DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huijnen (US 2010/0266142) in view of Ledzius (US 2012/0188111).
Regarding claim 1, Huijnen discloses a sound signal processing method, comprising: obtaining a sound signal (input audio signal 17); amplifying the sound signal according to a plurality of analog gain values to generate a plurality of amplified sound signals (sound signal amplified according to a plurality of gain values, Huijnen: [0002]-[0003]), wherein the plurality of amplified sound signals corresponds to the plurality of analog gain values respectively (plurality of amplified sound signals would correspond to the plurality of analog gain values respectively, Huijnen: [0002], [0003]); digitizing the plurality of amplified sound signals to generate a plurality of digital sound signals (Huijnen mentions: “maximum allowed amplitude is, for example, the maximum amplitude that can be represented by the digital coding fi the output signal 19 is digital, or the maximum voltage that can be supported by the circuitry if the output signal 19 is analog,” thus teaching digital signals are processed, thus said signals would have to be converted/digitized from analog signals to arrive at this step, [0002], [0003], [0030]); determining whether the plurality of digital sound signals are clipping signals or non-clipping signals, and selectively outputting the non-clipping sound signals (signals determined to have clipping or non-clipping, with non-clipping signals being output, Huijnen: [0030]-[0032]); but lacks performing a dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals.
Nevertheless, Ledzius does teach performing a dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals (dynamic gain controller 250 maximizes the digital gain without clipping the digital signal and minimizes the analog gain 230, Ledzius: Fig. 2, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sound signal processing method of Huijnen to perform a dynamic range control program on the non-clipping soud signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals (it is noted that the output signal 19 from Huijnen is the signal without being clipped (clipping reduced or non-clipping signals) as suggested by Ledzius so that the overall gain as set by an end user is not affected (Ledzius: [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius, Huijnen discloses wherein the plurality of digital sound signals comprises a first digital sound signal and a second digital sound signal, and wherein said determining whether the plurality of digital sound signals are the clipping signals or the non-clipping signals, and selectively outputting the non-clipping sound signals (as Huijnen transforms the digital input audio signal 37 into a plurality of signals across the frequency domain, the plurality of signals are then fed through a clip detector 312/420, and output the non-clipping sound signals, [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4) comprises: outputting the first digital sound signal when the first digital sound signals is determined to be the non-clipping signal (if a first digital sound signal (specific frequency component), is determined to be the non-clipping signal, it gets outputted at 39/49, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4); and outputting the second digital sound signal when the second digital sound signal the first digital sound signal both are determined to be the clipping signal (when both frequency components are determined to be clipping signals they are then reduced and outputted, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 4, in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius, Huijnen discloses wherein a determination time-point for determining whether the first digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal is earlier than the determination time-point for determining whether the second digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal (Huijnen teaches repeatedly cycling through signals for clip detection, so it is explicitly implied that the determination time-point for determining whether a first digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal can occur at an earlier time than the determination time-point for a second digital sound signal, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 5, in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius, Huijnen discloses wherein the plurality of digital sound signals comprises a first digital sound signal and a plurality of second digital sound signals, and wherein said determining whether the plurality of digital sound signals are the clipped sound signals or the non-clipping sound signals, and selectively outputting the non-clipping sound signals (as Huijnen transforms the digital input audio signal 37 into a plurality of signals across the frequency domain, the plurality of signals are then fed through a clip detector 312/420, and output the non-clipping sound signals, [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4), comprises: when the first digital sound signal is determined to be the non-clipping sound signal, outputting the first digital sound signal (if a first digital sound signal (specific frequency component), is determined to be the non-clipping signal, it gets outputted at 39/49, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4); and when at least one of the plurality of second digital sound signals is determined to be the non-clipping sound signal, and both the first digital sound signal and at least one of the plurality of second digital sound signals was determined earlier than the at least one of the plurality of second digital sound signals is being determined to be the non-clipping sound signal are the clipping sound signals, outputting the second digital sound signal that determined to be the non-clipping sound signal (Huijnen teaches repeatedly cycling through signals for clip detection, so it is explicitly implied that the determination time-point for determining whether a first digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal can occur at an earlier time than the determination time-point for a second digital sound signal, and when both frequency components are determined to be clipping signals they are then reduced