DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 11/3/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN 109005854) in view of Conklin (WO 2018/071883) (cited by applicant in IDS dated 7/5/24) and Brant et al. (US 2019/0022586).
Regarding Claim 1, Guo discloses an irrigation system comprising:
a pressurized water source (water supply pump 301);
porous irrigation tubing (“The invention relates to the use of porous tube or pipe with nozzle installed at the field of watering device on the ground” Page 1 of translation; drip irrigators 406; Figure 1), the irrigation system configured to selectively couple the pressurized water source to a header (irrigation pipe 400) of the porous irrigation tubing via a second path (200; Figure 1), or a third path (300; Figure 1);
the second path including at least one injector (injecting pipes 204 and injecting pumps 205) and a second pressure regulator (butterfly valve 310) disposed between the pressurized water source and the porous irrigation tubing (Figure 1), each of the at least one injectors configured to inject an amendment into the second path (fertilizer tanks 100; Figures 1 and 2), outputs of the at least one injectors coupled to an input of the second pressure regulator, the second pressure regulator being configured to output a second fluid pressure to the header (Figure 1),
the third path (300) including a bypass valve coupling the pressurized water source to the input of the second pressure regulator and bypassing the at least one injector (“the main water pipe one end 201 orderly connected with the main water supply pipe of the electromagnetic valve 309 to the front end 300 through the check valve 202 and the first throttle valve 206a, the other end orderly connected with the electromagnetic valve 309 of the water supply pipe 300” Page 4 Paragraph 4 of translation).
Guo fails to disclose subsurface microporous irrigation tubing, the irrigation system configured to selectively couple the pressurized water source to a header of the subsurface microporous irrigation tubing via a first path; the first path including a first pressure regulator disposed between the pressurized water source and the subsurface microporous irrigation tubing, the first pressure regulator being configured to output a first fluid pressure to the header; the second fluid pressure being higher than the first fluid pressure; a recirculation valve coupled to a footer of the subsurface microporous irrigation tubing and the input of the second pressure regulator; and a recirculation pump coupled between the recirculation valve and the second pressure regulator.
However, Conklin teaches a similar irrigation system comprising: subsurface microporous irrigation tubing (Abstract), the irrigation system configured to selectively couple the fluid source (inlet 505) to a header of the subsurface microporous irrigation tubing (outlet 535) via a first path or a second path (via 525 or 530; Figure 5), the first path including a first pressure regulator (first pressure regulator 525) disposed between the pressurized water source and the subsurface microporous irrigation tubing (Figure 5), the first pressure regulator being configured to output a first fluid pressure to the header (Paragraph [0047]); the second path including a second pressure regulator (second pressure regulator 530) disposed between the pressurized water source and the subsurface microporous irrigation tubing (Figure 5), the second pressure regulator being configured to output a second fluid pressure to the header (Paragraph [0047]); the second fluid pressure being higher than the first fluid pressure (Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second and third path of Guo, with the first path with a first pressure regulator as taught by Conklin, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for a wider variety of options for irrigation conditions when directing the water to the plants.
Additionally, Brant teaches an irrigation system comprising a recirculation valve coupled to a footer of the irrigation tubing and the input of the second pressure regulator (shown in annotated Figure 1 below); and a recirculation pump coupled between the recirculation valve and the second pressure regulator (“one or more pumps 106 may be included to cycle the diluted draw solution through the system at a predetermined flow rate and hydraulic pressure” Paragraph [0023]; shown in annotated Figure 1 below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the irrigation system of Guo, with the recirculation valve and pump of Brant, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help decrease overall waste in the system, be allowing the water and excess nutrients in the system to be reused.
Regarding Claim 15, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 1. Guo further discloses the irrigation system, further comprising: a controller configured to output signals to control operation of the irrigation system (central control system Page 6 last Paragraph of translation).
Regarding Claim 17, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 15.
Guo fails to explicitly disclose the irrigation system, wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of one or more valves that selectively couple the pressurized water source to the first path, the second path, or the third path.
However, Conklin teaches the irrigation system, wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of one or more valves (diverter 515) that selectively couple the pressurized water source to the different paths (“operating pressure could be automatically adjusted, for example based on a predicted growth cycle for a particular crop, or according to crop amendment instructions from a smart farming system informed by sensor data” Paragraph [0045]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the paths of Guo, with the controller controlling the valve to each path as taught by Conklin, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation conditions needed for healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 18, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 15.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system of claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of the recirculation valve, the recirculation pump, the first pressure regulator, or the second pressure regulator.
