DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 07/05/2024, said application claims a priority date of 007/06/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu-zhan (CN 109936762 A, published 01/12/2019, hereinafter “Shu-zhan”) in view of Xiong et al. (US 2021/0377618 A1, published 12/02/2021, hereinafter “Xiong”).
Independent Claims 1, 11 and 20:
Shu-zhan discloses an electronic device comprising:
a processor, and a memory [non-transitory computer readable storage medium] communicatively coupled with the processor, the memory storing computer executable instructions, the processor executing the computer executable instructions stored in the memory and configured to perform a method comprising (Shu-zhan: pages 4 and 5.):
obtaining a first video (A first video is obtained, Shu-zhan: page 2.);
obtain at least one second video and reference information corresponding to the second video, wherein the second video contains at least one target video clip, the target video clip is associated with the first video, and the reference information characterizes a playback position of the target video clip in the second video (A second video is obtained that includes a target clip associated with the first video and the timing that the video clip is presented in the second video is also obtained, Shu-zhan: pages 2, 5 and 6.); and
synchronously playing, within a target interface and based on the reference information, a first video clip in the first video and the target video clip in the corresponding second video (Shu-Zhan: Fig. 5, pages 5 and 6.).
Shu-zhan does not appear to expressly teach a device, medium and method wherein the second video and reference information is obtained by performing, based on the first video, video detection.
However, He teaches a device, medium and method wherein the second video and reference information is obtained by performing, based on the first video, video detection (He: ¶ [0077], [0083]-[0085], [0102]-[0104], [0109].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device, medium and method of Xiong wherein the second video and reference information is obtained by performing, based on the first video, video detection, as taught by Xiong.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide a more convenient means for obtaining a second video that comprises the same video segment of the first video (Xiong: ¶ [0003]-[0004], [0077], [0083]-[0085], [0102]-[0104], [0109].).
Claims 2 and 12:
The rejection of claims 1 and 11 are incorporated. Shu-zhan in view of Xiong further teaches a device and method wherein at least one of a first playback control corresponding to the first video or a second playback control corresponding to the second video is arranged within the target interface, wherein the first playback control is used for, in response to a first triggering operation, jump-playing target content in the first video clip; and the second playback control is used for, in response to the first triggering operation, playing the target content in the target video clip, the first triggering operation being an operation with respect to the first playback control or the second playback control (As constructed, the claims only require either the first playback control or the second playback control and the triggering operation to be on either the first playback control or the second playback control. Accordingly, the claim could under BRI require only the second playback control corresponding to the second video that causes the target video to play when a triggering operation is received in the second playback control. Shu-zhan teaches that the user can provide an input to play both videos, as such the playback controls “correspond” to the second video (as well as the first), and the play button when selected would cause the target content to play in the second video, Shu-zhan: Figs. 3-5, page 5.).
Claims 3 and 13:
The rejection of claim 1 and 11 are incorporated. Shu-zhan in view of Xiong further teaches a device and method wherein the target video clip is associated with the first video, comprising: the target video clip having a high similarity with the first video clip in the first video (Shu-zhan: pages 5 and 6; Xiong: ¶ [0102], [0104]).
Claims 7 and 17:
The rejection of claim 1 and 11 are incorporated. Shu-zhan in view of Xiong further teaches a device and method wherein performing, based on the first video, video detection to obtain at least one second video and reference information corresponding to the second vide comprises:
obtaining a target image frame in the first video (Image frames are extracted from the first video (target image frames), Xiong: ¶ [0104]);
detecting, based on the target image frame, at least one to-be-detected video to obtain at least one second video, the second video at least containing a matching image frame corresponding to the target image frame, an image similarity between the matching image frame and the target image frame being greater than a first threshold (To obtain the second video with the same video segment content, features are extracted from the extracted image frames in order to match beyond a similarity threshold to image frames in the second video, Xiong: ¶ [0102], [0104].); and
obtaining, based on a playback timestamp of the matching image frame, the reference information corresponding to the second video (Xiong: ¶ [0109].).
Claim 10:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Shu-Zhan in view of Xiong further teaches a method further comprising:
obtaining a variable-speed coefficient corresponding to the target video clip, the variable-speed coefficient characterizing a video content playback rate of the target video clip relative to the first video clip (Shu-Zhan: page 5 starting from fifth paragraph and page 6 before claim section.); and
obtaining, according to the variable-speed coefficient, a target playback speed of the first video clip (Shu-Zhan: page 5 starting from fifth paragraph and page 6 before claim section.); and
wherein synchronously playing, within a target interface, a first video clip in the first video and the target video clip in the corresponding second video comprises:
playing, based on the target playback speed and within the target interface, the first video clip in the first video (Shu-Zhan: page 5 starting from fifth paragraph and page 6 before claim section.).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu-zhan in view of Xiong and further in view of He et al. (US 2021/0058667 A1, published 02/25/2021, hereinafter “He”)
Claims 9 and 19:
The rejection of claims 7 and 17 are incorporated. Shu-zhan in view of Xiong does not appear to expressly teach a device and method wherein:
the target image frame comprises at least two consecutive key frames in the first video;
detecting, based on the target image frame, the at least one to-be-detected video to obtain at least one second video comprises:
obtaining, based on a time interval between the at least two consecutive key frames, a corresponding number of second image frames in the to-be-detected video; and
obtaining an image similarity between the key frames and the corresponding second image frames;
in response to the number of second image frames with the image similarity greater than the first threshold being greater than a second number, determining the to-be-detected video corresponding to the second image frame as the second video.
However, He teaches a device and method wherein:
the target image frame comprises at least two consecutive key frames in the first video (He: ¶ [0100]);
detecting, based on the target image frame, the at least one to-be-detected video to obtain at least one second video comprises:
obtaining, based on a time interval between the at least two consecutive key frames, a corresponding number of second image frames in the to-be-detected video (He: ¶ [0100], [0109]); and
obtaining an image similarity between the key frames and the corresponding second image frames (He: ¶ [0100]-[0101]);
in response to the number of second image frames with the image similarity greater than the first threshold being greater than a second number, determining the to-be-detected video corresponding to the second image frame as the second video (He: ¶ [0106]-[0107].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device and method of Shu-Zhan in view of Xiong wherein:
the target image frame comprises at least two consecutive key frames in the first video;
detecting, based on the target image frame, the at least one to-be-detected video to obtain at least one second video comprises:
obtaining, based on a time interval between the at least two consecutive key frames, a corresponding number of second image frames in the to-be-detected video; and
obtaining an image similarity between the key frames and the corresponding second image frames;
in response to the number of second image frames with the image similarity greater than the first threshold being greater than a second number, determining the to-be-detected video corresponding to the second image frame as the second video, as taught by He.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the accuracy of the segment matching by reducing false-positive rates (He: ¶ [0100]-[0107].)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, 14-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure.
Oguchi et al., US 2017/0025038 A1 (The synchronous playback interface has a set of playback controls for the first video and a set of playback controls for the second video, Fig. 2, [0037], [0042].)
Diaz, US 2024/0155069 A1 (The user interface can synchronously play videos for review, ¶ [0022])
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178