DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Regarding claims 21 and 31, the use of "type" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,671,190. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
Claims 21 and 26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,646,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
Claims 21 and 26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,573,794. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
Claims 21 and 26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,555,931. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
Claims 21 and 26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
Claims 21 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/826,553 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/122,600 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/122,547 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/764,838 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the differences do not obviate the issue of double patenting. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member (instead of a blade) connected to contact assembly in order to provide a known efficient interface to a mating connector.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tedeschi (US 9,331,427) in view of Walter (US 7,004,781).
Regarding claim 21, Tedeschi discloses an electrical wiring device 10,100 (100 shows a plurality of device 10) comprising: a housing 20 and (fig. 10 housing not numbered) having an interior that is at least partially hollow, a plurality of wire openings (fig. 10), a plurality of actuator openings (for actuator 40) and (fig. 10), and a plurality of blade openings (for blades 33), (fig. 10), wherein each of the plurality of wire openings and each of the plurality of actuator openings provides access from an exterior of a rear of the housing to the hollow portion of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of blade openings provides access from an exterior of a front of the housing to the hollow portion of the housing; and a plurality of contact assemblies 30, 30 positioned in the hollow portion of the housing such that one of the plurality of contact assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire openings, one of the plurality of actuator openings and one of the plurality of blade openings (see fig. 2); wherein each of the plurality of the contact assemblies includes: a contact member 30 aligned with the one of the plurality of blade openings in the housing; a wire terminal 32 including a clamp brace electrically connected to the contact member and a clamping member 32 electrically connected to the clamp brace 38, the clamping member being movable between a closed position where a wire can be clamped by the clamping member, and an open position where the wire can be positioned so that the clamping member can clamp the wire to the wire terminal; and an actuator 40 extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of actuator openings in the housing, the actuator being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the actuator in a first direction causes the actuator to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the actuator in a second direction moves the clamping member from the open position to the closed position.
Tedeschi discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the female contact member. Walter discloses an electrical wiring device comprising contact assemblies including a female contact member (52) aligned with one of a plurality of blade openings in the housing (10) and configured to receive a blade of a blade-type electrical plug (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member, as taught by Walter, in order to provide the desired interface for the mating connector.
Regarding claim 22, Tedeschi discloses the clamping member being a clamp spring (32).
Regarding claim 23, Tedeschi discloses the clamping member remains in the closed position or the open position until the actuator being manually moved (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 24, Tedeschi discloses the movement of the actuator in the second direction being opposite the movement of the actuator in the first direction.
Regarding claim 25, Tedeschi discloses the movement of the actuator in the first direction and the second direction is parallel to the clamp brace (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Tedeschi discloses the movement of the actuator in the first direction and the second direction being linear (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 27, Tedeschi discloses movement of the actuator in the first and second directions being relative to the clamping member (Figs 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 28, Tedeschi discloses movement of the actuator in the first direction is outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the actuator in the second direction is inward relative to the housing (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 29, Tedeschi discloses that when in the closed position the clamping member can clamp the wire to the wire terminal with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 30, Tedeschi discloses the electrical wiring device comprising one of a twist-lock receptacle, a duplex receptacle and a single receptacle (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 31, Tedeschi discloses (as noted above in claim 21) an electrical wiring device comprising 10, 100, a housing (figs 4 and 10) having an interior that is at least partially hollow, a plurality of wire openings, a plurality of actuator openings and a plurality of blade openings, wherein each of the plurality of wire openings and each of the plurality of actuator openings provides access from an exterior of a rear of the housing to the hollow portion of the housing, and wherein each of the plurality of blade openings provides access from an exterior of a front of the housing to the hollow portion of the housing; and a plurality of contact assemblies positioned in the hollow portion of the housing such that one of the plurality of contact assemblies is accessible from one of the plurality of wire openings, one of the plurality of actuator openings and one of the plurality of blade openings; wherein each of the plurality of the contact assemblies includes: a contact member aligned with the one of the plurality of blade openings in the housing; a wire terminal including a clamp brace electrically connected to the contact member and a clamping member electrically connected to the clamp brace, the clamping member being movable between a closed here a wire can be clamped by the clamping member, and an open position where the wire can be positioned so that the clamping member can clamp the wire to the wire terminal; and an actuator extending at least partially through the one of the plurality of actuator openings in the housing, the actuator being interactive with the clamping member such that movement of the actuator in a first direction from a first position to a second position causes the actuator to move the clamping member from the closed position to the open position, and movement of the actuator in a second direction permits the clamping member to automatically move from the open position to the closed position, wherein the clamping member remains in the closed position or the open position until the actuator is manually moved.
Tedeschi discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the female contact member. Walter discloses an electrical wiring device comprising contact assemblies including a female contact member (52) aligned with one of a plurality of blade openings in the housing (10) and configured to receive a blade of a blade-type electrical plug (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a female contact member, as taught by Walter, in order to provide the desired interface for the mating connector.
Regarding claim 32, Tedeschi discloses the clamping member being a clamp spring.
Regarding claim 33, Tedeschi discloses the movement of the actuator in the second direction being opposite the movement of the actuator in the first direction.
Regarding claim 34, Tedeschi discloses the movement of the actuator in the first direction and the second direction being parallel to the clamp brace.
Regarding claim 35, Tedeschi discloses the movement of the actuator in the first direction and the second direction being linear.
Regarding claim 36, Tedeschi discloses that the wire can be clamped by the clamping member such that the wire is clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace.
Regarding claim 37, Tedeschi discloses that the wire can be clamped between the clamping member and the clamp brace with a force that is substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the wire so that the clamping member can press the wire against the clamp brace (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 38, Tedeschi discloses movement of the actuator in the first and second directions being relative to the clamping member.
Regarding claim 39, Tedeschi discloses movement of the actuator in the first direction being outward relative to the housing and wherein movement of the actuator in the second direction being inward relative to the housing.
Regarding claim 40, Tedeschi discloses the electrical wiring device comprising one of a twist-lock receptacle, a duplex receptacle and a single receptacle (Fig. 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831