DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/13/2025 and 7/5/2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim language as currently recited is repeated: “wherein indexes corresponding to range of difference value is pre-defined based on the first downlink synchronization” (emphasis added). The underlined “is”, should be changed to “are” for proper grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claim language as presented is worded in a way that could cause confusion. The claim is repeated for clarification “wherein the reporting information comprises 1-bit information indicating that the SS/PBCH block index corresponding to the second beam, a reference signal received power (RSRP) value, and the TA value [are] to be updated.” (emphasis added). Examiner contends If the intention is that the three parameters: SS/PBCH block index, RSRP, and TA value are all to be updated, then the word “are” should be recited before “to be updated”. Otherwise, if only the TA value is indicated as being updated, then the first “that” which is underlined, is not necessary. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: The language of “the terminal of claim 1” should read “the terminal of claim 15”, since that is the terminal base claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite “obtaining a difference value between: first downlink synchronization based on a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block corresponding a first beam and second downlink synchronization based on the SS/PBCH block corresponding a second beam;”. It is unclear as to what is being measured or what the difference value would be comparing together in order to obtain said difference value. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear and appropriate correction is needed.
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 recite “based on a comparison between the second downlink synchronization and cyclic prefix (CP) length”. It is unclear as to what is being compared as it is unclear as to what a second downlink synchronization is a measure of in order to compare with the cyclic prefix length. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear and appropriate correction is needed.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency of rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2013/0301619 A1) hereinafter “Singh”, in view of Dalsgaard et al. (US 2025/0240748 A1), hereinafter “Dalsgaard”.
Re. Claim 1, Singh teaches:
A method performed by a terminal for aligning uplink synchronization in wireless communication system, (¶0004 A method for uplink timing alignment by a mobile station in a wireless network is provided.)
the method comprising: obtaining a difference value between: first downlink synchronization based on a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block corresponding a first beam (¶0071 based on the downlink PSCH/SSCH/BCH transmission, the MS may first obtain downlink timing for the different beam pair combinations. Turning again to FIG. 8, two beam pairs are shown. Beam pair 1 includes the beams indexed by the indices (I1, J1) at the BS and the MS respectively, while beam pair 2 includes the beams indexed by (I2, J2). & ¶0076 if the downlink timings for both beam pairs (i.e., T1 and T2) are already available at the MS (e.g., from downlink synch channel transmission), then the MS can determine the desired TA2 value from the TA1 value provided by the BS, eliminating the need to perform a RACH preamble transmission to obtain TA2. & ¶0102 it is possible for the MS (or the BS) to obtain the TA value for all beam pair combinations, using the TA value for any one of the pairs, and the differences in the downlink timings for the different beam pairs. These differences may be obtained at the MS, using, for example, the downlink synch channel transmissions (PSCH/SSCH). More specifically, assuming that the TA value for beam pair 1 is TA1, the TA value for beam pair 2, TA2, may be computed as: TA2=TA1+2*(T2-T1)=TA1+2.DELTA.T, where .DELTA.T=T2-T1 is the difference in the downlink timings for the two beam pairs. [i.e. difference value obtained between two beam pairs (a first and second beam), based on synchronization signals of each beam pair (beam 1 corresponds to first beam)])
and second downlink synchronization based on the SS/PBCH block corresponding a second beam; (¶0071 based on the downlink PSCH/SSCH/BCH transmission, the MS may first obtain downlink timing for the different beam pair combinations. Turning again to FIG. 8, two beam pairs are shown. Beam pair 1 includes the beams indexed by the indices (I1, J1) at the BS and the MS respectively, while beam pair 2 includes the beams indexed by (I2, J2). & ¶0076 if the downlink timings for both beam pairs (i.e., T1 and T2) are already available at the MS (e.g., from downlink synch channel transmission), then the MS can determine the desired TA2 value from the TA1 value provided by the BS, eliminating the need to perform a RACH preamble transmission to obtain TA2. & ¶0102 it is possible for the MS (or the BS) to obtain the TA value for all beam pair combinations, using the TA value for any one of the pairs, and the differences in the downlink timings for the different beam pairs. These differences may be obtained at the MS, using, for example, the downlink synch channel transmissions (PSCH/SSCH). More specifically, assuming that the TA value for beam pair 1 is TA1, the TA value for beam pair 2, TA2, may be computed as: TA2=TA1+2*(T2-T1)=TA1+2.DELTA.T, where .DELTA.T=T2-T1 is the difference in the downlink timings for the two beam pairs. [i.e. difference value obtained between two beam pairs (a first and second beam), based on synchronization signals of each beam pair (beam 2 corresponds to second beam)])
and receiving, from the base station, information on a timing advance (TA) value derived based on the information associated with the difference value. (¶0090-¶0091 the BS may inform the MS of the TA values for those beam pairs. In such a scenario, the beams on which the MS may send the RACH could be determined by the MS itself (for instance, the K MS beams corresponding to the best K beam pairs), or the BS may instruct the MS to use a certain set of beams. In case the MS picks the K best beam pairs, the MS may also inform the BS about the corresponding BS beams (or slices). In its message(s) indicating the TA values, the BS may inform the MS about the BS beam (or slice) used to obtain each of the TA values. Returning to the scenario considered earlier in this disclosure, the MS performs RACH preamble transmission on beam pair 1, obtains the corresponding TA1 from the BS, and computes TA2 (the timing advance for beam pair 2), to be: TA2=TA1+2DELTA.T, where DELTA.T=T2-T1 is the difference in the downlink propagation delays (i.e., the downlink timing) for the two beam pairs. & ¶0098 In an embodiment of this disclosure, the computation of the TA values for different beam pairs is performed at the BS, rather than being performed at the MS. To assist the BS in this computation, the MS may send the value of the difference in the propagation delays, .DELTA.T, to the BS. For example, considering the scenario of two beam pairs, beam pair 1 and beam pair 2, the MS may perform a RACH preamble transmission on one of the beam pairs (e.g., beam pair 1) and send the value of the difference in the propagation delays, .DELTA.T=T2-T1 to the BS. The BS may then provide the MS with the TA values for both beam pairs, or one of the beam pairs. [i.e. information of a TA value that is associated with the difference value is sent to the terminal from the base station] & ¶0103 The computation of the TA values for the different beam pairs, using the TA value for one of the beam pairs, may be performed at the MS itself, or at the BS (using the .DELTA.T value provided by the MS).)
