DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Antrag DE 10 2010 032 777.
Regarding claim 16, Antrag discloses:
An engine, comprising:
a thermal expansion unit 2, 3 (shape memory element; contracts when heated, expandable when cooled [0018]);
a force introducing unit (return spring 7 [0018], or a second engine as in Fig. 5 [0022]) configured to apply a force, to a shaft 2 of the thermal expansion unit, in a first direction (downward); and
a switch assembly 10, 11 configured to switch between a first state (warm inlet 12 open) and a second state (cold inlet 14 open),
wherein (see para. [0018]):
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to transfer thermal energy from a source of thermal energy 12 to the thermal expansion unit 3 (heating) when the switch assembly is in the first state (warm inlet 12 open);
the transfer of thermal energy from the source of thermal energy 12 to the thermal expansion unit 3 (heating) causes the shaft 2 of the thermal expansion unit to move in a second direction (upward) from a first position (lower) to a second position (upper);
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to switch to the second state (cold inlet 14 open) at least one of during movement of the shaft 2 in the second direction (upward), when the shaft 2 reaches the second position (upper), or when the shaft reaches a third position between the first position and the second position;
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to transfer thermal energy from the thermal expansion unit 3 to outside the thermal expansion unit (cooling) when the switch assembly is in the second state (cold inlet 14 open);
the transfer of thermal energy from the thermal expansion unit 3 to outside the thermal expansion unit (cooling) causes the shaft 2 of the thermal expansion unit to move in the first direction (downward) [0018].
Regarding claim 17, Antrag discloses:
a housing structure 1 in which the switch assembly 10, 11 and at least a portion of the thermal expansion unit 2, 3 are disposed,
wherein the switch assembly 10, 11 comprises a thermal energy transference unit 10 that is in contact with the thermal expansion unit 2, 3 and is configured to [0018]:
when the switch assembly 10, 11 is in the first state (warm inlet 12 open), establish a first thermal energy transference path to transfer thermal energy from a heat receiving region 12 of the housing structure 1 to the thermal expansion unit 3; and
when the switch assembly 10, 11 is in the second state (cold inlet 14 open), establish a second thermal energy transference path to transfer thermal energy from the thermal expansion unit 3 to a heat discharge region 14 of the housing structure 1.
Regarding claim 18, Antrag discloses:
wherein: the switch assembly 10, 11 comprises:
a trigger unit 10 coupled to the shaft of the thermal expansion unit; and
a switch 11 coupled to the thermal energy transference unit;
at least one of during movement of the shaft 2 in the second direction (upward), when the shaft reaches the second position (upper), or when the shaft reaches the third position, the trigger unit 10 actuates the switch 11 to switch the switch assembly 10, 11 to the second state (cold inlet 14 open) in which the second thermal energy transference path is established through the switch and the thermal energy transference unit; and
at least one of during movement of the shaft 2 in the first direction (downward), when the shaft reaches the first position (lower), or when the shaft reaches a fourth position between the first position and the second position, the trigger unit 10 actuates the switch 11 to switch the switch assembly to the first state (warm inlet 12 open) in which the first thermal energy transference path is established through the switch and the thermal energy transference unit.
Regarding claim 20, Antrag discloses:
wherein the force introducing unit comprises at least one of:
a spring 7 disposed between a wall of the housing structure and the shaft (Figs. 1-4, [0018]);
a magnet; or
a second engine (see Fig. 5 [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antrag DE 10 2010 032 777 in view of Broccolini et al. US 2020/0217305, as evidenced by Pinto, IV et al. US 2012/0137672.
Regarding claim 1, Antrag discloses:
An engine, comprising:
a thermal expansion unit 2, 3 comprising:
a shaft 2; and
expansion material 3 having a thermal expansion property (shape memory element; contracts when heated, expandable when cooled [0018]);
a force introducing unit (return spring 7 [0018], or a second engine as in Fig. 5 [0022]) configured to apply a force, to the shaft 2, in a first direction (downward); and
a switch assembly 10, 11 configured to switch between a first state (warm inlet 12 open) and a second state (cold inlet 14 open),
wherein (see para. [0018]):
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to transfer thermal energy from a source of thermal energy 12 to the expansion material 3 (heating) when the switch assembly is in the first state (warm inlet 12 open);
the transfer of thermal energy from the source of thermal energy 12 to the expansion material 3 (heating) causes the shaft 2 of the thermal expansion unit to move in a second direction (upward), opposite the first direction (downward), from a first position (lower) to a second position (upper);
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to switch to the second state (cold inlet 14 open) at least one of during movement of the shaft 2 in the second direction (upward), when the shaft 2 reaches the second position (upper), or when the shaft reaches a third position between the first position and the second position;
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to transfer thermal energy from the expansion material 3 to outside the expansion material (cooling) when the switch assembly is in the second state (cold inlet 14 open);
the transfer of thermal energy from the expansion material 3 to outside the expansion material (cooling) or the force applied by the force introducing unit (return spring 7 [0018], or a second engine as in Fig. 5 [0022]) cause the shaft 2 of the thermal expansion unit to move in the first direction (downward) [0018].
