Response to an amendment
This office action is response to a communication made on 12/11/2025.
Claims 1-3, 5, 10, 12-17 and 19-20 are currently amended.
Claims 21-22 are new.
Claims 1-22 are pending for this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the final action on 03/23/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 9-16, filed 12/11/2025, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of - 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant: Applicant's arguments, see remarks on page filed 12/11/2025, applicant argues that, “Lerman does not disclose a chat room. Thus, Lerman does not disclose presenting a user interface to receive a message to a chat room, including in the user interface an option to set a restriction condition associated with the message to the chat room, or requesting transmission, via a communication module of the terminal, of the message to the chat room subject to the restriction condition, as generally recited by claim 10 as amended”.
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lerman teaches presenting a user interface to receive a message to a chat because ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message).
Lerman also teaches the user interface including an option to set a restriction condition associated with the message to the chat because ¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition), ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message).
Lerman further teaches requesting transmission, via a communication module of the terminal, of the message to the chat, wherein the message is subject to the restriction condition, based on the set value determined for each of the participants because ¶0026, ¶0039, ¶0053, ¶0056 and ¶0058 teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended… authentication actions (i.e. at least one of restricted view condition is set) can be utilized to initiate the retrieval of particular content segments from a remote device/location, such as from secure message repository 140 of server 120. For example, the content of a secure message can be retained at server 120, and a representation of such content (e.g., concealed content indicators 730 corresponding to the words, clauses, etc…. the content segment that underlies the corresponding concealed content indicator 730 (e.g., content segment 710) can be requested and/or received from server 120 (and presented at the device within the message) can be provided to the user (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 7)… at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting.
However, Lerman remain silent on the chat room.
Huh col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging with chat room of Huh, in order to group of people, send and read messages in real time (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28).
For further clarification, please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22, lines 4-10 states “in response to the user selection of the type of restriction condition, presenting, via the user interface, a menu to set one of more parameters associated with the restriction condition based on the type of the restriction condition; receiving, via the user interface, one or more values associated with the one or more parameters; and determining the set value for the restriction condition based on the received one or more values associated with the one or more parameters. Nowhere in the original specification are the underlined statement found. The specification in ¶0085 states, “a set value of an authentication classification (e.g., adult authentication) may be input through an input window 541 for determining the authentication classification. The authentication classification may be determined by selecting one from among set values of selected (or in some cases, predetermined) authentication classifications. For example, the set values of the selected (or in some cases, predetermined) authentication classifications may include at least one of a value indicative of real name authentication, a value indicative of adult authentication, a value indicative of credential authentication, and a value indicative of member authentication.” The specification teaches “adult authentication”, “credential authentication” and “member authentication” with no mention of a menu to set one of more parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerman et al. (US 2015/0082391), hereinafter “Lerman” in view of Huh et al. (US10511586), hereinafter “Huh”.
With respect to claim 1, Lerman discloses a method of operating an instant messaging server, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first terminal of a first participant in a chat, a message and a restricted view condition associated with content of the message (¶0020, teaches users can be restricted to sending and/or receiving secure messages/content with others users with whom they have a preexisting connection to/relationship with (as can be determined, for example, based on a social networking contact list, ¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message );
in response to receiving the message from the first terminal, sending, to terminals of participants participating in the chat, message data for displaying the message in the chat, indicating that the message is available in the chat subject to the restricted view condition associated with the message (¶0019-¶0020, teaches existing applications such as ‘Snapchat’ (i.e. chat) enable users to share images/videos with one another and, upon being viewed…users can be restricted to sending and/or receiving secure messages/content with others users with whom they have a preexisting connection to/relationship with (as can be determined, for example, based on a social networking contact list, ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s)), ¶0063, teaches the described technologies can be configured to enable users to transmit content (e.g., documents, media, files, etc.) in a manner that enables such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided) ;
receiving a request to view the message from a second terminal of a second participant in the chat (¶0026, ¶0039, and ¶0058 teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended…inputs that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message…the content segment that underlies the corresponding concealed content indicator 730 (e.g., content segment 710) can be requested and/or received from server 120 (and presented at the device… at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting); and
activating the display of the content of the message on the second terminal of the second participant, based on whether the second participant satisfies the restricted view condition (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message), wherein at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or a set value of the restricted view condition is determined for each of the participants participating in the chat (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0039, teaches authentication actions (i.e. at least one of restricted view condition is set) can be utilized to initiate the retrieval of particular content segments from a remote device/location, such as from secure message repository 140 of server 120. For example, the content of a secure message can be retained at server 120, and a representation of such content (e.g., concealed content indicators 730 corresponding to the words, clauses, etc., within the message) can be provided to the user (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 7, ¶0056, teaches it can be determined that an authentication action is being performed, such as with respect to the at least one of the one or more content segments, such as in a manner described herein. In one aspect, block 630 is performed by secure messaging engine 130 (e.g., executing on a user device 102 ).