Singh does not explicitly teach: based on a comparison between the second downlink synchronization and cyclic prefix (CP) length, transmitting, to a base station, reporting information comprising information associated with the difference value;
However, Dalsgaard teaches:
based on a comparison between the second downlink synchronization and cyclic prefix (CP) length, transmitting, to a base station, reporting information comprising information associated with the difference value; (¶0049 the RRHs (remote radio heads) 126 may also be referred to as or implemented as transmission points (TPs), transmission-reception points (TRPs), radio units (RUs), remote radio units (RRUs), active antenna units (AAUs) and the like. In the present disclosure, the term “access point” may be used to represent any one of the RRH, the TP, the TRP, the RU, the RRU, and the AAU. In some example embodiments, the term “access point” may also be used to represent a base station [i.e. RRHs are base stations] & ¶0051 the RRHs 126 transmit one or more downlink (DL) beams, which of the DL beams the UE 110 is required to use is controlled by the network based on UE-assisted measurements and reporting. The network configures the UE 110 with one or more reference signals (RSs) to measure the beams, which may be synchronization signal block (SSB) (as shown in FIG. 1) [i.e. DL RS/SSB for downlink beam measurement and reporting (downlink synchronizations))] & ¶0053-¶0055 Assuming a distance of 700 m between the RRHs 126a and 126b, the DL propagation delay difference dPD (dPD=PD2−PD1) would be around 2.3 μs, which is almost five times more than the cyclic prefix (CP) length of 0.57 μs at 120 kHz sub-carrier spacing (SCS) in FR2. The change of the proper TA would also occur from TA′2 to TA3 when the UE 110 moves on and switches from the RRH 126b to the RRH 126c. As such, the UL synchronization/TA cannot be re-used when the UE 110 switches between the RRHs that are located in different positions. One possible solution is to perform autonomous timing adjustment at the UE 110 based on measurements of DL signals received from the source and target RRHs, & ¶0057 At 220, the UE 110 may receive DL RSs from RRHs including the serving RRH 126a and one or more neighboring/non-serving RRHs such as the RRH 126b. [i.e. receiving downlink synchronizations from RRH 126a (beam1) and RRH 126b (beam2), and based on the propagation delay difference that involves both first and second downlink synchronizations being compared with a cyclic prefix length, the TA value cannot be reused because it exceeds the CP length, where the solution is to perform autonomous timing adjustment] The network may configure the UE 110 with a set of reference signals to monitor quality or signal strength of certain reference signals (RSS) e.g., representing DL radio beams for the beam management purpose. The set of reference signals may include a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources. At the operation 220, the UE 110 may periodically receive the DL RSs from the RRHs 126a, 126b, 126c. At 222, the UE 110 may evaluate DL propagation delay values from the RRHs 126a, 126b to the UE 110 based on the received DL RSs and obtain a DL propagation delay difference (dPD) between the RRH 126a and the RRH 126b. & ¶0068-¶0070 Referring to FIG. 5, at 310, the UE 110 may switch from a first beam Beam1 operated by the first RRH 126a to a second beam Beam2 operated by the second RRH 126b. As discussed above, the UE 110 may perform beam switching in response to a TCI state change command received from the base station 120. In some example embodiments, the UE 110 may perform autonomous Rx beam switching for example when the UE 110 finds a candidate Rx beam better than the serving Rx beam. At 320, the UE 110 may perform autonomous timing adjustment based on a timing difference between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b. In some example embodiment, the propagation delay difference dPD between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b may be used as an example of the timing difference, based on which the UE 110 may autonomously adjust its uplink timing so that UL transmission, when it is received at the RRH 126b, will align to the DL timing at the RRH 126b. As discussed above, the UE 110 can get in DL synchronization with the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b by receiving DL RSs such as SSB and/or CSI-RS and evaluate the propagation delay difference dPD between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b. Then the UE 110 may transmit assistant information related to the timing difference to the second RRH 126b for the TA alignment purpose at 330. In some example embodiment, the assistance information may be requested by the network e.g. after beam switch has been performed (not illustrated in the figure). Based on the assistant information related to the timing difference, the base station 120 can update the TA value for the UE 110 so as to align with the TA maintained at the UE 110. [i.e. based on the comparison of propagation delay difference which involves the second downlink synchronization exceeding a cyclic prefix length, autonomous timing adjustment is performed, during which the UE transmits assistant information related to the timing difference to the second RRH 126b for TA alignment purposes at step 330 (reporting information related to the difference value)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Dalsgaard’s teaching of the reporting information comprising a difference value, because it would enable the UE and base station to compensate for the propagation delay difference between the devices and signals through autonomous timing adjustment during beam change. (see Dalsgaard ¶0027)
Re. Claim 2, Singh combined with Dalsgaard teaches claim 1.
Dalsgaard further teaches:
wherein the second downlink synchronization is greater than the CP length. (¶0053 when the UE 110 switches from the first RRH 126a to the second RRH 126b, the proper TA for the UE 110 would also change from a first value TA1 that corresponds to a DL propagation delay PD1 from the first RRH 126a to the UE 110 to a second value TA2 that corresponds to a DL propagation delay PD2 from the second RRH 126b to the UE 110. Assuming a distance of 700 m between the RRHs 126a and 126b, the DL propagation delay difference dPD (dPD=PD2−PD1) would be around 2.3 μs, which is almost five times more than the cyclic prefix (CP) length of 0.57 μs at 120 kHz sub-carrier spacing (SCS) in FR2. The change of the proper TA would also occur from TA′2 to TA3 when the UE 110 moves on and switches from the RRH 126b to the RRH 126c. As such, the UL synchronization/TA cannot be re-used when the UE 110 switches between the RRHs that are located in different positions. [i.e. the downlink propagation delay difference involves both first and second downlink synchronizations SSBs from RRH 126a and RRH 126b, therefore the comparison of the difference value between them is a comparison of each of the first and second DL synchronizations, where in this scenario the resulting value is greater than the cyclic prefix length])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Dalsgaard’s teaching of the second downlink synchronization is greater than the CP length, because it would enable the UE and base station to compensate for the propagation delay difference between the devices and signals through autonomous timing adjustment during beam change. (see Dalsgaard ¶0027)
Re. Claim 8, Singh teaches:
A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, (¶0006 A method for uplink timing alignment by a base station in a wireless network is provided.)