Antrag is silent regarding:
the expansion material having a thermal expansion property in which the expansion material: expands in response to a temperature increase of the expansion material; and contracts in response to a temperature decrease of the expansion material;
the transfer of thermal energy from the source of thermal energy to the expansion material causes expansion of the expansion material; the transfer of thermal energy from the expansion material to outside the expansion material causes contraction of the expansion material.
(Antrag utilizes a shape memory element 3, which contracts when heated and expands when cooled, to perform a cyclic linear movement in response to temperature cycling [0018].)
Broccolini teaches:
the expansion material 18 (thermal expansion wax) having a thermal expansion property in which the expansion material: expands in response to a temperature increase of the expansion material; and contracts in response to a temperature decrease of the expansion material [0009] [0013] [0015];
the transfer of thermal energy from the source of thermal energy 22 to the expansion material 18 causes expansion of the expansion material; the transfer of thermal energy from the expansion material 18 to outside the expansion material causes contraction of the expansion material [0015].
Additionally, Pinto [0005] [0019] evidences that shape memory materials and thermal expansion wax are well-known alternatives in thermally actuated active materials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the thermally actuated active material in Antrag (shape memory material) with that taught by Broccolini (thermal expansion wax) to obtain the same predictable result of performing a cyclic linear movement in response to temperature cycling, since a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, and it has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render such substitution obvious; MPEP 2143 I. B.
(Here it is noted that the arrangements shown in Figs. 2-4 of Antrag would appear to require the active material 3 to expand when heated by the warm inlet 12 being open in order to move the shaft 2 and valve 11 upward to close the warm inlet 12 and open the cold inlet 14 instead, at which point the active material 3 should contract as it is cooled to repeat the cycle; such arrangement readily lends itself to use of thermal wax as the active material in the combination.)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Antrag and Broccolini teaches (Antrag):
a housing structure 1 in which the switch assembly 10, 11 and at least a portion of the thermal expansion unit 2, 3 are disposed,
wherein the switch assembly 10, 11 comprises a thermal energy transference unit 10 that is in contact with the thermal expansion unit 2, 3 and is configured to [0018]:
when the switch assembly 10, 11 is in the first state (warm inlet 12 open), establish a first thermal energy transference path to transfer thermal energy from a heat receiving region 12 of the housing structure 1 to the expansion material 3; and
when the switch assembly 10, 11 is in the second state (cold inlet 14 open), establish a second thermal energy transference path to transfer thermal energy from the expansion material 3 to a heat discharge region 14 of the housing structure 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Antrag and Broccolini teaches (Antrag):
wherein: the switch assembly 10, 11 comprises:
a trigger unit 10 coupled to the shaft of the thermal expansion unit; and
a switch 11 coupled to the thermal energy transference unit;
at least one of during movement of the shaft 2 in the second direction (upward), when the shaft reaches the second position (upper), or when the shaft reaches the third position, the trigger unit 10 actuates the switch 11 to switch the switch assembly 10, 11 to the second state (cold inlet 14 open) in which the second thermal energy transference path is established through the switch and the thermal energy transference unit; and
at least one of during movement of the shaft 2 in the first direction (downward), when the shaft reaches the first position (lower), or when the shaft reaches a fourth position between the first position and the second position, the trigger unit 10 actuates the switch 11 to switch the switch assembly to the first state (warm inlet 12 open) in which the first thermal energy transference path is established through the switch and the thermal energy transference unit.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Antrag and Broccolini teaches:
wherein: the force introducing unit comprises a spring 7 disposed between a wall of the housing structure and the shaft (Antrag Figs. 1-4, [0018]).
Regarding claims 7-8, the combination of Antrag and Broccolini teaches:
wherein: the force introducing unit comprises a second engine (Antrag Fig. 5, [0022]).
wherein: the shaft 2 of the engine is coupled to the second engine via a crank shaft apparatus 28 (Antrag Fig. 5, [0022]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Antrag and Broccolini teaches:
wherein: the thermal expansion unit comprises (see Broccolini Fig. 1):
a cylinder 12 in which the expansion material 18 is disposed; and
a piston 14a within the cylinder 12, wherein the shaft 14b is coupled to the piston 14a; and
expansion of the expansion material 18 increases a length of the thermal expansion unit.