and outputted, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 9, Huijnen discloses a sound signal processing device (sound processing apparatus, Huijnen: [0021], [claim 11]), comprising: an audio device for obtaining a sound signal (audio apparatus receives an input audio signal, [0021], [claim 11], Figs. 3, 4); a pre-amplifier, connecting to the audio device and having a plurality of analog gain values, for amplifying the sound signal according to a plurality of analog gain values to generate a plurality of amplified sound signals, wherein the plurality of amplified sound signals correspond to the plurality of analog gain values, respectively (sound signal amplified according to a plurality of gain values explicitly implying a pre-amplifier to carry out such amplification, Huijnen: [0002]-[0003]); an analog digital converter, connecting to the pre-amplifier, for digitizing the plurality of amplified sound signals to generate a plurality of digital sound signals (Huijnen mentions: “maximum allowed amplitude is, for example, the maximum amplitude that can be represented by the digital coding fi the output signal 19 is digital, or the maximum voltage that can be supported by the circuitry if the output signal 19 is analog,” thus teaching digital signals are processed, thus said signals would have to be converted/digitized from analog signals to arrive at this step (implying a analog-to-digital converter), Huijnen: [0002], [0003], [0030]); a microprocessor connecting to the analog digital converter and receiving the plurality of digital sound signals (digital signal processor 315 is a microprocessor that receives a plurality of digital sound signals and would be connected to an analog digital converter, Huijnen: [0034], Fig. 3); and a controller, connecting to the analog digital converter and the microprocessor, for determining whether the plurality of digital sound signals are clipping signals or non-clipping signals, and selectively outputting the non-clipping sound signals (clip detector 312 can be considered a controller connected to digital signal processor and analog digital converter is used for determining whether the plurality of digital sound signals are clipping signals or non-clipping signals, with non-clipping signals being output, Huijnen: [0030]-[0032]) but lacks performing a dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals.
Nevertheless, Ledzius does teach performing a dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals (dynamic gain controller 250 maximizes the digital gain without clipping the digital signal and minimizes the analog gain 230, Ledzius: Fig. 2, [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sound signal processing method of Huijnen to perform a dynamic range control program on the non-clipping soud signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals (it is noted that the output signal 19 from Huijnen is the signal without being clipped (clipping reduced or non-clipping signals) as suggested by Ledzius so that the overall gain as set by an end user is not affected (Ledzius: [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius, Huijnen discloses wherein the plurality of digital sound signals comprises a first digital sound signal and a second digital sound signal, the controller determining whether the plurality of digital sound signals are the clipping signals or the non-clipping signals, and controlling the microprocessor to selectively output the non-clipping sound signals (as Huijnen transforms the digital input audio signal 37 into a plurality of signals across the frequency domain, the plurality of signals are then fed through a clip detector 312/420, and output the non-clipping sound signals, [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4) comprise: when the first digital sound signal is determined to be the non-clipping signal, the controller controlling the microprocessor to output the first digital sound signal (if a first digital sound signal (specific frequency component), is determined to be the non-clipping signal, it gets outputted at 39/49, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4); and when the second digital sound signal is determined to be the non-clipping signal and the first digital sound signal is also determined to be the clipping signal, the controller controlling the microprocessor to output the second digital sound signal (if a second digital sound signal (specific frequency component), is determined to be the non-clipping signal, it gets outputted at 39/49 while the clipping signal (in this case the first digital sound signal) would go back to get reduced, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 12, in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius, Huijnen discloses wherein a determination time-point for determining whether the first digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal is earlier than the determination time-point for determining whether the second digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal (Huijnen teaches repeatedly cycling through signals for clip detection, so it is explicitly implied that the determination time-point for determining whether a first digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal can occur at an earlier time than the determination time-point for a second digital sound signal, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 13, in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius, Huijnen discloses wherein the plurality of digital sound signals comprises a first digital sound signal and a plurality of second digital sound signals, the controller determines whether the plurality of digital sound signals are the clipped sound signals or the non-clipping sound signals, and controls the microprocessor selectively output the non-clipping sound signals (as Huijnen transforms the digital input audio signal 37 into a plurality of signals across the frequency domain, the plurality of signals are then fed through a clip detector 312/420, and output the non-clipping sound signals, [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4), comprising: when the first digital sound signal is determined to be the non-clipping sound signal, the controller controls the microprocessor to