the method comprising: based on a plurality of beams of the base station, transmitting, to a terminal, a plurality of synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) blocks; (¶0066-¶0068 To obtain downlink synchronization, the MS can fix its receive beam within each subframe, and switch the receive beams across subframes. In this way, the MS is able to sweep through all possible combinations of the BS beam direction (i.e., slice) and MS beam direction. The downlink timing that the MS obtains for a particular (BS beam, MS beam) pair is dependent on the propagation delay encountered in transmission using this beam pair. Hence, the downlink timing obtained at the MS for different beam pairs is expected to be different. & ¶0071 As described above, based on the downlink PSCH/SSCH/BCH transmission, the MS may first obtain downlink timing for the different beam pair combinations. [i.e. downlink synchronization signals transmitted from base station based on combinations of beams (plurality of beams)])
receiving reporting information comprising information associated with a difference value between: first downlink synchronization based on a SS/PBCH block corresponding a first beam (¶0053-¶0054 the BS 200 also transmits preamble signals for synchronization in optimal directions in every packet in a packet-type communication system, the MS 300 may measure the propagation delay difference in every packet. According to another embodiment, since the BS 200 transmits synchronization signals while changing beams in every symbol in a frame-type communication system, the MS 300 may acquire a synchronization time point based on symbols of the optimal beams for respective antenna chains and compensate for a time difference between the two symbols in order to measure the propagation delay difference (PDD). The MS 300 may transmit PDD information to the BS 200 through an uplink control signal. [i.e. PDD between two symbols is difference between beams (first and second beam) as the beam is changed in every symbol])
and second downlink synchronization based on the SS/PBCH block corresponding a second beam from the terminal; (¶0053-¶0054 the BS 200 also transmits preamble signals for synchronization in optimal directions in every packet in a packet-type communication system, the MS 300 may measure the propagation delay difference in every packet. According to another embodiment, since the BS 200 transmits synchronization signals while changing beams in every symbol in a frame-type communication system, the MS 300 may acquire a synchronization time point based on symbols of the optimal beams for respective antenna chains and compensate for a time difference between the two symbols in order to measure the propagation delay difference (PDD). The MS 300 may transmit PDD information to the BS 200 through an uplink control signal. [i.e. PDD between two symbols is difference between beams (first and second beam) as the beam is changed in every symbol])
and transmitting information on a timing advance (TA) value derived based on the information associated with the difference value to the terminal, (¶0098 In an embodiment of this disclosure, the computation of the TA values for different beam pairs is performed at the BS, rather than being performed at the MS. To assist the BS in this computation, the MS may send the value of the difference in the propagation delays, .DELTA.T, to the BS. For example, considering the scenario of two beam pairs, beam pair 1 and beam pair 2, the MS may perform a RACH preamble transmission on one of the beam pairs (e.g., beam pair 1) and send the value of the difference in the propagation delays, .DELTA.T=T2-T1 to the BS. The BS may then provide the MS with the TA values for both beam pairs, or one of the beam pairs. [i.e. information of a TA value that is associated with the difference value is sent to the terminal])
Yet, Singh does not explicitly teach: wherein based on comparison between the second downlink synchronization and cyclic prefix (CP) length, the reporting information comprises the information associated with the difference value.
However, in the analogous art, Dalsgaard teaches:
wherein based on comparison between the second downlink synchronization and cyclic prefix (CP) length, the reporting information comprises the information associated with the difference value. (¶0049 the RRHs (remote radio heads) 126 may also be referred to as or implemented as transmission points (TPs), transmission-reception points (TRPs), radio units (RUs), remote radio units (RRUs), active antenna units (AAUs) and the like. In the present disclosure, the term “access point” may be used to represent any one of the RRH, the TP, the TRP, the RU, the RRU, and the AAU. In some example embodiments, the term “access point” may also be used to represent a base station [i.e. RRHs are base stations] & ¶0051 the RRHs 126 transmit one or more downlink (DL) beams, which of the DL beams the UE 110 is required to use is controlled by the network based on UE-assisted measurements and reporting. The network configures the UE 110 with one or more reference signals (RSs) to measure the beams, which may be synchronization signal block (SSB) (as shown in FIG. 1) [i.e. DL RS/SSB for downlink beam measurement and reporting (downlink synchronizations))] & ¶0053-¶0055 Assuming a distance of 700 m between the RRHs 126a and 126b, the DL propagation delay difference dPD (dPD=PD2−PD1) would be around 2.3 μs, which is almost five times more than the cyclic prefix (CP) length of 0.57 μs at 120 kHz sub-carrier spacing (SCS) in FR2. The change of the proper TA would also occur from TA′2 to TA3 when the UE 110 moves on and switches from the RRH 126b to the RRH 126c. As such, the UL synchronization/TA cannot be re-used when the UE 110 switches between the RRHs that are located in different positions. One possible solution is to perform autonomous timing adjustment at the UE 110 based on measurements of DL signals received from the source and target RRHs, & ¶0057 At 220, the UE 110 may receive DL RSs from RRHs including the serving RRH 126a and one or more neighboring/non-serving RRHs such as the RRH 126b. [i.e. receiving downlink synchronizations from RRH 126a (beam1) and RRH 126b (beam2), and based on the propagation delay difference that involves both first and second downlink synchronizations being compared with a cyclic prefix length, the TA value cannot be reused because it exceeds the CP length, where the solution is to perform autonomous timing adjustment] The network may configure the UE 110 with a set of reference signals to monitor quality or signal strength of certain reference signals (RSS) e.g., representing DL radio beams for the beam management purpose. The set of reference signals may include a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources. At the operation 220, the UE 110 may periodically receive the DL RSs from the RRHs 126a, 126b, 126c. At 222, the UE 110 may evaluate DL propagation delay values from the RRHs 126a, 126b to the UE 110 based on the received DL RSs and obtain a DL propagation delay difference (dPD) between the RRH 126a and the RRH 126b. & ¶0068-¶0070 Referring to FIG. 5, at 310, the UE 110 may switch from a first beam Beam1 operated by the first RRH 126a to a second beam Beam2 operated by the second RRH 126b. As discussed above, the UE 110 may perform beam switching in response to a TCI state change command received from the base station 120. In some example embodiments, the UE 110 may perform autonomous Rx beam switching for example when the UE 110 finds a candidate Rx beam better than the serving Rx