However, Conklin teaches the irrigation system, wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of the recirculation valve, the recirculation pump, the first pressure regulator, or the second pressure regulator (“operating pressure could be automatically adjusted, for example based on a predicted growth cycle for a particular crop, or according to crop amendment instructions from a smart farming system informed by sensor data” Paragraph [0045] the limitation is stated in the alternative using “or” and Conklin controls the first or second pressure regulator).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the paths of Guo, with the controller controlling the pressure regulators as taught by Conklin, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation conditions needed for healthy growth.
Claims 2, 7-12, 14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Conklin and Brant as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kneussle (US 2010/0299994).
Regarding Claim 2, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 1.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, further comprising a reservoir disposed in the second path and coupled between the outputs of the at least one injectors and the input of the second pressure regulator.
However, Kneussle teaches an irrigation system comprising a reservoir disposed in the second path and coupled between the outputs of the at least one injectors and the input of the second pressure regulator (a device 24 for mixing gas and liquids; Paragraph [0061]; Figure 1A, 24 is between liquid supply 22a and pressure regulator 21).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second path of Guo, with the reservoir of Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help create a more uniform liquid supply before application to the plants.
Regarding Claim 7, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 1.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, further comprising: a chiller/heater coupled between the output of the at least one injector of the second path and the second pressure regulator, wherein the chiller/heater is configured to selectively chill and heat fluid passing through the chiller/heater.
However, Kneussle teaches an irrigation system further comprising: a chiller/heater coupled between the output of the at least one injector of the second path and the second pressure regulator (tempering device 26 Paragraph [0073] between liquid injector 22 and pressure regulator 21), wherein the chiller/heater is configured to selectively chill and heat fluid passing through the chiller/heater (“The tempering device 26 can be designed for cooling, heating or optionally cooling or heating.” Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second path of Guo, with the heater/chiller of Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation temperatures needed for healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 8, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 7.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, wherein the chiller/heater is also coupled between an output of the third path and the second pressure regulator.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the third path of Guo, and the chiller/heater of Kneussle, to have the heater/chiller coupled to the third path, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for a wider variety of options for irrigation conditions when directing the water to the plants, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C); In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding Claim 9, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 7.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, wherein the chiller/heater is either a chiller that is configured to selectively chill the fluid passing through the chiller or a heater that is configured to selectively heat the fluid passing through the heater.
However, Kneussle teaches the irrigation system, wherein the chiller/heater is either a chiller that is configured to selectively chill the fluid passing through the chiller or a heater that is configured to selectively heat the fluid passing through the heater (“The tempering device 26 can be designed for cooling, heating or optionally cooling or heating.” Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the irrigation system of Guo, with the heater and chiller of Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation temperatures needed for healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 10, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 7.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, further comprising: a controller configured to output signals to control operation of the chiller/heater.
However, Kneussle teaches the irrigation system, further comprising: a controller configured to output signals to control operation of the chiller/heater (control unit 28; Figure 1; “These valves and adjustment elements of the supply unit 20 are controlled, for example, by a control unit 28 in the corresponding way” Paragraph [0075]; tempering device 26 is a part of supply unit 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the irrigation system of Guo, with the controller connected to the heater and chiller of Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation temperatures needed for healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 11, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 2.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, further comprising: a chiller/heater coupled to the reservoir and configured to selectively chill and heat fluid passing through the chiller/heater.
However, Kneussle teaches the irrigation system, further comprising: a chiller/heater coupled to the reservoir and configured to selectively chill and heat fluid passing through the chiller/heater (tempering device 26; Paragraph [0073] connected to mixing device 24; Figures 1 and 1A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second path of Guo, with the reservoir and heater/chiller of Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper and more uniform irrigation temperatures needed for healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 12, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 11.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, wherein the chiller/heater is either a chiller that is configured to selectively chill the fluid passing through the chiller or a heater that is configured to selectively heat the fluid passing through the heater.
However, Kneussle teaches the irrigation system, wherein the chiller/heater is either a chiller that is configured to selectively chill the fluid passing through the chiller or a heater that is configured to selectively heat the fluid passing through the heater (“The tempering device 26 can be designed for cooling, heating or optionally cooling or heating.” Paragraph [0073]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second path of Guo, with the reservoir and heater/chiller of Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper and more uniform irrigation temperatures needed for healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 14, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 2.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, further comprising: a second recirculation pump coupled between the recirculation valve and the reservoir.
