DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to a communication made on 05/21/2026.
Claims 1, 10, 12-14, 19, 20 and 22 are currently amended.
Claim 8 is canceled.
Claims 1-7 and 9-22 are pending for this application.
Request for Continued Examination (RCE) Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 10, filed 05/21/2026, with respect to claim 22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 12-14 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 10-14, filed 05/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, 12-14 and 19-20 under 103 have been considered and regarding the amended feature of “the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room” are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lerman et al. (US 2015/0082391) in view of Huh et al. (US10511586), and further in view of Monroe, II et al. (US20240259384 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerman et al. (US 2015/0082391), hereinafter “Lerman” in view of Huh et al. (US10511586), hereinafter “Huh”, and further in view of Monroe, II et al. (US20240259384 A1), hereinafter “Monroe”.
With respect to claim 1, Lerman discloses a method of operating an instant messaging server, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first terminal of a first participant in a chat, a message and a restricted view condition associated with content of the message (¶0020, teaches users can be restricted to sending and/or receiving secure messages/content with others users with whom they have a preexisting connection to/relationship with (as can be determined, for example, based on a social networking contact list, ¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message );
in response to receiving the message from the first terminal, sending, to terminals of participants participating in the chat, message data for displaying the message in the chat, indicating that the message is available in the chat subject to the restricted view condition associated with the message (¶0019-¶0020, teaches existing applications such as ‘Snapchat’ (i.e. chat) enable users to share images/videos with one another and, upon being viewed…users can be restricted to sending and/or receiving secure messages/content with others users with whom they have a preexisting connection to/relationship with (as can be determined, for example, based on a social networking contact list, ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s)), ¶0063, teaches the described technologies can be configured to enable users to transmit content (e.g., documents, media, files, etc.) in a manner that enables such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided) ;
receiving a request to view the message from a second terminal of a second participant in the chat (¶0026, ¶0039, and ¶0058 teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended…inputs that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message…the content segment that underlies the corresponding concealed content indicator 730 (e.g., content segment 710) can be requested and/or received from server 120 (and presented at the device… at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting); and
activating the display of the content of the message on the second terminal of the second participant, based on whether the second participant satisfies the restricted view condition (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message), wherein
at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or a set value of the restricted view condition is determined for each of the participants participating in the chat (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0039, teaches authentication actions (i.e. at least one of restricted view condition is set) can be utilized to initiate the retrieval of particular content segments from a remote device/location, such as from secure message repository 140 of server 120. For example, the content of a secure message can be retained at server 120, and a representation of such content (e.g., concealed content indicators 730 corresponding to the words, clauses, etc., within the message) can be provided to the user (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 7, ¶0056, teaches it can be determined that an authentication action is being performed, such as with respect to the at least one of the one or more content segments, such as in a manner described herein. In one aspect, block 630 is performed by secure messaging engine 130 (e.g., executing on a user device 102 ).
However, Lerman remain silent on the chat room.
Huh col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging with chat room of Huh, in order to group of people, send and read messages in real time (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28).
However, Leman in view of Huh remain silent on the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room.
Monroe discloses the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room (¶0040, teaches the communication platform can be “group-based” such that the platform, and associated systems, communication channels, messages, collaborative documents, canvases, audio/video conversations, and/or other virtual spaces, have security (that can be defined by permissions) to limit access to a defined group of users, the communication platform can be a hub, offering a secure and private virtual space to enable users to chat (i.e. chat room), meet, call, collaborate, transfer files or other data, or otherwise communicate between or among each other, ¶0053, teaches communications associated with an audio and/or video conversation (“conversation”) can be synchronous and/or asynchronous. That is, the conversation can include a real-time audio and/or video conversation between a first user and a second user (i.e. second participant is different from the first participant in the chat) during a period of time and, after the first period of time, a third user who is associated with (e.g., is a member of) the conversation can contribute to the conversation, ¶0066, teaches a virtual space may be “private,” which may restrict data communications in the virtual space to certain users or users(i.e. second user) having appropriate permissions to view, ¶0125, teaches sections of the collaborative document may have individual permissions associated with them. For example, a collaborative document having sections with individual permissions may provide a first user permission to view, edit, or comment on a first section, while a second user does not have permission to view, edit, or comment on the first section).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging in view of Huh’s chat room with the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room of Monroe, in order to improve privacy and content control while allowing the same chat room to accommodate participants with different access requirements (Monroe).
For claim 13, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
For claim 14, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 14 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claims 2 and 15, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the activating of the display of the content of the message comprises:
in response to the second participant not satisfying the restricted view condition (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0046, teaches in a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received, if such a user does not satisfactorily perform the required authentication action(s), ¶0063, teaches such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided),
requesting, via the chat room (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom), the second terminal of the second participant for an action required by the restricted view condition (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0046, teaches in a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message); and
activating the display of the content of the message on the second terminal of the second participant based on the required action being performed (Lerman, ¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message).