beam. At 320, the UE 110 may perform autonomous timing adjustment based on a timing difference between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b. In some example embodiment, the propagation delay difference dPD between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b may be used as an example of the timing difference, based on which the UE 110 may autonomously adjust its uplink timing so that UL transmission, when it is received at the RRH 126b, will align to the DL timing at the RRH 126b. As discussed above, the UE 110 can get in DL synchronization with the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b by receiving DL RSs such as SSB and/or CSI-RS and evaluate the propagation delay difference dPD between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b. Then the UE 110 may transmit assistant information related to the timing difference to the second RRH 126b for the TA alignment purpose at 330. In some example embodiment, the assistance information may be requested by the network e.g. after beam switch has been performed (not illustrated in the figure). Based on the assistant information related to the timing difference, the base station 120 can update the TA value for the UE 110 so as to align with the TA maintained at the UE 110. [i.e. based on the comparison of propagation delay difference which involves the second downlink synchronization exceeding a cyclic prefix length, autonomous timing adjustment is performed, during which the UE transmits assistant information related to the timing difference to the second RRH 126b for TA alignment purposes at step 330 (reporting information related to the difference value)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Dalsgaard’s teaching of the reporting information comprising a difference value, because it would enable the UE and base station to compensate for the propagation delay difference between the devices and signals through autonomous timing adjustment during beam change. (see Dalsgaard ¶0027)
Claim 9 is directed towards a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2.
Re. Claim 15, Singh teaches:
A terminal of a wireless communication system, (¶0004 A method for uplink timing alignment by a mobile station in a wireless network is provided. & ¶0041 the MS 300 [i.e. mobile station (terminal)] may receive signals using different beams through a plurality of reception antennas)
comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive signals; (¶0078-¶0079 the MS 300 may include a plurality of antennas, a transceiver 1000. The transceiver 1000 transmission-processes signals to be transmitted, or reception-processes received signals.)
memory including one or more storage media, storing instructions; (¶0128 the memory included in the mobile terminal is one example of machine-readable devices suitable for storing a program including instructions that are executed by a processor device to thereby implement embodiments of the present invention.)
and at least one processor including processing circuitry, (¶0082 The controller 1010 controls and processes the overall operation of the MS. For example, the controller 1010 performs control to transmit or receive signals through the transceiver 1000 and a plurality of antennas. To this end, the controller 1010 may include at least one processor. [i.e. a processor would necessarily contain processing circuitry for functioning within the system])
wherein the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, (¶0128 the memory included in the mobile terminal is one example of machine-readable devices suitable for storing a program including instructions that are executed by a processor device to thereby implement embodiments of the present invention.)
cause the terminal to: obtain a difference value between: first downlink synchronization based on a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block corresponding a first beam (¶0071 based on the downlink PSCH/SSCH/BCH transmission, the MS may first obtain downlink timing for the different beam pair combinations. Turning again to FIG. 8, two beam pairs are shown. Beam pair 1 includes the beams indexed by the indices (I1, J1) at the BS and the MS respectively, while beam pair 2 includes the beams indexed by (I2, J2). & ¶0076 if the downlink timings for both beam pairs (i.e., T1 and T2) are already available at the MS (e.g., from downlink synch channel transmission), then the MS can determine the desired TA2 value from the TA1 value provided by the BS, eliminating the need to perform a RACH preamble transmission to obtain TA2. & ¶0102 it is possible for the MS (or the BS) to obtain the TA value for all beam pair combinations, using the TA value for any one of the pairs, and the differences in the downlink timings for the different beam pairs. These differences may be obtained at the MS, using, for example, the downlink synch channel transmissions (PSCH/SSCH). More specifically, assuming that the TA value for beam pair 1 is TA1, the TA value for beam pair 2, TA2, may be computed as: TA2=TA1+2*(T2-T1)=TA1+2.DELTA.T, where .DELTA.T=T2-T1 is the difference in the downlink timings for the two beam pairs. [i.e. difference value obtained between two beam pairs (a first and second beam), based on synchronization signals of each beam pair (beam 1 corresponds to first beam)])
and second downlink synchronization based on the SS/PBCH block corresponding a second beam, (¶0071 based on the downlink PSCH/SSCH/BCH transmission, the MS may first obtain downlink timing for the different beam pair combinations. Turning again to FIG. 8, two beam pairs are shown. Beam pair 1 includes the beams indexed by the indices (I1, J1) at the BS and the MS respectively, while beam pair 2 includes the beams indexed by (I2, J2). & ¶0076 if the downlink timings for both beam pairs (i.e., T1 and T2) are already available at the MS (e.g., from downlink synch channel transmission), then the MS can determine the desired TA2 value from the TA1 value provided by the BS, eliminating the need to perform a RACH preamble transmission to obtain TA2. & ¶0102 it is possible for the MS (or the BS) to obtain the TA value for all beam pair combinations, using the TA value for any one of the pairs, and the differences in the downlink timings for the different beam pairs. These differences may be obtained at the MS, using, for example, the downlink synch channel transmissions (PSCH/SSCH). More specifically, assuming that the TA value for beam pair 1 is TA1, the TA value for beam pair 2, TA2, may be computed as: TA2=TA1+2*(T2-T1)=TA1+2.DELTA.T, where .DELTA.T=T2-T1 is the difference in the downlink timings for the two beam pairs. [i.e. difference value obtained between two beam pairs (a first and second beam), based on synchronization signals of each beam pair (beam 2 corresponds to second beam)])
