Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 12/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating modified grounds of rejection. Please see modified grounds of rejection below.
The Applicant argues the prior art does not teach all limitations of the claims since Fuse is directed towards a fan grill in which “the first bars are ‘radially arranged’”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The primary teaching of Fuse is to angle ribs such that their cross section aligns with a local flow direction, e.g. as shown in Figure 3B of Fuse, and such a teaching does not require said ribs to be radially arranged.
The Applicant further argues the prior art does not teach all limitations of the claims since “Zheng’s ‘verticals’ are supports, not aerodynamic”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Everything is aerodynamic in some way and Applicant’s specification makes no description of what is or is not to be considered “aerodynamic”; moreover, the claims do not require the vertical ribs to be “aerodynamic”.
The Applicant further argues the prior art does not teach all limitations of the claims since neither reference teaches ribs which vary continuously as a function of a respective first or second direction to correspond to that locally varying air-current direction as Zheng discloses “a stepwise, region-based change, rather than a continuous progression” and Fuse “teaches radial bars”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fuse teaches matching an inclination angle to a local flow direction, e.g. as shown in Figure 3B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0905455 to Zheng in view of JP2003172528 to Fuse.
Regarding claim 1:
Zheng discloses a blowing apparatus (see abstract) comprising a blowing fan (fan 2, Fig 1) and a protective grille (grille 4, Fig 1) arranged in front of the blowing fan (Fig 1), wherein the protective grille comprises:
a plurality of horizontal ribs (blades 5, Fig 1) extending in a first direction (horizontal, Fig 1) and arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (vertical, Fig 1); and
a plurality of vertical ribs (supports 6) extending in the second direction and arranged in the first direction to be perpendicular to the plurality of horizontal ribs (Fig 1),
wherein the plurality of horizontal ribs and the plurality of vertical ribs are arranged orthogonally and perpendicularly to each other to define rectangular openings (Fig 1), the ribs being straight in plan view and non-radial with respect to a center of rotation of the blowing fan (Fig 1);
based on the blowing fan rotating, an air current moving in a third direction (from fan to grill, Fig 1) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (e.g. air flow “A”, Figs 2-3) is generated (Par 0017), and
an inclination angle (α, Figs 3-4) of each of the plurality of horizontal ribs with respect to a first plane comprising the first direction and the third direction (Figs 3-4) is configured to change according to a position in the first direction (i.e. blade portions 5A on the left and 5B on the right, Figs 1-2; see abstract) to correspond to a direction of rotation of the air current generated by the blowing fan (see abstract), and
an inclination angle of the plurality of vertical ribs (must exist).
Zheng suggests (Par 0045) but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the inclination angle of each of the plurality of vertical ribs with respect to a second plane comprising the second direction and the third direction is configured to change according to a position in the second direction,
wherein the inclination angle of each horizontal rib varies continuously as a function of position in the first direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current generated by the blowing fan,
and the inclination of each vertical rib varies continuously as a function of position in the second direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current.
Fuse is also in the field of blowers (see abstract) and teaches:
horizontal and vertical ribs (bar 10, Figs 2-3) extending in first and second directions (horizontally and vertically, respectively, Figs 2-3) having an inclination angle (θ, Fig 3b) configured to change according to a position in the second direction (Par 0026),
wherein the inclination angle of each horizontal rib varies continuously as a function of position in the first direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current generated by the blowing fan (the inclination angle of each rib varies along its length to match a local flow direction, Fig 3b; Par 0026),
and the inclination of each vertical rib varies continuously as a function of position in the second direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current (the inclination angle of each rib varies along its length to match a local flow direction, Fig 3b; Par 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inclination angle of the vertical and horizontal ribs as disclosed by Zheng to change according to a local flow direction as taught by Fuse for the purpose of reducing flow resistance, suppressing separation, and reducing noise even at high flow (Par 0026).
Regarding claim 2.
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein the inclination angle of each of the plurality of horizontal ribs increases from a center to an end in the first direction (Fuse: Par 0026), and the inclination angle of each of the plurality of vertical ribs increases from a center to an end in the second direction (Fuse: Par 0026).
Regarding claim 4:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein, based on the protective grille being divided into quadrants by virtual axes in the first direction and the second direction with respect to a center of rotation of the blowing fan (as defined), combinations of the inclination angles of the plurality of horizontal ribs and the plurality of vertical ribs arranged in the respective quadrant are different from each other (Zheng: Figs 1-4; Fuse: Par 0026, Fig 3b).
Regarding claim 5.
