DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200178415: “Kim” hereinafter) in view of Lee et al. (US 20190364695; “Lee” hereinafter) and further view of Choi et al. (US 20080212270; “Choi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display apparatus comprising: a display unit (160, 607, figs. 14-16) configured to display an image (“The display 160 may display, e.g., various contents (e.g., text, images, videos, icons, or symbols) to the use”, PAR. [0041]); a holder (604, 605) disposed on the display unit (607) and having a plate shape (figs. 14-16); a control assembly (602, 603 and components on the upper surface of the PCB 602) disposed on the holder (604, 605), and including a control board (602) and a control component (components on the upper surface of the circuit board 602) mounted on an upper surface of the control board (figs 15-16); a shield cover (606) covering the control component on the control assembly (figs. 15-16).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the control component being a control chip; a plurality of separation members disposed between the holder and the control assembly, and configured to vertically separate the control assembly and the holder; and a plurality of coupling members configured to couple the control board with the plurality of separation members, wherein the plurality of separation members and the plurality of coupling members are spaced apart from edges of the control board.
Lee teaches an electronic device comprising a component (912) disposed on a circuit board (910) and is covered by a shield cover (920); wherein the component is a control chip (“the heat generation source 912 may be of a chip type and may include an AP, a CP, a PA of an RF unit, or the like.”, par. [0138]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the component of Kim with a control chip, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (KSR).
Choi teaches an electronic device comprising a plurality of separation members (bosses 206) disposed between a holder (201) and a control assembly (203), and configured to vertically separate the control assembly and the holder (fig. 2); and a plurality of coupling members (coupling member 205, 207) configured to couple the control board with the plurality of separation members (at least the coupling member 207 coupled the board 203 to the separation member or bosses 206, fig. 2), wherein the plurality of separation members (206) and the plurality of coupling members (207) are spaced apart from edges of the control board (coupling member 207 and the bosses 206 are not perfectly at the edge of the board 203 and there is separation between the edge of the board 203 and coupling 206 and bosses 207 as depicted in annotated fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim in view of Lee to incorporate a plurality of separation members disposed between the holder and the control assembly, and configured to vertically separate the control assembly and the holder; and a plurality of coupling members configured to couple the control board with the plurality of separation members, wherein the plurality of separation members and the plurality of coupling members are spaced apart from edges of the control board as taught by Choi because such modification helps to effectively shield the electromagnetic wave generated by the circuit board ([0005]- [0006]).
However, if Choi is considered fail to teach the plurality of separation members and the plurality of coupling members are spaced apart from edges of the control board.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to relocate the coupling members and separation members such that the plurality of separation members and the plurality of coupling members are spaced apart from edges of the control board, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Lee and Choi (relied on Choi) discloses wherein the plurality of separation members (206) and the plurality of coupling members (207) are spaced by a set distance inward from end portions of side surfaces of the control board (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Lee and Choi (relied on Choi) discloses wherein the plurality of separation members (206) and the plurality of coupling members (207) are configured to correspond to each other (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Lee and Choi (relied on Choi) discloses wherein the plurality of separation members (206) and the plurality of coupling members (207) are disposed symmetrically with respect to the control chip (bosses 206 and the coupling members 207 are arranged symmetrically across the components 208). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to relocate the coupling members and separation members with respect to the control chip or component, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim(s) 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee and Choi as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Song et al. (US 20150264842; “Song” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Choi discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Kim in view of Lee and Choi does not explicitly disclose the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a first pad disposed between the control chip and the shield cover and in contact with each of the control chip and the shield cover; a back cover disposed on the shield cover; and a second pad disposed between the shield cover and the back cover and in contact with each of the shield cover and the back cover.
Song teaches an electronic apparatus comprising a first pad (350) disposed between a control chip (210) and a shield cover (320, 330) and in contact with the control chip (210) and the shield cover (a pad or TIM 350 is disposed between the chip or GPU 210 and the shield cover 330, fig. 3); a bracket (370) disposed on the shield cover (330) (fig. 3); and a second pad (360) disposed between the shield cover (330) and the bracket (370) and in contact with each of the shield cover and the bracket (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim in view of Lee and Choi to incorporate a first pad disposed between the control chip and the shield cover and in contact with each of the control chip and the shield cover; a back cover/bracket disposed on the shield cover; and a second pad disposed between the shield cover and the back cover/bracket and in contact with each of the shield cover and the back cover/ bracket as taught by Son because the heat generated from the chip or internal component is dissipated outside more easily (par. [0086]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song discloses wherein the shield cover (370, Song) includes an accommodation part formed by recessing a portion of the shield cover (320, 330, Song, fig. 3) to accommodate the control chip and the first pad (a recessed accommodation portion is formed by the shield can 320 and 330 to accommodate the chip or GPU 210 and the TIM 350, fig. 3, Song).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song discloses the display apparatus as claimed in claim 8.
Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song does not explicitly disclose a plurality of holding members having one side coupled to the shield cover and another side coupled to the back cover to pull the shield cover and the back cover, so that the second pad maintains contact between the shield cover and the back cover.
Further, Lee discloses an electronic device comprising a plurality of holding members (1362) having one side coupled to a shield cover (1332) and another side coupled to a bracket (1340) to pull the shield cover and the bracket, so that a heating dissipating component (1350) maintains contact between the shield cover and the bracket (1340) (par. [0170], fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim in view of Choi and Song to incorporate a plurality of holding members having one side coupled to the shield cover and another side coupled to the back cover to pull the shield cover and the back cover, so that the second pad maintains contact between the shield cover and the back cover as suggested by Lee because such modification provides bonding means between the shield cover and the rear cover or bracket and prevent separation between the cover/bracket and the shield cover.
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song discloses wherein the control board is provided as a quadrangular plate (Circuit board discloses by Kim, Choi, Song and Lee are quadrangular plate).
Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song does not explicitly disclose each of the plurality of holding members is disposed at a corner of the control board.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to relocate the holding members such that each of the plurality of holding members is disposed at a corner of the control board, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song discloses wherein the plurality of holding members (1362, Lee) are spaced apart from each other to surround the second pad (fig. 13, Lee).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song discloses wherein the plurality of coupling members (coupling members, 205 and 207, Choi) pull the control board (203, Choi, fig. 2) and the shield cover ((coupling members 205 and 207 combinedly fix the circuit board 203 and the shield cover 202 together with the chassis base 201, fig. 2., Choi), so that the first pad (350, Song; or 1330, Lee) maintains contact between the control chip and the shield cover (the modified apparatus of Kim in view of Choi, Song and Lee teaches this limitation), and the plurality of holding members (1362, Lee) pull the shield cover (1320, Lee) and the back cover (1340, Lee), so that the second pad maintains the contact with each of the shield cover and the back cover (Lee, fig. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Lee, Choi and Song discloses wherein the separation member (206, Choi, fig. 2) and the coupling member (205, 207, Choi, fig. 2) are spaced apart from each other to surround the first pad (the modified apparatus of Kim in view of Choi and Song teaches this limitation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 2, and a combination of limitations that wherein, when the control board is expanded and deformed by heating, the control board is provided to move down from the edge portions whose movement is not restricted by the plurality of separation members and the plurality of coupling members. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1 and claim 2, and a combination of limitations that wherein the plurality of coupling members includes one side coupled to the shield cover and another side coupled to the plurality of separation members, and are disposed to pass through the control board. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claim 7 is objected as being dependent on claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in the form 892.
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841