and receive, from the base station, information on a timing advance (TA) value derived based on the information associated with the difference value. (¶0090-¶0091 the BS may inform the MS of the TA values for those beam pairs. In such a scenario, the beams on which the MS may send the RACH could be determined by the MS itself (for instance, the K MS beams corresponding to the best K beam pairs), or the BS may instruct the MS to use a certain set of beams. In case the MS picks the K best beam pairs, the MS may also inform the BS about the corresponding BS beams (or slices). In its message(s) indicating the TA values, the BS may inform the MS about the BS beam (or slice) used to obtain each of the TA values. Returning to the scenario considered earlier in this disclosure, the MS performs RACH preamble transmission on beam pair 1, obtains the corresponding TA1 from the BS, and computes TA2 (the timing advance for beam pair 2), to be: TA2=TA1+2DELTA.T, where DELTA.T=T2-T1 is the difference in the downlink propagation delays (i.e., the downlink timing) for the two beam pairs. & ¶0098 In an embodiment of this disclosure, the computation of the TA values for different beam pairs is performed at the BS, rather than being performed at the MS. To assist the BS in this computation, the MS may send the value of the difference in the propagation delays, .DELTA.T, to the BS. For example, considering the scenario of two beam pairs, beam pair 1 and beam pair 2, the MS may perform a RACH preamble transmission on one of the beam pairs (e.g., beam pair 1) and send the value of the difference in the propagation delays, .DELTA.T=T2-T1 to the BS. The BS may then provide the MS with the TA values for both beam pairs, or one of the beam pairs. [i.e. information of a TA value that is associated with the difference value is sent to the terminal from the base station] & ¶0103 The computation of the TA values for the different beam pairs, using the TA value for one of the beam pairs, may be performed at the MS itself, or at the BS (using the .DELTA.T value provided by the MS).)
Yet, Singh does not explicitly teach: based on a comparison between the second downlink synchronization and cyclic prefix (CP) length, transmit, to a base station, reporting information comprising information associated with the difference value.
However, in the analogous art, Dalsgaard teaches:
based on a comparison between the second downlink synchronization and cyclic prefix (CP) length, transmit, to a base station, reporting information comprising information associated with the difference value, (¶0049 the RRHs (remote radio heads) 126 may also be referred to as or implemented as transmission points (TPs), transmission-reception points (TRPs), radio units (RUs), remote radio units (RRUs), active antenna units (AAUs) and the like. In the present disclosure, the term “access point” may be used to represent any one of the RRH, the TP, the TRP, the RU, the RRU, and the AAU. In some example embodiments, the term “access point” may also be used to represent a base station [i.e. RRHs are base stations] & ¶0051 the RRHs 126 transmit one or more downlink (DL) beams, which of the DL beams the UE 110 is required to use is controlled by the network based on UE-assisted measurements and reporting. The network configures the UE 110 with one or more reference signals (RSs) to measure the beams, which may be synchronization signal block (SSB) (as shown in FIG. 1) [i.e. DL RS/SSB for downlink beam measurement and reporting (downlink synchronizations))] & ¶0053-¶0055 Assuming a distance of 700 m between the RRHs 126a and 126b, the DL propagation delay difference dPD (dPD=PD2−PD1) would be around 2.3 μs, which is almost five times more than the cyclic prefix (CP) length of 0.57 μs at 120 kHz sub-carrier spacing (SCS) in FR2. The change of the proper TA would also occur from TA′2 to TA3 when the UE 110 moves on and switches from the RRH 126b to the RRH 126c. As such, the UL synchronization/TA cannot be re-used when the UE 110 switches between the RRHs that are located in different positions. One possible solution is to perform autonomous timing adjustment at the UE 110 based on measurements of DL signals received from the source and target RRHs, & ¶0057 At 220, the UE 110 may receive DL RSs from RRHs including the serving RRH 126a and one or more neighboring/non-serving RRHs such as the RRH 126b. [i.e. receiving downlink synchronizations from RRH 126a (beam1) and RRH 126b (beam2), and based on the propagation delay difference that involves both first and second downlink synchronizations being compared with a cyclic prefix length, the TA value cannot be reused because it exceeds the CP length, where the solution is to perform autonomous timing adjustment] The network may configure the UE 110 with a set of reference signals to monitor quality or signal strength of certain reference signals (RSS) e.g., representing DL radio beams for the beam management purpose. The set of reference signals may include a list of synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources. At the operation 220, the UE 110 may periodically receive the DL RSs from the RRHs 126a, 126b, 126c. At 222, the UE 110 may evaluate DL propagation delay values from the RRHs 126a, 126b to the UE 110 based on the received DL RSs and obtain a DL propagation delay difference (dPD) between the RRH 126a and the RRH 126b. & ¶0068-¶0070 Referring to FIG. 5, at 310, the UE 110 may switch from a first beam Beam1 operated by the first RRH 126a to a second beam Beam2 operated by the second RRH 126b. As discussed above, the UE 110 may perform beam switching in response to a TCI state change command received from the base station 120. In some example embodiments, the UE 110 may perform autonomous Rx beam switching for example when the UE 110 finds a candidate Rx beam better than the serving Rx beam. At 320, the UE 110 may perform autonomous timing adjustment based on a timing difference between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b. In some example embodiment, the propagation delay difference dPD between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b may be used as an example of the timing difference, based on which the UE 110 may autonomously adjust its uplink timing so that UL transmission, when it is received at the RRH 126b, will align to the DL timing at the RRH 126b. As discussed above, the UE 110 can get in DL synchronization with the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b by receiving DL RSs such as SSB and/or CSI-RS and evaluate the propagation delay difference dPD between the first RRH 126a and the second RRH 126b. Then the UE 110 may transmit assistant information related to the timing difference to the second RRH 126b for the TA alignment purpose at 330. In some example embodiment, the assistance information may be requested by the network e.g. after beam switch has been performed (not illustrated in the figure). Based on the assistant information related to the timing difference, the base station 120 can update the TA value for the UE 110 so as to align with the TA maintained at the UE 110. [i.e. based on the comparison of propagation delay difference which involves the second downlink synchronization exceeding a cyclic prefix length, autonomous timing adjustment is performed, during which the UE transmits assistant information related to the timing difference to the second RRH 126b for TA alignment purposes at step 330 (reporting information related to the difference value)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Dalsgaard’s teaching of the reporting information comprising a difference value, because it would enable the UE and base station to compensate for the propagation delay difference between the devices and signals through autonomous timing adjustment during beam change. (see Dalsgaard ¶0027)
Claim 16 is directed towards a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh combined with Dalsgaard, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0205085 A1), hereinafter referred to as Li, further in view of Chin (US 2012/0275329 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chin”, further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0219717 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Lee-2”, and further in view of Islam et al. (US 2018/0049116 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Islam”.
