DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 and 41-100 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-40 are pending and under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the preamble “a method”. This is indefinite because it is unclear what the method is used for. That is, applicant describes one thing in the specification but claims another. Thus, applicant fails to claim what they regard as the invention as required under 112(b). Amending the claim to indicate the purpose of the method would obviate the rejection.
Claim 21 recites “an effective amount”; however, neither the remaining text of the claim nor the specification provide definitive guidance as to what the amount is effective for, therefore the amount of chlorite salt that must be administered in methods falling within the scope of the invention is unclear and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 22 recites “at least six months after the administering”. This phrase renders the claim indefinite because there is no upper limit on duration between administering the chlorite salt and the measurement of telomere length in a stem cell. As such, one having ordinary skill cannot unambiguously ascertain the meets and bounds of the claim.
The term “substantially ” in claim 28 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such the amount of preservative permitted is unclear and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 36 recites “in each following month”. This renders the claim indefinite because there is no upper limit on the duration for which the chlorite salt is administered.
Claims 37 and 38 both recite “about every day”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what time frame is embraced by the phrase.
Claim 40 recites “providing additional administrations of the chlorite salt to the subject based at least in part on the telomere length”. This language is indefinite because it requires a conditional active step of providing additional administrations without clearly identifying the conditions under which the active step must be taken or avoided.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGrath et al. US20170106017; publication date: 04/20/2017; cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025) in view of Hochstrasser et al. (Experimental Gerontology 47 (2012) 160-163) and further in view of Weng (Current Opinion in Immunology 2012 24:470-475).
With regard to claim 1, McGrath discloses a method of treating conditions impacted by macrophages by administering a chlorite salt and using biomarkers for selection of responders and treatment monitoring (abstract, 0075). McGrath teaches chlorite has been used to treat macrophage-related diseases such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and Alzheimer's disease (AD) (0003) and the level of one or more biomarker level in the plasma can be measured in the subject during the treatment period. The measured level of biomarker can be subsequently correlated to normal and diseased levels of said biomarker and/or levels of biomarker in said subject prior to treatment (0216). The level of biomarker would typically decrease after treatment (0217). The biomarker is for monitoring inflammation progress and can be a monocyte activation marker (0220).
McGrath does not disclose evaluating telomere length in a stem cell taken from the subject after the administering.
Hochstrasser teaches that shorter telomere length of leukocytes has been linked to age-related conditions including neurodegenerative diseases and Alzheimer’s disease (page 160, left col). Long term chronic inflammation and/or oxidative stress contributes to telomere shortening in monocytes (page 162, right col). Hochstrasser suggests that monocyte telomere length in individual patients may be useful as a biomarker for personalized long-term monitoring of an individual’s health (abstract).
Weng teaches that attrition of telomers occurs during DNA replication [during cell division] and telomere length has been associated with a wide range of health conditions of immune and non-immune cells (abstract). A large body of research has established that intact telomere function is essential for cell proliferation and that impaired telomere maintenance has a severe detrimental impact for cells such as stem cells that rely on proliferation for their function (page 470, right col). There is little question that telomere length can influence bone marrow (i.e. hematopoietic stem cell) function (page 472, left col). Studies of genetic abnormalities associated with telomere impairment demonstrate a critical role of telomeres in proliferation of stem cells … thus lymphocytes with short telomeres will have a reduced ability to mount a strong and sustained immune response (page 473, right col).
It would have been prima facie obvious to measure telomere length in a stem cell, specifically a hematopoietic stem cell, as one of the biomarkers to test for response in McGrath’s method. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so as an assessment of improvement in the health of the immune system after chlorite treatment. The skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of success because this would merely require collecting the cells from the patients and testing for telomere length, and both Hochstrasser and Weng establish that methods for this were known as of the instant effective filing date.
With regard to claim 22, in McGrath’s examples efficacy was measured after 6 months of treatment therefore it would have been obvious to also test telomere length at this time.
With regard to claim 23, the chlorite source may be sodium chlorite (0140).
With regard to claims 24-27, McGrath teaches a chlorite dosing regimen (0148), of chlorite in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (0062), having a pH of about 7.0 to about 8.0 (0099), and sodium phosphate dibasic (0140).
With regard to claim 28, the concentration of chlorite may be 62 mM (0097).
With regard to claims 30 and 35, McGrath discloses administering between 1 - 2 mg/kg subject body mass of the chlorite salt (claim 23; limitation of instant claim 35) and discloses e.g. a 5.6 mg/mL sodium chlorite solution (0140). It would have been merely routine for one of ordinary skill to determine the volume required to reach a target dose for a given individual, based upon their mass. For this reason, the examiner does not consider the volume required by instant claim 30 to patentably define over the cited prior art.
With regard to claims 31-34, oral or parenteral administration (0145) and in examples the chlorite salt is infused over a time period of 30 min (0224).
With regard to claims 36 and 38, in an example method, McGrath discloses Cycle 1/Week 1 consisted of 5 consecutive daily (i.e. “about every day”) infusions. Cycles 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 ( Weeks 5, 9, 13, 17, and 21, respectively) each consisted of 3 consecutive daily infusions (0224).