However, Lerman remain silent on the chat room.
Huh col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging with chat room of Huh, in order to group of people, send and read messages in real time (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28).
For claim 13, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
For claim 14, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 14 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claims 2 and 15, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the activating of the display of the content of the message comprises:
in response to the second participant not satisfying the restricted view condition (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0046, teaches in a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received, if such a user does not satisfactorily perform the required authentication action(s), ¶0063, teaches such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided),
requesting, via the chat room (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom), the second terminal of the second participant for an action required by the restricted view condition (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0046, teaches in a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message); and
activating the display of the content of the message on the second terminal of the second participant based on the required action being performed (Lerman, ¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message).
With respect to claims 3 and 16, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
in response to the required action not being performed, deactivating the display of the content of the message on the second terminal of the second participant (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0046, teaches in a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received, if such a user does not satisfactorily perform the required authentication action(s), the recipient will be precluded from accessing).
With respect to claim 4, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the action required by the restricted view condition comprises at least one of a payment action and an authentication action (Lerman, ¶0058, teaches upon determining that the authentication action is being/has been performed (e.g., with respect to at least one of the content segments) a request for the at least one of the content segments can be transmitted (e.g., to a central server and/or to the sender) and/or the at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting).
With respect to claims 5 and 17, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
setting the restricted view condition based on a set value of the restricted view received from the first terminal (Lerman, ¶0026-¶0027, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message…a secure message can originate from a sender and be received (e.g., by server 120) in association with one or more intended recipients, ¶0063, teaches with respect to secure messaging, the described technologies can also be implemented in any number of additional or alternative settings or contexts and towards any number of additional objectives).
With respect to claims 6 and 18, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the restricted view condition comprises at least one of:
a payment-type restricted view condition that requires a payment to view; or
an authentication-type restricted view condition that requires authentication to view (Lerman, ¶0044, teaches with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message).
With respect to claim 7, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the restricted view condition is set for at least a portion of the content comprised in the message (Lerman, ¶0045, teaches one or more images/videos that depict a substantial portion of the field of view of the display (on which the secure message(s) are displayed) can be captured and maintained in association with the secure message(s), ¶0063, teaches enables such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided).
With respect to claim 8, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the restricted view condition is set for each participant in the chat room (Learman, ¶0020, teaches users (i.e. each participant) can be restricted to sending and/or receiving secure messages/content with others users with whom they have a preexisting connection to/relationship with (as can be determined), Huh, col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom).
With respect to claim 9, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message, for which the restricted view condition is set, is restricted in at least one of sharing, copying, and capturing (Lerman, ¶0020, teaches it can be further ensured that the recipient is not capable of copying/forwarding the contents of the secure communication, ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s), ¶0044, teaches number of instances that a particular secure message is provided (e.g., presented to the recipient) can be defined and/or limited based on any number of factors).
