DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 7/23/25. Claims 1, 2, 17, and 21 have been amended. Claims 10-16 have been canceled. Claims 17-27 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver USPN_5031483.
Regarding Claims 1-9, Weaver discloses see Fig. 1 – 10, a part (16), such as molds (Abstract) formed at least in part from a sheet (a non-pre-cut sheet, see column 6, line 57 - 61) of material, the part (16) comprising: a series of laminations (corresponding to three layers) (22) that includes at least a first layer (22) (given that it says “at least” means it can be in plurality; thereby teaching the newly added limitation of first layer having two pieces that can be fastened together (column 7, lines 5-10) and a second layer (22) formed from the sheet of non-porous material; a first through-hole (26) in the first layer (22); a second through-hole (26) in the second layer (22), the second through-hole (26) aligned with the first through-hole (26); a fastener (24) extending through the first through-hole (26) and through the second through-hole (26); and at least a portion of a coolant channel (52) extending through the first layer (22) and the second layer (22). As for the newly added limitation of the corresponding coolant channel extending in a direction that is parallel to the fastener hole, Weaver discloses:
The red arrow is pointing to a specific portion of the coolant channel that is extending in an upward direction that is seemingly parallel to the fastener hole. Given that Weaver discloses that “an infinite variety of paths, straight or curved” can be used (column 8, lines 34-43), along with the figure above indicating a portion being parallel, this together provides sufficient detail to enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the claimed invention’s limitation of having a coolant channel extending in a direction that is parallel to the fastener hole, and thus anticipates this claimed limitation.
Additionally, given that multiple laminations (corresponding to layers) can exist, a third lamination’s hole would correspond to a third through-hole, aligning with the previous two through-holes and fastener. Weaver further discloses “It is to be understood that the forms of the invention herewith shown and described are to be taken as illustrative embodiments only of the same, and that various changes in the shape, size and arrangement of parts, as well as various procedural changes, may be resorted to without departing from the spirit of the invention” (column 9, lines 59-64). Thus, it would’ve been obvious to change the diameter of the holes based on end-user specifications as is being claimed in instant Claim 6. Weaver further discloses how the coolant fluid is used to control the temperature (column 1, lines 38-51), as is being claimed in instant Claim 7. Weaver also discloses that adhesives can be used in addition to said fastener (column 7, lines 5-10), as is being claimed in instant Claim 8. Finally, Weaver discloses using passageways formed by contours for its coolant flow (corresponds to claimed slots) (column 8, lines 44-50), as is being claimed in instant Claim 9. The aforementioned Fig. 1 shows the coolant passageway channel (50) extending all the way to the bottom of the laminate and then rising all the way to being parallel to the hole 25 that is located on the opposite end of the stacked laminate, as is being claimed in instant Claim 9.
Response to Arguments
No arguments were presented.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 June 18, 2026