With regard to claim 37, McGrath teaches that the dosing schedule consists of periods of administration alternating with periods of non-administration (0154). This would give one of ordinary skill, i.e. an individual with an advanced degree in medicine such as an M.D. or a Ph.D. a starting point to optimize the dosing regimen for tolerability and efficacy.
Instant claim 39 recites an intended outcome that the examiner considers inherent in carrying out the method rendered obvious by McGrath, Hochstrasser, and Weng because the instant specification indicates that administration of the chlorite salt formulation disclosed by McGrath has the effect of enhancing telomere length over values for this marker observed without chlorite salt administration.
With regard to claim 40, McGrath teaches assessing response by measuring biomarkers of monocyte activation and Hochstrasser and Wang render obvious evaluating response to treatment by assessment of telomere length in McGrath’s method. It would have been prima facie obvious to factor in improvement in telomere length of stem cells as another biomarker of response, and provide additional administration to those who respond to treatment.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11938147 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11938149 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11938150 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12109228 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12109229 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12109230 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12109231 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12233086 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12329776 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9364501 (cited in the IDS filed 08/25/2025);
in view of Hochstrasser et al. (Experimental Gerontology 47 (2012) 160-163) and further in view of Weng (Current Opinion in Immunology 2012 24:470-475).
Inter alia the claims of the cited patents embrace a method of administering a sodium chlorite containing composition followed by measurement of a biomarker to treat a neurodegenerative disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) or dementia.
The claims of the cited patents do not measure telomere length in a stem cell after the sodium chlorite administration step.
Hochstrasser teaches that shorter telomere length of leukocytes has been linked to age-related conditions including neurodegenerative diseases and Alzheimer’s disease (page 160, left col). Long term chronic inflammation and/or oxidative stress contributes to telomere shortening in monocytes (page 162, right col). Hochstrasser suggests that monocyte telomere length in individual patients may be useful as a biomarker for personalized long-term monitoring of an individual’s health (abstract).
Weng teaches that attrition of telomers occurs during DNA replication [for cell division] and telomere length has been associated with a wide range of health conditions of immune and non-immune cells (abstract). A large body of research has established that intact telomere function is essential for cell proliferation and that impaired telomere maintenance has a severe detrimental impact for cells such as stem cells that rely on proliferation for their function (page 470, right col). There is little question that telomere length can influence bone marrow (i.e. hematopoietic stem cell) function (page 472, left col). Studies of genetic abnormalities associated with telomere impairment demonstrate a critical role of telomeres in proliferation of stem cells … thus lymphocytes with short telomeres will have a reduced ability to mount a strong and sustained immune response (page 473, right col).
It would have been prima facie obvious to measure telomere length in a stem cell, specifically a hematopoietic stem cell, as one of the biomarkers to test for response in the methods embraced by the cited patents. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so as an assessment of improvement in the health of the immune system after chlorite treatment. The skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of success because this would merely require collecting the cells from the patients and testing for telomere length, and both Hochstrasser and Weng establish that methods for this were known as of the instant effective filing date.
Claims 21-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 46-59 of copending Application No. 18002385 in view of Hochstrasser et al. (Experimental Gerontology 47 (2012) 160-163) and further in view of Weng (Current Opinion in Immunology 2012 24:470-475).
Inter alia the claims of the cited application embrace a method of administering a sodium chlorite containing composition followed by measurement of a biomarker to treat a neurodegenerative disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).
The claims of the cited patents do not measure telomere length in a stem cell after the sodium chlorite administration step.
Hochstrasser teaches that shorter telomere length of leukocytes has been linked to age-related conditions including neurodegenerative diseases and Alzheimer’s disease (page 160, left col). Long term chronic inflammation and/or oxidative stress contributes to telomere shortening in monocytes (page 162, right col). Hochstrasser suggests that monocyte telomere length in individual patients may be useful as a biomarker for personalized long-term monitoring of an individual’s health (abstract).
Weng teaches that attrition of telomers occurs during DNA replication [for cell division] and telomere length has been associated with a wide range of health conditions of immune and non-immune cells (abstract). A large body of research has established that intact telomere function is essential for cell proliferation and that impaired telomere maintenance has a severe detrimental impact for cells such as stem cells that rely on proliferation for their function (page 470, right col). There is little question that telomere length can influence bone marrow (i.e. hematopoietic stem cell) function (page 472, left col). Studies of genetic abnormalities associated with telomere impairment demonstrate a critical role of telomeres in proliferation of stem cells … thus lymphocytes with short telomeres will have a reduced ability to mount a strong and sustained immune response (page 473, right col).
It would have been prima facie obvious to measure telomere length in a stem cell, specifically a hematopoietic stem cell, as one of the biomarkers to test for response in the methods embraced by the cited application. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so as an assessment of improvement in the health of the immune system after chlorite treatment. The skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of success because this would merely require collecting the cells from the patients and testing for telomere length, and both Hochstrasser and Weng establish that methods for this were known as of the instant effective filing date.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617