With respect to claim 10, Lerman discloses a method of operating a terminal executing an instant messenger, the method comprising:
presenting a user interface to receive a message to a chat (¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message), the user interface including an option to set a restriction condition associated with the message to the chat (¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition), ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message); and
in response to a user selection of the option to set a restriction condition for the message being received via the user interface (¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition)¶0031, teaches a user interface that can be utilized by a sender (e.g., via device 102) to select one or more existing connections/contacts as a recipient of a secure message),
determining, for each of participants participating in the chat (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended), a type of a restriction condition for the message (¶0044 and ¶0056, teaches a message can be presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) …determined that an authentication action (i.e. type of a restriction condition) is being performed, such as with respect to the at least one of the one or more content segments);
determining a set value of the restriction condition for each of the participants based on the determined type (¶0026, teaches ¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended…an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message); and
requesting transmission, via a communication module of the terminal, of the message to the chat, wherein the message is subject to the restriction condition, based on the set value determined for each of the participants (¶0026, ¶0039, ¶0053, ¶0056 and ¶0058 teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended… authentication actions (i.e. at least one of restricted view condition is set) can be utilized to initiate the retrieval of particular content segments from a remote device/location, such as from secure message repository 140 of server 120. For example, the content of a secure message can be retained at server 120, and a representation of such content (e.g., concealed content indicators 730 corresponding to the words, clauses, etc…. the content segment that underlies the corresponding concealed content indicator 730 (e.g., content segment 710) can be requested and/or received from server 120 (and presented at the device within the message) can be provided to the user (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 7)… at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting).
However, Lerman remain silent on the chat room.
Huh col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging with chat room of Huh, in order to group of people, send and read messages in real time (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28).
For claim 19, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method of claim 10. Therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same ground as claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the type of the restriction condition comprises at least one of:
a payment-type restricted view condition that requires a payment to view; or
an authentication-type restricted view condition that requires authentication to view (Lerman, ¶0044, teaches with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message); or
a sharing-related restriction condition.
With respect to claim 12, Lerman discloses a method of operating a terminal executing an instant messenger, the method comprising:
receiving, via a communication module of the terminal (¶0023, teaches User devices 102A-102N can be wireless terminals (e.g., smartphones, etc. as communication module), personal computers (PC), laptops, tablet computers, or any other computing or communication devices), a chat message for which a restricted view condition is set (¶0046, teaches a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions (i.e. restricted view condition is set));
presenting, via a user interface, an indication that the message for which a restricted view condition is set is available in the chat (¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition), ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message);
in response to receiving, via the user interface, a request to view content of the message ((¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition), ¶0031, teaches a user interface that can be utilized by a sender (e.g., via device 102) to select one or more existing connections/contacts as a recipient of a secure message, ¶0058, teaches upon determining that the authentication action is being/has been performed (e.g., with respect to at least one of the content segments) a request for the at least one of the content segments can be transmitted (e.g., to a central server and/or to the sender) and/or the at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting) ), performing an action required by the restricted view condition (¶0020, teaches a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions, such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed, see ¶0046); and
displaying, via the user interface (¶0032), content of the message based on a result of performing the required action (¶0043-¶0044, and ¶0046, teaches the viewing of the content of any of the messages within the conversation can occur substantially only based on a determination that the referenced authentication action(s) (i.e. satisfies the restricted view condition) have been provided... with respect to a secure message containing text, the time duration that such a message is presented (e.g., upon determining that an authentication action has been provided) can be dictated based on the number of characters and/or words in the message (for example, that the message is to be displayed for two seconds for every five words in the message…a scenario where the recipient is notified (such as at block 220) that a secure message has been received and satisfactorily performs the required authentication actions, while the user will be provided with access to the secure message), wherein at least one of whether the restricted view condition is set or a set value of the restricted view condition is determined for each of participants participating in the chat (¶0026, teaches one or more of the secure messages 141 can be associated with one or more recipients (e.g., one or more other users of other user devices) with respect to which such messages are directed and/or intended, ¶0039, teaches authentication actions (i.e. at least one of restricted view condition is set) can be utilized to initiate the retrieval of particular content segments from a remote device/location, such as from secure message repository 140 of server 120. For example, the content of a secure message can be retained at server 120, and a representation of such content (e.g., concealed content indicators 730 corresponding to the words, clauses, etc., within the message) can be provided to the user (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 7, ¶0056, teaches it can be determined that an authentication action is being performed, such as with respect to the at least one of the one or more content segments, such as in a manner described herein. In one aspect, block 630 is performed by secure messaging engine 130 (e.g., executing on a user device 102 ).
However, Lerman remain silent on the chat room.
Huh col-17, II. 26-28, teaches FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a screen of the electronic device 110 on which user A chats with user B at a chatroom.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lerman’s instant messaging with chat room of Huh, in order to group of people, send and read messages in real time (Huh, col-17, II. 26-28).