However, Brant teaches an irrigation system, further comprising: a second recirculation pump coupled between the recirculation valve and the reservoir (shown in annotated Figure 1 below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the irrigation system of Guo, with the second recirculation pump as taught by Brant, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the liquid is being full circulated throughout the system, without becoming stagnant in one area, as well as to increase the overall efficiency of the system through the use of multiple pumps.
Regarding Claim 16, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 15.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, further comprising: one or more sensors that detect one or more plant stress conditions and provide data to the controller regarding the one or more plant stress conditions.
However, Kneussle teaches the irrigation system, further comprising: one or more sensors that detect one or more plant stress conditions and provide data to the controller regarding the one or more plant stress conditions (Paragraph [0077]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Guo, with the plant stress condition sensors of Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants are receiving the proper irrigation, depending on the plant and weather conditions, in order to maintain healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 19, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 16.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of one or more valves that selectively couple the pressurized water source to the first path, the second path, or the third path based on the data from the one or more sensors regarding the one or more plant stress conditions.
However, Conklin teaches the irrigation system wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of one or more valves (diverter 515) that selectively couple the pressurized water source to the first path, the second path, or the third path based on the data from the one or more sensors (“operating pressure could be automatically adjusted, for example based on a predicted growth cycle for a particular crop, or according to crop amendment instructions from a smart farming system informed by sensor data” Paragraph [0045]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the paths of Guo, with the controller controlling the valve to each path as taught by Conklin, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation conditions needed for healthy growth.
Additionally, Kneussle teaches wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of one or more valves based on the data from the one or more sensors regarding the one or more plant stress conditions (“These valves and adjustment elements of the supply unit 20 are controlled, for example, by a control unit 28 in the corresponding way. The control unit 28 preferably has a storage device in which the user can store the plant-care conditions and cycles of the vegetation layers 32 he wants, so that the care is automatic.” Paragraph [0075]; Paragraph [0077]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Guo, with the controller controlling systems based on plant stress condition sensors as taught by Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants are receiving the proper irrigation, depending on the plant and weather conditions, in order to maintain healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 20, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 16.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of the recirculation valve, the recirculation pump, the first pressure regulator, or the second pressure regulator based on the data from the one or more sensors regarding the one or more plant stress conditions.
However, Conklin teaches the irrigation system, wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of the recirculation valve, the recirculation pump, the first pressure regulator, or the second pressure regulator based on the data from the one or more sensors (“operating pressure could be automatically adjusted, for example based on a predicted growth cycle for a particular crop, or according to crop amendment instructions from a smart farming system informed by sensor data” Paragraph [0045]; the limitation is stated in the alternative using “or” and Conklin controls the first or second pressure regulator)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the paths of Guo, with the controller controlling the pressure regulators as taught by Conklin, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation conditions needed for healthy growth.
Additionally, Kneussle teaches wherein the controller is configured to output signals to control the operation of the pressure regulator based on the data from the one or more sensors regarding the one or more plant stress conditions (pressure regulator 21 attached to controller 28; Figure 1; Paragraph [0077]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Guo, with the controller controlling systems based on plant stress condition sensors as taught by Kneussle, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants are receiving the proper irrigation, depending on the plant and weather conditions, in order to maintain healthy growth.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Conklin, Brant, and Kneussle as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Miyaki (WO 2010/029993)
Regarding Claim 13, Guo as modified teaches the irrigation system of claim 11.
Guo fails to disclose the irrigation system, further comprising: a pump coupled between the reservoir and an input to the chiller/heater and configured to move fluid from the reservoir into the chiller/heater.
However, Miyaki teaches an irrigation system further comprising: a pump (P5) coupled between the reservoir (supply tank 44) and an input to the chiller/heater (heating/cooling device 65) and configured to move fluid from the reservoir into the chiller/heater (Figure 3; Page 3 Paragraph 8 of translation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Guo, with the reservoir and heater/chiller system with a pump between them as taught by Miyaki, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plants receive the proper irrigation temperatures needed for healthy growth, while ensuring the liquid is being full circulated throughout the system, without becoming stagnant in one area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mazzei (US 7040839), McCann (US 5074708), Lange (US 2021/0007275), and Fu (US 2018/0132434) are considered relevant prior art as they pertain to similar irrigation systems
/A.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642