Re. Claim 3, Singh combined with Dalsgaard teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: further comprising: based on each of SS/PBCH block corresponding a different beam of the base station, measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) value; based on the RSRP value, selecting one or more candidate beams among multiple beams of the base station;
However, in the analogous art, Li teaches:
further comprising: based on each of SS/PBCH block corresponding a different beam of the base station, measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) value; (Fig. 2 [i.e. steps 1B and 4B both involve measurement of RSRP for DL signals from candidate beams] & ¶0117-¶0118 At step 1A, DL Tx beam sweeping may be performed by the TRP/gNB. Each DL beam contain DL RS, e.g. DL-RS1 on beam DLTx_1, beam ID or indication, e.g., “DTx1” for beam DLTx_1, power of the RS, etc. At step 1B, a DL measurement of each DL beam is conducted (e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Received signal Strength Indication (RSSI), or Channel Quality Indication (CQI) measurement of the DL RS1 on DL beam DLTx_1). & ¶0122 At step 4B, DL measurement is conducted with different Rx beams and DL Rx beam selection with DLTx_m may be performed by the UE based on the measurement. & ¶0151-¶0152 At step 1A, the TRP/gNB may be configured to perform a DL SS burst with SS blocks each containing PSS/SSS/PBCH. At step 1B, the UE may be configured to perform SS beam selection based on the received synchronization signal measurement such as RSRP, RSSI, etc. measured from the Synchronization Signal (SS), and then decodes the PBCH of the selected SS beam)
based on the RSRP value, selecting one or more candidate beams among multiple beams of the base station; (¶0117-¶0118 FIG. 2 At step 1A, DL Tx beam sweeping may be performed by the TRP/gNB. Each DL beam contain DL RS, e.g. DL-RS1 on beam DLTx_1, beam ID or indication, e.g., “DTx1” for beam DLTx_1, power of the RS, etc. At step 1B, a DL measurement of each DL beam is conducted (e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Received signal Strength Indication (RSSI), or Channel Quality Indication (CQI) measurement of the DL RS1 on DL beam DLTx_1). DL Tx beam selection may be performed by the UE as well as the candidate beam monitoring list update, based on the DL measurement [i.e. selecting a candidate beam based on RSRP measurement] & ¶0122 At step 4B, DL measurement is conducted with different Rx beams and DL Rx beam selection with DLTx_m may be performed by the UE based on the measurement.)
wherein the reporting information comprises (¶0119 At step 2, the best beam DLTx_m may be reported by the UE to the TRP/gNB with the UL RS (e.g., Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) or Sound Reference signal (SRS) on UL for UL-RSm), beam ID (e.g., DLTxm with index m), as well as the measure result (e.g., RSRP, CQI, etc.), spatial relationship (e.g., QCL type), and the monitoring candidate beam list, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh and Dalsgaard’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Li’s teaching of selecting one or more candidate beams based on RSRP values, because it would enable downlink beam selection based on the measurement (see Li ¶0122)
Yet, the references do not explicitly teach: and selecting, as the second beam, a beam corresponding to the smallest value among difference values between downlink synchronization associated with each of the one or more candidate beams and the first downlink synchronization,
However, in the analogous art, Chin teaches:
and selecting, as the second beam, a beam corresponding to the smallest value among difference values between downlink synchronization associated with each of the one or more candidate beams and the first downlink synchronization, (¶0029 FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a Node B 310 in communication with a UE 350 in a RAN 300. The one or more smart antenna 334 may be implemented with beam steering bidirectional adaptive antenna arrays or other similar beam technologies. & ¶0051-¶0053 In step 606, the UE may measure a system frame number (SFN)-to-SFN observed time difference between each neighbor cell found in step 604 and the reference cell. The SFN-SFN observed time difference is defined as the arrival time of a frame boundary of a neighbor cell relative to the reference cell. The SFN-SFN observed time difference is positive if the frame boundary of the neighbor cell is detected to be received later than the frame boundary of the reference cell. In step 608, if the UE determines there are neighbor cells with negative observed time difference values, then operation continues with step 610. In step 610, the UE chooses the neighbor cell with the most negative SFN-SFN observed time difference value. A negative value in observed time difference in step 610 indicates that the UE is closer to this neighbor cell than the reference cell [i.e. neighbor cell (beam) is selected, which corresponds to the smallest value among difference values associated with arrival time of frame boundary from neighbor cell (second DL signal) and reference cell (first DL signal)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh, Dalsgaard, and Li’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Chin’s teaching of selecting a beam corresponding to a smallest value among difference values between downlink synchronization associated with candidate beams, because it would enable the device to determine a beam that is closer in proximity than other candidate beams. (see Chin ¶0053)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the reporting information comprises the difference value.