With respect to claims 3 and 16, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
in response to the required action not being performed, deactivating the display of the content of the message on the second terminal of the second participant (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0046, teaches in a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received, if such a user does not satisfactorily perform the required authentication action(s), the recipient will be precluded from accessing).
With respect to claim 4, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the action required by the restricted view condition comprises at least one of a payment action and an authentication action (Lerman, ¶0058, teaches upon determining that the authentication action is being/has been performed (e.g., with respect to at least one of the content segments) a request for the at least one of the content segments can be transmitted (e.g., to a central server and/or to the sender) and/or the at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting).
With respect to claims 5 and 17, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
setting the restricted view condition based on a set value of the restricted view received from the first terminal (Lerman, ¶0026-¶0027, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message…a secure message can originate from a sender and be received (e.g., by server 120) in association with one or more intended recipients, ¶0063, teaches with respect to secure messaging, the described technologies can also be implemented in any number of additional or alternative settings or contexts and towards any number of additional objectives).
With respect to claims 6 and 18, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the restricted view condition comprises at least one of:
a payment-type restricted view condition that requires a payment to view; or
an authentication-type restricted view condition that requires authentication to view (Lerman, ¶0044, teaches with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message).
With respect to claim 7, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the restricted view condition is set for at least a portion of the content comprised in the message (Lerman, ¶0045, teaches one or more images/videos that depict a substantial portion of the field of view of the display (on which the secure message(s) are displayed) can be captured and maintained in association with the secure message(s), ¶0063, teaches enables such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided).
With respect to claim 9, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message, for which the restricted view condition is set, is restricted in at least one of sharing, copying, and capturing (Lerman, ¶0020, teaches it can be further ensured that the recipient is not capable of copying/forwarding the contents of the secure communication, ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s), ¶0044, teaches number of instances that a particular secure message is provided (e.g., presented to the recipient) can be defined and/or limited based on any number of factors).
With respect to claim 10, Lerman discloses a method of operating a terminal executing an instant messenger, the method comprising:
presenting a user interface to receive a message to a chat from a first participant in the chat (¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (i.e. first participant) (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message), the user interface including an option to set a restriction condition associated with the message to the chat (¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition), ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message); and
in response to a user selection of the option to set a restriction condition for the message being received via the user interface (¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition)¶0031, teaches a user interface that can be utilized by a sender (e.g., via device 102) to select one or more existing connections/contacts as a recipient of a secure message),
determining, for each of participants participating in the chat (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended), a type of a restriction condition for the message (¶0044 and ¶0056, teaches a message can be presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) …determined that an authentication action (i.e. type of a restriction condition) is being performed, such as with respect to the at least one of the one or more content segments);
determining a set value of the restriction condition for each of the participants based on the determined type (¶0026, teaches ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended…an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message); and
requesting transmission, via a communication module of the terminal, of the message to the chat, wherein the message is subject to the restriction condition, based on the set value determined for each of the participants (¶0026, ¶0039, ¶0053, ¶0056 and ¶0058 teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended… authentication actions (i.e. at least one of restricted view condition is set) can be utilized to initiate the retrieval of particular content segments from a remote device/location, such as from secure message repository 140 of server 120. For example, the content of a secure message can be retained at server 120, and a representation of such content (e.g., concealed content indicators 730 corresponding to the words, clauses, etc…. the content segment that underlies the corresponding concealed content indicator 730 (e.g., content segment 710) can be requested and/or received from server 120 (and presented at the device within the message) can be provided to the user (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 7)… at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting).
However, Lerman remain silent on the chat room.
Huh col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging with chat room of Huh, in order to group of people, send and read messages in real time (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28).
However, Leman in view of Huh remain silent on the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room.
Monroe discloses the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room (¶0040, teaches the communication platform can be “group-based” such that the platform, and associated systems, communication channels, messages, collaborative documents, canvases, audio/video conversations, and/or other virtual spaces, have security (that can be defined by permissions) to limit access to a defined group of users, the communication platform can be a hub, offering a secure and private virtual space to enable users to chat (i.e. chat room), meet, call, collaborate, transfer files or other data, or otherwise communicate between or among each other, ¶0053, teaches communications associated with an audio and/or video conversation (“conversation”) can be synchronous and/or asynchronous. That is, the conversation can include a real-time audio and/or video conversation between a first user and a second user (i.e. second participant is different from the first participant in the chat) during a period of time and, after the first period of time, a third user who is associated with (e.g., is a member of) the conversation can contribute to the conversation, ¶0066, teaches a virtual space may be “private,” which may restrict data communications in the virtual space to certain users or users(i.e. second user) having appropriate permissions to view, ¶0125, teaches sections of the collaborative document may have individual permissions associated with them. For example, a collaborative document having sections with individual permissions may provide a first user permission to view, edit, or comment on a first section, while a second user does not have permission to view, edit, or comment on the first section).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging in view of Huh’s chat room with the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room of Monroe, in order to improve privacy and content control while allowing the same chat room to accommodate participants with different access requirements (Monroe).
