DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration, the previous rejection of record was withdrawn in light of new amendments. However new rejection is applied to the amended claims. All changes made in the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05-08-2025, 05-23-2025, 08-15-2025, 10-02-2025, and 10-29-2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107785603 A hereinafter Chen in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0230770 hereinafter Oya and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2006/0210873 hereinafter Hollenkamp.
Regarding Claims 1, 13 and 14, Chen teaches an electrolyte comprising: a solvent; an electron withdrawing compound; a performance enhancing additive; a lithium ion-transporting compound; and a selenium ether additive (paragraphs 29-32). Chen specifically teaches that the selenium ether additive is diphenyl diselenide (paragraph 30).
Additionally, Oya teaches an electrolyte (paragraph 62) comprising: a solvent (paragraph 97); an electron withdrawing compound (paragraph 106); a performance enhancing additive (paragraph 90); and a lithium ion-transporting compound (paragraph 96).
The combination does not specifically disclose that the performance enhancing additive as claimed.
However, Hollenkamp teaches an electrolyte for a secondary battery comprising a solvent and additive, wherein the additive comprises cyanamide (paragraphs 75). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such additive before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such additive enhance charge and discharge efficiency (paragraph 32).
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (see MPEP § 2143, E).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination teaches an electrolyte (paragraph 62 of Oya) comprising: a solvent that includes an ether (paragraph 97); an electron withdrawing compound (paragraph 106); a performance enhancing additive (paragraph 90); and a lithium ion-transporting compound (paragraph 96). Chen specifically teaches that the selenium ether additive is diphenyl diselenide (paragraph 30).
Regarding Claims 3-4, the combination teaches that the solvent comprises acetonitrile as described above in an amount of 75 vol% or less of the electrolyte system.
Regarding Claims 5-7, the combination teaches that the electron withdrawing compound is bis(2-fluoroethyl) ether (BFE) as described above in an amount of 75 vol% or less of the electrolyte system.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination teaches that the performance-enhancing additive comprises guanidine nitrate in an amount of 0.01 to 10% by weight (paragraphs 57, 59 of Park).
Regarding Claims 10-12, the combination teaches that the lithium ion-transporting compound comprises lithium perchlorate in an amount of 10 M or less as described above.
Regarding Clam 15, the combination teaches that the chalcogenide is diphenyl diselenide in an amount of 3.0 wt% or less as described above.
Regarding Claims 16-20, the combination teaches an electrochemical cell comprising the electrolyte system above, wherein the cell is characterized by a cylindrical, prismatic, pouch or coin configuration (paragraph 167 of Oya).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen teaches an electrolyte comprising: a solvent; an electron withdrawing compound; a performance enhancing additive; a lithium ion-transporting compound; and a selenium ether additive (paragraphs 29-32). Chen specifically teaches that the selenium ether additive is diphenyl diselenide (paragraph 30).
Additionally, Oya teaches an electrolyte (paragraph 62) comprising: a solvent (paragraph 97); an electron withdrawing compound (paragraph 106); a performance enhancing additive (paragraph 90); and a lithium ion-transporting compound (paragraph 96). Park further teaches an electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery comprising a solvent, a fluorine-based lithium salt, and additive (paragraph 35), wherein the lithium salt is LiBOB (paragraph 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such electrolyte combination before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Park discloses that such combination can form an electrolyte for a battery having improved charge and discharge efficiency.
The combination does not specifically disclose that the performance enhancing additive as claimed.
However, Hollenkamp teaches an electrolyte for a secondary battery comprising a solvent and additive, wherein the additive comprises cyanamide (paragraphs 75). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such additive before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such additive enhance charge and discharge efficiency (paragraph 32).
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (see MPEP § 2143, E).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,438,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to an electrolyte comprising: a solvent; an electron withdrawing compound; a lithium ion-transporting compound; and a chalcogenide.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752