Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Byun (US 20120147065 A1, cited by Applicant)
Regarding claim 1, Byun teaches an electronic display ([0003]) comprising: an array of pixels of light-emitting elements (Fig.3,4 and 11; [0043]-[0048]), wherein each pixel comprises a first primary light-emitting element configured to emit
a first primary color (items UP and R in Fig.3,4 and [0043]-[0048]) located at a first physical primary color point on a color space chromaticity diagram,
a second primary light-emitting element (items UP and G in Fig.3,4 and [0043]-[0048]) configured to emit a second primary color located at a second physical primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram,
a third primary light-emitting element (items UP and B1 in Fig.3,4 and [0043]-[0048]) configured to emit a third primary color located at a third physical primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram,
and one or more derivative light-emitting elements (items UP and B2 in Fig.3,4 and [0043]-[0048]) each configured to emit a derivative color each located at a derivative color point on the color space chromaticity diagram; wherein the first physical primary color point, the second physical primary color point, the third physical primary color point, and each derivative color point are located on a boundary of a virtual color space on the color space chromaticity diagram, wherein the boundary of the virtual color space comprises a first apex at a first virtual primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram (Fig.11,[0059],[0063] element R,G,B1,B2), a second apex at a second virtual primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram, and a third apex at a third virtual primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram, wherein at least one of the first virtual primary color point, the second virtual primary color point, and the third virtual primary color point is different from the first physical primary color point, from the second physical primary color point, and from the third physical primary color point, respectively; wherein a color gamut that can be produced by the array of pixels is greater than a corresponding gamut for corresponding pixels of corresponding light-emitting elements that are configured to only emit the first primary color, the second primary color, and the third primary color (Fig.11,[0059],[0063] element R,G,B1,B2).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Carlson (US 20210143135 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 1, Carlson teaches an electronic display comprising: an array of pixels of light-emitting elements (Abstract, at least Fig.1-4), wherein each pixel comprises:
a first primary light-emitting element (red) configured to emit a first primary color located at a first physical primary color point on a color space chromaticity diagram,
a second primary light-emitting element (green) configured to emit a second primary color located at a second physical primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram,
a third primary light-emitting element (blue) configured to emit a third primary color located at a third physical primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram,
and one or more derivative light-emitting elements (see the additional lighting elements, other than red, green and blue in Fig.5A-5D) each configured to emit a derivative color each located at a derivative color point on the color space chromaticity diagram;
wherein the first physical primary color point, the second physical primary color point, the third physical primary color point, and each derivative color point are located on a boundary of a virtual space on the color space chromaticity diagram,
wherein the boundary of the virtual color space comprises a first apex at a first virtual primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram, a second apex at a second virtual primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram, and a third apex at a third virtual primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram (Fig.4;[0030;[0059],[0063], the bold lines in Fig.4 with boundary line 42 correspond to the primary colors and the dashed lines 44 are formed by the additional colors towards achieving enhanced gamut display),
wherein at least one of the first virtual primary color point, the second virtual primary color point, and the third virtual primary color point is different from the first physical primary color point, from the second physical primary color point, and from the third physical primary color point, respectively (the dashed lines formed by 44 in Fig.4 that are different from lines formed by 42; [0030]).
wherein a color gamut that can be produced by the array of pixels is greater than a corresponding gamut for corresponding pixels of corresponding light-emitting elements that are configured to only emit the first primary color, the second primary color, and the third primary color ([0005]: The present disclosure describes an electronic display with a color gamut that is enhanced compared to the gamut available from conventional RGB displays;[0032]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein each derivative color point is proximate to one of the first physical primary color point, the second physical primary color point, and the third physical primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram ([0030] and comparing 42 and 44 in Fig.4).
Regarding claim 3, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the boundary of the virtual color space comprises a first virtual boundary line extending from the first virtual primary color point at the first apex to the second virtual primary color point at the second apex, a second virtual boundary line extending from the second virtual primary color point at the second apex to the third virtual primary color point at the third apex, and a third virtual boundary line extending from the third virtual primary color point at the third apex to the first virtual primary color point at the first apex (44 in Fig.4 and [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the boundary of the virtual color space is triangular (44 in Fig.4).
Regarding claim 5, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the boundary of the virtual color space consists of the first apex at the first virtual primary color point, the second apex at the second virtual primary color point, the third apex at the third virtual primary color point, the first virtual boundary line, the second virtual boundary line, and the third virtual boundary line (44 in Fig.4).
Regarding claim 6, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the one or more derivative light-emitting elements comprises a first derivative light-emitting element configured to emit a first derivative color located at a first derivative color point on the color space chromaticity diagram (points on 44 in Fig.4).