Regarding claim 10, Antrag discloses:
A power system configured to produce electrical power, the power system comprising:
an engine comprising:
a thermal expansion unit 2, 3 comprising:
a shaft 2; and
expansion material 3 having a thermal expansion property (shape memory element; contracts when heated, expandable when cooled [0018]);
a force introducing unit (return spring 7 [0018], or a second engine as in Fig. 5 [0022]) configured to apply a force, to the shaft 2, in a first direction (downward); and
a switch assembly 10, 11 configured to switch between a first state (warm inlet 12 open) and a second state (cold inlet 14 open), and
a power unit (permanent magnet 15 in coil 16 in Figs. 1-3, generator 27 in Figs. 4-5) coupled to the shaft 2,
wherein (see para. [0018]):
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to transfer thermal energy from a source of thermal energy 12 to the expansion material 3 (heating) when the switch assembly is in the first state (warm inlet 12 open);
the transfer of thermal energy from the source of thermal energy 12 to the expansion material 3 (heating) causes the shaft 2 of the thermal expansion unit to move in a second direction (upward), opposite the first direction (downward), from a first position (lower) to a second position (upper);
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to switch to the second state (cold inlet 14 open) at least one of during movement of the shaft 2 in the second direction (upward), when the shaft 2 reaches the second position (upper), or when the shaft reaches a third position between the first position and the second position;
the switch assembly 10, 11 is configured to transfer thermal energy from the expansion material 3 to outside the expansion material (cooling) when the switch assembly is in the second state (cold inlet 14 open);
the transfer of thermal energy from the expansion material 3 to outside the expansion material (cooling) or the force applied by the force introducing unit (return spring 7 [0018], or a second engine as in Fig. 5 [0022]) cause the shaft 2 of the thermal expansion unit to move in the first direction (downward) [0018]; and
reciprocal motion of the shaft 2 causes the power unit (permanent magnet 15 in coil 16 in Figs. 1-3, generator 27 in Figs. 4-5) to produce the electrical power.
Antrag is silent regarding:
the expansion material having a thermal expansion property in which the expansion material: expands in response to a temperature increase of the expansion material; and contracts in response to a temperature decrease of the expansion material;
the transfer of thermal energy from the source of thermal energy to the expansion material causes expansion of the expansion material; the transfer of thermal energy from the expansion material to outside the expansion material causes contraction of the expansion material.
(Antrag utilizes a shape memory element 3, which contracts when heated and expands when cooled, to perform a cyclic linear movement in response to temperature cycling [0018].)
Broccolini teaches:
the expansion material 18 (thermal expansion wax) having a thermal expansion property in which the expansion material: expands in response to a temperature increase of the expansion material; and contracts in response to a temperature decrease of the expansion material [0009] [0013] [0015];
the transfer of thermal energy from the source of thermal energy 22 to the expansion material 18 causes expansion of the expansion material; the transfer of thermal energy from the expansion material 18 to outside the expansion material causes contraction of the expansion material [0015].
Additionally, Pinto [0005] [0019] evidences that shape memory materials and thermal expansion wax are well-known alternatives in thermally actuated active materials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the thermally actuated active material in Antrag (shape memory material) with that taught by Broccolini (thermal expansion wax) to obtain the same predictable result of performing a cyclic linear movement in response to temperature cycling, since a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, and it has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render such substitution obvious; MPEP 2143 I. B.
(Here it is noted that the arrangements shown in Figs. 2-4 of Antrag would appear to require the active material 3 to expand when heated by the warm inlet 12 being open in order to move the shaft 2 and valve 11 upward to close the warm inlet 12 and open the cold inlet 14 instead, at which point the active material 3 should contract as it is cooled to repeat the cycle; such arrangement readily lends itself to use of thermal wax as the active material in the combination.)
Regarding claims 11-15, the combination of Antrag and Broccolini teaches (Antrag):
wherein the power unit comprises: a generator 27 (Figs. 4-5).
a reciprocal to rotary conversion apparatus (screw drive in Fig. 4 [0021], crankshaft in Fig. 5 [0022]) to convert reciprocal motion of the shaft 2 to rotary motion, wherein the power unit 27 converts the rotary motion to the electrical power (Figs. 4-5).
wherein the reciprocal to rotary conversion apparatus comprises at least one of: a crank shaft apparatus 28 (Fig. 5 [0022]); or a rack and pinion apparatus.
wherein the reciprocal to rotary conversion apparatus comprises: a helix piston mechanism 23, 24 (Fig. 4 [0021]).
wherein the reciprocal to rotary conversion apparatus comprises: a magnetic rotor (in generator 27).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antrag DE 10 2010 032 777 in view of Broccolini et al. US 2020/0217305 as evidenced by Pinto, IV et al. US 2012/0137672 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Pretorius US 2011/0179790.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Antrag and Broccolini is silent regarding:
wherein: the force introducing unit comprises a magnet.
Pretorius teaches:
wherein: the force introducing unit comprises a magnet (“In addition, the return spring [17 in Fig. 3] can be constructed of a variety of materials, in a number of configurations. For example, a repelling magnetic return spring or a gas cylinder spring can be used in alternate embodiments” [0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the return element in the combination of Antrag and Broccolini (return spring 7 in Antrag) with that taught by Pretorius (repelling magnetic return) to obtain the same predictable result of providing an opposing/returning force to the active material, since a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, and it has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render such substitution obvious; MPEP 2143 I. B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XIAOTING HU/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 11/01/2025