For claim 20, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method of claim 12. Therefore claim 20 is rejected under the same ground as claim 12.
With respect to claim 21, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 10 wherein, the determining the type of restriction condition for the message comprises:
in response to the user selection of the option to set a restriction condition, presenting, via the user interface (Lerman, ¶0027, teaches access to the secure message can then be provided or precluded based on a determination as to whether the intended recipient is performing (or has performed) one or more authentication actions (i.e. set a restriction condition)¶0031, teaches a user interface that can be utilized by a sender (e.g., via device 102) to select one or more existing connections/contacts as a recipient of a secure message), a list of types of restriction conditions (Lerman, ¶0019, teaches applications such as Snapchat (which are directed to image/video sharing (i.e. sharing type)) do not enable users to conduct secure text correspondence between one another, nor do such applications enable users to send/receive secure messages to/from contacts with whom a preexisting connection/relationship exists (e.g., via a social networking platform), ¶0020, teaches a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions (i.e. authentication type), such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed ¶0021, teaches enable users to send/receive secure messages to one another (e.g., messages containing sensitive/confidential financial (i.e. payment type) terms);
receiving, via the user interface (Lerman, ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message), a user selection of a type of restriction condition from the list of types of restriction conditions (Lerman, ¶0019, teaches applications such as Snapchat (which are directed to image/video sharing (i.e. sharing type)) do not enable users to conduct secure text correspondence between one another, nor do such applications enable users to send/receive secure messages to/from contacts with whom a preexisting connection/relationship exists (e.g., via a social networking platform), ¶0020, teaches a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions (i.e. authentication type), such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed, ¶0021, teaches enable users to send/receive secure messages to one another (e.g., messages containing sensitive/confidential financial (i.e. payment type) terms); and
setting the type of restriction condition for the message based on the received user-selection of a type of restriction condition (Lerman, ¶0019-¶0020, teaches existing applications such as ‘Snapchat’ (i.e. chat) enable users to share images/videos (i.e. sharing type) with one another and, upon being viewed…users can be restricted to sending and/or receiving secure messages/content with others users with whom they have a preexisting connection to/relationship with (as can be determined, for example, based on a social networking contact list… a user may only be granted access to the content of the message upon satisfactorily performing one or more authentication actions (i.e. authentication type), such as in relation to a device on which the secure message is to be viewed, ¶0021, teaches enable users to send/receive secure messages to one another (e.g., messages containing sensitive/confidential financial (i.e. payment type) terms), ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s)), ¶0063, teaches the described technologies can be configured to enable users to transmit content (e.g., documents, media, files, etc.) in a manner that enables such content (and/or a portion/segment thereof) to be viewed (e.g., based on/in response to a determination that an authentication action is being provided).
With respect to claim 22, Lerman in view of Huh discloses the method of claim 21 wherein, determining the set value for the restriction condition for the message comprises:
in response to the user selection of the type of restriction condition, presenting, via the user interface, a menu to set one of more parameters associated with the restriction condition based on the type of the restriction condition (Lerman, ¶0026, ¶0038-¶0039 and ¶0059, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message…the content segment that underlies the corresponding concealed content indicator 730 (e.g., content segment 710) can be requested and/or received from server 120 (and presented at the device…the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s).… at least one of the content segments can be received (e.g., in response to the requesting);
receiving, via the user interface (Lerman, ¶0032, teaches a user interface that can be presented to a recipient (e.g., via device 102) to notify the recipient of receipt of a secure message), one or more values associated with the one or more parameters (¶0026, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message, ¶0038, teaches the sender of the secure message may dictate such restriction(s) (i.e. one or more parameters)); and
determining the set value for the restriction condition based on the received one or more values associated with the one or more parameters (Lerman, ¶0026, teaches an authentication action (i.e. the restriction condition) can be associated with one or more of the secure messages. Such an authentication action can include one or more gestures and/or any other such inputs (i.e. set value) that a recipient of the associated secure message can be prompted to perform or otherwise provide (e.g., with respect to a device 102) in order to gain access to or otherwise be able to view the message).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM MAHMUD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2458/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458