DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to U.S. Patent Application No.: 18/764,782 filed on 1/9/2026 with effective filing date 1/5/2022. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee US 2021/0243429 A1 (IDS), for the same reason as set forth on the last office action dated 9/10/2025.
Per claims 1, 8 & 15, Lee discloses a method comprising: determining, based on a reference line index and at least a width or a height of a block (para: 137, candidate reference sample line specified by index intra_luma_ref_idx may be variably determined based on at least one of the size, or the shape of the current block or the intra prediction mode for the current block. In an example, when at least one of the size, or the shape of the current block or the intra prediction mode for the current block satisfies a predefined condition), a horizontal reference line offset and a vertical reference line offset, wherein the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset are different (para: 167-168 & fig. 10, e.g. when the current block has a non-square shape in which a width thereof is greater than a height thereof, as in the example shown in (a) of FIG. 10, the left reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the adjacent reference sample line, while the top reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the non-adjacent reference sample line); determining a reference line based on the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset (para: 167-168, e.g. when the current block has a non-square in which a height thereof is greater than a width thereof, as in the example shown in (b) of FIG. 10, the top reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the adjacent reference sample line, while the left reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the non-adjacent reference sample line); and predicting the block based on the reference line and an intra prediction mode (para: 264 & fig. 6, e.g. when an intra-prediction mode for the current block is determined, prediction samples for the current block may be obtained based on the determined intra-prediction mode S603).
Per claims 2, 9 & 16, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset are determined further based on the reference line index and a combination of the width and the height (para: 141-142, e.g. a difference between the number of reference samples included in the non-adjacent reference sample line which is spaced from the current block by i and the number of reference samples included in the adjacent reference sample line may be defined as an offset of the number of reference samples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 3-7, 10-14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US 2021/0243429 A1 (IDS) in view of Urban et al. US 2022/0038684 A1, for the same reason as set forth on the last office action dated 9/10/2025.
Per claims 3, 10 & 17, Lee fails to explicitly disclose limitations of claim 3, 10 & 17.
Urban et al. however in the same field of endeavor teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset are determined further based on an aspect ratio of the block (para: 62-63, e.g. the mode number of the replaced mode in wide-angle direction mode is dependent on the aspect ratio of a block).
Per claims 4, 11 & 18, Urban et al. further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset are each at least equal to the reference line index (para: 100 & 106, e.g. the reference line index refIdx is coded (1301), then, if the current block prediction is in the MPM list, an MPM flag is transmitted as true (1305; 1306), followed by the MPM index (1308). Otherwise, the MPM flag is transmitted as false (1307), followed by the mode index as depicted (1309-1311)).
Per claims 5, 12, & 19, Urban et al. further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the reference line based on the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset comprises: determining a main set of samples of the reference line based on one of the horizontal reference line offset or the vertical reference line offset (para: 41-43, e.g. Sample values on the reference array with positive indices are obtained as above depending on vertical or horizontal prediction. Those on the reference array with negative indices are obtained by projecting the left (for vertical predictions) or top reference pixels (for horizontal predictions) on the reference array along the prediction direction ); and determining an extended set of samples of the reference line based on the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset (para: 41-43, e.g. Sample values on the reference array with positive indices are obtained as above depending on vertical or horizontal prediction. Those on the reference array with negative indices are obtained by projecting the left (for vertical predictions) or top reference pixels (for horizontal predictions) on the reference array along the prediction direction).
Per claims 6, 13 & 20, Lee further teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the one of the horizontal reference line offset or vertical reference line offset is determined based on the intra prediction mode (para: 316).
Per claims 7 & 14, Lee further teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the one of the horizontal reference line offset or the vertical reference line offset is: the horizontal reference line offset based on the intra prediction mode being a horizontal intra prediction mode; and the vertical reference line offset based on the intra prediction mode being a vertical intra prediction mode (para: 271-274, & 315 e.g. when an intra-prediction mode index is any one of 11 to 18, horizontal directional one-dimensional arrangement may be applied where top reference samples are rotated in counterclockwise, and when an intra-prediction mode index is any one of 19 to 25, vertical directional one-dimensional arrangement may be applied where left reference samples are rotated in clockwise).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant assert on page 6, for claim 1, Lee fails to disclose determining, based on a reference line index and at least a width or a height of a block, a horizontal reference line offset and a vertical reference line offset, wherein the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset are different; determining a reference line based on the horizontal reference line offset and the vertical reference line offset.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Lee’s para 129-130 & 137, 167-168 and fig. 10(a)(b), where A reference sample line of a current block may be determined S2201. The reference sample line means a group of reference samples included in a k-th spaced apart line from the top and/or the left of the current block (para: 129); when the current block has a non-square shape in which a width thereof is greater than a height thereof, as in the example shown in (a) of FIG. 10, the left reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the adjacent reference sample line, while the top reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the non-adjacent reference sample line (para: 167); When the current block has a non-square in which a height thereof is greater than a width thereof, as in the example shown in (b) of FIG. 10, the top reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the adjacent reference sample line, while the left reference samples for the current block may be derived based on the non-adjacent reference sample line (para: 168).
Examiner interpreted as reference samples with left and top reference samples having different offsets, in this case 0 and 1.
Examiner respectfully suggest that the claim limitations to be further clarified.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Panusopone et al. US 2017/0347102 A1, e.g. an intra direction mode for a coding unit may be selected, as well as one or more of the plurality of reference lines to generate at least one predictor for the intra direction mode. A predictor may be generated from reference samples within each selected reference line by combining predicted pixel values based on a projected position on a main reference line in combination with predicted pixel values based on a projected position on a side reference line.
Vanam et al. US 10,917,660 B2, e.g. the current block may be associated with a reconstructed left reference line, a reconstructed top reference line, and an non-reconstructed reference line to be predicted. The reconstructed reference lines may have been decoded and may be available. The non-reconstructed reference lines to be predicted may include an non-reconstructed right and/or an non-reconstructed bottom reference lines. A pivot reference pixel may be identified and may be located on an extension of the reconstructed left and/or top reference lines.
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Irfan Habib/Examiner, Art Unit 2485