Regarding claim 7, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the first derivative color point is located proximate to the first physical primary color point on the color space chromaticity diagram (since lines 44, 42, 40 are adjacent in Fig.4).
Regarding claim 8, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the first virtual primary color point is spaced from the first physical primary color point and the first derivative color point, the second virtual primary color point is located at the second physical primary color point, and the third virtual primary color point is located at the third physical primary color point (co-incident points in Fig.4 for 42 and 44).
Regarding claim 9, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the one or more derivative light-emitting elements consists of the first derivative light-emitting element configured to emit the first derivative color located at the first derivative color point (all of Fig.5, and lighting elements other than primary RGB).
Regarding claim 10, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the one or more derivative light-emitting elements further comprises a second derivative light-emitting element configured to emit a second derivative color located at a second derivative color point on the color space chromaticity diagram (all of Figures 5, wherein additional lighting elements other than the primary RGB; multiple-additional-gamut enhancing LEDs in Figures 5, that reflect on the chromaticity diagram).
Regarding claim 11, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the second derivative color point is located proximate to the second physical primary color point (since lines 44, 42, 40 are adjacent in Fig.4).
Regarding claim 12, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the first virtual primary color point is spaced from the first physical primary color point and the first derivative color point, the second virtual primary color point is spaced from the second physical primary color point and the second derivative color point, and the third virtual primary color point is located at the third physical primary color point (all of Figures 5, wherein additional lighting elements other than the primary RGB; multiple-additional-gamut-enhancing-LEDs in Figures 5, that reflect on the chromaticity diagram).
Regarding claim 13, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the one or more derivative light-emitting elements consists of the first derivative light-emitting element configured to emit the first derivative color located at the first derivative color point and the second derivative light-emitting element configured to emit the second derivative color located at the second derivative color point (all of Figures 5, wherein additional lighting elements other than the primary RGB; multiple-additional-gamut-enhancing-LEDs in Figures 5, that reflect on the chromaticity diagram).
Regarding claim 14, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the one or more derivative light-emitting elements further comprises a third derivative light-emitting element configured to emit a third derivative color located at a third derivative color point on the color space chromaticity diagram (all of Figures 5, wherein additional lighting elements other than the primary RGB; multiple-additional-gamut-enhancing-LEDs in Figures 5, that reflect on the chromaticity diagram).
Regarding claim 15, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the first derivative color point is located proximate to the first physical primary color point, the second derivative color point is located proximate to the second physical primary color point, and the third derivative color point is located proximate to the third physical primary color point (from Fig.4).
Regarding claim 16, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the first virtual primary color point is spaced from the first physical primary color point and the first derivative color point, the second virtual primary color point is spaced from the second physical primary color point and the second derivative color point, and the third virtual primary color point is spaced from the third physical primary color point and the third derivative color point (from Fig.4).
Regarding claim 17, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the first physical primary color point and the second derivative color point are located on the first virtual boundary line, the second physical primary color point and the third derivative color point are located on the second virtual boundary line, and the third physical primary color point and the first derivative color point are located on the third virtual boundary line (44 in Fig.4 and [0030], in view of the broad meaning and scope of the terms “virtual boundary line, extending three of the up to six (or nine) lines connecting the points of the red, green, blue LEDs in the color space and the up to three (or six) LEDs with a different shade of red, green or blue in the color space inevitably results in a triangular shape in the color space) .
Regarding claim 18, Carlson teaches an electronic display, wherein the one or more derivative light-emitting elements consists of the first derivative light-emitting element configured to emit the first derivative color located at the first derivative color point, the second derivative light-emitting element configured to emit the second derivative color located at the second derivative color point, and the third derivative light-emitting element configured to emit the third derivative color located at the third derivative color point (from Fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson in view of Byun (US 20120147065 A1, cited by Applicant)
Regarding claim 19, Carlson teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding a computer processor configured to convert a color value defined based the first virtual primary color point, the second virtual primary color point, and the third virtual primary color point to corresponding outputs for the first primary light-emitting element, the second primary light-emitting element, the third primary light-emitting element, and each of the one or more derivative light-emitting elements.
Byun teaches in [0057], [0061]- [0062] and Fig.11: The data converter 200 performs color coordinate conversion based on the gamma-corrected blue data Bg to generate three-color conversion data and a color gamut determination signal, and inversely gamma-corrects the three-color conversion data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use the processor as disclosed in Byun, in the device of Carlson, in order to generate the desired range of colors ([0063]).
Regarding claim 20, Carlson in view of Byun teaches the electronic display of claim 1, wherein the color space chromaticity diagram is an XYZ chromaticity diagram adopted by International Commission on Illumination in 1931 ([0027] in Byun).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875