However, in the analogous art, Lee-2 further teaches:
wherein the reporting information comprises the difference value. (Claim 29. transmitting, to the BS, information related to a propagation delay difference (PDD) for the plurality of synchronization signals & ¶0054 The MS 300 [i.e. mobile station] may transmit PDD information to the BS 200 through an uplink control signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh, Dalsgaard, Li, and Chin’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Lee-2’s teaching of the reporting information comprising a difference value, because it would enable the base station to compensate for the propagation delay difference between the signals. (see Lee-2 ¶0055)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the reporting information comprises a SS/PBCH block index corresponding to the second beam,
However, in the analogous art, Islam teaches:
wherein the reporting information comprises a SS/PBCH block index corresponding to the second beam, UE 115-a may measure an RSRP of a received signal transmitted on a synchronization signal block (e.g., where a combination of one or more synchronization signals are transmitted together in a certain direction) to identify the best signal. [i.e. best signal corresponds to second beam] In cases where UE 115-a is unable to determine a strongest port associated with a certain symbol, UE 115-a may indicate or convey a best SS block index or the preferred DL beam to base station 105-a [i.e. indicating/reporting SS block index of best signal (best beam) to base station])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh, Dalsgaard, Li, Chin, and Lee-2’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Islam’s teaching of the reporting information comprising a SS/PBCH block index for the second beam, because it would enable the device to identify the best signal through RSRP measurement of synchronization signals. (see Islam ¶0072)
Claim 10 is directed towards a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3.
Claim 17 is directed towards a device claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 3. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh combined with Dalsgaard, and further in view of Miao et al. (US 2022/0369254 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Miao”, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2023/0075088 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Gao”.
Re. Claim 4, Singh combined with Dalsgaard teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein indexes corresponding to range of difference value is pre-defined based on the first downlink synchronization, and wherein the reporting information comprises an index corresponding to the obtained difference value.
However, in the analogous art, Miao teaches:
wherein indexes corresponding to range of difference value is pre-defined based on the first downlink synchronization, (¶0025 For Case 1, the IAB node uses the same method as a UE to determine the uplink transmission (e.g., UL Tx) timing, that is, for the IAB node, an advance amount for UL Tx timing UL.sub.Tx relative to (e.g., with respect to) downlink reception (e.g., DL Rx) timing DL.sub.Rx is (N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA,offset).Math.T.sub.c. Accordingly, UL.sub.Tx=DL.sub.Rx−(N.sub.TA+N.sub.TA,offset).Math.T.sub.c. & ¶0035 The IAB node uses at least one of several methods to determine the time difference information. In some embodiments, the first node (e.g., IAB node) determines one of (a) the table, (b) whether to offset, or (c) whether to reverse based on configuration information of one of (1) indication information, (2) timing mode, [i.e. downlink reception timing DL Rx is first downlink synchronization, which involves timing mode such as Case 1 above that involves the DL Rx which is considered a first downlink synchronization] & ¶0047 the second information indicates the first time difference value (e.g., T.sub.delta value) through an index (e.g., T.sub.delta index). In some embodiments, a T.sub.delta index points to a particular T.sub.delta value in a selected/determined T.sub.delta value range. [i.e. time difference values represented as indexes that correspond to a particular (pre-defined) range of T-delta values which are also called the difference values])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh and Dalsgaard’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Miao’s teaching of indexes corresponding to a range of difference values are pre-defined, because it would allow the device to determine a time difference information according to the range of time difference information. (see Miao ¶0036)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and wherein the reporting information comprises an index corresponding to the obtained difference value.
However, in the analogous art, Gao teaches:
and wherein the reporting information comprises an index corresponding to the obtained difference value. (¶0101-¶0105 The report may include/provide/indicate/specify at least one RS index. [0102] The at least one RS index may comprise at least one or a combination of: a RS resource index, a RS resource set index, a RS resource setting index, and/or a reporting configuration index. [0103] The timestamp and/or time-difference information may be associated/related with the at least one RS index. [0104] If the time-difference information comprises the time difference between receive timing and transmit timing, and/or the time difference between transmit timing and receive timing, the time-difference information may be associated with one of the at least one RS index. [0105] If the time-difference information comprises a reference signal time difference, the time-difference information may be associated/related with more than one RS index of the at least one RS index.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh, Dalsgaard, and Miao’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Gao’s teaching of the reporting information comprising an index corresponding to the difference value, because it would enable the device to associate the time-difference between a candidate DL RS/TRP and the reference DL RS/TRP with at least one RS index. (See Gao ¶0082)
Claims 11 and 18 are directed towards a method and device claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 4. Therefore, claims 11 and 18 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 4.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh combined with Dalsgaard, Li, Chin, Lee-2, Islam, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0295302 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Matsumura”.
Re. Claim 5, Singh combined with Dalsgaard, Li, Chin, Lee-2, and Islam, teaches claim 3.
Dalsgaard further teaches:
wherein the reporting information comprises (¶0070 the UE 110 may transmit assistant information related to the timing difference to the second RRH 126b for the TA alignment purpose at 330. In some example embodiment, the assistance information may be requested by the network e.g. after beam switch has been performed (not illustrated in the figure). Based on the assistant information related to the timing difference, the base station 120 can update the TA value for the UE 110 so as to align with the TA maintained at the UE 110 [i.e. assistant information (reporting information) comprises information related to the timing difference which is used for updating the TA value. Therefore, the assistant information reads on comprising the TA value since the information is directly used to update said value])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh, Dalsgaard, Li, Chin, and Islam’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Dalsgaard’s teaching of the reporting information comprising 1-bit information indicating a difference value, because it would enable the UE and base station to compensate for the propagation delay difference between the devices and signals through autonomous timing adjustment during beam change. (see Dalsgaard ¶0027)
Li further teaches:
wherein the reporting information comprises a reference signal received power (RSRP) value, the best beam DLTx_m may be reported by the UE to the TRP/gNB with the UL RS (e.g., Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) or Sound Reference signal (SRS) on UL for UL-RSm), beam ID (e.g., DTxm with index m), as well as the measure result (e.g., RSRP, CQI, etc.), spatial relationship (e.g., QCL type), and the monitoring candidate beam list, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh, Dalsgaard, Chin, Lee-2 and Islam’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Li’s teaching of selecting one or more candidate beams based on RSRP values, because it would enable downlink beam selection based on the measurement (see Li ¶0122)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the reporting information comprises 1-bit information indicating that the SS/PBCH block index corresponding to the second beam,
However, in the analogous art, Matsumura teaches:
wherein the reporting information comprises 1-bit information indicating that the SS/PBCH block index corresponding to the second beam, (¶0048 Information of a beam may be notified by using a beam index (BI) & ¶0062 In FIG. 2, the UE notifies of the occurrence of the beam failure on the uplink control channel (PUCCH) in the first step (or step 1 ). It is assumed that the UE reports at least one of the information related to the cell in which the beam failure is detected and the information related to the new candidate beam, by using a MAC control element (for example, a MAC CE) in the second step (or step 1 ).& ¶0075 The format of the MAC CE used by the UE for transmission of beam failure detected cell/new candidate beam information may have a configuration including at least a first field indicating presence or absence of detection of a beam failure for each serving cell and a second field indicating information related to a new candidate beam for a cell in which a beam failure is detected (refer to FIG. 4). & ¶0086 In a case where the NBI is configured at “0”, this may indicate that a new candidate beam is present. In such a case, the corresponding second field (RS or resource ID) may be configured to have a bit value corresponding to the new candidate beam. Note that “1” and “0” may be appropriately interchanged in the third field (NBI). & ¶0114 In a case where the NBI is configured at “0”, this may indicate that a new candidate beam based on the SSB is present. [i.e. NBI (new beam index), considered information indicating the SS synchronization signal block index of candidate beam (second beam), and is within reporting information from the UE] In such a case, the corresponding second field for the SSB (for example, the SSB index) may be configured to have a bit value corresponding to the new candidate beam. In this case, the bit value corresponding to a new candidate beam for a given secondary cell (for example, the j+l-th SCell) with the first field (Ci ) being configured at “1” is configured in the second field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh, Dalsgaard, Li, Chin, Lee-2, and Islam’s methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment system with large number of antennas to include Matsumura’s teaching of the reporting information comprising 1-bit information for indicating SS/PBCH block index for the second beam, because it would enable the device to identify whether or not a new candidate beam is present based on reference synchronization signals. (see Matsumura ¶0112)
Claim 12 is directed towards a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5.