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 4.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein:
in a first quadrant among the quadrants (Zheng: any quadrant, e.g. top right), each of the plurality of horizontal ribs has a positive inclination angle with respect to the first plane (Zheng: Figs 2/4), inclined in a downward or upward direction with respect to the first plane (Zheng: Figs 2/4), and
each of the plurality of vertical ribs has a positive angle with respect to the second plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: Par 0026, Fig 3b), inclined in a rightward or leftward direction with respect to the second plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: Par 0026, Fig 3b), and
in a third quadrant (quadrant respectively opposite the first quadrant) among the quadrants, each of the plurality of horizontal ribs has a negative inclination angle with respect to the first plane (Zheng: Figs 2/4; Fuse: due to airflow direction being substantially opposite to that in the first quadrant, Par 0026, Fig 3b), inclined in an upward or downward direction with respect to the first plane (Zheng: Figs 2/4), and each of the plurality of vertical ribs has a negative inclination angle with respect to the second plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: due to airflow direction being substantially opposite to that in the first quadrant, Par 0026, Fig 3b), inclined in a leftward or rightward direction with respect to the second plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: Par 0026, Fig 3b).
Regarding claim 6:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 5.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein, based on a direction of rotation of the air current being clockwise (Zheng: opposite to rotation direction R shown in Fig 1; Fuse: opposite to rotation direction shown by arrow 12 in Fig 2):
the air current moves downward to the right in the first quadrant (Zheng: airflow direction “A” opposite to that as shown in Fig 1; Fuse: opposite to rotation direction shown by arrows 13 in Fig 2) among the quadrants and upward to the left in the third quadrant (Zheng: airflow direction “A” opposite to that as shown in Fig 1; Fuse: opposite to rotation direction shown by arrows 13 in Fig 2),
in the first quadrant among the quadrants, each of the plurality of horizontal ribs has a positive inclination angle with respect to the first plane, inclined in a downward direction with respect to the first plane (Fuse: airflow direction, Par 0026, Figs 2/3b), and each of the plurality of vertical ribs has a positive inclination angle with respect to the second plane, inclined in a rightward direction with respect to the second plane (Zheng: airflow direction “A” opposite to that as shown in Fig 1; Fuse: opposite to rotation direction shown by arrows 13 in Fig 2), and
in the third quadrant among the quadrants, each of the plurality of horizontal ribs has a negative inclination angle with respect to the first plane, inclined in an upward direction with respect to the first plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: due to airflow direction being substantially opposite to that in the first quadrant, Par 0026, Fig 3b), and each of the plurality of vertical ribs has a negative inclination angle with respect to the second plane, inclined in a leftward direction with respect to the second plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: due to airflow direction being substantially opposite to that in the first quadrant, Par 0026, Fig 3b).
Regarding claim 7:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 6.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein the plurality of horizontal ribs have the same shape (Zheng: Fig 1), and the plurality of vertical ribs have the same shape (Zheng: Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng further discloses wherein a spacing between the plurality of horizontal ribs is less than a spacing between the plurality of vertical ribs (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 9:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein a shape of the protective grille is different from a shape of the blowing fan (Zheng: Fig 1).
Regarding claim 10:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng as modified by Fuse does not teach wherein a thickness of each of the plurality of horizontal ribs and the plurality of vertical ribs is between 10 mm and 500 mm.
The Applicant has disclosed no criticality, nor described any new or unexpected results, from having a thickness of the ribs be withing the claimed range and the prior art would perform the same having ribs within the claimed thickness range. Mere changes in size/proportion support a prima facie obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thickness of the horizontal and vertical ribs as disclosed by Fuse to be within the claimed range through mere changes in size/proportion, see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 11:
Zheng discloses an air conditioner (see title) comprising a blowing fan (fan 2, Fig 1), a protective grille (grille 4, Fig 1) arranged in front of the blowing fan (Fig 1), and a housing (casing 1, Fig 1) accommodating the blowing fan (Fig 1), wherein the protective grille comprises:
a plurality of horizontal ribs (blades 5, Fig 1) extending in a first direction (horizontal, Fig 1) and arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (vertical, Fig 1); and
a plurality of vertical ribs (supports 6) extending in the second direction and arranged in the first direction to be perpendicular to the plurality of horizontal ribs (Fig 1),
wherein the plurality of horizontal ribs and the plurality of vertical ribs are arranged orthogonally and perpendicularly to each other to define rectangular openings (Fig 1), the ribs being straight in plan view and non-radial with respect to a center of rotation of the blowing fan (Fig 1);
based on the blowing fan rotating, an air current moving in a third direction (from fan to grill, Fig 1) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (e.g. air flow “A”, Figs 2-3) is generated (Par 0017), and
an inclination angle (α, Figs 3-4) of each of the plurality of horizontal ribs with respect to a first plane comprising the first direction and the third direction (Figs 3-4) is configured to change according to a position in the first direction (i.e. blade portions 5A on the left and 5B on the right, Figs 1-2; see abstract) to correspond to a direction of rotation of the air current generated by the blowing fan (see abstract), and
an inclination angle of the plurality of vertical ribs (must exist).