output the first digital sound signal (if a first digital sound signal (specific frequency component), is determined to be the non-clipping signal by the controller 312, it gets outputted at 39/49 via the microprocessor 315, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4); and when at least one of the plurality of second digital sound signals is determined to be the non-clipping sound signal, and both the first digital sound signal and at least one of the plurality of second digital sound signals was determined earlier than the at least one of the plurality of second digital sound signals is being determined to be the non-clipping sound signal are the clipping sound signals, the controller controls the microprocessor output the second digital sound signal that is being determined to be the non-clipping sound signal (Huijnen teaches repeatedly cycling through signals for clip detection, so it is explicitly implied that the determination time-point for determining whether a first digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal can occur at an earlier time than the determination time-point for a second digital sound signal, and if a second digital sound signal (specific frequency component), is determined to be the non-clipping signal, it gets outputted at 39/49 while the clipping signal (in this case the first digital sound signal) would go back to get reduced, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 7, 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huijnen (US 2010/0266142) in view of Ledzius (US 2012/0188111) and Okabayashi et al. (US 2014/0376758) herein Okabayashi.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius disclose wherein the plurality of analog gain values comprises: a first analog gain value corresponding to the first analog gain value (a first analog gain value would correspond to itself); and a second analog gain value corresponding to the second analog gain value (a second analog gain value would correspond to itself), wherein the dynamic range control program comprises a digital gain value, and wherein (dynamic gain controller 250 maximizes the digital gain without clipping the digital signal and minimizes the analog gain 230, Ledzius: Fig. 2, [0019]), when the second digital sound signal is outputted, the method further comprising performing the dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals (its noted that the dynamic range control program of Ledzius is performed on the outputted non-clipping sound signals of Huijnen), but lacks comprising: performing subtraction between the first analog gain value and the second analog gain value to generate a difference; adjusting the digital gain value according to the difference; and performing the dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals according to the adjusted digital gain value to adjust the non-clipping sound signals.
Nevertheless, it is well known in the art to perform subtraction between two analog gain values and to generate a difference and then adjust a digital gain value according to that difference as taught by Okabayashi (digital gain value is adjusted by a difference in analog gain value and target gain value, Okabayashi: [0013], [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing of Huijnen and Ledzius to further comprise performing subtraction between the first analog gain value and the second analog gain value to generate a difference; adjusting the digital gain value according to the difference as suggested by Okabayashi in order to set appropriate gain values without resetting parameters of the subsequent stage and thus contribute to improved sound quality (Okabayashi: [0008]).
In the now modified Huijnen, Ledzius and Okabayashi, the dynamic range control of Ledzius would still be performed on the non-clipping sound signals with the digital gain adjustment of Okabayashi.
Regarding claim 6, Huijnen and Ledzius disclose wherein the plurality of analog gain values comprises: a first analog gain value corresponding to the first analog gain value (a first analog gain value would correspond to itself); and a plurality of second analog gain values, wherein the plurality of second digital sound signals respectively correspond to the plurality of second analog gain values (a plurality of second digital sound signals would correspond to the plurality of second analog gain values), wherein the dynamic range control program comprises a digital gain values (dynamic gain controller 250 maximizes the digital gain without clipping the digital signal and minimizes the analog gain 230, Ledzius: Fig. 2, [0019]), and when the second digital sound signal belonging to the non-clipping sound signal is being outputting, performing the dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signal to adjust the non-clipping sound signals (its noted that the dynamic range control program of Ledzius is performed on the outputted non-clipping sound signals of Huijnen), but lacks comprising: performing subtraction between the first analog gain value and the corresponding second analog gain value to generate a difference; adjusting the digital gain value according to the difference; and performing the dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals according to the adjusted digital gain value.
Nevertheless, it is well known in the art to perform subtraction between two analog gain values and to generate a difference and then adjust a digital gain value according to that difference as taught by Okabayashi (digital gain value is adjusted by a difference in analog gain value and target gain value, Okabayashi: [0013], [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing of Huijnen and Ledzius to further comprise performing subtraction between the first analog gain value and the second analog gain value to generate a difference; adjusting the digital gain value according to the difference as suggested by Okabayashi in order to set appropriate gain values without resetting parameters of the subsequent stage and thus contribute to improved sound quality (Okabayashi: [0008]).
In the now modified Huijnen, Ledzius and Okabayashi, the dynamic range control of Ledzius would still be performed on the non-clipping sound signals with the digital gain adjustment of Okabayashi.