Claim 19 is directed towards a device claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh combined with Dalsgaard, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0053182 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Choi”.
Re. Claim 6, Singh combined with Dalsgaard teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the information on the TA value is on medium access control element (MAC CE) command comprising information indicating a change from the first beam to the second beam.
However, in the analogous art, Choi teaches:
wherein the information on the TA value is on medium access control element (MAC CE) command (¶0083 the TA command update is received as a value of 6 bits through the MAC-CE)
comprising information indicating a change from the first beam to the second beam. (¶0133 FIG. 4B illustrates a TA command update message according to an embodiment. Specifically, FIG. 4B illustrates a TA command update message for discriminating different TA command updates for beam groups. TA updates for beams are possible using an additional beam tag. In FIG. 4B, R1 indicates 2 bits used for the existing reserve or cell TAG, and R2 indicates a bit that is set to 0 or 1 as the beam is changed and can perform TA command updates for beam groups. & ¶0136 Option 2 corresponds to a method in which TA commands for beams are equally operated with one value, and only an offset value due to the beam change is indicated and updated. In notifying the TA value for a new beam in the existing RAR, not all of the TA command values are notified, but a TA command update message corresponding to the offset difference between the new beam and the existing beam is notified. Further, if the beam is changed in the TA command update state, the TA command update is indicated as corresponding to the difference between the TA value of the existing beam and the TA value of the changed beam. [i.e. TA command update comprises beam tag R2 which indicates a beam change])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh and Dalsgaard’s invention of methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment in system with large number of antennas to include Choi’s teaching of a MAC CE command including TA information because it would enable beam change information to be included in a TA command update message. (see Choi ¶0136)
Claims 13 and 20 are directed towards a method and device claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 4. Therefore, claims 13 and 20 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 4.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh combined with Dalsgaard, and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2023/0422202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Manolakos”.
Re. Claim 7, Singh combined with Dalsgaard teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: further comprising receiving configuration information comprising a request to report the information associated with the difference value.
However, in the analogous art, Manolakos teaches:
further comprising receiving configuration information comprising a request to report the information associated with the difference value. (¶0176-¶0177 the serving base station may determine whether or not to send a request to the UE to feedback any autonomous TA corrections performed by the UE, or any timing adjustments related to the SRS transmitted performed by the UE during the preferred window. In this case, the serving base station may include a request for feedback of timing adjustments, [i.e. a request send from the base station comprising a request for feedback of timing adjustments (request for information associated with time difference)] together with a timing window during which the UE is to report only the relevant timing adjustments. The timing adjustments may be related to a timing advance (TA) maintained by a UE to ensure uplink transmission from the UE has a fixed time difference to downlink transmission time at the serving base station as received at the UE. [i.e. timing adjustment is information associated with the difference value] The TA may be determined by a serving base station and provided to the UE to ensure that uplink transmission from the UE arrive at the serving base station with timing (as seen by the serving base station) that corresponds to, or has known fixed difference to, the transmission timing at the serving base station. The UE may periodically (e.g., autonomously) adjust its transmission timing (e.g., a UE clock) to maintain the TA—e.g., when clock timing errors in the UE cause UE transmission timing to drift relative to the transmission timing received at the UE from the serving base station. The UE can indicate the amount of timing adjustment (e.g., in nanoseconds or units of NR subframe timing) and the time relative to either the UE transmission timing or received base station transmission time (e.g., using an SFN offset) when the adjustment occurred.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Singh and Dalsgaard’s invention of methods and apparatus for uplink timing alignment in system with large number of antennas to include Manolakos’s teaching of receiving a request for timing alignment information associated with the difference value, because it would enable the UE to indicate the amount of timing adjustment necessary to ensure the uplink transmission arrives. (see Manolakos ¶0177)
Claim 14 is directed towards a method claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ognenoski et al. (US 2025/0393027 A1); ¶0110 In msg3, all the variations such as multiple SSBs for which the criteria are met, all the SSBs for which the criteria are met as well as all RSRP (or other related measurements such as RSTD) measurements may be transmitted to the NW. In certain representative embodiments, the WTRU may report the RSRP measured for the first SSB index and/or determined reference RSRP (e.g., average RSRP) to the network in msg3. In certain representative embodiments the WTRU may indicate in msg 3 the SSB index. [i.e. teaches a terminal reporting to base station an RSRP, RSTD (reference signal time difference), and SSB index, which is pertinent to claims 3 and 5]
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417