For claim 19, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method of claim 10. Therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same ground as claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the type of the restriction condition comprises at least one of:
a payment-type restricted view condition that requires a payment to view; or
an authentication-type restricted view condition that requires authentication to view (Lerman, ¶0044, teaches with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message); or
a sharing-related restriction condition.
With respect to claim 12, Lerman discloses a method of operating a terminal executing an instant messenger, the method comprising:
receiving, via a communication module of the terminal (¶0023, teaches User devices 102A-102N can be wireless terminals (e.g., smartphones, etc. as communication module), personal computers (PC), laptops, tablet computers, or any other computing or communication devices), a chat message for which a restricted view condition is set (¶0046, teaches a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions (i.e. restricted view condition is set));
presenting, via a user interface, an indication that the message for which a restricted view condition is set is available in the chat (¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition), ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message);
in response to receiving, via the user interface, a request to view content of the message ((¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition), ¶0031, teaches a user interface that can be utilized by a sender (e.g., via device 102) to select one or more existing connections/contacts as a recipient of a secure message, ¶0058, teaches upon determining that the authentication action is being/has been performed (e.g., with respect to at least one of the content segments) a request for the at least one of the content segments can be transmitted (e.g., to a central server and/or to the sender) and/or the at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting) ), performing an action required by the restricted view condition (¶0020, teaches a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions, such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed, see ¶0046); and
displaying, via the user interface (¶0032), content of the message based on a result of performing the required action (¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message), wherein at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or a set value of the restricted view condition is determined for each of participants participating in the chat (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0039, teaches authentication actions (i.e. at least one of restricted view condition is set) can be utilized to initiate the retrieval of particular content segments from a remote device/location, such as from secure message repository 140 of server 120. For example, the content of a secure message can be retained at server 120, and a representation of such content (e.g., concealed content indicators 730 corresponding to the words, clauses, etc., within the message) can be provided to the user (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 7, ¶0056, teaches it can be determined that an authentication action is being performed, such as with respect to the at least one of the one or more content segments, such as in a manner described herein. In one aspect, block 630 is performed by secure messaging engine 130 (e.g., executing on a user device 102 ).
However, Lerman remain silent on the chat room.
Huh col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging with chat room of Huh, in order to group of people, send and read messages in real time (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28).
However, Leman in view of Huh remain silent on the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room.
Monroe discloses the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room (¶0040, teaches the communication platform can be “group-based” such that the platform, and associated systems, communication channels, messages, collaborative documents, canvases, audio/video conversations, and/or other virtual spaces, have security (that can be defined by permissions) to limit access to a defined group of users, the communication platform can be a hub, offering a secure and private virtual space to enable users to chat (i.e. chat room), meet, call, collaborate, transfer files or other data, or otherwise communicate between or among each other, ¶0053, teaches communications associated with an audio and/or video conversation (“conversation”) can be synchronous and/or asynchronous. That is, the conversation can include a real-time audio and/or video conversation between a first user and a second user (i.e. second participant is different from the first participant in the chat) during a period of time and, after the first period of time, a third user who is associated with (e.g., is a member of) the conversation can contribute to the conversation, ¶0066, teaches a virtual space may be “private,” which may restrict data communications in the virtual space to certain users or users(i.e. second user) having appropriate permissions to view, ¶0125, teaches sections of the collaborative document may have individual permissions associated with them. For example, a collaborative document having sections with individual permissions may provide a first user permission to view, edit, or comment on a first section, while a second user does not have permission to view, edit, or comment on the first section).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging in view of Huh’s chat room with the at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or the set value of the restricted view condition for the second participant is different from that for at least one other participant in the chat room of Monroe, in order to improve privacy and content control while allowing the same chat room to accommodate participants with different access requirements (Monroe).
For claim 20, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method of claim 12. Therefore claim 20 is rejected under the same ground as claim 12.