Regarding claim 7, in the combination of Huijnen, Ledzius and Okabayashi, Huijnen discloses wherein a determination time-point for determining whether the first digital sound signal is the clipping signal or non-clipping signal is earlier than a plurality of the determination time-points for determining whether the plurality of second digital sound signals are clipping signals or non-clipping signals (Huijnen teaches repeatedly cycling through signals for clip detection, so it is explicitly implied that the determination time-point for determining whether a first digital sound signal is the clipping sound signal or the non-clipping sound signal can occur at an earlier time than the determination time-point for a second digital sound signal, and when both frequency components are determined to be clipping signals they are then reduced and outputted, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4), and wherein a chronical sequence for determining whether the plurality of second digital sound signals are the clipping signals or the non-clipping signals is set based on a numerical order of the plurality of second analog gain values (it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set a chronical sequence set based on a numerical order of the plurality of second analog gain values in order to process one signal at a time).
Regarding claim 11, in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius, Huijnen discloses wherein the microprocessor connects to the pre-amplifier (digital signal processor 315 is a microprocessor that receives a plurality of digital sound signals and would be connected to a pre-amplifier, Huijnen: [0034], Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of analog gain values comprise a first analog gain value and a second analog gain value (sound signal amplified according to a plurality of gain values, said plurality of gain values would include at least a first analog gain value and a second analog gain value: Huijnen: [0002]-[0003]), the first digital sound signal corresponding to the first analog gain value, and the second digital sound signal corresponding to the second analog gain value (the digital sound signals would correspond to the respective analog gain values as they are a conversion of the analog sound signals that have had the analog gain values applied to them), and wherein the dynamic range control program comprises a digital gain value (dynamic gain controller 250 maximizes the digital gain without clipping the digital signal and minimizes the analog gain 230, Ledzius: Fig. 2, [0019]), and when the second digital sound signal is outputted, the controller controlling the microprocessor to perform the dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals to adjust the non-clipping sound signals (if a first digital sound signal (specific frequency component), is determined to be the non-clipping signal, it gets outputted at 39/49, Huijnen: [0034]-[0038], Figs. 3, 4 with the dynamic range control program of Ledzius adjusting the non-clipping sound signals), but lacks comprising: performing subtraction between the first analog gain value and the second analog gain value to generate a difference; adjusting the digital gain value according to the difference; and performing the dynamic range control program on the non-clipping sound signals according to the adjusted digital gain value to adjust the non-clipping sound signals.
Nevertheless, it is well known in the art to perform subtraction between two analog gain values and to generate a difference and then adjust a digital gain value according to that difference as taught by Okabayashi (digital gain value is adjusted by a difference in analog gain value and target gain value, Okabayashi: [0013], [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing of Huijnen and Ledzius to further comprise performing subtraction between the first analog gain value and the second analog gain value to generate a difference; adjusting the digital gain value according to the difference as suggested by Okabayashi in order to set appropriate gain values without resetting parameters of the subsequent stage and thus contribute to improved sound quality (Okabayashi: [0008]).
In the now modified Huijnen, Ledzius and Okabayashi, the dynamic range control of Ledzius would still be performed on the non-clipping sound signals with the digital gain adjustment of Okabayashi.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huijnen (US 2010/0266142) in view of Ledzius (US 2012/0188111) and Hasegawa (US 2022/0225025).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, while Huijnen and Ledzius does not specifically teach wherein the controller controls the microprocessor to perform a cross-fade processing on the non-clipping sound signals, it is well known in the art to have a controller control a microprocessor to perform a cross-fade processing as demonstrated by Hasegawa (cross-fade portion 220 and 240 performed on an outputted digital signal that has been amplified, with control portion 300 causing microprocessor 200 to perform said cross-fade processing, Hasegawa: Fig. 3, [0034], [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller, microprocessor and processing of Huijnen and Ledzius to perform a cross-fade processing as demonstrated by Hasegawa in order to prevent the passage of inpulse-like noise generated in a sound signal (Hasegawa: [0034], it is noted that in the combination the cross-fade processing occurs at the end of a processing circuit which in the combination of Huijnen and Ledzius would be the outputted non-clipping sound signals).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of records teaches various sound signal processing methods, for example: Gautama (US 2016/0111110), Bizjak (US 7,190,292), Liang (US 10,484,784), and Farinelli, Jr. et al. (US 8,005,230) which are considered relevant to the instant application.
/SEAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691