors formed by filling the via holes 215 with conductive material (e.g., copper plating), the conductive material forms a connection point (or pad-see, for example, fig. 13) on a principal surface 201a of the film substrate 201. Wiring (111, 112) is made of copper-(see [0104]-[0106])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Iguchi with the inventions of Lee, Kim, and Lim such that the conductor comprises copper, as taught by Iguchi, as a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Iguchi is further relied upon to teach wherein a portion of the second layer is not overlapped with the first portion of the conductor (for example, fig. 11, which illustrates a plurality of pixel substrates 200 disposed on a base substrate 110, via holes 215 through a film substrate 201 (herein equated to claimed array substrate) are electrically connected to wiring layers (111, 112) on a surface 110a of the base substrate 110, through conductors formed by filling the via holes 215 with conductive material. As shown in fig. 11(1), the insulating resin 221 between base substrate 110 and film substate 201(herein equated to claimed second layer) does not overlap conductive paste 220 and/or 104 (or via hole 215)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Iguchi with the inventions of Lee, Kim, and Lim such that a portion of insulating material used for bonding the first and the second substrate does not overlap connecting structures and corresponding vias that supply electrical signals between substrates, as taught by Iguchi, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim and Lim, and further in view of Mathies et al. (US Patent 6,476,783), hereinafter Mathies.
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Kim and Lim does not appear to expressly teach further comprising a circuit arranged on the third substrate.
Mathies is relied upon to teach further comprising a circuit arranged on the third substrate (see, for example, fig. 19, with description in [col. 17, ll. 49-col. 18, ll. 6], which teaches a OLED display having an electronics section 102 and a display section 104 each composed of multiple layers, the display section includes a glass substrate (second substrate), while the electronics section includes material 1924 (herein equated to claimed first substrate), and an insulating substrate 110 (herein equated to claimed third substrate). Column vias 112 through the substrate 110 connect electronics module (e.g., 134) below the substrate 112 to circuits on the insulating substrate 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Iguchi with the inventions of Lee, Kim, and Lim by including circuits arranged on the third substrate, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued (see applicant remarks, pg. 9-10) reference “Kim fails to provide further disclosure of a third pad electrically connected to the at least one of the first pad (56’/50’/54) and the second pad (56’/50’/54)” as required by the claims. “In addition, in Kim, the protective layer (64,68,72) may be in contact with side walls of the packaging unit. However, Kim fails to disclose the protective layer (64, 68, 72) overlapped with at least portion of a third pad” as required by the claims.
The examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the following reasons: a third pad is disclosed by the primary reference Lee, in for example, fig. 2B with further description in [col. 9, ll. 64-col. 10, ll. 7], which discloses that an upper pad 123a may be connected to the interconnect portion 125 formed on the upper surface of the module substrate 120. Lee is silent about having an encapsulation layer for protecting electrical components on the module substrate 120. Kim, in for example, figs. 13 and 15-16 illustrates encapsulation layers (64, 68, and 72) that encapsulate and protect the electrical components including electrical contacts. According to [0043] of the specification of the instant application “a protective layer 58 is optionally disposed in the electronic device 10 to cover the light absorption layer 24, part of the package units (60a and 60b), and the electrical connection structure 20b. In some embodiments, the material of the protective layer 58 may include any suitable material for planarization, protecting or isolating the underlying components, or for light absorption or light reflection”. The above description simply points to the fact that the claimed protection layer is simply an encapsulation layer for protecting electrical components, so the specific limitation of the protection layer overlapping with at least a portion of a “a third pad” simply has no patentable weight because the protection layers of Kim necessarily overlaps at least a portion of every electrical component (including contact pads) on the substrate 44 (as described in [0081]-[0083] of Kim).
Applicant argued that “Lim fails to disclose that a portion of the first layer 223 in in contact with sidewalls of the first pad 17 and the second pad 19”.
The examiner disagrees for at least the following reasons: as shown in for example fig. 9, the protective layer 223 at least contacts the side walls of the contact electrodes 17/227 and 19/22, furthermore, forming a light absorption layer on a surface of a display component substrate would have been common sense or ordinary routine practice to an artisan in the field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the combined teachings of Lee, Kim, and Lim. The examiner contends that the amended limitations are not sufficient to overcome the applied references.
Conclusion
/SARDIS F AZONGHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627