With respect to claim 21, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 10 wherein, the determining the type of restriction condition for the message comprises:
in response to the user selection of the option to set a restriction condition, presenting, via the user interface (Lerman, ¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition)¶0031, teaches a user interface that can be utilized by a sender (e.g., via device 102) to select one or more existing connections/contacts as a recipient of a secure message), a list of types of restriction conditions (Lerman, ¶0019, teaches applications such as Snapchat (which are directed to image/video sharing (i.e. sharing type)) do not enable users to conduct secure text correspondence between one another, nor do such applications enable users to send/receive secure messages to/from contacts with whom a preexisting connection/relationship exists (e.g., via a social networking platform), ¶0020, teaches a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions (i.e. authentication type), such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed ¶0021, teaches enable users to send/receive secure messages to one another (e.g., messages containing sensitive/confidential financial (i.e. payment type) terms);
receiving, via the user interface (Lerman, ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message), a user selection of a type of restriction condition from the list of types of restriction conditions (Lerman, ¶0019, teaches applications such as Snapchat (which are directed to image/video sharing (i.e. sharing type)) do not enable users to conduct secure text correspondence between one another, nor do such applications enable users to send/receive secure messages to/from contacts with whom a preexisting connection/relationship exists (e.g., via a social networking platform), ¶0020, teaches a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions (i.e. authentication type), such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed, ¶0021, teaches enable users to send/receive secure messages to one another (e.g., messages containing sensitive/confidential financial (i.e. payment type) terms); and
setting the type of restriction condition for the message based on the received user-selection of a type of restriction condition (Lerman, ¶0019-¶0020, teaches existing applications such as ‘Snapchat’ (i.e. chat) enable users to share images/videos (i.e. sharing type) with one another and, upon being viewed…users can be restricted to sending and/or receiving secure messages/content with others users with whom they have a preexisting connection to/relationship with (as can be determined, for example, based on a social networking contact list… a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions (i.e. authentication type), such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed, ¶0021, teaches enable users to send/receive secure messages to one another (e.g., messages containing sensitive/confidential financial (i.e. payment type) terms), ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s)), ¶0063, teaches the described technologies can be configured to enable users to transmit content (e.g., documents, media, files, etc.) in a manner that enables such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided).
With respect to claim 22, Lerman in view of Huh, and further in view of Monroe discloses the method of claim 21 wherein, determining the set value for the restriction condition for the message comprises:
in response to the user selection of the type of restriction condition, presenting, via the user interface, one or more input windows to set one or more values associated with the restriction condition based on the type of the restriction condition (Lerman, ¶0026, ¶0034, ¶0038-¶0039 and ¶0059, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message… a user can be required to provide and/or maintain one or more inputs (e.g., tactile inputs as a set value) with respect to a touchscreen interface (i.e. one or more input windows) of a device 102 (e.g., in one or more regions of a touchscreen)…the content segment that underlies the corresponding concealed content indicator 730 (e.g., content segment 710) can be requested and/or received from server 120 (and presented at the device…the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s).… at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting);
receiving, via the user interface (Lerman, ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message), one or more values associated with the one or more input windows (¶0026, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message, ¶0034, teaches a user can be required to provide and/or maintain one or more inputs (e.g., tactile inputs as a set value) with respect to a touchscreen interface (i.e. one or more input windows) of a device 102 (e.g., in one or more regions of a touchscreen), ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s) (i.e. one or more parameters)); and
determining the set value for the restriction condition based on the received one or more values associated with the one or more input windows (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message, ¶0034 teaches a user can be required to provide and/or maintain one or more inputs (e.g., tactile inputs as a set value) with respect to a touchscreen interface (i.e. one or more input windows) of a device 102 (e.g., in one or more regions of a touchscreen)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US12022011B2 teaches a first user device may be used to request provisioning of a secure credential on a second user device. A provisioning system may facilitate the provisioning in a manner that ensures security and privacy of the requesting parties. The provisioning requests may be made using an application on the first user device such as a third-party application or using a web application via a browser. The credential may be added to a digital wallet on the second user device. The credential may be useable by the second user device to perform one or more contactless transactions.
US20160110827A1 teaches methods and systems are provided for exchanging electronic documents. An example method, and system implementing the method, can include receiving an exchange initiation request from an exchange creator, the exchange initiation request including a set of user identifiers; receiving a document submission request from a sender; storing the electronic document in a storage component when the sender is authenticated; receiving, from the sender, a recipient list for the electronic document, the recipient list indicating intended recipients of the electronic document; providing the intended recipients with access to the electronic document; and generating an exchange record for the electronic document, the exchange record providing a receipt confirmation indicating the electronic document was received and a receipt verification link to the exchange record stored in the storage component.
US20180181964A1 teaches a method of authorizing a secure electronic payment from a payer to a payee. At a digital identity system, an electronic message is received, which comprises a payer credential and identifies a payee system. At the digital identity system, a digital identity associated with the payer credential is accessed, the digital identity comprising: 1) at least one identity attribute or data for deriving at least one identity attribute, and 2) a payment token or data for obtaining a payment token, the payment token for effecting an electronic payment from the payer to a recipient of the payment token. At least one electronic message is transmitted from the digital identity system to the payee system to render the identity attribute and the payment token available to the payee system, for determining, based on the identity attribute rendered available to the payee device, whether to use the available payment token to effect an electronic payment from the payer to the payee.
/G.M/
Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458