Zheng suggests (Par 0045) but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the inclination angle of each of the plurality of vertical ribs with respect to a second plane comprising the second direction and the third direction is configured to change according to a position in the second direction,
wherein the inclination angle of each horizontal rib varies continuously as a function of position in the first direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current generated by the blowing fan,
and the inclination of each vertical rib varies continuously as a function of position in the second direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current.
Fuse is also in the field of blowers (see abstract) and teaches:
horizontal and vertical ribs (bar 10, Figs 2-3) extending in first and second directions (horizontally and vertically, respectively, Figs 2-3) having an inclination angle (θ, Fig 3b) configured to change according to a position in the second direction (Par 0026),
wherein the inclination angle of each horizontal rib varies continuously as a function of position in the first direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current generated by the blowing fan (the inclination angle of each rib varies along its length to match a local flow direction, Fig 3b; Par 0026),
and the inclination of each vertical rib varies continuously as a function of position in the second direction to correspond to a locally varying direction of the air current (the inclination angle of each rib varies along its length to match a local flow direction, Fig 3b; Par 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inclination angle of the vertical and horizontal ribs as disclosed by Zheng to change according to a position in the second direction as taught by Fuse for the purpose of reducing flow resistance, suppressing separation, and reducing noise even at high flow (Par 0026).
Regarding claim 12:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the air conditioner of claim 11.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein the inclination angle of each of the plurality of horizontal ribs increases from a center to an end in the first direction (Fuse: Par 0026), and the inclination angle of each of the plurality of vertical ribs increases from a center to an end in the second direction (Fuse: Par 0026).
Regarding claim 14:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the air condition of claim 11.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein, based on the protective grille being divided into quadrants by virtual axes in the first direction and the second direction with respect to a center of rotation of the blowing fan (as defined), combinations of the inclination angles of the plurality of horizontal ribs and the plurality of vertical ribs arranged in the respective quadrant are different from each other (Zheng: Figs 1-4; Fuse: must be different due to changing airflow direction A, Par 0026, Figs 2/3b).
Regarding claim 15:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the air condition of claim 14.
Zheng as modified by Fuse further teaches wherein:
in a first quadrant among the quadrants (Zheng: any quadrant, e.g. top right), each of the plurality of horizontal ribs has a positive inclination angle with respect to the first plane (Zheng: Figs 2/4), inclined in a downward or upward direction with respect to the first plane (Zheng: Figs 2/4), and
each of the plurality of vertical ribs has a positive angle with respect to the second plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: Par 0026, Fig 3b), inclined in a rightward or leftward direction with respect to the second plane (Zheng: Fig 1; Fuse: Par 0026, Fig 3b).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0905455 to Zheng in view of JP2003172528 to Fuse as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of US 10871172 to Kim.
Regarding claims 3 and 13:
Zheng as modified by Fuse teaches the blowing apparatus of claim 2 and the air conditioner of claim 12.
Zheng as modified by Fuse does not explicitly teach wherein an amount of change in the inclination angle of each of the plurality of horizontal ribs from the center to the end is 45 degrees or less, and an amount of change in the inclination angle of each of the plurality of vertical ribs from the center to the end is 45 degrees or less.
Kim is also in the field of fan guards (see title) and teaches vertical and horizontal ribs (at least some of ribs 4021 extend radially outward in a substantially horizontal or vertical direction, Figs 7-8), the ribs having a tilt angle that increases from a center (A1, Fig 9) to a radially outer end (A3, Fig 9) between 10 to 30 degrees (Col 7 Lns 28-30), and further wherein the tilt angle affects the amount of noise thereby establishing it as a result effective variable (Col 7 Lns 48-51). Optimization of a result effective variable requires only ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.05(II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt angle change from the center to the end as taught by Zhen as modified by Fuse to be within the claimed range through routine optimization of a result effective variable, see MPEP 2144.05(II).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745